• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Looking for a cable splitter that lasts a long time.

Joined
Jan 29, 2012
Messages
5,469 (1.91/day)
Location
Florida
System Name natr0n-PC
Processor 2600K @ 4.4GHz / Dual Xeon 5675's @ 3.33GHz 12c/24t
Motherboard Sabertooth Z77 / GA-7TESM
Cooling Deepcool Assassin - 3 Fans / Custom
Memory 2x8GB 2133MHz Samsung Dual Channel / 6x4GB 1333MHz Samsung Hexa Channel
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 980 SC / Asus Strix 980ti
Storage Various SSD/HD
Display(s) Samsung 23' 2048x1152 / Various Dells
Case Sunbeam Transformer Silver / Matrexx 55
Audio Device(s) SB X-fi on all systems
Power Supply Corsair TX 650w / Evga NEX 750B
Mouse Alienware AW558 @ 5000 DPI
Keyboard Asus KB34211
Software XP64/7/8.1/10
Benchmark Scores http://valid.x86.fr/79kuh6
I got cable modem (coaxial cable). I also run a splitter to my tv. Long story short these splitters degrade quickly.

Is there any brand or special type to look for ? I live in FL so weather could be a culprit.

My questions hardly ever get answered here...worth a shot to ask if someone knows.
 
Joined
Jul 10, 2012
Messages
5,379 (1.99/day)
Location
Memphis, TN
System Name Black Prometheus
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 3900X
Motherboard ASRock B350 Pro4
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory SK Hynix 32GB(8GBx4) DDR4 @2666MHz
Video Card(s) AMD Navi 5700 XT 50TH Anniversary Edition
Storage Sandisk X300 512GB + Seagate 2TB
Display(s) HP LA2405WG 24" Triple Monitor (5760x1200)
Case DeepCool Matrexx 55 w/ 3x120mm Intake + 4x120mm Exhaust
Audio Device(s) Samsung 5.1 Setup
Power Supply Corsair RM750X
Mouse Logitech Trackman
Keyboard Dell OEM
Software Windows 10 EDU x64
Will it be inside or outside
 
Joined
Jan 29, 2012
Messages
5,469 (1.91/day)
Location
Florida
System Name natr0n-PC
Processor 2600K @ 4.4GHz / Dual Xeon 5675's @ 3.33GHz 12c/24t
Motherboard Sabertooth Z77 / GA-7TESM
Cooling Deepcool Assassin - 3 Fans / Custom
Memory 2x8GB 2133MHz Samsung Dual Channel / 6x4GB 1333MHz Samsung Hexa Channel
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 980 SC / Asus Strix 980ti
Storage Various SSD/HD
Display(s) Samsung 23' 2048x1152 / Various Dells
Case Sunbeam Transformer Silver / Matrexx 55
Audio Device(s) SB X-fi on all systems
Power Supply Corsair TX 650w / Evga NEX 750B
Mouse Alienware AW558 @ 5000 DPI
Keyboard Asus KB34211
Software XP64/7/8.1/10
Benchmark Scores http://valid.x86.fr/79kuh6
Joined
Jan 29, 2012
Messages
5,469 (1.91/day)
Location
Florida
System Name natr0n-PC
Processor 2600K @ 4.4GHz / Dual Xeon 5675's @ 3.33GHz 12c/24t
Motherboard Sabertooth Z77 / GA-7TESM
Cooling Deepcool Assassin - 3 Fans / Custom
Memory 2x8GB 2133MHz Samsung Dual Channel / 6x4GB 1333MHz Samsung Hexa Channel
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 980 SC / Asus Strix 980ti
Storage Various SSD/HD
Display(s) Samsung 23' 2048x1152 / Various Dells
Case Sunbeam Transformer Silver / Matrexx 55
Audio Device(s) SB X-fi on all systems
Power Supply Corsair TX 650w / Evga NEX 750B
Mouse Alienware AW558 @ 5000 DPI
Keyboard Asus KB34211
Software XP64/7/8.1/10
Benchmark Scores http://valid.x86.fr/79kuh6
The cheap option is if you have a provider with a service center near you. They might just give you splitters for free. With proof of my account I've asked for HDMI cables, splitters and coax cable all free.
That never came to mind thats a great idea. :)
 
Joined
Jul 10, 2012
Messages
5,379 (1.99/day)
Location
Memphis, TN
System Name Black Prometheus
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 3900X
Motherboard ASRock B350 Pro4
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory SK Hynix 32GB(8GBx4) DDR4 @2666MHz
Video Card(s) AMD Navi 5700 XT 50TH Anniversary Edition
Storage Sandisk X300 512GB + Seagate 2TB
Display(s) HP LA2405WG 24" Triple Monitor (5760x1200)
Case DeepCool Matrexx 55 w/ 3x120mm Intake + 4x120mm Exhaust
Audio Device(s) Samsung 5.1 Setup
Power Supply Corsair RM750X
Mouse Logitech Trackman
Keyboard Dell OEM
Software Windows 10 EDU x64

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
26,622 (5.19/day)
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 9900K@5.0GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB SX8200 Pro + 8TB with 1TB SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply eVGA SuperNOVA 1000w G3
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
The cheap option is if you have a provider with a service center near you. They might just give you splitters for free. With proof of my account I've asked for HDMI cables, splitters and coax cable all free.
Honestly, this is probably the best option. I don't know what brand the ones that my cable company gives out are, but in all the years using them I've never had one go bad. Even the ones in the box outside my house.
 
Joined
Jan 29, 2012
Messages
5,469 (1.91/day)
Location
Florida
System Name natr0n-PC
Processor 2600K @ 4.4GHz / Dual Xeon 5675's @ 3.33GHz 12c/24t
Motherboard Sabertooth Z77 / GA-7TESM
Cooling Deepcool Assassin - 3 Fans / Custom
Memory 2x8GB 2133MHz Samsung Dual Channel / 6x4GB 1333MHz Samsung Hexa Channel
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 980 SC / Asus Strix 980ti
Storage Various SSD/HD
Display(s) Samsung 23' 2048x1152 / Various Dells
Case Sunbeam Transformer Silver / Matrexx 55
Audio Device(s) SB X-fi on all systems
Power Supply Corsair TX 650w / Evga NEX 750B
Mouse Alienware AW558 @ 5000 DPI
Keyboard Asus KB34211
Software XP64/7/8.1/10
Benchmark Scores http://valid.x86.fr/79kuh6

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
25,558 (6.27/day)
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate Exos X12 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 VGA)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
1->2 splitters are pretty much all the same and nothing to write home about. They can't really degrade because there's really nothing to them. Just make sure it can handle the high frequencies cable uses.

Three-way or more splitters is where you get a distributor/amplifier. I have a ChannelPlus model I've been using for at least a decade. They run for about $100 but largely depends on features. Again, make sure it handles the high frequencies cable uses.

The best solution is to not use any splitters. There should be a distributor/amplifer already installed by Comcast and you should have direct cable runs from it...

I assume it is DOCSIS and you need equipment that can handle at least 1 GHz for that.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 10, 2012
Messages
5,379 (1.99/day)
Location
Memphis, TN
System Name Black Prometheus
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 3900X
Motherboard ASRock B350 Pro4
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory SK Hynix 32GB(8GBx4) DDR4 @2666MHz
Video Card(s) AMD Navi 5700 XT 50TH Anniversary Edition
Storage Sandisk X300 512GB + Seagate 2TB
Display(s) HP LA2405WG 24" Triple Monitor (5760x1200)
Case DeepCool Matrexx 55 w/ 3x120mm Intake + 4x120mm Exhaust
Audio Device(s) Samsung 5.1 Setup
Power Supply Corsair RM750X
Mouse Logitech Trackman
Keyboard Dell OEM
Software Windows 10 EDU x64
Just go into the comcast store and ask for one.

Also note the more splitters you use it affects the signal and increases the transmit levels
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
26,622 (5.19/day)
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 9900K@5.0GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB SX8200 Pro + 8TB with 1TB SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply eVGA SuperNOVA 1000w G3
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
1->2 splitters are pretty much all the same and nothing to write home about. They can't really degrade because there's really nothing to them. Just make sure it can handle the high frequencies cable uses.
The only thing I can think of is since he lives in Florida, the salt air might be corroding them.
 
Joined
Jun 7, 2013
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Processor i7 6700K
Motherboard MSI M9-ACK
Cooling Koolance 370
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengance
Video Card(s) Vega 64
Storage Intel 750, Crucial M500
Display(s) Samsung C32HG60
Case Case Labs M8
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z
Power Supply Seasonic 1000 Platinum
Keyboard Corsair K95
I've been doing cable for 17 years. The company that supplies most of our gear now is Arris. If you have a comcast store near you they should be able to give you one, your other option would be to have them send you a self install kit, that will have a splitter and cables inside. Another option would be to flag down a comcast van, they'll have plenty to hand out. The main thing is to make sure all the connectors are tight, if they're loose it will cause an ingress issue and mess up your speeds. You shouldn't need a house amp unless you're pushing 6 outlets or more and then you'd want to make sure it works to 1 Ghz, has a moca filter and a return pass through so it doesn't push your transmit levels too high.
 
