• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Logitech MX518

Joined
Apr 11, 2005
Messages
2,722 (0.59/day)
Likes
44
Location
Canada
Processor Intel Q6600
Motherboard DFI LanParty P35-TR2
Memory 4x1024MB Crucial OC-6400
Video Card(s) ATI HD 3870X2 Crossfire
Storage WD Black 640GB / Seagate 7200.10 320GB
Display(s) 20" Samsung SyncMaster
Case Lian Li PC-A16b
Power Supply SilverStone Decathlon DA750
Software Windows 7 HP
#1
Serious gaming needs a serious mouse - The Logitech MX518 is sure to fulfil that requirement. At 1600 DPI and armed with eight buttons, it's sure to please even the most hardcore of gamers. Using Logitech's precision MX optical technology, the MX518 didn't miss a beat when it came to gaming, it took everything we threw at it with ease.

Show full review
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 21, 2005
Messages
724 (0.15/day)
Likes
591
System Name Main Rig
Processor AMD FX-6100
Motherboard Asus SABERTOOTH 990FX
Cooling Fans:1x120mm, 2x140mm
Memory 16GB Hyper-X DDR III 1866 9-11-9-27-1T
Video Card(s) Sapphire 6950 2GB x 2
Storage Kingston V200+ 128GB SSD + OCZ Petrol 64GB SSD + WDB 500GB + WDB 640GB + WDB 750GB
Display(s) Asus PA238QR IPS @ 1920x1080
Case Lancool
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 8 Pro X64
#2
I have that mouse and even without Setpoint installed you have the three preset DPI settings available, with setpoint installed you can add a few additional DPI settings
 
Joined
Jun 1, 2006
Messages
67 (0.02/day)
Likes
1
#3
Best mouse, I have one and have gotten one for 2 people so far. OMHO this is the best mouse out cause its got 2 side buttons and the G5 only has 1 :(
Awsome mouse :rockout:
Dont get a razor cause i ended up trading a razer for this one, and just lost money :banghead:
 

KennyT772

New Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2005
Messages
3,572 (0.82/day)
Likes
102
System Name Raptor
Processor Intel E8400 Wolfdale @3600
Motherboard Asus P5Q-Pro LGA775
Cooling Zalman CNPS9700
Memory 1024mbx2 Crucial Ballistix DDR800
Video Card(s) XFX 9600GT
Storage Seagate 7200.11 500GB
Display(s) Acer AL2216Wbd and Acer AL1717
Case Gigabyte 3DAurora Black
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Extreme Gamer Faitality
Power Supply OCZ GameXStream 500w
#4
as totalchaos said three dpi levels are availble without software, 400,800,1600. with setpoint you can have 5 total presets with inciments of 50dpi.
 
Joined
Jun 17, 2005
Messages
1,034 (0.23/day)
Likes
23
System Name Beatle_Juice
Processor i5 4690K
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth Z97 Mark 2
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S
Memory 8 GB G.Skill Sniper DDR3 1866MHz
Video Card(s) ASUS GeForce GTX 770 DirectCU II
Storage Crucial CT064M4 SDD/Samsung 840 EVO 120GB/Samsung F3 1TB
Display(s) BenQ 22" E2220HD
Case Cooler Master ATCS. 840
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Seasonic 850W M12II-850 Evolution
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
#5
Application switch button hard to use : yep ill second that one its in a weird place cant reach it easily
 
Joined
Mar 2, 2006
Messages
5,289 (1.23/day)
Likes
19
Processor AMD Athlon 64 3200+
Motherboard DFI LanParty nf4 Ultra-D
Cooling Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 2x512MB GeIL
Video Card(s) ATI Radeon X800XL
Storage 2x80GB Western Digital
Display(s) HP vs17
Case SuperTalent
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster
Power Supply Ultra X-Finity 500 Watt
#6
Had this mouse, and it's great. But IMO the G5 is better...up to 2000 DPI (For UT2004). But this is a great mouse too, better than most out there.

I have a question though...isn't the MX 518 an Optical mouse? Why is it saying that it's a Laser? When it's not...
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2006
Messages
484 (0.11/day)
Likes
57
Location
Toronto, Ontario
System Name i7 Rig
Processor 970 @ 4.2Ghz @ 1.3vcore
Motherboard Asus P6T Deluxe V2
Cooling Thermalright TRUE Black Rev.C + Scythe S-Flex 120mm 1600RPM x2 Push/Pull
Memory Muskin XP12800 12GB DDR3 1600 7-8-7-20 1T
Video Card(s) MSI TF3 7970 OC BE + Kraken G10 & Corsair H55
Storage Intel 160GB G2 SSDx2 Raid 0 / WD 1TB Black 32mb / ESATA WD 2TB 64mb Green
Display(s) HP ZR24w
Case Cooler Master 690 II Advanced
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi + Logitech Z-5500
Power Supply Corsair Pro Series Gold AX750
Mouse G500
Keyboard G15
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores Hyperthreading on. -= CPU Idle 36c Load 75c | GPU Idle 35c Load 58c =-
#7
I agree the G5 is better, the lack of a second side button means nothing to me.
 
