• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

losing power unexpectatly

Joined
Dec 2, 2005
Messages
704 (0.16/day)
Likes
30
Location
Chicago
System Name Woot
Processor AMD FX-9590
Motherboard ASUSTeK m5a99fxpro r2.0
Cooling Corsair H100i gtx
Memory 24GB G.SKILL PC3-12800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 970GTX
Storage 2X 256GB SANDISK SSD 3X1TB MIXED HD
Display(s) 2x 32" Sony LCD
Case CoolerMaster Storm Trooper
Audio Device(s) 5.1 Surround Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750W
Mouse Junk
Keyboard Junk
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores Anti-Gigabyte rig!
#1
i moved to a new house. plugged in my beast and after loging in, it turns off as if it lost power. turned it on again, works for a little and same thing. eventually as soon as i turn it on, it turns of after a few seconds... tried a second computer, and similar problem occurs with that one. tried a different outlet, and same thing. is it possible the electric in this house is effed up? or just a coincidence that both computers got messed up during moving?
 

Kursah

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
10,945 (2.68/day)
Likes
5,055
Location
Missoula, MT, USA
System Name Kursah's Gaming Rig - Haswell Edition | Spartan Home Server 2015
Processor i7 4790k 4.0/4.8 @ 1.26v | i7 4790k 4.0/4.4 @ 1.18v - Both delidded w/CLU
Motherboard Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103 | Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S Push-Pull | Cooler Master 212 EVO Stock - Using NT-H1 and AC MX-4
Memory 16GB (2x8) Corsair Dominator DDR3 2400 CL11 | 32GB (4x8) G.Skill DDR3-1600 CL9
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980 Ti Gaming 6G LE @ Stock | Onboard Intel HD 4600
Storage 850EVO 250GB SSD, 960GB SSD, 1x2TB | 840 120GB SSD, RAID10 6x2TB (6TB) + 8TB Backup
Display(s) Samsung 32" TV IPS 1080p, Dell 23" U2312HM IPS 1080p | 19" 4:3 Dell LCD..mostly RDP.
Case Corsair 600C - Stock Fans on Low | Lian Li Lancool PC-K7 - Cougar fans
Audio Device(s) Aune T1 mk1 > AKG K553 Pro + HiFiMAN HE-350 (Equalizer APO + PeaceUI) | Realtek ALC1150
Power Supply EVGA 750G2 Modular + APC 1500VA UPS | EVGA KR500 80+ Bronze + CyberPowerPC 1000VA UPS
Mouse Logitech G502 | Dell USB Laser Mouse
Keyboard Logitech G15 rv2 | Dell USB Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows Server 2012 R2 (GUI Core,Hyper-V + VMs)
#2
Are you plugging straight into the wall or through a surge protector? Maybe try a different surge protector? Did you try an outlet in a different room or same room? Are you using the same power cable? I have made the mistake of using one of the puny cheap power cables and had power stability issues..using the heavier duty larger gauge power cable that came with my PSU made the difference there.

I know with my PC after it's been off for a bit, it turns on and off a couple times before booting up totally. Have you waited to see if your PC does the same? Mine is an Intel..and I'm not sure on the AMD side of power loss recovery being different or not.
 
