• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Logitech Z-5500 problems.

J-Man

New Member
Joined
May 14, 2007
Messages
2,248 (0.58/day)
Likes
80
Location
Oakham, UK
System Name Watercooled beast
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.02GHz
Motherboard ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Cooling Swiftech Apogee GTZ, Black Ice GTX Xtreme 480, EK 250 Rev 2, EK 4870 X2, MCP655, 1/2" Tygon Tubing
Memory 4GB DDR2 OCZ @ 1066MHz 2.1V
Video Card(s) HIS ATI Radeon HD 4870 X2 800 on core, 1000 on memory (overclocked in CCC)
Storage 500GB Maxtor Diamondmax 22 SATA II 32MB Cache
Display(s) Samsung 24" SM245B
Case SilverStone TJ07 black/windowed version
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Xtreme Gamer Fatal1ty + Logitech Z-5500
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 1200W Modular
Software Windows Vista Ultimate 64-bit Retail
#1
For some reason, I can only hear 2 of the speakers and the other 3 I have no sound at all. Have I also plugged the connectors in the correct slots on my sound card? I have the Creative X-Fi Extreme Gamer and I have from left to right, black, pink then green and there's the mic port on the right beside the green. Is there anything I have to adject to get all 5 speakers with sound? It's annoying me now. My input says 6 Ch Direct.

Yes, I only got these speakers today.
 

gerrynicol

New Member
Joined
Feb 8, 2005
Messages
758 (0.16/day)
Likes
18
Location
Scotland, Falkirk
System Name Home built
Processor Core i7-920 4.0Ghz
Motherboard Asus P6t OC
Cooling Akasa Nero
Memory 6GB G.Skill DDR3 PC3-1348Mhz
Video Card(s) XFX GTX 285 SLi
Storage 160GB, 250GB, 320GB
Display(s) 24" dell(1920X1200)
Case Coolermaster HAF
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Prelude, logitech Z5500
Power Supply Corsair HX 1K
Software 7 ultimate 64
#2
Did you set your software to 5.1 (in the console launcher??)
 

Darren

New Member
Joined
Feb 27, 2005
Messages
1,936 (0.41/day)
Likes
338
System Name Cheap yet powerful gaming and entertainment rig!
Processor AMD Athlon 3800+ X2 Windsor, 1 MB L2 Cache (512k L2 Per Core), 65W Energy efficient, 2GHz @ 2.78 Ghz
Motherboard Asrock ALiveNF7G-HD720p Rev v5.0
Cooling Freezer 64, 2x120mm, 1x92mm
Memory 8 GB DDRII PC6400 @ 929 MHz OCZ (2GBx4) timing: 5-5-5-5-16-2T
Video Card(s) XFX ATI4830
Storage Seagate 320 GB SATA (16 MB Cache)
Display(s) 19' HannsG (1440x900 @ 75hz)
Case Coolermaster Elite 330 Black Case
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Meridian, Pioneer VSX-516 Receiver 7.1 with DD/DD EX/Prologic II/DTS/DTS-ES//DTS: Neo
Power Supply Cool Master eXtreme Power 460W PSU
Software Vista Ultimate X64 Corporate Edition
#3
For some reason, I can only hear 2 of the speakers and the other 3 I have no sound at all. Have I also plugged the connectors in the correct slots on my sound card? I have the Creative X-Fi Extreme Gamer and I have from left to right, black, pink then green and there's the mic port on the right beside the green. Is there anything I have to adject to get all 5 speakers with sound? It's annoying me now. My input says 6 Ch Direct.

Yes, I only got these speakers today.
You may have to enable the Prologic up mixing feature; I think it is called "movie mode" or "music mode" or something similar to that.

Post in the official Logitech Z-5500 thread, all the geeks that own these speakers are there --- > http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?p=1003621#post1003621

Edit:
If you mean Creative Auto Console then yes. In the Speaker tab it says speaker configuration: 5.1

Also if there any options for "CMSS" or "Virtual speakers" (within creatives console) if so enable it. lol unfortunately getting full 5.1 can be troublesome if you're not using a digital cable and an encoder card.

Edit 2:
What is the Prologic up mizing feature?
I found this extract from another website.

Connecting a PC's 2 Channel Stereo Analog output:

If your PC or Laptop only has stereo output (2 Channel Left / Right) you can still simulate the 5.1 experience via your Z-5500. You need to first set the toggle switch at the back of the Control Center from 6 Channel Direct to Stereo 1-3. You then plug in the stereo mini-plug coming from your laptop to any of the 3 (now stereo) input jacks at the back of the Control Center. You have to enable this input by selecting it from the Control Center's Input options. You can then simulate Dolby 5.1 (for Movies or Music) by selecting Pro Logic II (PLII) Movies or Music under Effects in the Control Center.
 
