1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Looking to Build a PC - Details Inside!

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by Bokteelo, Mar 5, 2009.

  1. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (5.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Look at the other games. Are you kidding me?
     
  2. A Cheese Danish

    A Cheese Danish

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Messages:
    2,965 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    415
    Location:
    your local vending machine
    Notice I said better, not best :D But yes, it would be i7, however i thought the majority was pointing towards AMD for this guy...?
     
  3. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,323 (6.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    That doesn't matter. Games aren't the only thing a computer is used for. He himself admitted he's not the most avid gamer. It would be better for him to spend more on cpu right now, then worry more about gfx power when he does become more avid.

    I'm trying to show him all of his possible options, and their possible pitfalls or advantages.
     
  4. DarkMatter New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,714 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    184
    I HAVE looked at them that's why I said. ;)

    EDIT: Huh it was Bioshock and not FC2 who benefited from 4 cores and specially Core i7, but still.
     
    Last edited: Mar 5, 2009
  5. RevengE

    RevengE

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Messages:
    2,663 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    215
    Location:
    Ohio
    I don't think you have. Also gaming is not the only use for a computer as wile said. In the future he could get involved in more CPU intensive tasks. He might as well get one, no one knows what could happen in the future.
     
  6. Bokteelo New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    479 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    37
    Woah, 40 posts when I got home!

    I'm going to start reading them all now, and could anyone tell me why I'm NOT going with an i7? They're about 300$ aren't they?
     
  7. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,323 (6.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    The board is about $300 as well. Up to you, depends on your budget. We can easily spec you out a nice i7 build, but it will cost a bit more for the additional parts to go with it.
     
  8. MKmods Case Mod Guru

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    5,697 (1.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,748
    Location:
    Nevada
    they are a waste of money except for people that REALLY know how to push their comps...

    Dont forget the $$$$ for the special i7 mobos...

    Whats the point of a budget if you dont ever stick to it?
     
  9. RevengE

    RevengE

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Messages:
    2,663 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    215
    Location:
    Ohio
    Agreed..just get a Phenom II.
     
  10. Bokteelo New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    479 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    37
    Oh, I get it now. I was wondering how expensive an i7 could've possibly been.


    If I run with an AM3, I'd need DDR3 memory right? And how much more would a 4870x2 cost me?
     
  11. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,323 (6.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    If you want to stick strictly to your budget, AM3 isn't a bad choice. If you would like to stretch the budget, and maximize future upgrade paths, i7 is where it's at. And yes, you would need DDR3 for either platform.

    And the 4870x2 would be a little over $200 more.
     
  12. MKmods Case Mod Guru

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    5,697 (1.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,748
    Location:
    Nevada
    Its all fine and dandy to yak about OCing this and that but dont forget you are new to this (really new)
    In 5 years ALL of our comps will be junk (even the i7 based ones will be junk, less junk but junk none the less)

    Focus on a simple build that wont cost too much but will let you experiment with settings. The one Shadow recommended is very good, just tweak it a bit (AM3 mobo and 2 gigs of AM3 memory) Get rid of the 4870 and pop in a 4830 (there is absolutely no need for a 4870 with a 19" lcd)
    The AMD 720 is an AWESOME deal for what you get, I messed up buying the AM3 810 quad instead of the 720 dont make the same mistake.

    Make sure you get a good PS so if/when you upgrade in the future you wont need to swap it out and be happy..
     
  13. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,323 (6.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    I disagree. The 4870 would prevent him from having to upgrade for much longer.
     
  14. Bokteelo New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    479 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    37
    I'll probably keep the rig I put together in the next month or two (I tend to wait to see if anything unexpected happens) until after my last year of high school or after my freshman year in college. Then I'll switch to a new build, which would be in about 3-4 years.

    This is what I currently have: (After taking in all of your advice I decided to take a little extra time to decide between the CPU + mobo.)
    PSU - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817139005
    HD - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16822136319
    Cooling - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16835233023&Tpk=Xigmatek HDT-S1284EE

    If I get the 4830x2, I'll have an edge over the 4870 for now, but if I go with the 4870 and wait a year or so to add another 4870, wouldn't THAT be better? I'll slap in an extra 4870 if I ever feel the need for it.
     
  15. RevengE

    RevengE

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Messages:
    2,663 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    215
    Location:
    Ohio
    my 4870x2 was on sale when I got it for $430.00, it's now back up to $450.00. You could use either DDR2/3 with an m4a79 motherboard by asus if you were wanting to get a m4a79-t deluxe that's only DDR3.
     
  16. MKmods Case Mod Guru

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    5,697 (1.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,748
    Location:
    Nevada
    He has a 19" lcd... if he had a 24 or bigger than fine. But with 1 of the 4830s he will be fine, and later on he has the option of another 4830 in Crossfire.

    He can easily sell the 4830 he has for about the same $ he paid (lol, try that with a 4870 in 6 mos) and pick up a newer card if he only wants a 1 card solution.

    In 3 or 4 years you will think the 4870 is junk too...Anyone remember the 7900GTX? (cost over $500 and now a $60 card beats the crap out of it)
    http://enthusiast.hardocp.com/article.html?art=MTAwMSwxLCxoZW50aHVzaWFzdA
    from 3 years ago...
     
    Last edited: Mar 6, 2009
  17. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (5.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    I'm having a hard enough time trying to sell mine.. I just ended up getting refunds on them. No one wants 4830's it seems.
     
  18. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,323 (6.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    Or, he could just not have to worry about upgrading the 4870 for quite a few extra months over the 4830.
     
  19. MKmods Case Mod Guru

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    5,697 (1.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,748
    Location:
    Nevada
    You are selling yours (mis matched pair) for almost the same as new at the egg.

    Thats another reason to be careful with $$ right now.. Just wait to see what happens in a year or 2.
     
  20. Bokteelo New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    479 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    37
    This was a post given to me on a game forum:

     
  21. MKmods Case Mod Guru

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    5,697 (1.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,748
    Location:
    Nevada
    lol, i give up
     
  22. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (5.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    That guy doesn't know what he's talking about. And buying a Q9550 is silly. The 940 is cheaper and performs the same.
    And on the power supply, the Corsair 550w is Seasonic. Not channelwell. Which is why I recommended the 550w over the 650w but it doesn't really matter.
     
  23. Bokteelo New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    479 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    37
  24. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,323 (6.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    The VX550's quality is exactly on par with Corsair's other PSUs. Channelwell has proven their reliability of their newer lines in spades. They OEM many of the top of the line PSUs out there now. They aren't as low a quality of OEM as they used to be.

    And there's no sence in getting an nVidia card on a Crossfire board if you want to keep upgrade ability as an option.
     
  25. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (5.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    1284EE if you go AMD for sure. The pipes make full contact with the IHS which keeps it really cool. I have one myself :)
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)