Joined
Mar 2, 2006
Messages
5,289 (1.23/day)
Likes
19
Processor AMD Athlon 64 3200+
Motherboard DFI LanParty nf4 Ultra-D
Cooling Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 2x512MB GeIL
Video Card(s) ATI Radeon X800XL
Storage 2x80GB Western Digital
Display(s) HP vs17
Case SuperTalent
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster
Power Supply Ultra X-Finity 500 Watt
#8
The second side buttons is "Forward"...and the reason why it was taken out is that it wasn't used as much as "Back/return"
 
Joined
Sep 26, 2006
Messages
50 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
Location
sawmills NC
Processor Ryzen 5 1600
Motherboard ASUS Prime B350 Plus
Cooling Water cooling
Memory Corsair 3000
Video Card(s) GTX 1070
Storage Corsair Force 500/ Kingston128 in raid 0
Display(s) Acer 24 , 144hz
Case Nxt
Audio Device(s) Creative labs
Power Supply Rosewill 750 bronze
Mouse Mx 518
Keyboard Thermaltake esports
Software WIN 10
Benchmark Scores 1352 cinebench
#9
yep, great mouse i use setpoint implimented jack up the speed/aceleration and then adjust in the game. only thing is if you fine tune with the "on the fly " buttons if you restart your rig , crash etc you'll lose that setting . so really i don't even use em , but very fast and precise mouse!
 
Joined
Mar 2, 2006
Messages
5,289 (1.23/day)
Likes
19
Processor AMD Athlon 64 3200+
Motherboard DFI LanParty nf4 Ultra-D
Cooling Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 2x512MB GeIL
Video Card(s) ATI Radeon X800XL
Storage 2x80GB Western Digital
Display(s) HP vs17
Case SuperTalent
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster
Power Supply Ultra X-Finity 500 Watt
#10
What? I can use the "On-The-Fly" buttons as much as I want on my G5, and if I restart or chrash, as long as SetPoint is still there, my settings of 400, 800, 1200, 1600, and 2000DPI are still there...wierd. But I am on a G5, not MX 518.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,096 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,523
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#11
the MX518 is optical, not laser as your images suggest.

As for the speed settings, as people said three presets are loaded into the hardware, and the software customises them.

Azn: What he means, is that if he dropped it to 800dpi, on a restart when he logs in it will be back at default.
 
Joined
Mar 2, 2006
Messages
5,289 (1.23/day)
Likes
19
Processor AMD Athlon 64 3200+
Motherboard DFI LanParty nf4 Ultra-D
Cooling Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 2x512MB GeIL
Video Card(s) ATI Radeon X800XL
Storage 2x80GB Western Digital
Display(s) HP vs17
Case SuperTalent
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster
Power Supply Ultra X-Finity 500 Watt
#12
Oh...ok then. Yeah, that's for me too. If my middle setting is 1200 DPI, and I change it to 2000 DPI, then when I restart, it's 1200 DPI again. Not really bad because with the click of a button, you can change it. No one's that lazy;)
 
Joined
Apr 11, 2005
Messages
2,722 (0.59/day)
Likes
44
Location
Canada
Processor Intel Q6600
Motherboard DFI LanParty P35-TR2
Memory 4x1024MB Crucial OC-6400
Video Card(s) ATI HD 3870X2 Crossfire
Storage WD Black 640GB / Seagate 7200.10 320GB
Display(s) 20" Samsung SyncMaster
Case Lian Li PC-A16b
Power Supply SilverStone Decathlon DA750
Software Windows 7 HP
#13
It is a Optical mouse, that image slipped my by. I fixed it.

With the setpoint, I had some different things happen... seemed sometimes I could change my DPI without it, but I found once I put the setpoint software on, it had to be running. Mixed results almost...

ATM - I don't even have setpoint on, as I only need it for the application button, which I don't use lol.

-Dan
 
Joined
Mar 2, 2006
Messages
5,289 (1.23/day)
Likes
19
Processor AMD Athlon 64 3200+
Motherboard DFI LanParty nf4 Ultra-D
Cooling Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 2x512MB GeIL
Video Card(s) ATI Radeon X800XL
Storage 2x80GB Western Digital
Display(s) HP vs17
Case SuperTalent
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster
Power Supply Ultra X-Finity 500 Watt
#14
Doesn't SetPoint load with Windows for a default? I kept mine to load at default, so I have my settings right away.

