• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Logitech Says It's Doing Everything it Can to Thwart Webcam Shortages

Raevenlord

News Editor
Staff member
Joined
Aug 12, 2016
Messages
3,488 (2.04/day)
Location
Portugal
System Name The Ryzening
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming Pro Carbon
Cooling Arctic Cooling Liquid Freezer 120
Memory 16 GB G.Skill Trident Z F4-3200 (2x 8 GB)
Video Card(s) TPU's Awesome MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Storage Boot: Crucial MX100 128GB; Gaming: Crucial MX 300 525GB; Storage: Samsung 1TB HDD, Toshiba 2TB HDD
Display(s) Acer Nitro VG270UP (1440p 144 Hz IPS)
Case NOX Hummer MC Black
Audio Device(s) iFi Audio Zen DAC
Power Supply Seasonic Focus+ 750 W
Mouse Cooler Master Masterkeys Lite L
Keyboard Cooler Master Masterkeys Lite L
Software Windows 10 x64
Physical distancing has meant a resurgence in technologies meant to bridge gaps in geography (mainly webcams), as people have found that face to face conversations and team meetings are multiple steps above emails. However, ever since the pandemic (and associated lockdown and work from home) procedures began, it's been difficult to find any webcams available for purchase - at least at MSRP. Both new and used webcams have seen their prices increased in wake of tight supply and demand equations, and Logitech, as one of the premier webcam manufacturers in the world, has been on the forefront of fighting these shortages.

In its latest earnings call, Logitech President and CEO Brecken P. Darrel told investors that "PC webcams continued the strong momentum exiting last quarter with Q1 sales more than doubling to the highest quarterly level in a decade... We're ramping our capacity to meet demand, working to overcome component shortages as we do. We expect Q2 supply to improve, but still -- it still could remain pretty tight throughout the quarter." Demand equations in a time of pandemic aren't an exact science, so Logitech underestimating demand isn't all that unexpected. here's hoping the company can provide enough units for the resale channel so as to normalize pricing.



View at TechPowerUp Main Site
 
Joined
Jun 18, 2015
Messages
488 (0.23/day)
Yes of course, just as they did in the double clicking problem. All of my 3 Logitech mice now have double click problems. As soon as warranty period passed, every one of them started to double-clicking.
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2019
Messages
2,368 (3.02/day)
System Name Flavour of the month. I roll through hardware like it's not even mine (it often isn't).
Processor 3900X, 5800X, 2700U
Motherboard Aorus X570 Elite, B550 DS3H
Cooling Alphacool CPU+GPU soft-tubing loop (Laing D5 360mm+140mm), AMD Wraith Prism
Memory 32GB Patriot 3600CL17, 32GB Corsair LPX 3200CL16, 16GB HyperX 2400CL14
Video Card(s) 2070S, 5700XT, Vega10
Storage 1TB WD S100G, 2TB Adata SX8200 Pro, 1TB MX500, 500GB Hynix 2242 bastard thing, 16TB of rust + backup
Display(s) Dell SG3220 165Hz VA, Samsung 65" Q9FN 120Hz VA
Case NZXT H440NE, Silverstone GD04 (almost nothing original left inside, thanks 3D printer!)
Audio Device(s) CA DacMagic+ with Presonus Eris E5, Yamaha RX-V683 with Q Acoustics 3000-series, Sony MDR-1A
Power Supply BeQuiet StraightPower E9 680W, Corsair RM550, and a 45W Lenovo DC power brick, I guess.
Mouse G303, MX Anywhere 2, Another MX Anywhere 2.
Keyboard CM QuickFire Stealth (Cherry MX Brown), Logitech MX Keys (not Cherry MX at all)
Software W10
Benchmark Scores I once clocked a Celeron-300A to 564MHz on an Abit BE6 and it scored over 9000.
I miss being able to buy a reasonable quality 1080p Logitech webcam for £30.
 
