• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Looking for software to max out available memory

Joined
Mar 31, 2007
Messages
1,895 (0.48/day)
Likes
162
Location
ontario canada
System Name home brew
Processor Intel Corei7 3770K OC @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-V
Cooling Corsair H100
Memory 16GB DDR3 1600 GSKILL
Video Card(s) Powercolor Radeon 7970, MSI Radeon 7970
Storage Mushkin Chronos Deluxe 240gb. 2 TB Hdd.
Display(s) 3x24inch Dell Ultra IPS
Case CM storm trooper
Power Supply Antec Quattro OC ed. 1200w
Software Windows 7 Business x64
Benchmark Scores vantage: P43089
#1
A production system program crashed for an unknown reason after adding a python script that runs on a schedule. I've maxed out the CPU with Prime95 in a test environment and nothing has crashed. Ive tried to do a custom test with prime to use 3300mb of ram to fill it up, but it sticks with 1600. Any programs out there that can do this?
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 27, 2008
Messages
3,577 (1.03/day)
Likes
533
Location
Huddersfield, uk
Processor E8200
Motherboard Asus P5KC
Cooling cooler master hyper tx3, 2x 120mm, 1x 80mm
Memory 4 GB DDR3 OCZ Black Edition
Video Card(s) Gigabyte HD 2600xt silent pipe II
Storage 500GB WD Sata / 60 GB Samsung IDE
Display(s) 20" samusng LCD, gaming at 1680 x 1050
Case some old amd thing
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply 650W
Software Windows 8.1, with 'start is back' obviously
Benchmark Scores It boots whilst im still young so im pleased with that.
#2
can you run multipul instances of prime 95? wouldnt that doubles the amount of ram used maxing it out
 
Joined
Mar 31, 2007
Messages
1,895 (0.48/day)
Likes
162
Location
ontario canada
System Name home brew
Processor Intel Corei7 3770K OC @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-V
Cooling Corsair H100
Memory 16GB DDR3 1600 GSKILL
Video Card(s) Powercolor Radeon 7970, MSI Radeon 7970
Storage Mushkin Chronos Deluxe 240gb. 2 TB Hdd.
Display(s) 3x24inch Dell Ultra IPS
Case CM storm trooper
Power Supply Antec Quattro OC ed. 1200w
Software Windows 7 Business x64
Benchmark Scores vantage: P43089
#3
can you run multipul instances of prime 95? wouldnt that doubles the amount of ram used maxing it out
It wont let me run more than one instance.
 

Play3r

New Member
Joined
Apr 7, 2009
Messages
241 (0.08/day)
Likes
18
Location
Perth, Australia
System Name SexMachine
Processor Intel i5 750 @ 4Ghz 1.29v
Motherboard Asus P7P55D Deluxe
Cooling Prolimatech Mega Shadow
Memory Corsair CM3X2G1600C9DHX 4GBs @ 800Mhz @ 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) VTx3d 6950 Modded +200 900mhz/1375mhz
Storage 120GB Corsiar Force 3, 2 1TBs, 6 1.5TBs, 3 2TBs
Display(s) BenQ XL2410T & Samsung SyncMaster 2693HM + Dell U2410
Case Lian Li PC-A70FB Black
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar Essence ST
Power Supply CORSAIR 750W TX-750W POWER SUPPLY
Software Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
Benchmark Scores Benchmark ALL THE THINGS

de.das.dude

Pro Indian Modder
Joined
Jun 13, 2010
Messages
8,201 (2.99/day)
Likes
2,389
Location
Pune
System Name la de da... | Samsung NP355V5C-S05IN
Processor FX 8320 | AMD A8-4500
Motherboard ASRock 990FX Extreme 4 | Samsung something something
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO push:pull+ 1 panaflow 113CFM + 2 x 120mm NZXTs | Coolermaster Notepal
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz CL9 | Samsunng 4GB + 2GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD 7790 GHZ edition! | 7670M + 7640G
Storage 1TB WD10EZEX | W.D 500GB Green AADS | Samsung 1TB
Display(s) dell S2240l 1080p IPS 21.5" | Samsung antiglare 15.6"
Case NZXT Guardian 921RB(@home) and Antec ASK4000B U3(Current)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892 with THX True Studio | Realtek something
Power Supply Corsair GS600 | 90W Brick, 6 cell 48000mAh battery
Mouse Logitech G400, GOD TIER MOUSE!! LOGitech F310 gamepad!
Keyboard Logitech K200
Software Windows 8.1 x64 | Windows 8.1 x64
Benchmark Scores real men do bench presses not bench marks.
#5
not very effective. you need to be quick to do the intel burnin trick :D
and even so, windows wil de allocate memory, so maxing out isnt possible.


but i however wrote a little program in c++ 32 bit that maxes out the memory by randomly allocating memory LOL.

