• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Looking to upgrade~

Zeithri

New Member
Joined
Sep 25, 2012
Messages
11 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Location
Sweden
#1
If I have posted it in the wrong section, I apologize and trust that it'll be moved to the correct place.

I am looking to upgrade my PC somewhat.
My desire is for it to go faster and being able to handle games (not necessarily the newest of the newest), but more importantly, I wish it to be able to record games like Oblivion using Fraps without it lagging itself to death. For that, I wonder if that speed comes from the ram or from the motherboard most?

I am not very knowledged about computers, I used to be better but I wasn't never really that interested.
Either way, here are my speccs (those I know of);

* AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 5600+ 2.80 GHz
* 4 GB Ram ( 4x 1 Ram sticks )
* GeForce 5600 GT
* Vista 64 Home

I've been thinking if it'd be possible to switch the Ram sticks into 2 GB / 4x Sticks or maybe 2x 4 GB sticks, but could my computer handle that, would they fit? I know my graphics card is outdated but it's hanging on, though what would be a viable upgrade? My only true fear is if I have to replace the processor / motherboard (aren't they the same?) if I want to record while playing or such stuff.

Thanks on before hand for your responses.
 
Joined
Jan 15, 2012
Messages
946 (0.44/day)
Likes
493
Location
Arcadia
System Name Xeon build /Main Rig
Processor Intel Xeon w3520 @ 4Ghz with HT /i7 4820k @4.6 Ghz
Motherboard Asus P6T Deluxe v2 socket 1366 / Asus P9X79 socket 2011
Cooling Thermalright Archon +Ty 140mm|Fans : 2 front-1top-1rear-1bottom/ Swiftech H140x
Memory 16gb DDR3 1600mhz Kingstone Hyper x Quad Channel / 16gb DDR3 2133MHZ Gskill RipjawsZ
Video Card(s) Sapphire hd 7950 3gb Boost edition dual fan X / XFX R9 Fury X
Storage Kingstone AV400ssd 120gb + Seagate B 2Tb + WD green 1tb + WD green 3tb + WD red 3tb + Seagate B 4tb
Display(s) Wasabi Mango UHD430 43" 4K @60hz with Freesync
Case Fractal Design Arc midi
Audio Device(s) SoundMaxHD+5.1 BHT1100 BLUESKY,Corsair Vengeance 1500 v2,Fiio E10 Olympus+SuperluxHD668b
Power Supply Thermaltake toughpower xt 775watt modular
Mouse Corsair M90
Keyboard Microsoft WK600
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
#2
well, first thing for me is to throw away shitvista xd,second 4 gb of ram is good today ,if you wanna improve performance oc the processor is a good way but you need a cpu cooler ,cpu and motherboard are 2 different thing,the common thing is the socket ,if you post a budget we figure out something
 

UbErN00b

New Member
Joined
Sep 5, 2012
Messages
255 (0.13/day)
Likes
44
Location
Ingerland
System Name le me gaming and porn rig!!
Processor 2500k
Motherboard GA-Z68X-UD3-b3
Cooling Air baby!
Memory 8GB 2000mhz dual channel
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vapor X HD 7950 3GB
Storage Corsair Force 3 240GB & 2TB HDD
Display(s) Catleap 1440p ;)
Case CM Storm Sniper
Audio Device(s) HUD-MX1 headphone amp/DAC
Power Supply Corsair TX750
#3
If that's an AGP board you don't have much choice, the HD 3850/HD 4670 were the fastest AGP cards and are expensive for what they are and hard to find now. That's a very old DDR1 setup you have there, gonna be hard pressed to squeeze much more performance out of it, you would be better building an Athlon x 2 rig with 4GB ddr3 and grabbing a hd 5750 (or upwards budget permitting)
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2010
Messages
4,012 (1.47/day)
Likes
630
Location
UK
System Name PC
Processor AMD FX 8320E @4.3ghz
Motherboard Asrock 970 extreme3
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC12DX, 3 x NZXT FN 140mm, 1x NZXT FV V2 120mm
Memory 8GB Corsair Vengeance Blue 1600mhz
Video Card(s) ASUS R9 290 DCII-OC 4GB
Storage 128GB Kingston V200 SSD 1TB WD Blue, 750GB Maxtor
Display(s) LG 27MB85Z 27" 1440p
Case NZXT Source 340
Power Supply Thermaltake 675w
Mouse Logitech G500S
Keyboard Logitech G510S
Software Windows 8.1 64 bit
#4
well, first thing for me is to throw away shitvista xd,second 4 gb of ram is good today ,if you wanna improve performance oc the processor is a good way but you need a cpu cooler ,cpu and motherboard are 2 different thing,the common thing is the socket ,if you post a budget we figure out something
Throwing away vista isn't going to affect the speed his games play, or his ability to record them

