• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

LLC and videocards?

Joined
Jan 21, 2013
Messages
3,800 (2.08/day)
Likes
1,320
System Name Out of the game..
Benchmark Scores d1nky@hwbot.org
#1
i been trying to find if the 79**s have LLC (i would guess some kind of LLC)

and if so, is it possible to change through a bios editor?
 
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
1,893 (0.77/day)
Likes
891
Location
Mainland Britain
System Name H2o Box
Processor Intel(R) Xeon e5-2690 v2 Stock 3.3GHz
Motherboard MSI X79A-G43 Plus (MS-7760) v3
Cooling CPU EK Block & Phobya G-Changer 360 V2.0 RAD H2o
Memory Gskill RipjawsZ 16Gb & Gskill TridentX 16Gb 9-10-9-28 2T @ 1866Mhz [locked]
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080ti AMP EXTREME
Storage HyperX Fury 120GB & Savage 480GB SSD, Seagate 250GB,250GB 7200rpm Kingston 64GB SSD
Display(s) Panasonic GT30 46'' 1080p 3D HDTV [Custom Resolution 4096*2304]
Case Corsair O-800D
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Be Quiet! [Dark Power Pro 11] 1200W CM replaced [7-4-2017]
Mouse Asus ROG
Keyboard Microsoft Digital Media 1.0A
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit v 1703 / OS[build 16299.192]
#2
Hi

is it possible to change through a bios editor
No vbios editor for 79xx serise available at this time

General
LLC = Load Line Calibration? [sets voltage under load]: in *Essence this is the equivalent of AMD Power Play

atb (all the best)

Law-II
 
Joined
Dec 3, 2009
Messages
1,205 (0.41/day)
Likes
364
Location
The Netherlands
System Name PC || Laptop
Processor AMD FX-9590 || i7 6700HQ
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth 990FX || default
Cooling Corsair H100i Push-Pull + H80i modded onto 290|| Stock
Memory Samsung 30nm 4x4GB @ 1930MHz|| 2x8GB LPDDR3 @ 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD R9 290 @ 1175MHz / 1625MHz || Nvidia Geforce 960M
Display(s) Samsung S23A750D 120Hz + others|| 15,6" 1080P
Case Corsair 500R Fans Galore ||
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX/XD ||
Power Supply Corsair AX860i || 120Watt 19V OEM adaptor
Software Win 10 64bit || Win 10 64bit
#3
I would love to have this, as my 7950 nearly drops 0,1V when overclocked and at full load.

I don't think there is any card support it or something like it though. The only thing that comes close are cards that just have an awesome VRM, which minimises the voltage drop.

I suppose all the mechanics are availably for a sort of primitive LLC to work on most 79x0 cards, mainly being digital voltage control and voltage measurement.
Thus, someone with awesome bios skills or perhaps afterburner(profile) skills should be able to build something like it I guess.
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Staff member
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,585 (3.85/day)
Likes
10,962
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
#4
I don't think there is any card support it or something like it though. The only thing that comes close are cards that just have an awesome VRM, which minimises the voltage drop.

I suppose all the mechanics are availably for a sort of primitive LLC to work on most 79x0 cards, mainly being digital voltage control and voltage measurement.
Thus, someone with awesome bios skills or perhaps afterburner(profile) skills should be able to build something like it I guess.
Both 7950 and 7970 have VRM control available on some models. ASUS 7970 MATRIX offers LLC adjustment and PWM switching frequency adjustments via software, and other cards have this available only with soldering on a couple of wires, and using an ASUS ROG motherboard with GPU controls in BIOS.
 
Joined
Dec 3, 2009
Messages
1,205 (0.41/day)
Likes
364
Location
The Netherlands
System Name PC || Laptop
Processor AMD FX-9590 || i7 6700HQ
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth 990FX || default
Cooling Corsair H100i Push-Pull + H80i modded onto 290|| Stock
Memory Samsung 30nm 4x4GB @ 1930MHz|| 2x8GB LPDDR3 @ 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD R9 290 @ 1175MHz / 1625MHz || Nvidia Geforce 960M
Display(s) Samsung S23A750D 120Hz + others|| 15,6" 1080P
Case Corsair 500R Fans Galore ||
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX/XD ||
Power Supply Corsair AX860i || 120Watt 19V OEM adaptor
Software Win 10 64bit || Win 10 64bit
#5
Both 7950 and 7970 have VRM control available on some models. ASUS 7970 MATRIX offers LLC adjustment and PWM switching frequency adjustments via software, and other cards have this available only with soldering on a couple of wires, and using an ASUS ROG motherboard with GPU controls in BIOS.
Yeah indeed, I was trying to make the point that basically every card has the ingredients needed for some sort of LLC, but that the bios or drivers of most cards don't support such a feature.

