• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Looking to upgrade Ryzen 2500U laptop memory

Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
19 (0.00/day)
So I just got the Acer Nitro 5 Ryzen 2500U which only came with 8 GB DDR4.

The DDR 4 is one stick of Hynix 18-18-18-38 2400MHz

Is it a crap shoot if I upgrade to this 16 GB of HyperX 14-14-14?

https://www.newegg.com/hyperx-16gb-260-pin-ddr4-so-dimm/p/N82E16820104767

Would they automatically go to those settings? I only ask cause I checked the BIOS and I only get memory total, no way of changing any memory settings.

Thanks
 
Joined
Feb 22, 2019
Messages
520 (2.84/day)
System Name Fatboii
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3700X @ 4.2 GHz (all cores)
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair VIII Hero WiFI
Cooling Custom water
Memory G.SKILL Trident Z RGB 3200MHz C14 @ 3733 C16
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 Ti FTW3 under water
Storage Samsung SM951 256GB + 860 EVO 1TB
Display(s) ASUS ROG PG278Q 144Hz
Case Fractal Design R6 Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA G3 850w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Cooler Master Pro Keys L
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores I only game on this system... built for silence, not absolute max performance. ;)
It should load the DOCP profile, so I would give it a go.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
26,388 (5.25/day)
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB Crucial MX500 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 480GB MX200 SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Unfortunately it is going to be a crap shoot if you have no memory options to change in the BIOS. It might load the XMP settings, or it might default to the JDEC 2133 profile, or the RAM might even have a JDEC 2400 profile and the laptop will run that. The only way to know for sure is to try.

But, even worst case, dual-channel 2133 will be better than single channel 2400.
 
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
19 (0.00/day)
Thanks. Ordered it. I'll update as soon as it gets here.

What software are we using now to ID memory timings now?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 22, 2019
Messages
520 (2.84/day)
System Name Fatboii
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3700X @ 4.2 GHz (all cores)
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair VIII Hero WiFI
Cooling Custom water
Memory G.SKILL Trident Z RGB 3200MHz C14 @ 3733 C16
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 Ti FTW3 under water
Storage Samsung SM951 256GB + 860 EVO 1TB
Display(s) ASUS ROG PG278Q 144Hz
Case Fractal Design R6 Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA G3 850w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Cooler Master Pro Keys L
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores I only game on this system... built for silence, not absolute max performance. ;)
CPU-Z will give you the basics, which is all you really need to know.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
26,795 (6.04/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
So I just got the Acer Nitro 5 Ryzen 2500U which only came with 8 GB DDR4.

The DDR 4 is one stick of Hynix 18-18-18-38 2400MHz

Is it a crap shoot if I upgrade to this 16 GB of HyperX 14-14-14?

https://www.newegg.com/hyperx-16gb-260-pin-ddr4-so-dimm/p/N82E16820104767

Would they automatically go to those settings? I only ask cause I checked the BIOS and I only get memory total, no way of changing any memory settings.

Thanks
Ok your laptop has capability to upgrade but Imho get get HWINFO64 or CPUID CPU-Z and verify your second ramslot is empty.

However I would highly suggest the same exact module to save yourself headaches later
 
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
19 (0.00/day)
Ok your laptop has capability to upgrade but Imho get get HWINFO64 or CPUID CPU-Z and verify your second ramslot is empty.

However I would highly suggest the same exact module to save yourself headaches later
It is empty. I already looked after I installed an M.2 SSD in place of the HDD.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
26,795 (6.04/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
It is empty. I already looked after I installed an M.2 SSD in place of the HDD.
Ok I dont see a QVL from Acer so safest bet is to look at the existing ram module and get one that exactly matches or 1 that has the same timings, clocks and volts
 
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
19 (0.00/day)
Ok I dont see a QVL from Acer so safest bet is to look at the existing ram module and get one that exactly matches or 1 that has the same timings, clocks and volts
I'm taking out out the current single 8 GB ram stick and replacing it with the two above.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
26,795 (6.04/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
19 (0.00/day)
This memory rocks! Goes right to JDEC timings! Definitely helps put about 10 fps on Heaven & Catzilla benchmarking. This memory & the WD M.2 SSD worth the $$.

127821


Before and after pics of Hynix 8 GB single channel vs HyperX 16 GB Dual Channel:
127832

127833
 
Last edited:
Top