Joined
Feb 11, 2009
Messages
3,240 (0.73/day)
System Name Cyberline
Processor Intel Core i7 2600k
Motherboard Asus P8P67 LE Rev 3.0
Cooling Tuniq Tower 120
Memory Corsair (4x2) 8gb 1600mhz
Video Card(s) AMD RX480
Storage Samsung 750 Evo 250gb SSD + WD 1tb x 2 + WD 2tb
Display(s) Philips 32inch LPF5605H (television)
Case antec 600
Audio Device(s) Focusrite 2i4 (USB)
Power Supply Seasonic 620watt 80+ Platinum
Mouse Elecom EX-G
Keyboard Rapoo V700
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
Everything short of making a proper new generation webcam, ya know 4k 60fps or 1440p 120fps with a proper sized lens or even replaceble lens.
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2004
Messages
7,857 (1.31/day)
Location
Formosa
System Name Overlord Mk MXVI
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Master
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro
Memory 32GB Viper Steel 3600 DDR4 @ 3800MHz 16-19-16-19-36
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 2080 Gaming OC 8G
Storage 1TB WD Black NVMe (2018), 2TB Viper VPN100, 1TB WD Blue 3D NAND
Display(s) Asus PG27AQ
Case Corsair Carbide 275Q
Audio Device(s) Corsair Virtuoso SE
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Mouse Logitech G502 Lightspeed
Keyboard Wooting Two
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/33u9si
Everything short of making a proper new generation webcam, ya know 4k 60fps or 1440p 120fps with a proper sized lens or even replaceble lens.
Well, they launched these a while back, but I guess they don't really meet your requirements...

Part of the problem for what you want, is that the video would have to be encoded by the camera, before reaching the PC, which means more complex drivers to enable the video to be used by a lot of software. I guess 10 or 20Gbps USB 3.x might do the job without that, but so far it seems like no-one has made UVC chip for anything higher than 1080p. It also seems like the UVC standard supports anything much higher than 1080p.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 2, 2012
Messages
769 (0.24/day)
Location
Netherlands
System Name TheDeeGee's PC
Processor Intel Core i7 4770K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z87X-UD5H
Cooling Noctua NH-D15S
Memory Crucial Ballistix Tactical LP 16GB
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1070 AERO OC (Custom Cooler)
Storage Crucial BX500 1TB, Crucial BX500 2TB, TeamGroup CX2 SSD 1TB
Display(s) EIZO CX240
Case Fractal Design Define 7
Audio Device(s) Creative SoundBlaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic Prime PX 850
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Logitech G710+
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
Yes of course, just as they did in the double clicking problem. All of my 3 Logitech mice now have double click problems. As soon as warranty period passed, every one of them started to double-clicking.

Most likely copper corrosion on the switches.

I had it on my G500s once, took the switch apart, scrapped off the corrosion with a knife and it worked as brand new again.

Take your time though, it's all very fiddly.
 
Joined
Nov 20, 2013
Messages
4,769 (1.77/day)
Location
Kiev, Ukraine
System Name WS#1337
Processor Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard Gigabyte x470 AORUS Ultra Gamin
Cooling Stock HSF
Memory 2x8GB Team T-Force Vulkan DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 2060 Super Armor OC
Storage Adata SX8200 Pro 1TB
Display(s) Samsung U24E590D (4K/UHD)
Case Chieftec AL-01B-OP
Audio Device(s) ALC1220
Power Supply SeaSonic SSR-550FX (80+ GOLD)
Mouse Logitech G603
Keyboard Zalman K500 modded (Gateron brown)
Software Windows 10, Ubuntu 20.04 LTS
Oh yeah, I'm sure they are quite upset that people keep buying their rebadged 920 for the price of Brio 4k, or that run-of-the-mill grandma webcam now costs nearly $80.
My old C310 died during pandemic, and I was really bummed out to see that I can't afford a decent webcam anymore... Other brands are garbage, and C920 and 922 skyrocketed to the point where I had to use one of my spare laptop cams with a homebrew adapter, until I fixed that old ugly plastic thing. Heck, I even considered taking apart one of my security cameras for the sake of having at least FHD 30FPS sensor that won't turn my face into pixelated moosh at sunset. Even made a USB cable for it...

