• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

looking for phone, router, cable modem combo

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,527 (4.58/day)
Likes
3,160
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#1
We have phone and internet through our ISP here. I was hoping I could find an all in one cable modem (docsis 3.0), router (Gigabit Ethernet, wireless n or even AC) and phone support. Anyone know of one? I've found plenty of router modem combos but none seem to have phone ...
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,527 (4.58/day)
Likes
3,160
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#2
We can't use our own modem. I noticed our phone box also had a cable modem... and we also had the modem/router, so we actually had 2 modems set up. I disconnected the modem/router and put in an ASUS RT-N66R and things are running smooth.
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,267 (4.28/day)
Likes
6,073
Location
Florida
System Name Not named yet
Processor I5 7640x 5Ghz 24/7
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling Corsair H55
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x Seagate 3TB Drives (RAID 0) 1x Seagate 256GB SSD 1x Adata 120GB SSD
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Onboard on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#3
why not try to sahve some bills and run elastix on a dedicated small machine? and just run high consumer grade equipment?
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,527 (4.58/day)
Likes
3,160
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#4
I was hoping I could use my own box but two problems...

1. Armstrong will not let us use our own modem, we have to use theirs
2. I could not find a box that was a modem, router and phone... there's only modem+phone or modem+router

We should be able to shave the bill a little because we're not using their modem+router anyway. What was weird was they set it up with two modems... one was modem+phone and the other was modem+router. Since we're not using their modem+router anymore, just their modem+phone we should be able to save a little...

Everyone likes my setup better with my own router instead of their clunky thing. We have 3 computers, 2 PS3s, my phone, a PS Vita and a Wii U that all get on the network... their clunky old box couldn't take the stress. The ASUS RT-N66R can handle all that easily. Supposedly it has a 600MHz CPU and 256MB RAM... it's handled everything wonderfully as far as I can tell.
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,401 (4.84/day)
Likes
5,481
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#5
I've seen Comcast do this a lot when people have voice and internet service, it's not unusual. In fact the phone modem is doing the same thing anyways. VoIP goes over their network like the internet does. Either way, it sounds like you answered your own question. I personally think less hardware is better and would prefer not splitting the coax more, but that's me. Going with the dual phone+internet modem is probably your best bet though. At least that way you have the ability to change the router.
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,527 (4.58/day)
Likes
3,160
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#6
Definitely best to use your own router. This is actually in my fiancee's house... I've already proven my worth as a computer guy they think I'm a pc whiz. I've heard nothing but good things about the internet performance in general here since I did away with their modem/router box and put in the RT-N66R.

It's a great router... supposedly it has a 600MHz CPU, 256MB RAM, and it has gigabit WAN, 4 port gigabit LAN switch, dual band wireless N with 3 antennas... it's got 2 usb ports as well, supposedly it can be a print server, a NAS and all sorts of other things. It had a bit of a steep price tag for a router but I'd recommend it to anybody who has a moderately large network and just wants a "kill em all" solution as it were. The only bad thing I can say about it so far is that the GUI seems terribly slow... even wired right in. It takes ages to save port forward information. I've read though that it could be an issue with Windows 8... which doesn't surprise me, I've seen some quirky issues with W8.

Right now it's telling me I have a limited connection even though I'm hard wired right into the router, and the new W8 "apps" think I'm not connected to the internet when quite clearly I am... but it could have something to do with Classic Shell maybe, I don't know. My computer is doing this hard wired with the RT-N66R and it did it when we had the other box and I was connected through WiFi.