• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Looking For Help (Optimizing Performance)

Joined
Nov 13, 2007
Messages
6,165 (1.66/day)
Likes
1,655
Location
Austin Texas
System Name silen8
Processor Intel i7 7820X Delidded @ 4.64Ghz / 3.1Ghz Mesh
Motherboard MSI X299 Tomahawk
Cooling 240mm Corsair H105 Intake
Memory 32 GB Quad 3434Mhz DDR4 15-16-16-38-300-1T
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1080 Ti Gaming
Storage 1Tb Samsung 960 Pro m2, 1TB Samsung 850 Pro SSD
Display(s) Dell 24" 2560x1440 144hz, G-Sync @ 165Hz
Case NZXT S340 Elite Black
Audio Device(s) Arctis 7
Power Supply FSP HydroG 750W
Mouse zowie ec-2
Keyboard corsair k65 tenkeyless
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores Cb: 2103 Multi, 209 Single, 10450 Timespy - 10150 GPU/11900 CPU, superpi 1M - 7.71s
#26
yeah man...! hopefully that works - best-case scenario, you will be able to OC that card to 600!
 

ho0dzy

New Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2008
Messages
97 (0.03/day)
Likes
0
System Name HP Pavillion dv9930us
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo CPU T5750 @ 2.0 GHz
Memory 4.00 GB
Video Card(s) NVidia GeForce 8600M GS
Storage 300 GB
Software Windows Vista Home Premium (64 Bit Edition)
#27
P.S. even after Omega drivers, still not showing up with the card temps etc... haven't tested the memory OC'ing yet (hopefully it doesn't black screen me like last time)

Edit: still getting low FPS (20-30 avg) even with GPU and CPU OC'd and new drivers. Maybe I should look over the driver a bit and see if I can optimize performance.
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,580 (4.55/day)
Likes
3,194
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#28
I wouldn't try overclocking a whole lot. Prebuilt computers generally have bad airflow.
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2007
Messages
6,165 (1.66/day)
Likes
1,655
Location
Austin Texas
System Name silen8
Processor Intel i7 7820X Delidded @ 4.64Ghz / 3.1Ghz Mesh
Motherboard MSI X299 Tomahawk
Cooling 240mm Corsair H105 Intake
Memory 32 GB Quad 3434Mhz DDR4 15-16-16-38-300-1T
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1080 Ti Gaming
Storage 1Tb Samsung 960 Pro m2, 1TB Samsung 850 Pro SSD
Display(s) Dell 24" 2560x1440 144hz, G-Sync @ 165Hz
Case NZXT S340 Elite Black
Audio Device(s) Arctis 7
Power Supply FSP HydroG 750W
Mouse zowie ec-2
Keyboard corsair k65 tenkeyless
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores Cb: 2103 Multi, 209 Single, 10450 Timespy - 10150 GPU/11900 CPU, superpi 1M - 7.71s
#29
the game still runs at 28 FPS after restarting and all??? wow... i mean that sounds like what ur x200 should be pulling... messed up (u did disable the x200 in the bios and removed it from device manager, yes?)
 

ho0dzy

New Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2008
Messages
97 (0.03/day)
Likes
0
System Name HP Pavillion dv9930us
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo CPU T5750 @ 2.0 GHz
Memory 4.00 GB
Video Card(s) NVidia GeForce 8600M GS
Storage 300 GB
Software Windows Vista Home Premium (64 Bit Edition)
#30
x200 from bios and device manager...? I'm lost

Edit: and I've stress tested the CPU at 2200 MHz for several hours. I stay under 50*C the entirety of the time :) so I'm okay with it.