The 5600GT is the part that is slowing down his gaming performance by a lot to the point at which most other upgrades would be insignificant in comparison
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2009
Messages
4,001 (1.32/day)
Likes
1,652
Location
Sarasota, Florida, USA
System Name Awesomesauce 4.3 | Laptop (MSI GE72VR 6RF Apache Pro-023)
Processor Intel Core i7-5820K 4.16GHz 1.28v/3GHz 1.05v uncore | Intel Core i7-6700HQ @ 3.1GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X99-UD5 WiFi LGA2011-v3| Stock
Cooling Corsair H100i v2 w/ 2x EK Vardar F4-120ER + various 120/140mm case fans | Stock
Memory G.Skill RJ-4 16GB DDR4-2666 CL15 quad channel | 12GB DDR4-2133
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG Strix A8G Gaming GTX 1080 @ 2075/1368 boost | NVIDIA GTX 1060 6GB +200/+500 + Intel 530
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 500GB + Seagate 3TB 7200RPM + others | Kingston 256GB M.2 SATA + 1TB 7200RPM
Display(s) Acer G257HU 1440p 60Hz AH-IPS 4ms | 17.3" 1920*1080 60Hz wide angle TN notebook panel
Case Fractal Design Define XL R2 | MSI
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Z | Realtek with quad stereo speakers and subwoofer
Power Supply Corsair HX850i Platinum | 19.5v 180w Delta brick
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows 10 Home x64
Benchmark Scores GTX 1080 please?
#5
If that's an AGP board you don't have much choice, the HD 3850/HD 4670 were the fastest AGP cards and are expensive for what they are and hard to find now. That's a very old DDR1 setup you have there, gonna be hard pressed to squeeze much more performance out of it, you would be better building an Athlon x 2 rig with 4GB ddr3 and grabbing a hd 5750 (or upwards budget permitting)
It is actually a Socket AM2/DDR2/PCIe machine (fastest Athlon X2 939 was a 4600+) and what I infer is a 6600 GT due to there not being a such thing as a 5600 GT.

I would just save up and upgrade the entire machine as it is quite old and you don't know if it will suddenly die on you soon after you upgrade it. Almost everything these days that is fairly inexpensive will easily surpass your current machine by quite a bit. Have a budget for parts or a new machine?
 

UbErN00b

New Member
Joined
Sep 5, 2012
Messages
255 (0.13/day)
Likes
44
Location
Ingerland
System Name le me gaming and porn rig!!
Processor 2500k
Motherboard GA-Z68X-UD3-b3
Cooling Air baby!
Memory 8GB 2000mhz dual channel
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vapor X HD 7950 3GB
Storage Corsair Force 3 240GB & 2TB HDD
Display(s) Catleap 1440p ;)
Case CM Storm Sniper
Audio Device(s) HUD-MX1 headphone amp/DAC
Power Supply Corsair TX750
#6
It is actually a Socket AM2/DDR2/PCIe machine (fastest Athlon X2 939 was a 4600 ) and what I infer is a 6600 GT due to there not being a such thing as a 5600 GT.
My bad, the 5600+ was an AM2 socket, well spotted, though been a long time since I had an old x2 Athlon setup :p Though wasn't a 4800+ with 1mb cache released for 939?

Regardless a cheap AM3 Athlon x2 and anything from HD 5000/GTX 200 series upwards will be a massive upgrade and could be had for less than $200 shopping around.