Part of the problem for what you want, is that the video would have to be encoded by the camera
Biggest part of the problem is Logitech and other webcam makers not adapting USB3.x at all. I'll have an easier time finding an industrial USB Vision camera than a reasonably-priced consumer webcam w/ modern specs. Even 5Gbit/s is more than enough for raw uncompressed 1080p@60fps. Given that nearly every device released in the past 5 or so years has at least USB3.1 USB3.2 2x1 or whatever they call it now, it's ridiculous to see that the only USB device that actually needs that bandwidth still lacks support from the OEM side.
Cypress CSI-2 to USB interfaces cost less than $15 nowadays, while at the same MIPI-CSI cameras get cheaper and cheaper by the day (especially older 5MP/8MP sensors). It's just webcam makers are quite happy milking old tech at high margins, especially now.
 
Joined
Feb 11, 2009
Messages
3,240 (0.73/day)
System Name Cyberline
Processor Intel Core i7 2600k
Motherboard Asus P8P67 LE Rev 3.0
Cooling Tuniq Tower 120
Memory Corsair (4x2) 8gb 1600mhz
Video Card(s) AMD RX480
Storage Samsung 750 Evo 250gb SSD + WD 1tb x 2 + WD 2tb
Display(s) Philips 32inch LPF5605H (television)
Case antec 600
Audio Device(s) Focusrite 2i4 (USB)
Power Supply Seasonic 620watt 80+ Platinum
Mouse Elecom EX-G
Keyboard Rapoo V700
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
Well, they launched these a while back, but I guess they don't really meet your requirements...

Part of the problem for what you want, is that the video would have to be encoded by the camera, before reaching the PC, which means more complex drivers to enable the video to be used by a lot of software. I guess 10 or 20Gbps USB 3.x might do the job without that, but so far it seems like no-one has made UVC chip for anything higher than 1080p. It also seems like the UVC standard supports anything much higher than 1080p.

Yes "full HD 1080p at 60 frames per second" is not 4k at 60fps or 1440p at 120fps.
and if nobody made it yet...well then logitech should make it themselves.

Also how do those GoPro's work who can do 4k all on their own in that tiny body?
And also Avermedia actually had a 4k webcam but ended up not releasing it, but several people on youtube got it for review.
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2004
Messages
7,857 (1.31/day)
Location
Formosa
System Name Overlord Mk MXVI
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Master
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro
Memory 32GB Viper Steel 3600 DDR4 @ 3800MHz 16-19-16-19-36
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 2080 Gaming OC 8G
Storage 1TB WD Black NVMe (2018), 2TB Viper VPN100, 1TB WD Blue 3D NAND
Display(s) Asus PG27AQ
Case Corsair Carbide 275Q
Audio Device(s) Corsair Virtuoso SE
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Mouse Logitech G502 Lightspeed
Keyboard Wooting Two
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/33u9si
Biggest part of the problem is Logitech and other webcam makers not adapting USB3.x at all. I'll have an easier time finding an industrial USB Vision camera than a reasonably-priced consumer webcam w/ modern specs. Even 5Gbit/s is more than enough for raw uncompressed 1080p@60fps. Given that nearly every device released in the past 5 or so years has at least USB3.1 USB3.2 2x1 or whatever they call it now, it's ridiculous to see that the only USB device that actually needs that bandwidth still lacks support from the OEM side.
Cypress CSI-2 to USB interfaces cost less than $15 nowadays, while at the same MIPI-CSI cameras get cheaper and cheaper by the day (especially older 5MP/8MP sensors). It's just webcam makers are quite happy milking old tech at high margins, especially now.
Did you not click on the link I provided? That camera is USB 3.x, it even has USB-C and does 1080p60...

As I said, USB UVC doesn't seem to support anything higher than 1080p.

Yes "full HD 1080p at 60 frames per second" is not 4k at 60fps or 1440p at 120fps.
and if nobody made it yet...well then logitech should make it themselves.

Also how do those GoPro's work who can do 4k all on their own in that tiny body?
And also Avermedia actually had a 4k webcam but ended up not releasing it, but several people on youtube got it for review.
A GoPro also costs a lot more and afaik, can't be used as a USB camera.

I mean, all the DSLR camera makers have all of a sudden released USB camera drivers for their $2,000+ cameras, but none seems to be able to do better than 1080p.

From what I have seen, you need a capture card of some kind, be it USB 3.x or PCIe to get anything above 1080p from a camera of any kind.