I'm not seeing anything else listed in my Display Drivers except my ATI RADEON X1650 Series and X1650 Secondary
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2007
Messages
6,165 (1.66/day)
Likes
1,655
Location
Austin Texas
System Name silen8
Processor Intel i7 7820X Delidded @ 4.64Ghz / 3.1Ghz Mesh
Motherboard MSI X299 Tomahawk
Cooling 240mm Corsair H105 Intake
Memory 32 GB Quad 3434Mhz DDR4 15-16-16-38-300-1T
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1080 Ti Gaming
Storage 1Tb Samsung 960 Pro m2, 1TB Samsung 850 Pro SSD
Display(s) Dell 24" 2560x1440 144hz, G-Sync @ 165Hz
Case NZXT S340 Elite Black
Audio Device(s) Arctis 7
Power Supply FSP HydroG 750W
Mouse zowie ec-2
Keyboard corsair k65 tenkeyless
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores Cb: 2103 Multi, 209 Single, 10450 Timespy - 10150 GPU/11900 CPU, superpi 1M - 7.71s
#31
i mean, the PC you linked had onboard video... did you disable Onboard from the bios (there is usually an option for that in case you get a new card). then when you go into windows, go into system settings (right click on my computer>properties or press "windows+break" keys) and go to device manager... where it says display adapters, the x200 should not be there.

EDIT... oh ok thats not it then...
 

ho0dzy

New Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2008
Messages
97 (0.03/day)
Likes
0
System Name HP Pavillion dv9930us
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo CPU T5750 @ 2.0 GHz
Memory 4.00 GB
Video Card(s) NVidia GeForce 8600M GS
Storage 300 GB
Software Windows Vista Home Premium (64 Bit Edition)
#32
Aye, it's not listed in there. Which is why I was confused lol


Edit: yeah, I'm running out of idea's myself. These drivers didn't effect the FPS as I expected they would... *sigh* I think we're running out of hardware ideas and going to have to look at reinstalling windows =\
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 13, 2007
Messages
6,165 (1.66/day)
Likes
1,655
Location
Austin Texas
System Name silen8
Processor Intel i7 7820X Delidded @ 4.64Ghz / 3.1Ghz Mesh
Motherboard MSI X299 Tomahawk
Cooling 240mm Corsair H105 Intake
Memory 32 GB Quad 3434Mhz DDR4 15-16-16-38-300-1T
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1080 Ti Gaming
Storage 1Tb Samsung 960 Pro m2, 1TB Samsung 850 Pro SSD
Display(s) Dell 24" 2560x1440 144hz, G-Sync @ 165Hz
Case NZXT S340 Elite Black
Audio Device(s) Arctis 7
Power Supply FSP HydroG 750W
Mouse zowie ec-2
Keyboard corsair k65 tenkeyless
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores Cb: 2103 Multi, 209 Single, 10450 Timespy - 10150 GPU/11900 CPU, superpi 1M - 7.71s
#33
well... its not drivers, as new ones did nothing... its not bloatware with 40 second superpi... the onboard is disabled... That leaves one final conclusion... your card sucks horrible, horrible monkey nuts, maybe you have settings too high in catalyst control center (like 16X AA or somethins...) if not then im all out of ideas...

Except to take it back to walmart ASAP, say it doesnt work or something, say "it keeps crashing" haha...
 
Last edited:

ho0dzy

New Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2008
Messages
97 (0.03/day)
Likes
0
System Name HP Pavillion dv9930us
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo CPU T5750 @ 2.0 GHz
Memory 4.00 GB
Video Card(s) NVidia GeForce 8600M GS
Storage 300 GB
Software Windows Vista Home Premium (64 Bit Edition)
#34
could it really be the card though? Here's a link to it again, I mean it's the same ATI Core as all the other GPU's so I'm kind of at a loss myself
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2007
Messages
6,165 (1.66/day)
Likes
1,655
Location
Austin Texas
System Name silen8
Processor Intel i7 7820X Delidded @ 4.64Ghz / 3.1Ghz Mesh
Motherboard MSI X299 Tomahawk
Cooling 240mm Corsair H105 Intake
Memory 32 GB Quad 3434Mhz DDR4 15-16-16-38-300-1T
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1080 Ti Gaming
Storage 1Tb Samsung 960 Pro m2, 1TB Samsung 850 Pro SSD
Display(s) Dell 24" 2560x1440 144hz, G-Sync @ 165Hz
Case NZXT S340 Elite Black
Audio Device(s) Arctis 7
Power Supply FSP HydroG 750W
Mouse zowie ec-2
Keyboard corsair k65 tenkeyless
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores Cb: 2103 Multi, 209 Single, 10450 Timespy - 10150 GPU/11900 CPU, superpi 1M - 7.71s
#35
like i said before, with that card, you should be maxing WoW, as its not that hardcore of a game at all... not that an x1650Pro is a stellar performer to begin with... but its definitely not 28 FPS @ 120*whatever... Oh one last thing...
is V-sync enabled??? - check inside the game and in the CCC panel... if it is, then disable it, i think we narrowed it down to:

Bad settings... AA, AF, V-sync... Try a different game if you got one...
Not enough Juice from PS(although unlikely with an X1650, what PS do you have???)
Bad Card.
 

ho0dzy

New Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2008
Messages
97 (0.03/day)
Likes
0
System Name HP Pavillion dv9930us
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo CPU T5750 @ 2.0 GHz
Memory 4.00 GB
Video Card(s) NVidia GeForce 8600M GS
Storage 300 GB
Software Windows Vista Home Premium (64 Bit Edition)
#36
v-sync? should it be enabled or disabled? And where in CCC am I looking, I've looked over the 3D section a few times.

Turned VSync off in WoW and saw about a 10 FPS jump on average :)
 
Last edited:

Graogrim

New Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2008
Messages
308 (0.08/day)
Likes
31
Location
East Coast US
System Name Paradigm
Processor i5 3570k
Motherboard MSI Z77A-G43
Cooling OEM
Memory 8 GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 2133
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 670 2 GB
Storage 128 MB Corsair M4 SSD + 1 TB WD Caviar Black
Display(s) Samsung 24"
Case Rosewill Challenger USB 3
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster X-Fi Titanium HD
Power Supply Corsair GS 800
Software Windows 7 64 bit
#37
A few things:

1. Don't run windowed. Go full screen instead. It will improve your framerate.
2. If you haven't messed with it already, reduce the maximum viewing distance slightly. A small change can actually produce a sizeable gain in performance without sacrificing your view of the game world.
3. Although WoW's framerates tend to be more CPU than GPU limited, you may see a better framerate by compromising a bit on your resolution--give 1024x768 a shot.
4. Don't use antialiasing.
5. Disabling vsync may gain you a small amount of framerate but personally I can't stand the tearing that results. The next best thing is to leave vsync enabled but turn on triple buffering instead.

I may have missed it but could you shed a little light on where in the game world you're measuring your framerates? I ask because there's a sizeable performance difference between old world areas and expansion areas. If you're standing in the middle of Shattrath while getting those framerates then you're actually not doing badly.
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2007
Messages
6,165 (1.66/day)
Likes
1,655
Location
Austin Texas
System Name silen8
Processor Intel i7 7820X Delidded @ 4.64Ghz / 3.1Ghz Mesh
Motherboard MSI X299 Tomahawk
Cooling 240mm Corsair H105 Intake
Memory 32 GB Quad 3434Mhz DDR4 15-16-16-38-300-1T
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1080 Ti Gaming
Storage 1Tb Samsung 960 Pro m2, 1TB Samsung 850 Pro SSD
Display(s) Dell 24" 2560x1440 144hz, G-Sync @ 165Hz
Case NZXT S340 Elite Black
Audio Device(s) Arctis 7
Power Supply FSP HydroG 750W
Mouse zowie ec-2
Keyboard corsair k65 tenkeyless
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores Cb: 2103 Multi, 209 Single, 10450 Timespy - 10150 GPU/11900 CPU, superpi 1M - 7.71s
#38
it should be disabled, both in the game and in CCC... i dont know exactly where it is in CCC, as i havent had an ATI card in a while and my laptop's x200 doesnt have CCC installed (too bloaty) it should be in the advanced settings look around for anything that says "vertical sync" or "vsync" and such...

edit: ^^^ what he said
 

ho0dzy

New Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2008
Messages
97 (0.03/day)
Likes
0
System Name HP Pavillion dv9930us
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo CPU T5750 @ 2.0 GHz
Memory 4.00 GB
Video Card(s) NVidia GeForce 8600M GS
Storage 300 GB
Software Windows Vista Home Premium (64 Bit Edition)
#39
Testing FPS in mostly battle ground settings :)

Also, while running in full screen mode the game looks a lot more... pixelated...? Than Windowed or Windowed -> Maximized... any idea why this is?