Other than that your only real option is a new GPU as I doubt you will find anything better than the 5600+ you have for less than $100 plus change.
 

[Ion]

WCG Team Assistant
Joined
Sep 15, 2009
Messages
13,391 (4.45/day)
Likes
14,251
Location
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
System Name Niedersachsen / Ribe / Minsk
Processor i3 3240 / i7-3520M / 4x Opteron 6376 @ 2.86GHz
Motherboard BIOSTAR H61M / HP Q77 / Supermicro H8QG7
Cooling Stock / Stock / 4x 1U G34
Memory 1x8GB / 2x4GB / 4x4GB
Video Card(s) GTX260 / Intel HD 4000 / nVidia GT310
Storage 80GB Intel SSD / 256GB Intel SSD / 2x 60GB SSD (RAID1)
Display(s) Dell 3007 + HP 2245w / 12.1" 1366x768 / None
Case Antec NSK3480 / HP / Supermicro 1U
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Enermax 500W / HP 130W / Supermicro Gold 1400W
Keyboard IBM Model M
Software Windows 7 (Niedersachsen/Ribe) / Linux Mint 17.2 (Minsk)
#7
I'd suggest a new video card, but we'd have to know your price range to suggest an exact one. If you get one now, it'll significantly speed up games, and you can migrate it over to a new build if you end up replacing the motherboard/CPU/RAM :toast:
 

Zeithri

New Member
Joined
Sep 25, 2012
Messages
11 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Location
Sweden
#8
I guess I'll have to google to reschool my brain to learn all the terms and what I need.
And stop calling me 'he / him'.

My budget is 0.
I can barely survive on a month to month basis thanks to living in an overpriced apartment and no hope of finding any job. At most, my budget would had gone on paying something small on a month per month basis which was why I was hoping for only having to upgrade RAM rather than the whole computer. But alas.

I bought and built this computer with the help of a friend around 2007-2008 I believe.
It all went for 12 995 SEK ( 1, 978 USD ).

I guess it's had it's run so I'll have no choice but to switch it out then.
At least I know, thanks.
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,031 (3.47/day)
Likes
6,633
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, 1 X 4 Tb HGST, 1 x 6Tb Toshiba
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#9
Well Welcome to TPU.
Really the best change to make is the Graphics card. The Gforce 5600 GT came before some major improvements in gaming cards. You should be able to get a Gforce 6600GT for very little (ive sold them for $20) and it is way better. Then overclock that CPU and that's about as much power as you will get out of that PC. Just make sure its the right slot. They made two at that time AGP and PCI-e

Good luck
 

Zeithri

New Member
Joined
Sep 25, 2012
Messages
11 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Location
Sweden
#10
I could try and look for it. When I bought this card, it was already "slightly old but functional" according to my friend. I don't understand much about overclocking and always avoided it since I prefer to have my computers whole and I've heard of friends whom overclocked theirs apart, but I'll read up about it.

Thanks.
 
Joined
Jun 2, 2011
Messages
739 (0.31/day)
Likes
125
System Name An experiment in continuous upgrading
Processor Intel Core i7 2600k @ 4.2 Ghz | Phenom II X4 965 | Phenom II X4 965
Motherboard MSI P67A-GD53 | MSI 990FXA-GD80 | Asus M4A79 Deluxe
Cooling Noctua NH-D14 | Zalman CNPS10x | Coolermaster*212+
Memory Kingston KHX1866C9D3K2 |*8Gb | 8Gb
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 580 TF2 x 2 (SLI) | Sapphire Radeon 7970 + GTX 460 | Radeon 4870 1Gb
Storage Crucial M4 120gb Sata3 SSD + WD Caviar black 1Tb + 1.5Tb | WD Caviar Black 1Tb x 3 | WD Blue 500gb
Display(s) Samsung S23A700D 120hz + nVidia 3D Vision + 17" Acer secondary LCD | 40" Sony 1080p TV | Sam. 2233rz
Case Antec 1200 | Lian-Li PC-8 | Antec 302
Audio Device(s) Auzentech Prelude X-Fi + Senn. PC360 G4ME | Prelude X-Fi + Home theater | Creative HS-1200
Power Supply Corsair TX850W | Corsair TX 750 | OCZ 700
Software About 400 top-rated games. | 150 top-rated games | No games
Benchmark Scores No time for benching, I prefer gaming.
#11
You can get yourself a cheap AM2+, quad core CPU that will significantly boost your performance.

