• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Looking for a way to access my computer remotely

Joined
Mar 11, 2009
Messages
865 (0.27/day)
Likes
98
Location
Dawn
#1
I've been trying Logmein, but it's somehow not working the way I want it to. WOL is enabled in the BIOS, and under the properties in the Device manager, I have it so that the NIC can be shut down and to allow it to wake the computer, however, I disabled the need for a magic packet. I want to see if that would allow it to work.

I'm using a portable app (Logmein ignition) that runs from my flash drive. Anyone have this scenario well hammered out?
 
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
2,576 (0.64/day)
Likes
510
Processor Mysterious Engineering Prototype
Motherboard Intel 865
Cooling Custom block made in workshop
Memory Corsair XMS 2GB
Video Card(s) FireGL X3-256
Display(s) 1600x1200 SyncMaster x 2 = 3200x1200
Software Windows 2003
#2
I use Dameware NT Remote Control. It is able to enable all my remote management needs. Try it out... it might work your scenario.
 

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,527 (6.39/day)
Likes
6,950
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#3
Teamviewer is great to use
 
Joined
Jan 31, 2005
Messages
1,628 (0.34/day)
Likes
554
Location
The Pico Mundo Grill
System Name Commercial towing vehicle Nostromo
Processor R7 1700X Base Clock @4.000.000.000 Hz
Motherboard Crosshair Hero VI (BIOS 3008)
Cooling Hydro H110i V2 High Performance
Memory 2x8 GB Dominator CMD16GX4M2B3200C16 v4.31
Video Card(s) 970 STRIX
Storage 960 EVO M2 500 GB w. EKWB EK-M.2 NVMe nickel heatsink / UV400 480 GB / Red PRO 4 TB
Display(s) VG248QE
Case HAF XB
Audio Device(s) Onboard / JDS Labs O2 AMP / K550 headphones
Power Supply AX 860
Mouse KANA
Keyboard K60
Software Win 10 Pro x64 / KIS 2018
Benchmark Scores 2141 lightyears per hour.......
#4

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,527 (6.39/day)
Likes
6,950
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#5
+1 for TeamViewer - easy and free for non-commercial use
Yep, I run teamviewer on all my PCs and I can connect into my main PC then connect into my other PC's within my home network.
 
Joined
Nov 16, 2007
Messages
557 (0.15/day)
Likes
118
Processor i7 920
Motherboard SABERTOOTH X58
Cooling Fans
Memory 24 GB Kingston HyperX 1600
Video Card(s) gtx460
Storage spinners
Display(s) Dell 2001F
Case Lian Li
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply X750
Software win 7 x64 pro
Benchmark Scores fast...
#6
Im at work without a bios in front of me, but you need the right s-state. S3 maybe. And you need magic packet. And a proggy to send said packet. And your router forwarded to the right computer.

First get a reserved ip in the router. That's about all I can recall without research.

I have it hashed out, even over wifi, but I have a welding torch in my hand instead of a mouse.

Edit...does logmein work when pc is running?
 
Joined
Mar 11, 2009
Messages
865 (0.27/day)
Likes
98
Location
Dawn
#7
Yep, I run teamviewer on all my PCs and I can connect into my main PC then connect into my other PC's within my home network.
Will this work over WAN? and also, does it have a "Portable app" that I can run from a thumb drive? I need to be able to access this thing from a large network that I have limited priviledges in.
 
Joined
Nov 16, 2007
Messages
557 (0.15/day)
Likes
118
Processor i7 920
Motherboard SABERTOOTH X58
Cooling Fans
Memory 24 GB Kingston HyperX 1600
Video Card(s) gtx460
Storage spinners
Display(s) Dell 2001F
Case Lian Li
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply X750
Software win 7 x64 pro
Benchmark Scores fast...
#8
Not gonna happen if you are not the network admin. Or just ask the admin. He/she may have a system in place for this.

Wait...look at doing this the right (by the book) way. Prolly gonna have to fill out some forms and request it. You are going to have to give a very good reason.
 
Joined
Dec 18, 2008
Messages
1,837 (0.55/day)
Likes
528
System Name Computer
Processor 1700X
Motherboard CH6
Cooling Custom Loop
Memory G.Skill 32GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1070
Storage 500GB Samsung 850 Evo Msata
Display(s) LG 23" IPS
Power Supply Seasonic 760 Platinum
Software Windows 8.1 64-Bit
#9
Try RDP build into all windows machines. You can also change the ports on RDP if necessary
 
Joined
Dec 3, 2009
Messages
1,205 (0.41/day)
Likes
364
Location
The Netherlands
System Name PC || Laptop
Processor AMD FX-9590 || i7 6700HQ
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth 990FX || default
Cooling Corsair H100i Push-Pull + H80i modded onto 290|| Stock
Memory Samsung 30nm 4x4GB @ 1930MHz|| 2x8GB LPDDR3 @ 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD R9 290 @ 1175MHz / 1625MHz || Nvidia Geforce 960M
Display(s) Samsung S23A750D 120Hz + others|| 15,6" 1080P
Case Corsair 500R Fans Galore ||
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX/XD ||
Power Supply Corsair AX860i || 120Watt 19V OEM adaptor
Software Win 10 64bit || Win 10 64bit
#10
You can also use Windows Live Mesh.

Its part of the Windows Live package(and you don't have to install the rest of the package), and with it you can log into your pc(as long as its running windows live mesh) from a browser on any other PC via the Windows Live environment.

I've used it for about a year now, and its never let me down.

EDIT: It also doesnt need any ports opening, and can also be used to automatically sync folders with other PC's also running Windows live Sync, and even with an online map, which you can also acces from anywhere.
 
Last edited: