• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Loop best order options?? (diagrams inside). HAF X dual 360 rads

Joined
May 15, 2008
Messages
2,863 (0.81/day)
Likes
272
Location
Brasil
System Name Sovereign // HTPC
Processor i7 3770k 4.2 // i7 3770k 4.2
Motherboard Maximus V Gene // Sabertooth Z77
Cooling Noctua D14 // Intel HSF
Memory 16GB Samsung // 16GB VengeanceLP
Video Card(s) Deciding // 660 DC2
Storage OS (X25-M), Data (Seagate 1TB) // Samsung 840 120GB & bunch of drives
Display(s) Samsung T240HD // LG TV
Case TJ08e // Grandia GD08
Audio Device(s) DT880 Pro 250 ohm // TV speakers
Power Supply Seasonic Plat 1000 // Seasonic Gold 760
Software Windows 8 Pro x64 // Windows 7 Pro x64
#1
I have this setup, not really 2 pump/res just showing the two options for mounting.
Which is the best way for me to route the tubes? To make it easy to bleed and everything else

Top is a MCR-XP
Back a RX360

Type 1


Type 2


Type 3


Type 4
 
Joined
Oct 15, 2009
Messages
749 (0.25/day)
Likes
126
Location
Netherlands
System Name gaming system
Processor 2600k @ 4.2 ghz
Motherboard MSI Z77 MPower
Cooling Thermalright ultra extreme 120 rev.C w/noctua NF-S12B push/pull
Memory 16gb corsair vengeance 2400 c11 @1.5 v/
Video Card(s) GB gtx670 WF3x sli @1080/1372/6660(core/boost/mem)
Storage 2x samsung 850evo 250gb raid 0 ,2tb wdblack, 3TB wd purple
Display(s) Samsung Syncmaster P2770FH, asus VH242t/19" lg 1440x900
Case fractal design r4
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair HX1050
Mouse Razer abyssus
Keyboard corsair k70
Software Windows 10 pro x64
#2
i would go for option one, the way you put you WC stuff doesn't matter that much aslong pump is @ the bottom of the case
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
11,705 (3.98/day)
Likes
6,414
Location
Ohio
System Name Daily Driver
Processor 7900X 4.5GHz 10c/10t 1.15V.
Motherboard ASUS Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling MCR320 + Kuplos Kryos NEXT CPU block
Memory GSkill Trident Z 4x8 GB DDR4 3600 MHz CL16
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 FTW3
Storage 512GB Patriot Hellfire, 512GB OCZ RD400, 640GB Caviar Black, 2TB Caviar Green
Display(s) Yamakasi 27" 2560x1440 IPS
Case Thermaltake P5
Power Supply EVGA 750W Supernova G2
Benchmark Scores Faster than most of you! Bet on it! :)
#3
Loop order does NOT matter outside of having the res before the pump. Temps within a properly setup (as in enough rad) loop do not vary by more than 1-2C from any point inside the loop.
 
Joined
May 22, 2010
Messages
2,516 (0.90/day)
Likes
680
Location
Canada
System Name m1dg3t | DeathBox | HairPi 3
Processor 3570k @ 4.0 1.15v BIOS | q9550 @ 3.77 1.325v BIOS
Motherboard Asrock z77e iTX | p5q Dlx 2301 BIOS
Cooling Custom Water | D-14 & HR-03gt | Passive HSF
Memory Samsung MV-3V4G3D 4g x 2 @ 1866 1.35v | OcZ RpR 2g x 4 @ 1067 2.2v
Video Card(s) MSi 7950 tf3 @1000 / 1350 | Asus 5870 V2 @ 900 / 1275
Storage Adata sx900 256Gb / WD 2500 HHTZ | WD 1001 FALS x 2
Display(s) BenQ gw2750hm | 46" Sharp Quatron
Case BitFenix Prodigy - m0dd3d | Antec Fusion Remote MAX
Audio Device(s) Onboard Toslink > Yamaha HTR 6290 | Xonar HDAV1.3 > Yamaha DSP z7
Power Supply Ocz mXp700w | Ocz zx850w | Cannakit 5v 2.5a
Mouse Logitech G700s | Logitech G9x - Cable Repaired
Keyboard TT Meka G1 - Black w Cherry Blacks| Logitech G11
Software Win7 Home | Xp sp3 & Vista ultimate | Raspbian
Benchmark Scores Epeen!! Who needs epeen??
#4
Most direct (shortest) with least bend's is best :)
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Staff member
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,578 (3.85/day)
Likes
10,945
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
#5
To make it easy to bleed and everything else
Type 2 would be most ideal for draining, as the pump and res would have a decent amount of tubing so they can be moved out of the case to drain. Also, removing pump when draining can help with flow.

Of course, the rear rad ain't gonna be fun to empty. So, with Type 2, you could lay hte case on it's side with the pump/res hanging out below, might make that a bit easier.

Since everyone else ignored that bit of your question. ;)

Temps within a properly setup (as in enough rad) loop do not vary by more than 1-2C from any point inside the loop.
Unless using some sort of chiller.:laugh:
 
Joined
May 22, 2010
Messages
2,516 (0.90/day)
Likes
680
Location
Canada
System Name m1dg3t | DeathBox | HairPi 3
Processor 3570k @ 4.0 1.15v BIOS | q9550 @ 3.77 1.325v BIOS
Motherboard Asrock z77e iTX | p5q Dlx 2301 BIOS
Cooling Custom Water | D-14 & HR-03gt | Passive HSF
Memory Samsung MV-3V4G3D 4g x 2 @ 1866 1.35v | OcZ RpR 2g x 4 @ 1067 2.2v
Video Card(s) MSi 7950 tf3 @1000 / 1350 | Asus 5870 V2 @ 900 / 1275
Storage Adata sx900 256Gb / WD 2500 HHTZ | WD 1001 FALS x 2
Display(s) BenQ gw2750hm | 46" Sharp Quatron
Case BitFenix Prodigy - m0dd3d | Antec Fusion Remote MAX
Audio Device(s) Onboard Toslink > Yamaha HTR 6290 | Xonar HDAV1.3 > Yamaha DSP z7
Power Supply Ocz mXp700w | Ocz zx850w | Cannakit 5v 2.5a
Mouse Logitech G700s | Logitech G9x - Cable Repaired
Keyboard TT Meka G1 - Black w Cherry Blacks| Logitech G11
Software Win7 Home | Xp sp3 & Vista ultimate | Raspbian
Benchmark Scores Epeen!! Who needs epeen??
#6
Since everyone else ignored that bit of your question. ;)
Assuming the use of an EK res it can detach, negating any concern's :) There may be other res' that detach but i have always used a Tline :eek:
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
11,705 (3.98/day)
Likes
6,414
Location
Ohio
System Name Daily Driver
Processor 7900X 4.5GHz 10c/10t 1.15V.
Motherboard ASUS Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling MCR320 + Kuplos Kryos NEXT CPU block
Memory GSkill Trident Z 4x8 GB DDR4 3600 MHz CL16
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 FTW3
Storage 512GB Patriot Hellfire, 512GB OCZ RD400, 640GB Caviar Black, 2TB Caviar Green
Display(s) Yamakasi 27" 2560x1440 IPS
Case Thermaltake P5
Power Supply EVGA 750W Supernova G2
Benchmark Scores Faster than most of you! Bet on it! :)
#7
Unless using some sort of chiller.:laugh:
Even then, temps do not vary from point to point more than 1-2C with a proper loop. It doesnt matter if the coolant is 30C or 5C on a chiller, it will still be within 1-2C from any point in the loop with proper flow rates and enough rad/cooling capacity.