HTML:
#include<iostream.h>
#include<stdio.h>
void main()
{  cout<<"start?";
	int *p;
   char a[1];
	for(long i=0;i<=100000;i++)
	{
		p=new int[100000000];
		cout<<i<<endl;
		if(i%2000==0)
			gets(a);
	}
}

you can run memtest as well!
http://www.memtest.org/
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,057 (3.44/day)
Likes
17,962
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#6
you really want to use memtest86+ for scenarios like these (means you have to take down the box because it runs from usb/cd)
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2007
Messages
22,400 (5.82/day)
Likes
8,922
Location
'Merica. The Great SOUTH!
System Name The Mailbox 4.5
Processor Intel i7 2600k @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UP5 TH Intel LGA 1155
Cooling Scythe Katana 4
Memory G.SKILL Sniper Series 16GB DDR3 1866: 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) MSI 1080 "Duke" with 8Gb of RAM. Boost Clock 1847 MHz
Storage 256Gb M4 SSD, 500Gb WD (7200) 128Gb Agelity 4 SSD
Display(s) LG 29" Class 21:9 UltraWide® IPS LED Monitor 2560 x 1080
Case Cooler Master 922 HAF
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX X-Fi with Bose Companion 2 speakers.
Power Supply SeaSonic X Series X650 Gold
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei (RAW) and a Wacom Intuos 4 tablet.
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow
Software Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)
Benchmark Scores Benching is for bitches.
#7
Bad Company 2 and Photoshop (save to compressed tif. with layers.)
 
Joined
Mar 31, 2007
Messages
1,895 (0.48/day)
Likes
162
Location
ontario canada
System Name home brew
Processor Intel Corei7 3770K OC @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-V
Cooling Corsair H100
Memory 16GB DDR3 1600 GSKILL
Video Card(s) Powercolor Radeon 7970, MSI Radeon 7970
Storage Mushkin Chronos Deluxe 240gb. 2 TB Hdd.
Display(s) 3x24inch Dell Ultra IPS
Case CM storm trooper
Power Supply Antec Quattro OC ed. 1200w
Software Windows 7 Business x64
Benchmark Scores vantage: P43089
#8
you really want to use memtest86+ for scenarios like these (means you have to take down the box because it runs from usb/cd)
That defeats the purpose as I cant have my program running if its not in an OS.
Edit: realized i failed to mention it was a program that crashed and not a computer.

Ill try that C code snippet in a couple weeks. Out of the office till then.
 
Joined
Mar 31, 2007
Messages
1,895 (0.48/day)
Likes
162
Location
ontario canada
System Name home brew
Processor Intel Corei7 3770K OC @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-V
Cooling Corsair H100
Memory 16GB DDR3 1600 GSKILL
Video Card(s) Powercolor Radeon 7970, MSI Radeon 7970
Storage Mushkin Chronos Deluxe 240gb. 2 TB Hdd.
Display(s) 3x24inch Dell Ultra IPS
Case CM storm trooper
Power Supply Antec Quattro OC ed. 1200w
Software Windows 7 Business x64
Benchmark Scores vantage: P43089
#10
there are a lot of reasons why programs crash, most common are coding errors
Oh yeah no doubt. I had run a similar setup with my test environment, just not under the load that the production machine is in. My script worked fine. So I put it in production and after a few hours, the core production program crashed. Im waiting to hear from some of the devs if they have thoughts, but the whole resource area is an avenue i thought i would try.
 
T

twilyth

Guest
#11
This is really the solution to your problem. Set it on max and it will look like all of your dram fell into a black hole. It will also cook your Cpu though, so keep a close eye on your temps.

I'm not sure about this, but it seems that the more memory you allocate to IBT, the longer each cycle runs and the hotter the cpu gets. Fact? Fiction? You tell me. :D
 
Joined
Mar 31, 2007
Messages
1,895 (0.48/day)
Likes
162
Location
ontario canada
System Name home brew
Processor Intel Corei7 3770K OC @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-V
Cooling Corsair H100
Memory 16GB DDR3 1600 GSKILL
Video Card(s) Powercolor Radeon 7970, MSI Radeon 7970
Storage Mushkin Chronos Deluxe 240gb. 2 TB Hdd.
Display(s) 3x24inch Dell Ultra IPS
Case CM storm trooper
Power Supply Antec Quattro OC ed. 1200w
Software Windows 7 Business x64
Benchmark Scores vantage: P43089
#12
This is really the solution to your problem. Set it on max and it will look like all of your dram fell into a black hole. It will also cook your Cpu though, so keep a close eye on your temps.

I'm not sure about this, but it seems that the more memory you allocate to IBT, the longer each cycle runs and the hotter the cpu gets. Fact? Fiction? You tell me. :D
Ah alright Ill try that out.

The machine is running in VMWare, so i wonder if it could actually cook the cpu. Not sure how much of the CPUs power it takes up.