Edit: I'm starting to see my FPS fluxuate more. It's going from about 29.9 FPS to 60 FPS :) YAY!
 

Graogrim

New Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2008
Messages
308 (0.08/day)
Likes
31
Location
East Coast US
System Name Paradigm
Processor i5 3570k
Motherboard MSI Z77A-G43
Cooling OEM
Memory 8 GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 2133
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 670 2 GB
Storage 128 MB Corsair M4 SSD + 1 TB WD Caviar Black
Display(s) Samsung 24"
Case Rosewill Challenger USB 3
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster X-Fi Titanium HD
Power Supply Corsair GS 800
Software Windows 7 64 bit
#40
The default setting for vsync in CCC is off unless the application requests otherwise. It should not require adjustment when using games that have vsync controls of their own.
 

Graogrim

New Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2008
Messages
308 (0.08/day)
Likes
31
Location
East Coast US
System Name Paradigm
Processor i5 3570k
Motherboard MSI Z77A-G43
Cooling OEM
Memory 8 GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 2133
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 670 2 GB
Storage 128 MB Corsair M4 SSD + 1 TB WD Caviar Black
Display(s) Samsung 24"
Case Rosewill Challenger USB 3
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster X-Fi Titanium HD
Power Supply Corsair GS 800
Software Windows 7 64 bit
#41
Also, while running in full screen mode the game looks a lot more... pixelated...? Than Windowed or Windowed -> Maximized... any idea why this is?
The most likely explanation that occurs to me is that you're using an LCD monitor, and whatever resolution you're running does not match your monitor's native resolution. Your monitor's own scaling engine will kick in at that point, and if it's not of high quality it can do a pretty good job of mangling the image.

In windowed mode, on the other hand, it's the video card doing the scaling. It will usually look better but it will also create an extra workload. Hence the slowdown.
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2007
Messages
6,165 (1.66/day)
Likes
1,655
Location
Austin Texas
System Name silen8
Processor Intel i7 7820X Delidded @ 4.64Ghz / 3.1Ghz Mesh
Motherboard MSI X299 Tomahawk
Cooling 240mm Corsair H105 Intake
Memory 32 GB Quad 3434Mhz DDR4 15-16-16-38-300-1T
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1080 Ti Gaming
Storage 1Tb Samsung 960 Pro m2, 1TB Samsung 850 Pro SSD
Display(s) Dell 24" 2560x1440 144hz, G-Sync @ 165Hz
Case NZXT S340 Elite Black
Audio Device(s) Arctis 7
Power Supply FSP HydroG 750W
Mouse zowie ec-2
Keyboard corsair k65 tenkeyless
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores Cb: 2103 Multi, 209 Single, 10450 Timespy - 10150 GPU/11900 CPU, superpi 1M - 7.71s
#42
go into in-game controls and crank the res to max!!
 

ho0dzy

New Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2008
Messages
97 (0.03/day)
Likes
0
System Name HP Pavillion dv9930us
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo CPU T5750 @ 2.0 GHz
Memory 4.00 GB
Video Card(s) NVidia GeForce 8600M GS
Storage 300 GB
Software Windows Vista Home Premium (64 Bit Edition)
#43
Yeah, I turned my resolution up to 1280 x 1024 for full screen mode and the graphics sure enough were nice as they were when I was window mode at the same desktop resolution :)
 

ho0dzy

New Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2008
Messages
97 (0.03/day)
Likes
0
System Name HP Pavillion dv9930us
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo CPU T5750 @ 2.0 GHz
Memory 4.00 GB
Video Card(s) NVidia GeForce 8600M GS
Storage 300 GB
Software Windows Vista Home Premium (64 Bit Edition)
#44
go into in-game controls and crank the res to max!!