Joined
Jul 21, 2008
Messages
4,434 (1.29/day)
Likes
1,050
Location
Clifton Park, NY
System Name [Uber Noober Setup]
Processor [i7 3770K]
Motherboard [MSI P67A-G45(B3)]
Memory [32GB Corsair Vengeance (8GBx4)]
Video Card(s) [EVGA GTX 1080]
Storage [128GB OCZ VTX4 SSD, 2TB Internal HDD]
Display(s) [2x 27" ASUS at 1920x1080p - 1x 34" Samsung at 1440p]
Case [Coolermaster CM 690]
Audio Device(s) [X-Fi XtremeGamer]
Power Supply [CORSAIR 850W]
Software [Windows 10 64-Bit]
#3
Try moving to to a room on the other side of the house to be sure that ur on a different circuit and try there
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2009
Messages
4,001 (1.32/day)
Likes
1,652
Location
Sarasota, Florida, USA
System Name Awesomesauce 4.3 | Laptop (MSI GE72VR 6RF Apache Pro-023)
Processor Intel Core i7-5820K 4.16GHz 1.28v/3GHz 1.05v uncore | Intel Core i7-6700HQ @ 3.1GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X99-UD5 WiFi LGA2011-v3| Stock
Cooling Corsair H100i v2 w/ 2x EK Vardar F4-120ER + various 120/140mm case fans | Stock
Memory G.Skill RJ-4 16GB DDR4-2666 CL15 quad channel | 12GB DDR4-2133
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG Strix A8G Gaming GTX 1080 @ 2075/1368 boost | NVIDIA GTX 1060 6GB +200/+500 + Intel 530
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 500GB + Seagate 3TB 7200RPM + others | Kingston 256GB M.2 SATA + 1TB 7200RPM
Display(s) Acer G257HU 1440p 60Hz AH-IPS 4ms | 17.3" 1920*1080 60Hz wide angle TN notebook panel
Case Fractal Design Define XL R2 | MSI
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Z | Realtek with quad stereo speakers and subwoofer
Power Supply Corsair HX850i Platinum | 19.5v 180w Delta brick
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows 10 Home x64
Benchmark Scores GTX 1080 please?
#4
Way back in 1999, my grandparents had my dad build them a K6-2 450 machine, and it would shut off after about 5-10 minutes. It was plugged into a 3 outlet wall tap with a treadmill (which wasn't on). The wall tap was faulty, as they had complained that the treadmill would shut off as well long before they got their computer. We unplugged the wall tap, and both the PC and the treadmill worked properly on the original outlet.

Try a different room, sounds like a home wiring issue or something. Does the house have copper or aluminum wiring? I know aluminum was used for a brief period (it was cheap) until the wiring expanded and contracted enough to break, and it apparently heated up pretty good as well. Might not be your issue, but I figured I would share that tidbit.
 
Joined
Dec 2, 2005
Messages
704 (0.16/day)
Likes
30
Location
Chicago
System Name Woot
Processor AMD FX-9590
Motherboard ASUSTeK m5a99fxpro r2.0
Cooling Corsair H100i gtx
Memory 24GB G.SKILL PC3-12800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 970GTX
Storage 2X 256GB SANDISK SSD 3X1TB MIXED HD
Display(s) 2x 32" Sony LCD
Case CoolerMaster Storm Trooper
Audio Device(s) 5.1 Surround Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750W
Mouse Junk
Keyboard Junk
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores Anti-Gigabyte rig!
#5
Are you plugging straight into the wall or through a surge protector? Maybe try a different surge protector? Did you try an outlet in a different room or same room? Are you using the same power cable? I have made the mistake of using one of the puny cheap power cables and had power stability issues..using the heavier duty larger gauge power cable that came with my PSU made the difference there.

I know with my PC after it's been off for a bit, it turns on and off a couple times before booting up totally. Have you waited to see if your PC does the same? Mine is an Intel..and I'm not sure on the AMD side of power loss recovery being different or not.
i did straight to wall. ran an extension from a different room. one seems to run ok now, besides the smart bad status.. but my main on still acts up. i tried unplugging everything and same thing.. tried psu by shorting green with a black and it runs fine... so its coming down to mobo or cpu..
 
Joined
Dec 2, 2005
Messages
704 (0.16/day)
Likes
30
Location
Chicago
System Name Woot
Processor AMD FX-9590
Motherboard ASUSTeK m5a99fxpro r2.0
Cooling Corsair H100i gtx
Memory 24GB G.SKILL PC3-12800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 970GTX
Storage 2X 256GB SANDISK SSD 3X1TB MIXED HD
Display(s) 2x 32" Sony LCD
Case CoolerMaster Storm Trooper
Audio Device(s) 5.1 Surround Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750W
Mouse Junk
Keyboard Junk
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores Anti-Gigabyte rig!
#6
after running it plugged in short on the psu, some strange whining noise came from my h100 cooler. does that thing have a pump in the cpu block? im guessing this is my issue.. im gonna try the stock cooler.
 

