• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Lock up when running Afterburner and gpu-z or Trixx?

Joined
Apr 6, 2009
Messages
907 (0.28/day)
Likes
85
Processor i5 3570k
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77 UD5h
Cooling XSPC Raystrom
Memory 4x4GB DDR3 1600mhz
Video Card(s) 7950 crossfire
Storage a few
Display(s) 27" Catleap
Case Xigmatek Elysium
Audio Device(s) Xonar STX
Power Supply Seasonic X1050
Software Windows 7 X64
#1
My pc locks up when starting Trixx and even opening the sensor tab in gpu-z. It only seems to happen after opening Afterburner. The odd thing is that it still happens after closing afterburner. Does this happen for anyone else?

I love the afterburner osd.
 
Joined
Oct 29, 2009
Messages
2,517 (0.84/day)
Likes
758
System Name Nightblade / Dell Latitude / Wife's Rig
Processor Core i5 4690K / i7 2720QM / FX-6100
Motherboard Nightblade ITX z97 / Dell 032T9K QM67 / Gigabyte GA-970A-DS3 Rev3
Cooling tower style cooler, plus one 120mm fan / stock blower / CNPS7000V
Memory Patriot Viper 2x8gb DDR3 2400 / Micron 2x4GB DDR3 / 2x4GB 2x2GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming GTX 970 4GB / NVS 4200M 512MB / nVidia GTX 460 1GB
Storage 120GB ForceGT SSD (OS), 2TB WD Black, 250GB Seagate 2.5in / 320GB WD Blue /240GB SSD M500
Display(s) ASUS ROG SWIFT 1440P / Dell 14in @ 1600x900 / Vizio 1080p TV
Case MSI Nightblade Z97 / Dell Latitude / Corsair Full Tower
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150, Microsoft Lifechat 3000 / Intel / ALC887
Power Supply Gold rated 600W / Battery with 95w brick / Antec EA-650 Green
Mouse MadCatz RAT5
Keyboard G510
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 on all
#3
be sure that afterburner is fully closed, check to see if its still running a process in the task manager.
 
Joined
Apr 6, 2009
Messages
907 (0.28/day)
Likes
85
Processor i5 3570k
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77 UD5h
Cooling XSPC Raystrom
Memory 4x4GB DDR3 1600mhz
Video Card(s) 7950 crossfire
Storage a few
Display(s) 27" Catleap
Case Xigmatek Elysium
Audio Device(s) Xonar STX
Power Supply Seasonic X1050
Software Windows 7 X64
#4
I take that back, it has nothing to do with afterburner. My pc just locked up when launching Trixx not long after starting the computer.

It happens when launching HWinfo64 occasionally too.
 
Joined
Apr 6, 2009
Messages
907 (0.28/day)
Likes
85
Processor i5 3570k
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77 UD5h
Cooling XSPC Raystrom
Memory 4x4GB DDR3 1600mhz
Video Card(s) 7950 crossfire
Storage a few
Display(s) 27" Catleap
Case Xigmatek Elysium
Audio Device(s) Xonar STX
Power Supply Seasonic X1050
Software Windows 7 X64
#6
I'm running a pair of MSI TF3 7950s. Although they do have a sapphire 950mhz bios flashed onto them. They both use the same 7970 pcb so I wouldn't think that there would be an issue.

I had the same lock up with HWinfo64 on the stock bios though.
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Staff member
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,586 (3.85/day)
Likes
10,965
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
#7
I had the same lock up with HWinfo64 on the stock bios though.
Maybe related to the board design and hte controller used then. My cards definitely do NOT use the 7970 PCB.


I mean, that's how it workjs. You don't need a Sapphire BIOS to use Trixx...it's jsut a matter of the software supporting the controller used on the card, and even cards using the same PCB could use differnt controllers.


What I don't get it why you aren't using the stock BIOS, and the MSI tool? Was there some issue there?
 
Joined
Apr 6, 2009
Messages
907 (0.28/day)
Likes
85
Processor i5 3570k
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77 UD5h
Cooling XSPC Raystrom
Memory 4x4GB DDR3 1600mhz
Video Card(s) 7950 crossfire
Storage a few
Display(s) 27" Catleap
Case Xigmatek Elysium
Audio Device(s) Xonar STX
Power Supply Seasonic X1050
Software Windows 7 X64
#8
I like running my cards at 950mzh without touching any tools. The sapphire bios has never caused me an issue. I don't think that the issue is related since I've had the same lockup with Hwinfo with the stock bios.

I don't use afterburner since I can't get around the stock 1100mhz clock limit on my second card. The /xcl switch only seems to effect the top card. I don't know why. I like to run my cards at 1200mhz.

I did see this thread at HWinfo forums. I wonder if Trixx or gpu-z polls the same register.
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Staff member
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,586 (3.85/day)
Likes
10,965
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
#9
Yeha, as far as I understand it, all the tools poll the same register(as it's the only one?), and that is what generally cuases crashes. You should only ever have one monitoring tool open at a time.
 
Joined
Apr 6, 2009
Messages
907 (0.28/day)
Likes
85
Processor i5 3570k
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77 UD5h
Cooling XSPC Raystrom
Memory 4x4GB DDR3 1600mhz
Video Card(s) 7950 crossfire
Storage a few
Display(s) 27" Catleap
Case Xigmatek Elysium
Audio Device(s) Xonar STX
Power Supply Seasonic X1050
Software Windows 7 X64
#10
Its not an issue of having more than one tool open. It happens when opening Trixx with no other programs running.
 
Joined
Mar 7, 2007
Messages
3,788 (0.95/day)
Likes
671
Location
Pompano beach, Florida
System Name HAL
Processor Core i7 4770k @ 4.6 ghz.
Motherboard Asus Maximus VII Hero
Cooling H80i Closed loop liquid cooling.
Memory 4x 4 (16) GB Corsair Vengeance ddr3 2133 @ 2200
Video Card(s) GTX 1080 FTW
Storage 256 GB Ocz V4 SSD "Thank you Kreij (Dean)" + 2x 1TB drives.
Display(s) 50" Samsung, UHD, 4k, 60hz.
Case Corsair Carbide MId tower
Audio Device(s) LG system through optical 5.1
Power Supply CORSAIR Enthusiast Series TX850M
Software Microsoft Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores Haven (3720), Cinebench (932)
#12
I'd be removing drivers and reinstalling them right about now..
Just my 2 cents. :p
 
Joined
Apr 6, 2009
Messages
907 (0.28/day)
Likes
85
Processor i5 3570k
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77 UD5h
Cooling XSPC Raystrom
Memory 4x4GB DDR3 1600mhz
Video Card(s) 7950 crossfire
Storage a few
Display(s) 27" Catleap
Case Xigmatek Elysium
Audio Device(s) Xonar STX
Power Supply Seasonic X1050
Software Windows 7 X64
#13