Last edited:

J-Man

New Member
Joined
May 14, 2007
Messages
2,248 (0.58/day)
Likes
80
Location
Oakham, UK
System Name Watercooled beast
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.02GHz
Motherboard ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Cooling Swiftech Apogee GTZ, Black Ice GTX Xtreme 480, EK 250 Rev 2, EK 4870 X2, MCP655, 1/2" Tygon Tubing
Memory 4GB DDR2 OCZ @ 1066MHz 2.1V
Video Card(s) HIS ATI Radeon HD 4870 X2 800 on core, 1000 on memory (overclocked in CCC)
Storage 500GB Maxtor Diamondmax 22 SATA II 32MB Cache
Display(s) Samsung 24" SM245B
Case SilverStone TJ07 black/windowed version
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Xtreme Gamer Fatal1ty + Logitech Z-5500
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 1200W Modular
Software Windows Vista Ultimate 64-bit Retail
#4
Did you set your software to 5.1 (in the console launcher??)
If you mean Creative Auto Console then yes. In the Speaker tab it says speaker configuration: 5.1
 

J-Man

New Member
Joined
May 14, 2007
Messages
2,248 (0.58/day)
Likes
80
Location
Oakham, UK
System Name Watercooled beast
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.02GHz
Motherboard ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Cooling Swiftech Apogee GTZ, Black Ice GTX Xtreme 480, EK 250 Rev 2, EK 4870 X2, MCP655, 1/2" Tygon Tubing
Memory 4GB DDR2 OCZ @ 1066MHz 2.1V
Video Card(s) HIS ATI Radeon HD 4870 X2 800 on core, 1000 on memory (overclocked in CCC)
Storage 500GB Maxtor Diamondmax 22 SATA II 32MB Cache
Display(s) Samsung 24" SM245B
Case SilverStone TJ07 black/windowed version
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Xtreme Gamer Fatal1ty + Logitech Z-5500
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 1200W Modular
Software Windows Vista Ultimate 64-bit Retail
#5

J-Man

New Member
Joined
May 14, 2007
Messages
2,248 (0.58/day)
Likes
80
Location
Oakham, UK
System Name Watercooled beast
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.02GHz
Motherboard ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Cooling Swiftech Apogee GTZ, Black Ice GTX Xtreme 480, EK 250 Rev 2, EK 4870 X2, MCP655, 1/2" Tygon Tubing
Memory 4GB DDR2 OCZ @ 1066MHz 2.1V
Video Card(s) HIS ATI Radeon HD 4870 X2 800 on core, 1000 on memory (overclocked in CCC)
Storage 500GB Maxtor Diamondmax 22 SATA II 32MB Cache
Display(s) Samsung 24" SM245B
Case SilverStone TJ07 black/windowed version
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Xtreme Gamer Fatal1ty + Logitech Z-5500
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 1200W Modular
Software Windows Vista Ultimate 64-bit Retail
#6
You may have to enable the Prologic up mixing feature; I think it is called "movie mode" or "music mode" or something similar to that.

Post in the official Logitech Z-5500 thread, all the geeks that own these speakers are there --- > http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?p=1003621#post1003621

Edit:



Also if there any options for "CMSS" or "Virtual speakers" (within creatives console) if so enable it. lol unfortunately getting full 5.1 can be troublesome if you're not using a digital cable and an encoder card.

Edit 2:


I found this extract from another website.

Connecting a PC's 2 Channel Stereo Analog output:

If your PC or Laptop only has stereo output (2 Channel Left / Right) you can still simulate the 5.1 experience via your Z-5500. You need to first set the toggle switch at the back of the Control Center from 6 Channel Direct to Stereo 1-3. You then plug in the stereo mini-plug coming from your laptop to any of the 3 (now stereo) input jacks at the back of the Control Center. You have to enable this input by selecting it from the Control Center's Input options. You can then simulate Dolby 5.1 (for Movies or Music) by selecting Pro Logic II (PLII) Movies or Music under Effects in the Control Center.
^^ I'm confused with that.
 
