• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Lord of the Rings Battle for Middle Earth 2 game.dat error

Joined
Jun 19, 2008
Messages
1,531 (0.44/day)
Likes
86
System Name Toaster!
Processor Intel Core i7 5930k @ 4.4ghz
Motherboard ASUS x99 Deluxe
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14PE CPU Cooler (Blue). Stock on GPU.
Memory Corsair Vengeance LPX CMK16GX4M4A2800C16 16GB (4x4GB) DDR4 @ 2750mhz
Video Card(s) MSI 980 Ti Gaming 6GB
Storage Samsung 850 series 512GB SSD
Display(s) AOC D2757Ph 27" 3D IPS Widescreen LED Monitor and Viewsonic VX2753MH 27 Inch
Case Corsair Obsidian 900D
Audio Device(s) ASUS ROG Phoebus 7.1 + Razer Tiamat 7.1
Power Supply Antec High Current Pro Platinum 1300W Modular Power Supply
Mouse Razer Deathadder
Keyboard Corsair K70.
Software ALL HAIL WINDOWS 10.
Benchmark Scores http://www.3dmark.com/fs/6805248
#1
Hello I've been wanting to play LoTR:BFME2 but every time I try to play it I get this stupid annoying message. I've tried reinstalling with different CDs and an ISO off the internet... BUT IT STILL HAPPENS. IT DEFIES ALL LOGIC. I've patched the game and everything, I've even tried not patching, but nope. It still happens. I've used Revo uninstaller to uninstall the game


 
Joined
Jun 20, 2007
Messages
3,838 (0.99/day)
Likes
596
System Name Medusa
Processor i7 2600k @4.8ghz
Motherboard Asus P8P67 Pro
Cooling CPU : Noctua NH-L12 GPU: EK FC 1080 via Magicool 360 III PRO > Photon 170 (D5)
Memory 8gb Corsair XMS DDR3 @1600mhz
Video Card(s) GTX 1080 FE
Storage Vertex 4 256 /Crucial C300 256/ Hitachi 2TB 2x
Display(s) Tempest X270OC @ 120hz / LG W3000h
Case Fractal Define S [Antec Skeleton hanging in hall of fame]
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar Xense with AKG K612 cans on Monacor SA-100
Power Supply Seasonic X-850
Mouse Razer Naga 2014
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores FFXIV ARR Benchmark 1600p score 12,098[this means nothing any more!]
#2
Might be something to do with resolution (similar things happen with other games).

Browse to your game settings folder located at :

C:\Documents and Settings\(your login name)\Application Data\My The Lord of the Rings, The Rise of the Witch-king

Make a text file called options.ini in the above folder and copy paste the below, then save it.

AudioLOD = High
HasSeenLogoMovies = yes
IdealStaticGameLOD = High
Resolution = 1024 768
StaticGameLOD = High
TimesInGame = 5

This should at least allow you access to the game menu/options where you can set your proper resolution.
 
Joined
Jun 19, 2008
Messages
1,531 (0.44/day)
Likes
86
System Name Toaster!
Processor Intel Core i7 5930k @ 4.4ghz
Motherboard ASUS x99 Deluxe
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14PE CPU Cooler (Blue). Stock on GPU.
Memory Corsair Vengeance LPX CMK16GX4M4A2800C16 16GB (4x4GB) DDR4 @ 2750mhz
Video Card(s) MSI 980 Ti Gaming 6GB
Storage Samsung 850 series 512GB SSD
Display(s) AOC D2757Ph 27" 3D IPS Widescreen LED Monitor and Viewsonic VX2753MH 27 Inch
Case Corsair Obsidian 900D
Audio Device(s) ASUS ROG Phoebus 7.1 + Razer Tiamat 7.1
Power Supply Antec High Current Pro Platinum 1300W Modular Power Supply
Mouse Razer Deathadder
Keyboard Corsair K70.
Software ALL HAIL WINDOWS 10.
Benchmark Scores http://www.3dmark.com/fs/6805248
#3
This isnt The Rise of the Witch King. That folder path doesn't exist either
 
Joined
Jun 19, 2008
Messages
1,531 (0.44/day)
Likes
86
System Name Toaster!
Processor Intel Core i7 5930k @ 4.4ghz
Motherboard ASUS x99 Deluxe
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14PE CPU Cooler (Blue). Stock on GPU.
Memory Corsair Vengeance LPX CMK16GX4M4A2800C16 16GB (4x4GB) DDR4 @ 2750mhz
Video Card(s) MSI 980 Ti Gaming 6GB
Storage Samsung 850 series 512GB SSD
Display(s) AOC D2757Ph 27" 3D IPS Widescreen LED Monitor and Viewsonic VX2753MH 27 Inch
Case Corsair Obsidian 900D
Audio Device(s) ASUS ROG Phoebus 7.1 + Razer Tiamat 7.1
Power Supply Antec High Current Pro Platinum 1300W Modular Power Supply
Mouse Razer Deathadder
Keyboard Corsair K70.
Software ALL HAIL WINDOWS 10.
Benchmark Scores http://www.3dmark.com/fs/6805248
#4
I did however find it after searching. C:\Users\(username)\AppData
 
Joined
Jun 19, 2008
Messages
1,531 (0.44/day)
Likes
86
System Name Toaster!
Processor Intel Core i7 5930k @ 4.4ghz
Motherboard ASUS x99 Deluxe
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14PE CPU Cooler (Blue). Stock on GPU.
Memory Corsair Vengeance LPX CMK16GX4M4A2800C16 16GB (4x4GB) DDR4 @ 2750mhz
Video Card(s) MSI 980 Ti Gaming 6GB
Storage Samsung 850 series 512GB SSD
Display(s) AOC D2757Ph 27" 3D IPS Widescreen LED Monitor and Viewsonic VX2753MH 27 Inch
Case Corsair Obsidian 900D
Audio Device(s) ASUS ROG Phoebus 7.1 + Razer Tiamat 7.1
Power Supply Antec High Current Pro Platinum 1300W Modular Power Supply
Mouse Razer Deathadder
Keyboard Corsair K70.
Software ALL HAIL WINDOWS 10.
Benchmark Scores http://www.3dmark.com/fs/6805248
#5
This fix did not work
 
Joined
Jun 19, 2008
Messages
1,531 (0.44/day)
Likes
86
System Name Toaster!
Processor Intel Core i7 5930k @ 4.4ghz
Motherboard ASUS x99 Deluxe
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14PE CPU Cooler (Blue). Stock on GPU.
Memory Corsair Vengeance LPX CMK16GX4M4A2800C16 16GB (4x4GB) DDR4 @ 2750mhz
Video Card(s) MSI 980 Ti Gaming 6GB
Storage Samsung 850 series 512GB SSD
Display(s) AOC D2757Ph 27" 3D IPS Widescreen LED Monitor and Viewsonic VX2753MH 27 Inch
Case Corsair Obsidian 900D
Audio Device(s) ASUS ROG Phoebus 7.1 + Razer Tiamat 7.1
Power Supply Antec High Current Pro Platinum 1300W Modular Power Supply
Mouse Razer Deathadder
Keyboard Corsair K70.
Software ALL HAIL WINDOWS 10.
Benchmark Scores http://www.3dmark.com/fs/6805248
#6
I installed the first BFME, but I get this error before I get the error from BFME2