Unless that was sarcastic or something? :confused:
 
Joined
May 22, 2010
Messages
2,516 (0.90/day)
Likes
680
Location
Canada
System Name m1dg3t | DeathBox | HairPi 3
Processor 3570k @ 4.0 1.15v BIOS | q9550 @ 3.77 1.325v BIOS
Motherboard Asrock z77e iTX | p5q Dlx 2301 BIOS
Cooling Custom Water | D-14 & HR-03gt | Passive HSF
Memory Samsung MV-3V4G3D 4g x 2 @ 1866 1.35v | OcZ RpR 2g x 4 @ 1067 2.2v
Video Card(s) MSi 7950 tf3 @1000 / 1350 | Asus 5870 V2 @ 900 / 1275
Storage Adata sx900 256Gb / WD 2500 HHTZ | WD 1001 FALS x 2
Display(s) BenQ gw2750hm | 46" Sharp Quatron
Case BitFenix Prodigy - m0dd3d | Antec Fusion Remote MAX
Audio Device(s) Onboard Toslink > Yamaha HTR 6290 | Xonar HDAV1.3 > Yamaha DSP z7
Power Supply Ocz mXp700w | Ocz zx850w | Cannakit 5v 2.5a
Mouse Logitech G700s | Logitech G9x - Cable Repaired
Keyboard TT Meka G1 - Black w Cherry Blacks| Logitech G11
Software Win7 Home | Xp sp3 & Vista ultimate | Raspbian
Benchmark Scores Epeen!! Who needs epeen??
#8
Even then, temps do not vary from point to point more than 1-2C with a proper loop. It doesnt matter if the coolant is 30C or 5C on a chiller, it will still be within 1-2C from any point in the loop with proper flow rates and enough rad/cooling capacity.

Unless that was sarcastic or something? :confused:
:eek: I think there would be quite a difference in the loop in/out on the chiller, prolly a 15c ^T, but after that yes everything would be within a couple degree's. Technically :rolleyes:
 
Joined
May 15, 2008
Messages
2,863 (0.81/day)
Likes
272
Location
Brasil
System Name Sovereign // HTPC
Processor i7 3770k 4.2 // i7 3770k 4.2
Motherboard Maximus V Gene // Sabertooth Z77
Cooling Noctua D14 // Intel HSF
Memory 16GB Samsung // 16GB VengeanceLP
Video Card(s) Deciding // 660 DC2
Storage OS (X25-M), Data (Seagate 1TB) // Samsung 840 120GB & bunch of drives
Display(s) Samsung T240HD // LG TV
Case TJ08e // Grandia GD08
Audio Device(s) DT880 Pro 250 ohm // TV speakers
Power Supply Seasonic Plat 1000 // Seasonic Gold 760
Software Windows 8 Pro x64 // Windows 7 Pro x64
#9
i will put a T line just after the pump
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
11,705 (3.98/day)
Likes
6,414
Location
Ohio
System Name Daily Driver
Processor 7900X 4.5GHz 10c/10t 1.15V.
Motherboard ASUS Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling MCR320 + Kuplos Kryos NEXT CPU block
Memory GSkill Trident Z 4x8 GB DDR4 3600 MHz CL16
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 FTW3
Storage 512GB Patriot Hellfire, 512GB OCZ RD400, 640GB Caviar Black, 2TB Caviar Green
Display(s) Yamakasi 27" 2560x1440 IPS
Case Thermaltake P5
Power Supply EVGA 750W Supernova G2
Benchmark Scores Faster than most of you! Bet on it! :)
#10
Id link to see some supporting information on that to learn where(IF) I went wrong. Thermodynamics and my frightningly mediocre knowledge of watercooling and loops tell me otherwise (and so does testing from skinee/martin labs IIRC).

BUt we are drifting a bit OT.
 