Anything from a Phenom II 955 to a 980 will do you very well.
 

Zeithri

New Member
Joined
Sep 25, 2012
Messages
11 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Location
Sweden
#12
You can get yourself a cheap AM2+, quad core CPU that will significantly boost your performance.

Anything from a Phenom II 955 to a 980 will do you very well.
Is there anything else I should know about it?
Like what kind of ram it can and can't use and if it'll throw a complete hissy fit and not work with the overallness of the stuff I have? What price range do they tend to go around? Would it be viable to get it off ebay?

Ps. Love your avatar ^_^
 
Joined
Sep 2, 2011
Messages
618 (0.27/day)
Likes
479
Location
Where the hand of man has never set foot
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 965
Motherboard ASUS M4A79T Deluxe
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Plus with 2x SickleFlow 120 2000 RPM
Memory 2x2GB Kingston HyperX 1333MHz CAS7
Video Card(s) PowerColor Radeon HD 6870 (Baked 3 Times and Heat Gunned Once)
Storage Crucial MX100 512GB
Display(s) LG Flatron W2453V
Case Xigmatek Midgard-W
Power Supply Thermaltake TR2 RX 750W
Mouse HP VooDooDNA
Keyboard Corsair K60
#13

[Ion]

WCG Team Assistant
Joined
Sep 15, 2009
Messages
13,391 (4.45/day)
Likes
14,251
Location
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
System Name Niedersachsen / Ribe / Minsk
Processor i3 3240 / i7-3520M / 4x Opteron 6376 @ 2.86GHz
Motherboard BIOSTAR H61M / HP Q77 / Supermicro H8QG7
Cooling Stock / Stock / 4x 1U G34
Memory 1x8GB / 2x4GB / 4x4GB
Video Card(s) GTX260 / Intel HD 4000 / nVidia GT310
Storage 80GB Intel SSD / 256GB Intel SSD / 2x 60GB SSD (RAID1)
Display(s) Dell 3007 + HP 2245w / 12.1" 1366x768 / None
Case Antec NSK3480 / HP / Supermicro 1U
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Enermax 500W / HP 130W / Supermicro Gold 1400W
Keyboard IBM Model M
Software Windows 7 (Niedersachsen/Ribe) / Linux Mint 17.2 (Minsk)
#15
MSI and MS-7260.

Amazing program. Thanks!
According to the MSI website, you unfortunately can't get a considerably faster CPU. A video card would be the best upgrade you can get without having to rebuilt basically the entire computer :ohwell:
 
Joined
Sep 2, 2011
Messages
618 (0.27/day)
Likes
479
Location
Where the hand of man has never set foot
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 965
Motherboard ASUS M4A79T Deluxe
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Plus with 2x SickleFlow 120 2000 RPM
Memory 2x2GB Kingston HyperX 1333MHz CAS7
Video Card(s) PowerColor Radeon HD 6870 (Baked 3 Times and Heat Gunned Once)
Storage Crucial MX100 512GB
Display(s) LG Flatron W2453V
Case Xigmatek Midgard-W
Power Supply Thermaltake TR2 RX 750W
Mouse HP VooDooDNA
Keyboard Corsair K60
#16
The fastest CPU you can get on this motherboard is a AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+, there is no point to change a 5600+ to a 6000+.

You can't get 8GB like you wanted since you're already at the maximum supported witch is 4GB.

The best thing to do is to overclock the CPU and change the GPU. (You're lucky your motherboard support PCI-E card).
 

Zeithri

New Member
Joined
Sep 25, 2012
Messages
11 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Location
Sweden
#17
So I guess it's better to just get a completely new one when I have a stabile income then.
Thanks for your answers!
 