lol I have to restart the game after this battleground to see how it looks maxed out, and how it runs FPS wise. Because I'm happy with my medium level settings if I'm getting 40-50 FPS on average.:laugh: thanks SO much!
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2007
Messages
6,165 (1.66/day)
Likes
1,655
Location
Austin Texas
System Name silen8
Processor Intel i7 7820X Delidded @ 4.64Ghz / 3.1Ghz Mesh
Motherboard MSI X299 Tomahawk
Cooling 240mm Corsair H105 Intake
Memory 32 GB Quad 3434Mhz DDR4 15-16-16-38-300-1T
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1080 Ti Gaming
Storage 1Tb Samsung 960 Pro m2, 1TB Samsung 850 Pro SSD
Display(s) Dell 24" 2560x1440 144hz, G-Sync @ 165Hz
Case NZXT S340 Elite Black
Audio Device(s) Arctis 7
Power Supply FSP HydroG 750W
Mouse zowie ec-2
Keyboard corsair k65 tenkeyless
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores Cb: 2103 Multi, 209 Single, 10450 Timespy - 10150 GPU/11900 CPU, superpi 1M - 7.71s
#45
Sweeeeet.. that gives me a great excuse to grab a beer... :D
 

ho0dzy

New Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2008
Messages
97 (0.03/day)
Likes
0
System Name HP Pavillion dv9930us
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo CPU T5750 @ 2.0 GHz
Memory 4.00 GB
Video Card(s) NVidia GeForce 8600M GS
Storage 300 GB
Software Windows Vista Home Premium (64 Bit Edition)
#46
I'll let you know how it runs immedietely after this BG finishes so I can restart WoW :) but all in all, thanks a lot for the help - I really thought all was lost.
 

Graogrim

New Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2008
Messages
308 (0.08/day)
Likes
31
Location
East Coast US
System Name Paradigm
Processor i5 3570k
Motherboard MSI Z77A-G43
Cooling OEM
Memory 8 GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 2133
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 670 2 GB
Storage 128 MB Corsair M4 SSD + 1 TB WD Caviar Black
Display(s) Samsung 24"
Case Rosewill Challenger USB 3
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster X-Fi Titanium HD
Power Supply Corsair GS 800
Software Windows 7 64 bit
#47
You'll find that some settings have more of a performance cost associated with them than others. For instance, you'll likely be able to set your level of anisotropic filtering to maximum at very low impact, while enabling antialiasing at all can be quite draining. (WoW refers to antialiasing as multisampling. Choose 24 bit color, 24 bit depth, 1x multisampling.) I'd expect your video card to have no problems with texture resolution set to maximum, and it's likely that the only place maximum spell detail would cost you would be in a raiding environment. Your mileage may vary when it comes to the ground clutter options, but changing them doesn't require a restart so it's easy to experiment.

Make sure that level of detail is checked under the miscellaneous section as that's a performance enhancing option.

Edit: Oh, and one other thing. WoW's interface is highly customizable with addons, but some of them can impact performance quite dramatically. If you have many addons, it may pay you to examine their configuration. For instance, some unitframes have an adjustable update frequency. Once per second has a much lower cost than once each frame or even every 50 milliseconds. Some raid managing addons like CTRaid can be configured in such a way as to drag even a modern system to a crawl. The simplest way to check your addon performance impact is to just disable all of them and compare framerates.
 
Last edited:

ho0dzy

New Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2008
Messages
97 (0.03/day)
Likes
0
System Name HP Pavillion dv9930us
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo CPU T5750 @ 2.0 GHz
Memory 4.00 GB
Video Card(s) NVidia GeForce 8600M GS
Storage 300 GB
Software Windows Vista Home Premium (64 Bit Edition)
#48
60 FPS orgrimmar, 30 FPS heart of Shattrath.... yeah, I think we did the job ;)
 

Graogrim

New Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2008
Messages
308 (0.08/day)
Likes
31
Location
East Coast US
System Name Paradigm
Processor i5 3570k
Motherboard MSI Z77A-G43
Cooling OEM
Memory 8 GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 2133
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 670 2 GB
Storage 128 MB Corsair M4 SSD + 1 TB WD Caviar Black
Display(s) Samsung 24"
Case Rosewill Challenger USB 3
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster X-Fi Titanium HD
Power Supply Corsair GS 800
Software Windows 7 64 bit
#49
Woot, congrats!