I tried to bring a capture/streaming device to market many moons ago, but ran into the problem that the captured video was encoded in H.264 and it meant it was useless for live streaming. The way the OS and third party software can use the video is tricky if it's not a USB UVC compatible device.
 
Joined
Oct 3, 2019
Messages
59 (0.11/day)
Processor Ryzen 3600
Motherboard MSI X470 Gaming Plus Max
Cooling stock crap AMD wraith cooler
Memory Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro 16GB DDR4-3200MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro RX580 8GBs
Storage Adata Gammix S11 Pro 1TB nvme
Case Corsair Caribide Air 540
Yes of course, just as they did in the double clicking problem. All of my 3 Logitech mice now have double click problems. As soon as warranty period passed, every one of them started to double-clicking.

Same problem. 10 year old MX518s don't have this problem, but huge masses of expensive 120-dollar-plus logitech mice do. Their mechanical keyboards are full of problems too (key chattering, broken keycaps). Their quality has gone to junk for some years now. They're not even attempting to fix it, unlike other manufacturers who provide solderless hot swapable mouse switches, or optical mouse key switches that won't develop the problem. They're just cruising on paid youtube shill unboxing "reviews" that never address reliability or longevity.

I so wish Microsoft would reenter the webcamera market with some new, good, windows hello compatible webcameras. Or Hyperx. Or Steelseries. Anyone, really. It's amazing how most webcam manufacturers give no attention to this easy way of differentiating their product (judging by the prices of mass chinese windows hello cameras, and the fact it's practically included for free on a 24 incher Dell monitor, the infrared component can't be all that expensive). And still, you'll only find it on junk Logitech expensive top-shelf webcams...
 
Joined
Nov 20, 2013
Messages
4,769 (1.77/day)
Location
Kiev, Ukraine
System Name WS#1337
Processor Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard Gigabyte x470 AORUS Ultra Gamin
Cooling Stock HSF
Memory 2x8GB Team T-Force Vulkan DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 2060 Super Armor OC
Storage Adata SX8200 Pro 1TB
Display(s) Samsung U24E590D (4K/UHD)
Case Chieftec AL-01B-OP
Audio Device(s) ALC1220
Power Supply SeaSonic SSR-550FX (80+ GOLD)
Mouse Logitech G603
Keyboard Zalman K500 modded (Gateron brown)
Software Windows 10, Ubuntu 20.04 LTS
Did you not click on the link I provided? That camera is USB 3.x, it even has USB-C and does 1080p60...
That camera has $170 MSRP, which is ridiculous... that's pre-pandemic BRIO 4K price tag right there.
What's even more ridiculous, is that at the moment it's basically only available in NA region and it costs nearly 250USD.
...and still, even with those restrictions, in most places it's either on backorder or out-of-stock 'till further notice.
If anything, it's more viable and accessible to get a workaround out of Twitch Streamers playbook, and simply hook up a GoPro to a cheap chinese 1080p60 capture dongle.

As I said, USB UVC doesn't seem to support anything higher than 1080p.
That's nonsense. Just look at BRIO 4K - UVC compliant. All USB Vision industrial cameras are also UVC-compliant (with capabilities as high as 4k@30FPS). My new dream-microscope w/ USB3.0 Type-A plug is also UVC compliant (If I ever get it, I'll probably use it as a webcam w/ wide-angle lens).
As I said, the only thing that's holding back affordable high-res high-bitrate webcams are OEMs and their greed. Just look at all of those "classic" 10y.o. models with a whooping 720p resolution Logitech and Microsoft keep pumping out like hot cakes.
 
Joined
May 19, 2009
Messages
1,469 (0.34/day)
Location
Latvia
System Name Personal \\ Work - HP EliteBook 840 G3
Processor i7-4790K \\ i7-6500U
Motherboard MSI Z97 Gaming 7
Cooling Noctua DH-15
Memory Corsair Vengeance Pro 32GB 2400 MHz \\ 16GB DDR4-2133
Video Card(s) ASUS RoG Strix 1070 Ti\\ Intel 520 HD
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 512GB, WD Black 2 TB, Samsung 970 Pro 512GB \\ Samsung 256GB SSD
Display(s) BenQ XL2411Z \\ FullHD + 2x HP Z24i external screens via docking station
Case Fractal Design Define Arc Midi R2 with window
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150 with Logitech Z323
Power Supply Corsair AX860i
Software Windows 10
Let's just say when a 30 EUR webcam started to cost 100+ EUR, I was pretty pissed.
Logitech gotta be rolling in the money now.
 
Joined
Jan 13, 2011
Messages
210 (0.06/day)
Everything short of making a proper new generation webcam, ya know 4k 60fps or 1440p 120fps with a proper sized lens or even replaceble lens.
120fps based on what? What webcam, streaming or videoweb site even allows 120fps.
Yes of course, just as they did in the double clicking problem. All of my 3 Logitech mice now have double click problems. As soon as warranty period passed, every one of them started to double-clicking.
That's probably because Logitech moved to using the cheaper Chinese made Omron switches many years back from the Japanese ones. Ofc for some reason the chinese ones are rated for 50mil clicks while the japanese ones are only 20mil these are no load tests though. If you slam on that click and hold it down hard you'll cause that number to drop. Just desolder the switches and replace w.e you want Japanese Omron, TTC, Kailh, Huano etc. If you're the type to wear though the switch like that you'd probably want to change the switches to something heavier anyways for more positive feedback, Chinese omrons are really light switches, that's why logitech has the whole support plastic shell on the clicks to give a more positive feedback.Frankly alot of company use Chinese made Omrons they're hard to avoid.
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
16,991 (3.37/day)
Location
UK\US
Processor 2500k \ AMD 3900X+NH-D15
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ ASRock AM4 X570 Pro 4
Memory Samsung low profile 2x8GB \ Patriot 2x16GB PVS432G320C6K
Video Card(s) eVga GTX1060 SSC \ XFX R9 390X
Storage 2xIntel 80Gb (SATA2) Crucial MX500 \ Samsung 860 1TB +Samsung Evo 250GB+500GB Sabrent 1TB Rocket
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( VE2000BWS ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-A820 \ Yamaha CX-830+Yamaha MX-630 Infinity RS4000, Blue Yeti
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse Steelseries Sensei wireless \ Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
Yes of course, just as they did in the double clicking problem. All of my 3 Logitech mice now have double click problems. As soon as warranty period passed, every one of them started to double-clicking.

Buy a swiitch and a soldering iron \ flux and fix it your self, it isn't hard.

I miss being able to buy a reasonable quality 1080p Logitech webcam for £30.

Bigger problem is limitations they put on them, my c920 can only do 1080p is skype.

120fps based on what? What webcam, streaming or videoweb site even allows 120fps.
That's probably because Logitech moved to using the cheaper Chinese made Omron switches many years back from the Japanese ones. Ofc for some reason the chinese ones are rated for 50mil clicks while the japanese ones are only 20mil these are no load tests though. If you slam on that click and hold it down hard you'll cause that number to drop. Just desolder the switches and replace w.e you want Japanese Omron, TTC, Kailh, Huano etc. If you're the type to wear though the switch like that you'd probably want to change the switches to something heavier anyways for more positive feedback, Chinese omrons are really light switches, that's why logitech has the whole support plastic shell on the clicks to give a more positive feedback.Frankly alot of company use Chinese made Omrons they're hard to avoid.

In my finding the lighter to click switches fail much sooner for me at least.
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2012
Messages
2,258 (0.68/day)
System Name MSI GE75 Raider
Processor i9 9880h
Cooling 2 laptop fans
Memory 32gb of 3000mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) Nvidia 2080
Storage x2 2tb Intel 660p SSD nvme, WD Red SA500 2.5in 4TB
Display(s) 17.3" IPS 1920x1080 144Hz
Power Supply 280w laptop power supply
Mouse Logitech m705
Keyboard laptop keyboard
Software lots of movies and Windows 10 with win 7 shell
Benchmark Scores Good enough for me
Here I was thinking there was a webcam shortage becase lots of people where using them for chaturbate or onlyfans.
 