But indeed, the ASUS MATRIX would be a great example of a card that supports LLC out of the box!
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Staff member
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,585 (3.85/day)
Likes
10,962
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
#6
Yeah, the reference 7970/7950 cards do offer that functionality though, so I wanted to point out that if you really want to have this feature, it simply requires buying the right motherboard, and finding the softwares too.
 
Joined
Jan 21, 2013
Messages
3,800 (2.08/day)
Likes
1,320
System Name Out of the game..
Benchmark Scores d1nky@hwbot.org
#7
so im unable to edit bios, because theres no editing software.

asus cards have a beefy 12phase power design, correct me if im wrong but most have 7 or there about.

i couldnt flash a 7970 matrix bios because of shaders etc. (but has anyone experimented doing this?)

all i want to do is up the percentage of loadline to get more of 1.300 instead of vdroop to 1.250.

ive only just bought a motherboard :/ was going to get the ROG crosshair, damn if id known that earlier!!
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Staff member
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,585 (3.85/day)
Likes
10,962
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
#8
so im unable to edit bios, because theres no editing software.

asus cards have a beefy 12phase power design, correct me if im wrong but most have 7 or there about.

i couldnt flash a 7970 matrix bios because of shaders etc. (but has anyone experimented doing this?)

all i want to do is up the percentage of loadline to get more of 1.300 instead of vdroop to 1.250.

ive only just bought a motherboard :/ was going to get the ROG crosshair, damn if id known that earlier!!
Only the Rampage 4 Extreme and Maximus V Extreme offer the GPU features needed.


That voltage drop is kind of needed...so that when the load is lessened, the voltage doesn't overshoot too far. All 7-series cards have some droop in the voltage, which directly correlates to how much power the card pulls.

7950 can't run the Matrix BIOS, and cards that do run the matrix BIOS, the VRM controls do not work, since the card is physically different. You can adjust voltage on the Matrix cards by simply pushing the buttons on the PCB, even. DCUII 7970 cards can run the Matrix BIOS(I've done it myself), but it doesn't actually offer anything of use, really.
 
Joined
Jan 21, 2013
Messages
3,800 (2.08/day)
Likes
1,320
System Name Out of the game..
Benchmark Scores d1nky@hwbot.org
#9
the problem i have is if i want to compensate for vdroop ill have to push 1.350v+. and as you know when the load decreases itll hit that 1.350 which i dont want, hence the LLC.

but what im asking is if a bios could be edited, would loadline be in the bios or would it be a physical parameter?
 
Joined
Nov 19, 2012
Messages
750 (0.40/day)
Likes
430
System Name Chaos
Processor Intel Core i5 4590K @ 4.0 GHz
Motherboard MSI Z97 MPower MAX AC
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer i30 + MX4
Memory 2x4 GB Kingston HyperX Beast 2400 GT/s CL11
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD7950 Vapor X, 800/1400 @ 1.075V/1.45V
Storage 256GB Samsung 840 Pro SSD + 1 TB WD Green (Idle timer off) + 320 GB WD Blue
Display(s) Dell U2515H
Case Fractal Design Define R3
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Seasonic SS-380GB
Mouse CM Storm Recon
Keyboard CM Storm Quickfire Pro (MX Red)
#10
The PWM control chip in the VRM is responsible for the implementation of voltage control. It can only be done via duty cycle adjustment. This means that even when you do edit VGA BIOS, you can issue commands to the V-reg IC all day long, if it's unable to implement them. I suppose you could botch it, and just add some BIOS profiles with higher requested voltage (such that the actual realized voltage will be at the level you desire), and tie them up to application profiles for specific games/programs/benches, and/or hotkeys for quick switching. You'd need to stay focused on what you're doing, since you wouldn't want to forget to switch back from an extreme profile, so as not to overvolt your GPU into oblivion.
 
Joined
Jan 21, 2013
Messages
3,800 (2.08/day)
Likes
1,320
System Name Out of the game..
Benchmark Scores d1nky@hwbot.org
#11
its a shame that cards nowadays are getting advanced phase designs but cant combat the vdroop just like a mobo, damn some cards have better vrms etc than some mobos.

and switching between edited profiles doesnt sound appealing, i could do similar with an app like AB.

i was just hoping like motherboards we could counteract the vdroop with a touch of loadline. so that we wouldnt need to counteract vdroop with an higher voltage.

maybe its a thing for future cards, as i know some highend cards have vague feature like this.

and thanks guys.