Joined
Apr 1, 2019
Messages
206 (0.82/day)
Processor 3700x @ 4.3
Motherboard Crosshair 7 hero
Cooling Kraken X62
Memory 16GB Trident-Z 3200
Video Card(s) EVGA RTX2080 XC Ultra
Storage Samsung 960 evo 500gb NVME
Display(s) ASUS ROG Swift PG348Q
Case NZXT H500
Audio Device(s) Phillips SHP 9500s.....Audio Technica AT 2035 microphone.....Scarlett 2i2 audio interface.
Power Supply EVGA 850W Supernova G2
Mouse Model O
Keyboard Corsair K65
Software Windows 10
Comcast...Free....I almost choked. :)
 
Joined
Oct 21, 2006
Messages
350 (0.07/day)
Location
Oak Ridge, TN
System Name BorgX79
Processor i7-3930k 6/12cores@4.4GHz
Motherboard Sabertoothx79
Cooling Capitan 360
Memory Muhskin DDR3-1866
Video Card(s) Sapphire R480 8GB
Storage Chronos SSD
Display(s) 3x VW266H
Case Ching Mien 600
Audio Device(s) Realtek
Power Supply Cooler Master 1000W Silent Pro
Mouse Logitech G900
Keyboard Rosewill RK-1000
Software Win7x64
Those splitters are more properly called Baluns.

They are just an impedance matching transformer; each leg of the output is 3dB down from the input, plus losses.

If they keep frying on you, check if the main cable is grounded where the line comes into the house, to the same ground as the power.
There should be a pass thru ground block with a ground wire to the power box, or ground rod.

If that's good, make sure the ground at the modem and cable box(es) are grounded to the ground lead of the power outlet.

The balun goes bad when HV arcs the wire insulation, making it short.

If all that's good, look into a "spark arrestor"

Like this:

 
Joined
Nov 1, 2008
Messages
4,039 (1.00/day)
Location
Vietnam
System Name Gaming System / HTPC-Server
Processor i5 8700K (@5 Ghz All-Core) / R5 3600
Motherboard Z370 Aorus Ultra Gaming / MSI B450 Mortar Max
Cooling CM ML240L / CM Seidon 120XL
Memory 16Gb Hynix @3200 MHz / 16Gb Ballistix @3600Mhz
Video Card(s) Colorful 1080Ti / Gigabyte RX 5700
Storage 750G MX300 / 8+4 TB WD Reds + 250 Sabrent NVMe
Display(s) 2x Dell U2515H-18D / 50" L50U50 4K TV
Case Xigmatek Aquarius Plus / Zalman HTPC case
Audio Device(s) On Board Realtek
Power Supply FSP 850 W Gold / Andyson TX-700 Platinum
Mouse Logitech G502 Hero
Keyboard Wooting Two
Software Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores Cinebench R15 = 1542 3D Mark Timespy = 9580
Those splitters are more properly called Baluns.

They are just an impedance matching transformer; each leg of the output is 3dB down from the input, plus losses.

If they keep frying on you, check if the main cable is grounded where the line comes into the house, to the same ground as the power.
There should be a pass thru ground block with a ground wire to the power box, or ground rod.

If that's good, make sure the ground at the modem and cable box(es) are grounded to the ground lead of the power outlet.

The balun goes bad when HV arcs the wire insulation, making it short.

If all that's good, look into a "spark arrestor"

Like this:

Unrelated to the OP, but how would one go about grounding TV coax connections? The coax connection coming into my house is ungrounded, as is common where I live and the lines give me a painful shock when I touch them.

At the moment, I just have them grounded via the appliances they are connected to, so they basically ground themselves through the TV in our living room.
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
16,194 (3.56/day)
Location
UK\US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) eVga GTX1060 SSC \ XFX R9 390X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-A820 \ Yamaha CX-830+Yamaha MX-630 Infinity RS4000 Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
The cheap option is if you have a provider with a service center near you. They might just give you splitters for free. With proof of my account I've asked for HDMI cables, splitters and coax cable all free.
I got one of mine for free as the Comcast guy was checking the pole outside to find the whole lot up their had fried, i asked him if i could have one and did not seem like a issue.

But some time's they do turn you down.

I got one of mine for free as the Comcast guy was checking the pole outside to find the whole lot up their had fried, i asked him if i could have one and did not seem like a issue.

But some time's they do turn you down.
If ya like i could have a hunt around for if you like ?, i know kinda were it is :p.
 