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
583 (0.14/day)
Location
Madrid, Spain
System Name Cubito
Processor Core i7-8700K
Motherboard Asus TUF Z390M
Cooling Alphacool Eisbaer Aurora 280
Memory 32 GB DDR4 3000mhz Corsair Vengeance LPX
Video Card(s) KFA2 RTX 3090 SG
Storage 4 x Samsung 850 EVO 250GB + 2 x WD Black SN750 1TB
Display(s) 2 x Asus ROG Swift PG278QR
Case Thermaltake Core V21
Audio Device(s) Evga Nu Audio + Sennheiser HD599SE + Trust GTX 258
Power Supply Corsair RMX750
Mouse Razer Naga Wireless Pro
Keyboard Logitech MX Keys
Software Windows 10 Home x64
Yes "full HD 1080p at 60 frames per second" is not 4k at 60fps or 1440p at 120fps.
and if nobody made it yet...well then logitech should make it themselves.

Also how do those GoPro's work who can do 4k all on their own in that tiny body?
And also Avermedia actually had a 4k webcam but ended up not releasing it, but several people on youtube got it for review.

Is not really that much about what logitech can do rather why would anyone doing a videocall need something more than 1080p when there are not many services that provide that, and people who do more pro streams just get a reflex camera with a capture card.
 
Joined
Apr 18, 2013
Messages
64 (0.02/day)
Location
Radio Emilia 5.9
System Name anime_server//home_pc//rufy_pc//htpc//film_server
Processor EQ8300@3.03/E7200@3.16/E8400@3.06/E5300@2.93/J1900
Motherboard Asus P5Q-DLX/MSI G31M3-L V2/GA-G41M-ES2L/AsRock Conroe1333-D667/AsRock Q1900-ITX
Cooling CM Hyper48+Vantec Tornado/stock/Asus Triton/stock/stock
Memory 2*2G PI8000+2*1G Extreme800+/2*2G PC2-6400/1*2G+1*512M PC2-6400/2*1G Kingston PC2-6400/2*4G so-DDR3
Video Card(s) Palit GTX460 1GB w EK Supreme/GTS240 1GB/Asus HD4550 512MB/Asus 7200GS 128MB/iHD
Storage too many in too many config
Display(s) Asus VS239--BenQ G922HDL--Philips 191V--Panasonic TX-40CS620--BenQ 2220HDL
Case Chieftec super towa--Nokia Style--TechSolo TC-020--Lenovo Case--NXT one
Audio Device(s) Creative Audigy!--onboard--onboard--onboard--onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX850 w Aerocool fan--Antec EA380--FSP-300-60GHS--crappy one--LC-Power LC7300
Software W7Pro x64--W8.1Pro--W7Pro x64--W7Pro--Win server 2012r2
Benchmark Scores need more GB, more GPU and more CPU.. at least can share all with my rig
why buy webcam when you can use your phone with app that "convert" it to a webcam?

logi(tech) take this as a suggestion, stqart making dashcam... LoL
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2019
Messages
2,368 (3.02/day)
System Name Flavour of the month. I roll through hardware like it's not even mine (it often isn't).
Processor 3900X, 5800X, 2700U
Motherboard Aorus X570 Elite, B550 DS3H
Cooling Alphacool CPU+GPU soft-tubing loop (Laing D5 360mm+140mm), AMD Wraith Prism
Memory 32GB Patriot 3600CL17, 32GB Corsair LPX 3200CL16, 16GB HyperX 2400CL14
Video Card(s) 2070S, 5700XT, Vega10
Storage 1TB WD S100G, 2TB Adata SX8200 Pro, 1TB MX500, 500GB Hynix 2242 bastard thing, 16TB of rust + backup
Display(s) Dell SG3220 165Hz VA, Samsung 65" Q9FN 120Hz VA
Case NZXT H440NE, Silverstone GD04 (almost nothing original left inside, thanks 3D printer!)
Audio Device(s) CA DacMagic+ with Presonus Eris E5, Yamaha RX-V683 with Q Acoustics 3000-series, Sony MDR-1A
Power Supply BeQuiet StraightPower E9 680W, Corsair RM550, and a 45W Lenovo DC power brick, I guess.
Mouse G303, MX Anywhere 2, Another MX Anywhere 2.
Keyboard CM QuickFire Stealth (Cherry MX Brown), Logitech MX Keys (not Cherry MX at all)
Software W10
Benchmark Scores I once clocked a Celeron-300A to 564MHz on an Abit BE6 and it scored over 9000.
Everything short of making a proper new generation webcam, ya know 4k 60fps or 1440p 120fps with a proper sized lens or even replaceble lens.
That's not even the real issue. There are incredible quality phone cameras (Pixel, iPhone) that use tiny, non-replaceable fixed lenses.