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
14,879 (3.45/day)
Likes
5,411
System Name A dancer in your disco of fire
Processor i3 4130 3.4Ghz
Motherboard MSI B85M-E45
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 4 x 4GB Crucial Ballistix Sport 1400Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 760 DCU2OC 2GB
Storage Crucial BX100 120GB | WD Blue 1TB x 2
Display(s) BenQ GL2450HT
Case AeroCool DS Cube White
Power Supply Cooler Master G550M
Mouse Intellimouse Explorer 3.0
Keyboard Dell SK-3205
Software Windows 10 Pro
#18
So I guess it's better to just get a completely new one when I have a stabile income then.
Thanks for your answers!
Or as others have said, a GPU. Keep an eye at Tradera as you sometimes can find good deals there. 8600GT's are usually dirt cheap and would be a giant upgrade.

What's your powersupply? Make/model?
 
Joined
Jun 2, 2011
Messages
739 (0.31/day)
Likes
125
System Name An experiment in continuous upgrading
Processor Intel Core i7 2600k @ 4.2 Ghz | Phenom II X4 965 | Phenom II X4 965
Motherboard MSI P67A-GD53 | MSI 990FXA-GD80 | Asus M4A79 Deluxe
Cooling Noctua NH-D14 | Zalman CNPS10x | Coolermaster*212+
Memory Kingston KHX1866C9D3K2 |*8Gb | 8Gb
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 580 TF2 x 2 (SLI) | Sapphire Radeon 7970 + GTX 460 | Radeon 4870 1Gb
Storage Crucial M4 120gb Sata3 SSD + WD Caviar black 1Tb + 1.5Tb | WD Caviar Black 1Tb x 3 | WD Blue 500gb
Display(s) Samsung S23A700D 120hz + nVidia 3D Vision + 17" Acer secondary LCD | 40" Sony 1080p TV | Sam. 2233rz
Case Antec 1200 | Lian-Li PC-8 | Antec 302
Audio Device(s) Auzentech Prelude X-Fi + Senn. PC360 G4ME | Prelude X-Fi + Home theater | Creative HS-1200
Power Supply Corsair TX850W | Corsair TX 750 | OCZ 700
Software About 400 top-rated games. | 150 top-rated games | No games
Benchmark Scores No time for benching, I prefer gaming.
#19
The fastest CPU you can get on this motherboard is a AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+, there is no point to change a 5600+ to a 6000+.

You can't get 8GB like you wanted since you're already at the maximum supported witch is 4GB.

The best thing to do is to overclock the CPU and change the GPU. (You're lucky your motherboard support PCI-E card).
That's the fastest AM2 CPU, but AM2+ cpus are compatible with the AM2 socket. A Phenom II X4 980 has a very decent amount of computing power, however, it will be difficult to find and expensive on ebay. However, an X4 955 or so would fit perfectly and work great.
 
Joined
Jun 12, 2007
Messages
4,815 (1.25/day)
Likes
639
Location
Wangas, New Zealand
System Name Darth Obsidious
Processor Intel i5 2500K
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V/Gen3
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+ in Push Pull
Memory 2X4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) ASUS R9 270x TOP
Storage 128GB Samsung 830 SSD, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Green
Display(s) LG IPS234V-PN
Case Corsair Obsidian 650D
Audio Device(s) Infrasonic Quartet
Power Supply Corsair HX650w
Software Windows 7 64bit and Windows XP Home
Benchmark Scores 2cm mark on bench with a razor blade.
#20
After my experience with comparing an HD4850 on XP vs Windows 7 with the same games, I would suggest getting a more capable GPU and downgrading to XP if on a tight budget.

Windows 7 is supposed to be on par with XP for games or even better but this is not the case if the rest of your system can't not cope with windows 7 overhead.
My system in it's current state still can not run games on Windows 7 to a satisfactory level due to just the graphics card.

This would be the same situation for Vista.