tigger

I'm the only one
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
10,476 (2.44/day)
Likes
1,673
System Name Black to the Core MKIV
Processor Intel I7 6700k
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming socket 1151
Cooling NZXT Kraken X61 280mm radiator
Memory 2x8gb Corsair vengeance LPX 2400 DDR4
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon R9 290 4gb ddr5
Storage Patriot Blast 120gb ssd Boot and WD10EADX-22TDHB0 1TB Data
Display(s) Dell 2408WFP 24" 1920x1200
Case Nzxt IS 340
Audio Device(s) Asus xonar dsx pci-e
Power Supply Corsair CX750
Mouse Logitech G502
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#7
after running it plugged in short on the psu, some strange whining noise came from my h100 cooler. does that thing have a pump in the cpu block? im guessing this is my issue.. im gonna try the stock cooler.
The thing on the CPU is the pump/cpu block combined.
 
Joined
Aug 2, 2009
Messages
4,014 (1.31/day)
Likes
1,832
System Name Abacus
Processor i5 2500K
Motherboard ASRock p67 Extreme4 Gen3
Cooling Swiftech MCP35X, EK HF Copper, 2.120 rad, 3.120 rad
Memory 2x4GB G.Skill Sniper 1600
Video Card(s) 2 Zotac GTX 770 4GB w/ FC EK Blocks
Storage WD 640BG x2/WD 250GB/Samsung 2TB
Display(s) QNIX 27" PLS
Case Corsair 700D
Audio Device(s) X-Fi XtremeGamer
Power Supply EVGA G2 750W
Mouse Logitech G500
Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB MX Brown
Software Windows 10
#8
You probably just noticed the whining from the pump when you had the PSU shorted because it was running balls to the wall. It's speed is controlled by the motherboard, so it is usually more quiet.
 
Joined
Dec 2, 2005
Messages
704 (0.16/day)
Likes
30
Location
Chicago
System Name Woot
Processor AMD FX-9590
Motherboard ASUSTeK m5a99fxpro r2.0
Cooling Corsair H100i gtx
Memory 24GB G.SKILL PC3-12800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 970GTX
Storage 2X 256GB SANDISK SSD 3X1TB MIXED HD
Display(s) 2x 32" Sony LCD
Case CoolerMaster Storm Trooper
Audio Device(s) 5.1 Surround Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750W
Mouse Junk
Keyboard Junk
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores Anti-Gigabyte rig!
#9
if the cpu gets too hot, would it just immedietly turn off?
 
Joined
Dec 5, 2009
Messages
180 (0.06/day)
Likes
33
#10
tried psu by shorting green with a black and it runs fine... so its coming down to mobo or cpu..
No such conclusion is possible. That jumper has simply disconnected a power controller from the PSU. Faults that must cause a power off (including an overheated CPU) are no longer detected. Numerous reasons exist for strange operation. Too many to list here.

Important are basic facts and numbers. Otherwise the fewer who better know this stuff can only remain silent.

For example, operate an incandescent bulb on the same receptacle as the computer. Does that bulb change intensity or flicker? An important fact.

To understand a relationship between PSU, motherboard, and other relevant functions requires numbers from six wires between motherboard and PSU. Measured with a meter. A tool so inexpensive and simple as to even sell in stores that sell hammers. Some sell for less than $10. Without those numbers, answers can only be speculation.

That meter can also report on house wiring - defective or perfectly good - or if irrelevant to the failure.

Either get facts that point to a specific problem. Or continue random changes until something works. Those are your only two options.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 2, 2005
Messages
704 (0.16/day)
Likes
30
Location
Chicago
System Name Woot
Processor AMD FX-9590
Motherboard ASUSTeK m5a99fxpro r2.0
Cooling Corsair H100i gtx
Memory 24GB G.SKILL PC3-12800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 970GTX
Storage 2X 256GB SANDISK SSD 3X1TB MIXED HD
Display(s) 2x 32" Sony LCD
Case CoolerMaster Storm Trooper
Audio Device(s) 5.1 Surround Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750W
Mouse Junk
Keyboard Junk
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores Anti-Gigabyte rig!
#11
the cooler was the problem. i bought a zalman cnps10x for now until i rma this one. thanks for all input