Joined
May 22, 2010
Messages
2,516 (0.90/day)
Likes
680
Location
Canada
System Name m1dg3t | DeathBox | HairPi 3
Processor 3570k @ 4.0 1.15v BIOS | q9550 @ 3.77 1.325v BIOS
Motherboard Asrock z77e iTX | p5q Dlx 2301 BIOS
Cooling Custom Water | D-14 & HR-03gt | Passive HSF
Memory Samsung MV-3V4G3D 4g x 2 @ 1866 1.35v | OcZ RpR 2g x 4 @ 1067 2.2v
Video Card(s) MSi 7950 tf3 @1000 / 1350 | Asus 5870 V2 @ 900 / 1275
Storage Adata sx900 256Gb / WD 2500 HHTZ | WD 1001 FALS x 2
Display(s) BenQ gw2750hm | 46" Sharp Quatron
Case BitFenix Prodigy - m0dd3d | Antec Fusion Remote MAX
Audio Device(s) Onboard Toslink > Yamaha HTR 6290 | Xonar HDAV1.3 > Yamaha DSP z7
Power Supply Ocz mXp700w | Ocz zx850w | Cannakit 5v 2.5a
Mouse Logitech G700s | Logitech G9x - Cable Repaired
Keyboard TT Meka G1 - Black w Cherry Blacks| Logitech G11
Software Win7 Home | Xp sp3 & Vista ultimate | Raspbian
Benchmark Scores Epeen!! Who needs epeen??
#11
Id link to see some supporting information on that to learn where(IF) I went wrong. Thermodynamics and my frightningly mediocre knowledge of watercooling and loops tell me otherwise (and so does testing from skinee/martin labs IIRC).

BUt we are drifting a bit OT.
I guess you're right, after a while temps would equalize :eek:
 
Joined
May 15, 2008
Messages
2,863 (0.81/day)
Likes
272
Location
Brasil
System Name Sovereign // HTPC
Processor i7 3770k 4.2 // i7 3770k 4.2
Motherboard Maximus V Gene // Sabertooth Z77
Cooling Noctua D14 // Intel HSF
Memory 16GB Samsung // 16GB VengeanceLP
Video Card(s) Deciding // 660 DC2
Storage OS (X25-M), Data (Seagate 1TB) // Samsung 840 120GB & bunch of drives
Display(s) Samsung T240HD // LG TV
Case TJ08e // Grandia GD08
Audio Device(s) DT880 Pro 250 ohm // TV speakers
Power Supply Seasonic Plat 1000 // Seasonic Gold 760
Software Windows 8 Pro x64 // Windows 7 Pro x64
#12
Type 5


Type 2 would be most ideal for draining, as the pump and res would have a decent amount of tubing so they can be moved out of the case to drain. Also, removing pump when draining can help with flow.

Of course, the rear rad ain't gonna be fun to empty. So, with Type 2, you could lay hte case on it's side with the pump/res hanging out below, might make that a bit easier.

Since everyone else ignored that bit of your question. ;)



Unless using some sort of chiller.:laugh:
How bout this?
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Staff member
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,578 (3.85/day)
Likes
10,945
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
#13
Much better. ;)

You don't really need the "t" though, should be able to take the top off the res and drain from there.

Myself, for draining, I'd be removing the pump/res together anyway.
 
Joined
May 15, 2008
Messages
2,863 (0.81/day)
Likes
272
Location
Brasil
System Name Sovereign // HTPC
Processor i7 3770k 4.2 // i7 3770k 4.2
Motherboard Maximus V Gene // Sabertooth Z77
Cooling Noctua D14 // Intel HSF
Memory 16GB Samsung // 16GB VengeanceLP
Video Card(s) Deciding // 660 DC2
Storage OS (X25-M), Data (Seagate 1TB) // Samsung 840 120GB & bunch of drives
Display(s) Samsung T240HD // LG TV
Case TJ08e // Grandia GD08
Audio Device(s) DT880 Pro 250 ohm // TV speakers
Power Supply Seasonic Plat 1000 // Seasonic Gold 760
Software Windows 8 Pro x64 // Windows 7 Pro x64
#14
Much better. ;)

You don't really need the "t" though, should be able to take the top off the res and drain from there.

Myself, for draining, I'd be removing the pump/res together anyway.
I already have the fittings, so unless it's a worse idea than taking top off...
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Staff member
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,578 (3.85/day)
Likes
10,945
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
#15
I like to use forced air to remove remaining water from a loop, perhaps others have more input now that your question might be a bit more clear to them. :laugh:

Anyway, I don't think it's a worse idea, at all, really.