• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Logitech G Pro wireless owners

utk4

New Member
Joined
Nov 24, 2020
Messages
4 (0.06/day)
Hey guys,
I've got a questions for the Logitech G Pro Wireless mouse owners. Couldn't find this anywhere.

If you remove the dongle (unifying adapter) from the PC and connect it via charging cable. Will it work as a wired mouse?
I would appreciate it if someone who has it could confirm it.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 5, 2006
Messages
10,961 (1.99/day)
System Name Desktop / Laptop
Processor Intel i7 6700K @ 4.5GHz (1.270 V) / Intel i3 7100U
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming / HP 83A3 (U3E1)
Cooling Noctua NH-U12A 2 fans + Thermal Grizzly Kryonaut + 5 case fans / Fan
Memory 16GB DDR4 Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000MHz CL15 / 8GB DDR4 HyperX CL13
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 2070 Super Gaming X Trio / Intel HD620
Storage Samsung 970 Evo 500GB + Samsung 850 Pro 512GB + Samsung 860 Evo 1TB / Samsung 256GB M.2 SSD
Display(s) 23.8" Dell S2417DG 165Hz G-Sync 1440p + 21.5" LG 22MP67VQ IPS 60Hz 1080p / 14" 1080p IPS Glossy
Case Be quiet! Silent Base 600 - Window / HP Pavilion
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX Onboard / Realtek onboard + B&O speaker system
Power Supply Seasonic Focus Plus Gold 750W / Powerbrick
Mouse Logitech MX Anywhere 2 Laser wireless / Logitech M330 wireless
Keyboard RAPOO E9270P Black 5GHz wireless / HP backlit
Software Windows 10 / Windows 10
Joined
May 12, 2017
Messages
1,131 (0.83/day)
You don't need to even remove the dongle, just plug the mouse into a spare USB port to charge. This can be on an external 5v supply, the mouse will still work.

& yes, I think it will work as a wired mouse, but I have never found that I have to remove the wireless dongle.

100% wireless user (all Logitech Devices).
 

utk4

New Member
Joined
Nov 24, 2020
Messages
4 (0.06/day)
You don't need to even remove the dongle, just plug the mouse into a spare USB port to charge. This can be on an external 5v supply, the mouse will still work.

& yes, I think it will use the USB to communicate, but I have never found that I have to remove the wireless dongle.

100% wireless user (all Logitech Devices).


I know I don't need to remove it.
The reason I'm asking for owners is to get an exact answer. Does it work without a dongle?
I don't want to sound rude but speculation is no good here because if it doesn't work like that I can't return it to the store just because of that.
 
Joined
May 12, 2017
Messages
1,131 (0.83/day)
I know I don't need to remove it.
The reason I'm asking for owners is to get an exact answer. Does it work without a dongle?
I don't want to sound rude but speculation is no good here because if it doesn't work like that I can't return it to the store just because of that.

EDIT: Let me check. ..AFAIK it should work as a wired mouse or keyboard.

EDIT2: Confirmed both mouse & keyboard can be used as a wired product.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
7,925 (1.50/day)
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Microsoft Wireless 5000
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
If you remove the dongle (unifying adapter) from the PC and connect it via charging cable. Will it work as a wired mouse?
Umm, did you RTFM? Perhaps on page 4 where is says,
Your mouse will operate in data‑over‑cable mode whenever it is plugged in directly to a PC
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
16,818 (3.39/day)
Location
UK\US
Processor 2500k \ AMD 3900X+NH-D15
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ ASRock AM4 Pro 4
Memory Samsung low profile 1600 \ Patriot 2x16GB PVS432G320C6K
Video Card(s) eVga GTX1060 SSC \ XFX R9 390X
Storage 2xIntel 80Gb (SATA2) Crucial MX500 \ Samsung 860 1TB +Samsung Evo 250GB+500GB+ 2xCorsair Force 120GB
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( VE2000BWS ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-A820 \ Yamaha CX-830+Yamaha MX-630 Infinity RS4000 Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse Steelseries Sensei wireless \ Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
You can do it with the G700s how you would not want to with that one as the cable is terribly bad for wired use.


EDIT:
And going by their site it's charging and data so yes it should work.



On a side note that looks like a real bad place for the battery to be in, what if it expands some ?.
 
Top