I wan't to get one of the "Carbon Fiber" looking G7s...they look so crazy!
 
Joined
Sep 26, 2006
Messages
50 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
Location
sawmills NC
Processor Ryzen 5 1600
Motherboard ASUS Prime B350 Plus
Cooling Water cooling
Memory Corsair 3000
Video Card(s) GTX 1070
Storage Corsair Force 500/ Kingston128 in raid 0
Display(s) Acer 24 , 144hz
Case Nxt
Audio Device(s) Creative labs
Power Supply Rosewill 750 bronze
Mouse Mx 518
Keyboard Thermaltake esports
Software WIN 10
Benchmark Scores 1352 cinebench
#15
I'll tell ya what since several of us have got this mouse it has basically only leveled the playing feild before they would say stuff like "hey howed you do that " or "your so fast " now it is only harder to do really well . i geuss a man could start camping ...lol
 
Joined
Apr 11, 2005
Messages
2,722 (0.59/day)
Likes
44
Location
Canada
Processor Intel Q6600
Motherboard DFI LanParty P35-TR2
Memory 4x1024MB Crucial OC-6400
Video Card(s) ATI HD 3870X2 Crossfire
Storage WD Black 640GB / Seagate 7200.10 320GB
Display(s) 20" Samsung SyncMaster
Case Lian Li PC-A16b
Power Supply SilverStone Decathlon DA750
Software Windows 7 HP
#16
Doesn't SetPoint load with Windows for a default? I kept mine to load at default, so I have my settings right away.

I wan't to get one of the "Carbon Fiber" looking G7s...they look so crazy!
Yeah it does... I have a nasty habbit of closing everything that opens on my task bar that I don't need. I just don't need it.

The G5 - I like it, but the two buttons on the side of the MX518 sold me. The 2000DPI, well 1600 is plenty for me as well. Not to mention the fact that I got this MX518 for 40cnd from where I work because of a price match, compared to the 70 for the G5. :)

-Dan
 
Joined
Jul 13, 2005
Messages
353 (0.08/day)
Likes
11
Processor Intel Core i7 950 @ 4.5 Ghz
Motherboard X58 SABERTOOTH
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 24 GB
Video Card(s) EVGA 980 ti sc @ 1550 mhz
Storage EVO 512 gb
Display(s) ASUS 24 QE248
Case ANTEC Twelve Hundred
Audio Device(s) Soundbalster
Power Supply EVGA 1300 Supernova
Mouse Zowie EC1-A
Keyboard Steelseries 6gv2
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores high
#17
10 please..
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 9, 2008
Messages
874 (0.25/day)
Likes
183
System Name Carbon Corsair Carbide 540
Processor i7 7700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Formula IX
Cooling H100i Cpu cooler 6 x 120mm Corsair sp's
Memory Corsair Dominator 3000mhz 16GB Red LED
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980
Storage 120GB Mushkin Deluxe, Corsair 128GB pro, 256GB 840 pro & 1TB samsung EVO. M2.SSD 950 evo 26oGB
Display(s) Dell U2913WN
Case Corsair Carbide 540
Audio Device(s) ON Board
Power Supply AX1200i with RED cables. Corsair
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software windows 10
#19
I have that mouse to besides all the razer mice I have but today I bought the microsoft sidewinder. Yes I know most of you are saying wtf, but seriously I'm really impressed with it. You have to have a big set of hands which is why I got it.

I love the 2 side buttons and you can set your DPI setting between 200 and 2000.

I really love the scroll wheel on it.

Check it out guys and gals it ain't bad at all
 
Joined
Jan 25, 2009
Messages
496 (0.15/day)
Likes
42
System Name The Venerable One
Processor Intel Core i7 980x 3.33GHz
Motherboard EVGA X58 FTW3
Cooling Big Ass fan pointed at the motherboard with the side panel off FTW
Memory 12GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 680 Superclocked X2 in SLI
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256MB SSD/1.5TB HDD internal
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 2443BWX 24" 1920X1200
Case SK-503 Super Case
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Xtreme Music
Power Supply SeaSonic 1000W Platinum Rated
Software Windows 7 Home SP1 64-bit
Benchmark Scores epic
#21
Recently got this mouse and it isn't bad. Ergonomics aren't completely natural to me but I have huge hands, so the overall mouse size is nice. Mine goes up to 1800 dpi. I thought this mouse had rubber coating on the top because of the indentation looking cover but come to find out it is completely hard plastic. Scroll wheel is a tad mushy. Can only use 5 of the 8 buttons in some games. Mouse hasn't started freaking out on me and losing it's sensors in game or in Windows, so that is extremely nice. Good mouse and recommended.