Joined
Oct 4, 2007
Messages
2,444 (0.66/day)
Likes
352
System Name PC
Processor i7 2600K @4ghz
Motherboard Asus P8P67 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance Blue DDR3 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Palit GTX 1080 Jetstream
Storage Samsung 850 pro 512gb SSD, 2x Kingston 120GB SSD, 2TB WB Green
Display(s) LG 34UM68 34-Inch Monitor
Case Corsair Obsidian 550D Case
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D2X PCI Express Audio / Audioengine A5+ Speakers
Power Supply Corsair RM650 Power Supply
Mouse Logitech G500 Mouse
Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K70 Keyboard
Software Windows 10 64bit
#7
^^ I'm confused with that.
basically your soundcard may be setup to output 5.1 surround sound, but if the source you are playing is in stereo, it will only play over the front left and right speakers and sub.
If you use the built in upmixing (movie mode / music mode) on the Z5500 control pod, it will make use of the other speakers
 
Joined
Apr 25, 2008
Messages
99 (0.03/day)
Likes
9
Location
Sofia, Bulgaria
Processor Q6600@3000MHz
Motherboard Asus Striker II Formula
Cooling Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme w/ Nanoxia@2000rpm
Memory G.Skill 2x1GB@800MHz@4-4-3-5@2.1V
Video Card(s) Asus 8800GTS G92@740/1800/2100
Storage Seagate 7200.10 320GB
Display(s) CRT that SUCKS!
Case CM Cosmos S
Audio Device(s) Z-5500 Digital w/ SupremeFX II (the mobo's add-on sound card)
Power Supply Chieftec Modular 850W
Software WinXP,
Benchmark Scores 3dMark06 - 16735, SuperPI 1.5 - 17.8s
#8
Well, some audio streams are not 5.1 channels, so you can't hear sound from your speakers when there is no data fed to the center, left/right back. Here is an example: I have an MP3 version and an DVD-audio version of Metallica's Black Album. MP3's are only TWO chanels and the DVD-A is REAL 5.1. But here's the fine print - the whole album in MP3 is around 130 MBs, but the DVD-A version is 4350MBs. :laugh: That's about music, but if you can't hear 5.1 when playing games then it's up to the game's settings or the speaker's settings (they should be set to 6 CH DIRECT to get only what your sound card is feeding the speakers, not upmix the sound and make FAKE 5.1). If you need more help write in the Z-5500 Club, there are people there more capable of helping than me. :laugh:
 

iStink

New Member
Joined
Sep 22, 2008
Messages
648 (0.19/day)
Likes
49
System Name The beast
Processor E6600@ 3.4
Motherboard P5W DH Deluxe
Cooling Tuniq Tower 120
Memory 3GB G.Sill DDR2-800
Video Card(s) 8800GT @ 700/975
Storage (1)80GB With XP, (1) 320GB storage
Display(s) 205BW & 710N
Case XClio Windtunnel (I love it)
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Platinum
Power Supply OCZ gamerXStream 700W
#9
Set X-Fi to gaming mode, goto CMSS-3D, click enabled cmss, select surround from the dropdown list below that, set the slider to 50%, prepare for glorious 4channel stereo :p

Also, in entertainment mode, cmss surround comes out of the center channe as welll.
 

J-Man

New Member
Joined
May 14, 2007
Messages
2,248 (0.58/day)
Likes
80
Location
Oakham, UK
System Name Watercooled beast
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.02GHz
Motherboard ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Cooling Swiftech Apogee GTZ, Black Ice GTX Xtreme 480, EK 250 Rev 2, EK 4870 X2, MCP655, 1/2" Tygon Tubing
Memory 4GB DDR2 OCZ @ 1066MHz 2.1V
Video Card(s) HIS ATI Radeon HD 4870 X2 800 on core, 1000 on memory (overclocked in CCC)
Storage 500GB Maxtor Diamondmax 22 SATA II 32MB Cache
Display(s) Samsung 24" SM245B
Case SilverStone TJ07 black/windowed version
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Xtreme Gamer Fatal1ty + Logitech Z-5500
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 1200W Modular
Software Windows Vista Ultimate 64-bit Retail
#10
basically your soundcard may be setup to output 5.1 surround sound, but if the source you are playing is in stereo, it will only play over the front left and right speakers and sub.
If you use the built in upmixing (movie mode / music mode) on the Z5500 control pod, it will make use of the other speakers
Hi, what is the Z-5500 control pod? Is it a program?
 