It's more about intelligent auto-focus, white balance, de-barrelling, and a sensor with adequate resolution but good low-light performance. A good quality 1080p image at 60fps is going to be plenty for anything a webcam needs to do.
 
Joined
May 13, 2010
Messages
5,268 (1.32/day)
System Name RemixedBeast-NX
Processor Intel Xeon E5-2650 @ 2.2Ghz (8C/16T)
Motherboard Dell Inc. 08HPGT (CPU 1)
Cooling Dell Standard
Memory 32GB ECC
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Nvidia RTX2060 6GB
Storage 2TB Samsung 860 EVO SSD//2TB WD Black HDD
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster P2350 23in @ 1920x1080 + Dell E2013H 20 in @1600x900
Case Dell Precision T3600 Chassis
Audio Device(s) Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro 80 // Fiio E7 Amp/DAC
Power Supply 630w Dell T3600 PSU
Mouse Logitech G700s/G502
Keyboard Logitech K740
Software Linux Mint 19.3
Benchmark Scores Network: APs: Cisco Meraki MR32, Ubiquiti Unifi AP-AC-LR and Lite Router/Sw:Meraki MX64 MS220-8P
Yes of course, just as they did in the double clicking problem. All of my 3 Logitech mice now have double click problems. As soon as warranty period passed, every one of them started to double-clicking.
Another irk aout Logitech - No linux suport for mapping buttons! :(
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2015
Messages
706 (0.35/day)
Location
Latvija
System Name Fujitsu Siemens, HP Workstation
Processor Athlon x2 5000+ 3.1GHz, i5 2400
Motherboard Asus
Memory 4GB Samsung
Video Card(s) rx 460 4gb
Storage 750 Evo 250 +2tb
Display(s) Asus 1680x1050 4K HDR
Audio Device(s) Pioneer
Power Supply 430W
Mouse Acme
Keyboard Trust
I am not happy whit their Logitech capture it works slow.
 
Joined
Mar 28, 2018
Messages
1,007 (0.91/day)
Location
Arizona
System Name Space Heater MKIII
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 2600X
Motherboard ASUS TUF Gaming X570-PLUS WiFi
Cooling Cryorig R1 Ultimate, 5x Cryorig XF140 fans
Memory 2x16GB Team T-Force Dark Z DDR4-3600 C18 1.35V (running 3200MHz C16)
Video Card(s) GeForce GTX 1070 Gigabyte G1 Gaming
Storage 500GB Samsung 970 EVO, 2x1TB Crucial MX500 (striped array), 4TB Seagate Barracuda
Display(s) Monoprice 35" 3440x1440p 100Hz
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M
Audio Device(s) Klipsch ProMedia 2.1
Power Supply EVGA 750 B3, CyberPower CST135XLU
Mouse Logitech MX Master
Keyboard Logitech G610 Orion Brown
Software Windows 10 Pro
Wanted to get a Logi webcam, but they're either too expensive or out of stock. Ended up getting a generic one that was on an Amazon lightning deal for $25.
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2012
Messages
2,258 (0.68/day)
System Name MSI GE75 Raider
Processor i9 9880h
Cooling 2 laptop fans
Memory 32gb of 3000mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) Nvidia 2080
Storage x2 2tb Intel 660p SSD nvme, WD Red SA500 2.5in 4TB
Display(s) 17.3" IPS 1920x1080 144Hz
Power Supply 280w laptop power supply
Mouse Logitech m705
Keyboard laptop keyboard
Software lots of movies and Windows 10 with win 7 shell
Benchmark Scores Good enough for me
Wanted to get a Logi webcam, but they're either too expensive or out of stock. Ended up getting a generic one that was on an Amazon lightning deal for $25.
I saw a youtube video where the person bought a older gopro 3 or 4, used a USB video capture device and used it for a webcam. He said the bought the gopro 3 on ebay for $40. The difference in video was better with the gopro 3 than the logitech stream cam he used.
 
Top