Joined
Oct 21, 2006
Messages
350 (0.07/day)
Location
Oak Ridge, TN
System Name BorgX79
Processor i7-3930k 6/12cores@4.4GHz
Motherboard Sabertoothx79
Cooling Capitan 360
Memory Muhskin DDR3-1866
Video Card(s) Sapphire R480 8GB
Storage Chronos SSD
Display(s) 3x VW266H
Case Ching Mien 600
Audio Device(s) Realtek
Power Supply Cooler Master 1000W Silent Pro
Mouse Logitech G900
Keyboard Rosewill RK-1000
Software Win7x64
Unrelated to the OP, but how would one go about grounding TV coax connections? The coax connection coming into my house is ungrounded, as is common where I live and the lines give me a painful shock when I touch them.

At the moment, I just have them grounded via the appliances they are connected to, so they basically ground themselves through the TV in our living room.
That's really bad for them, the input is similar to the balun I was talking about, and the wire insulation won't stand much voltage.
It will kill your stuff eventually.

Putting the surge protector right at the ground block is best.

Amazon has them, this is an expensive one, with weather seals.



You run the ground wire to the ground rod at your power box, or to the ground on an outlet.
The ground wire doesn't have to be big; 20awg is fine.
 
Joined
Nov 1, 2008
Messages
4,039 (1.00/day)
Location
Vietnam
System Name Gaming System / HTPC-Server
Processor i5 8700K (@5 Ghz All-Core) / R5 3600
Motherboard Z370 Aorus Ultra Gaming / MSI B450 Mortar Max
Cooling CM ML240L / CM Seidon 120XL
Memory 16Gb Hynix @3200 MHz / 16Gb Ballistix @3600Mhz
Video Card(s) Colorful 1080Ti / Gigabyte RX 5700
Storage 750G MX300 / 8+4 TB WD Reds + 250 Sabrent NVMe
Display(s) 2x Dell U2515H-18D / 50" L50U50 4K TV
Case Xigmatek Aquarius Plus / Zalman HTPC case
Audio Device(s) On Board Realtek
Power Supply FSP 850 W Gold / Andyson TX-700 Platinum
Mouse Logitech G502 Hero
Keyboard Wooting Two
Software Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores Cinebench R15 = 1542 3D Mark Timespy = 9580
That's really bad for them, the input is similar to the balun I was talking about, and the wire insulation won't stand much voltage.
It will kill your stuff eventually.

Putting the surge protector right at the ground block is best.

Amazon has them, this is an expensive one, with weather seals.



You run the ground wire to the ground rod at your power box, or to the ground on an outlet.
The ground wire doesn't have to be big; 20awg is fine.
Thanks for the info. I always wondered why my living room TV died since moving here.

I've just double checked and it now seems to be grounded, it wasn't when we first moved as it'd give a nice little jolt, though not as bad as ungrounded appliances (floating neutral is common here).
I live in an apartment building and 3-prong plugs are the exception so, I guess at one point, I was grounding the whole system for them!

That is unless there was just a faulty device on the apartment's installation that has now been removed and the system remains ungrounded. How would I go about testing?
 
Last edited:

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
16,194 (3.56/day)
Location
UK\US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) eVga GTX1060 SSC \ XFX R9 390X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-A820 \ Yamaha CX-830+Yamaha MX-630 Infinity RS4000 Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
Those splitters are more properly called Baluns.

They are just an impedance matching transformer; each leg of the output is 3dB down from the input, plus losses.

If they keep frying on you, check if the main cable is grounded where the line comes into the house, to the same ground as the power.
There should be a pass thru ground block with a ground wire to the power box, or ground rod.

If that's good, make sure the ground at the modem and cable box(es) are grounded to the ground lead of the power outlet.

The balun goes bad when HV arcs the wire insulation, making it short.

If all that's good, look into a "spark arrestor"

Like this:

Comcast around here install them by default around were i live, the company he is with might do too.


I found a 1in 4 out @7db and a 1in 2 out@3.5db if your interested, but i guess you can just buy them but they are doing nothing for me so :p.
 
Joined
Oct 21, 2006
Messages
350 (0.07/day)
Location
Oak Ridge, TN
System Name BorgX79
Processor i7-3930k 6/12cores@4.4GHz
Motherboard Sabertoothx79
Cooling Capitan 360
Memory Muhskin DDR3-1866
Video Card(s) Sapphire R480 8GB
Storage Chronos SSD
Display(s) 3x VW266H
Case Ching Mien 600
Audio Device(s) Realtek
Power Supply Cooler Master 1000W Silent Pro
Mouse Logitech G900
Keyboard Rosewill RK-1000
Software Win7x64
I buy good ones, ground my system, and use surge arrestors.

I haven't lost one in years.

I had a lightning strike nearby that took out a bunch of stuff, so they can die even with proper grounding and suppression. :)
 
Top