Joined
Oct 4, 2007
Messages
2,444 (0.66/day)
Likes
352
System Name PC
Processor i7 2600K @4ghz
Motherboard Asus P8P67 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance Blue DDR3 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Palit GTX 1080 Jetstream
Storage Samsung 850 pro 512gb SSD, 2x Kingston 120GB SSD, 2TB WB Green
Display(s) LG 34UM68 34-Inch Monitor
Case Corsair Obsidian 550D Case
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D2X PCI Express Audio / Audioengine A5+ Speakers
Power Supply Corsair RM650 Power Supply
Mouse Logitech G500 Mouse
Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K70 Keyboard
Software Windows 10 64bit
#11
Hi, what is the Z-5500 control pod? Is it a program?
I meant the head unit... with the volume control on it etc..
If you press "select" it will cycle through the different effect algorithms (Stereo, Stereo X2, Movie, Music etc...)
 

J-Man

New Member
Joined
May 14, 2007
Messages
2,248 (0.58/day)
Likes
80
Location
Oakham, UK
System Name Watercooled beast
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.02GHz
Motherboard ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Cooling Swiftech Apogee GTZ, Black Ice GTX Xtreme 480, EK 250 Rev 2, EK 4870 X2, MCP655, 1/2" Tygon Tubing
Memory 4GB DDR2 OCZ @ 1066MHz 2.1V
Video Card(s) HIS ATI Radeon HD 4870 X2 800 on core, 1000 on memory (overclocked in CCC)
Storage 500GB Maxtor Diamondmax 22 SATA II 32MB Cache
Display(s) Samsung 24" SM245B
Case SilverStone TJ07 black/windowed version
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Xtreme Gamer Fatal1ty + Logitech Z-5500
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 1200W Modular
Software Windows Vista Ultimate 64-bit Retail
#12
I meant the head unit... with the volume control on it etc..
If you press "select" it will cycle through the different effect algorithms (Stereo, Stereo X2, Movie, Music etc...)
It's set on 6 channel direct. Who has the same speakers as me and all 5 of their speakers have sound? I don't have the latest sound drivers though. I have the March 2008 drivers from Creative site. I saw a July 2008 drivers.
 

Darren

New Member
Joined
Feb 27, 2005
Messages
1,936 (0.41/day)
Likes
338
System Name Cheap yet powerful gaming and entertainment rig!
Processor AMD Athlon 3800+ X2 Windsor, 1 MB L2 Cache (512k L2 Per Core), 65W Energy efficient, 2GHz @ 2.78 Ghz
Motherboard Asrock ALiveNF7G-HD720p Rev v5.0
Cooling Freezer 64, 2x120mm, 1x92mm
Memory 8 GB DDRII PC6400 @ 929 MHz OCZ (2GBx4) timing: 5-5-5-5-16-2T
Video Card(s) XFX ATI4830
Storage Seagate 320 GB SATA (16 MB Cache)
Display(s) 19' HannsG (1440x900 @ 75hz)
Case Coolermaster Elite 330 Black Case
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Meridian, Pioneer VSX-516 Receiver 7.1 with DD/DD EX/Prologic II/DTS/DTS-ES//DTS: Neo
Power Supply Cool Master eXtreme Power 460W PSU
Software Vista Ultimate X64 Corporate Edition
#13
It is set on six channels direct. Who has the same speakers as me and all five of their speakers have sound? I don't have the latest sound drivers though. I have the March 2008 drivers from Creative site. I saw a July 2008 drivers.
It is not a driver issue it is because you are not using the appropriate digital cable such as fibre or coaxial in conjunction to a real time DD/DTS encoding soundcard such as Auzentechs range, so the work around is tricky.

Method 1:
The X-Fi's don’t support Dolby encoding only "decoding" and hence why merely using a digital cable with your Logitech will only give you PCM Stereo (unless you use the Prologic Movie/Music up mixing effect on your Z-5500 which will create a fake 5.1) However using a digital cable with an X-FI would still allow for full DD/DTS 5.1 when playing pre-encoded material such as a DVD however music files and games will be PCM stereo because they are originally 2.0 sources and not 5.1 sources.

Method 2:
Because you are using an analogue cable, the rules are slightly different. Dolby Digital and DTS are only compatible with digital cables such as fibre, coaxial, HDMI etc. Although it is possible to get surround via analogue it just will not be DD or DTS standards however, a fake surround such as Prologic can be applied. If you're using analogue and want a Prologic surround you need to enable (on the POD) 6-channel direct enabled in addition to enabling one of the DSPs such as Prologic IIx movie/music in conjuction you need to enable CMSS-3D within your X-FI's driver console.

The easiest method is method 1