You never know there maybe someone around here who is willing to just give away an XP product key if you start a thread in WTB but add for free at the end :)
 

Zeithri

New Member
Joined
Sep 25, 2012
Messages
11 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Location
Sweden
#21
Or as others have said, a GPU. Keep an eye at Tradera as you sometimes can find good deals there. 8600GT's are usually dirt cheap and would be a giant upgrade.

What's your powersupply? Make/model?
Tried looking on tradera but I couldn't find anything.
Can 8600 GT even fit in my computer?

I think it is MPT-460XP
460W Max


After my experience with comparing an HD4850 on XP vs Windows 7 with the same games, I would suggest getting a more capable GPU and downgrading to XP if on a tight budget.

Windows 7 is supposed to be on par with XP for games or even better but this is not the case if the rest of your system can't not cope with windows 7 overhead.
My system in it's current state still can not run games on Windows 7 to a satisfactory level due to just the graphics card.

This would be the same situation for Vista.

You never know there maybe someone around here who is willing to just give away an XP product key if you start a thread in WTB but add for free at the end :)

I am sincerely not interested in downgrading to XP. Vista isn't as bad as it used to be (now that it actually works) so if anything, I'd go for Win7 as I have on my laptop. Problem is that 64x Win 7 is a memory hog that'd eat everything my computer can put out so to say.

Anything close to doing that would be to get my hands on Virtual PC and install Win 98SE just to be able to play Warhammer 40, 000 Chaos Gate again and another games :p But never down to XP as my main OS again.
 
Joined
Sep 2, 2011
Messages
618 (0.27/day)
Likes
479
Location
Where the hand of man has never set foot
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 965
Motherboard ASUS M4A79T Deluxe
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Plus with 2x SickleFlow 120 2000 RPM
Memory 2x2GB Kingston HyperX 1333MHz CAS7
Video Card(s) PowerColor Radeon HD 6870 (Baked 3 Times and Heat Gunned Once)
Storage Crucial MX100 512GB
Display(s) LG Flatron W2453V
Case Xigmatek Midgard-W
Power Supply Thermaltake TR2 RX 750W
Mouse HP VooDooDNA
Keyboard Corsair K60
#22
That's the fastest AM2 CPU, but AM2+ cpus are compatible with the AM2 socket. A Phenom II X4 980 has a very decent amount of computing power, however, it will be difficult to find and expensive on ebay. However, an X4 955 or so would fit perfectly and work great.
The motherboard looks limited to 90W TDP. On the CPU support list, all the AM2 CPUs that are 125W are not listed. Only the AM2 CPUs with 89W or lower are listed. Only 3 Phenom II X4 are under 90W, Phenom II X4 900e, Phenom II X4 905e and Phenom II X4 910e. Their price is way to high for the value.
 
Joined
Sep 2, 2011
Messages
618 (0.27/day)
Likes
479
Location
Where the hand of man has never set foot
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 965
Motherboard ASUS M4A79T Deluxe
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Plus with 2x SickleFlow 120 2000 RPM
Memory 2x2GB Kingston HyperX 1333MHz CAS7
Video Card(s) PowerColor Radeon HD 6870 (Baked 3 Times and Heat Gunned Once)
Storage Crucial MX100 512GB
Display(s) LG Flatron W2453V
Case Xigmatek Midgard-W
Power Supply Thermaltake TR2 RX 750W
Mouse HP VooDooDNA
Keyboard Corsair K60
#23
Joined
Jun 12, 2007
Messages
4,815 (1.25/day)
Likes
639
Location
Wangas, New Zealand
System Name Darth Obsidious
Processor Intel i5 2500K
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V/Gen3
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+ in Push Pull
Memory 2X4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) ASUS R9 270x TOP
Storage 128GB Samsung 830 SSD, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Green
Display(s) LG IPS234V-PN
Case Corsair Obsidian 650D
Audio Device(s) Infrasonic Quartet
Power Supply Corsair HX650w
Software Windows 7 64bit and Windows XP Home
Benchmark Scores 2cm mark on bench with a razor blade.
#24
Fair enough not wanting to downgrade after being on a later OS.

What size is your case?
The 8600GT I used is a small card by todays standards which means not even the full length of the motherboard and does not require external power source so your current PSU should cope.