• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Low end CPU upgrade advice

_Zod_

New Member
Joined
Oct 7, 2009
Messages
172 (0.06/day)
Likes
37
System Name Zim
Processor AMD FX-6300
Motherboard GA-970A-UD3 (rev. 2.0)
Cooling AMD Stock with heat pipes
Memory Corsair CMV8GX3M2A1333C9 2x 8GB Kit DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 550 Ti FPB
Storage Western Digital WD RE4 1TB - Main
Display(s) HP LP2465 1920x1200
Case COOLMAX CS-480
Audio Device(s) Intergrated VIA VT2021
Power Supply hec X-Power Pro 600
Software Windows 7 Ultimate
#1
Ok so I am running an overclocked AMD 4850e now and it's starting to really show it's age (thanks to my brother grabbing me a copy of BF BC2). So I am looking to go to a low end AMD quad. I have narrowed it down to either..

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819103881

or

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819103916

My question is, does that level 3 cache make much of a difference? From the benchmarks I've seen, doesn't look like it but I'd like some opinions.

I plan on doing the CPU, then end of year grab a AM3+ board and DDR3 or a new video card and do the mobo later. Thanks in advance :)
 

wolf

Performance Enthusiast
Joined
May 7, 2007
Messages
5,576 (1.44/day)
Likes
864
System Name MightyX (MITX)
Processor Core i7 4770K @ 4.2ghz
Motherboard Asus Z87i-Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-L12
Memory 16gb DDR3 1600 LP
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX1080 G1 OC
Storage Lots of SSD's
Display(s) AOC AGON AG352QCX
Case Raven RVZ-01
Power Supply SFX 450 G
Mouse Razer Mamba Tournament Chroma
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow X Chroma
#2
in your shoes Id go the athlon x4 :) L3 cache does make a difference but athlon x4s have a great price/perfomance ratio.
 

Zyon

New Member
Joined
Mar 18, 2011
Messages
264 (0.11/day)
Likes
29
Location
Australia
System Name Computernamehere/Computernamehere2/Computernamehere3
Processor i5-2500/Athlon 6000+/C2D Q6700
Motherboard P67A-UD3R/M2N-SLI Deluxe/P5K-Deluxe
Cooling Stock/Hyper212+/Unknown Coolermaster
Memory Patriot PC3-10666 2x2/A-Data PC2-6400 4x1/OCZ PC2-8500 4x1
Video Card(s) MSI GTX580 Lightning/2x Gigabyte GTS450 OC 1GB/2x HIS HD4870 512MB
Storage Seagate 1TB/Samsung 500GB/Seagate 1TB
Display(s) Samsung BX2440
Case V4 Black/Mystique 631 Silver/Soprano VX
Audio Device(s) WTF is a sound card?
Power Supply Corsair HX650/Antec Earthwatts 650W Green/None
Software Windows 7 Home/Professional/Professional
Benchmark Scores TBA
#3
If those are the only two you would consider, then pick the Athlon to save $20 and get hardly noticeable performance penalty.

However, if you're planning to make do with a CPU sufficient for gaming now and get Bulldozer later (meaning what you use only last a year), you might think about getting the X3 450 to shave off another $10, with 3.2ghz at stock it would work better for most applications.
 

wolf

Performance Enthusiast
Joined
May 7, 2007
Messages
5,576 (1.44/day)
Likes
864
System Name MightyX (MITX)
Processor Core i7 4770K @ 4.2ghz
Motherboard Asus Z87i-Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-L12
Memory 16gb DDR3 1600 LP
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX1080 G1 OC
Storage Lots of SSD's
Display(s) AOC AGON AG352QCX
Case Raven RVZ-01
Power Supply SFX 450 G
Mouse Razer Mamba Tournament Chroma
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow X Chroma
#4
you might think about getting the X3 450 to shave off another $10, with 3.2ghz at stock it would work better for most applications.
and a chance to unlock to x4 i think
 

Zyon

New Member
Joined
Mar 18, 2011
Messages
264 (0.11/day)
Likes
29
Location
Australia
System Name Computernamehere/Computernamehere2/Computernamehere3
Processor i5-2500/Athlon 6000+/C2D Q6700
Motherboard P67A-UD3R/M2N-SLI Deluxe/P5K-Deluxe
Cooling Stock/Hyper212+/Unknown Coolermaster
Memory Patriot PC3-10666 2x2/A-Data PC2-6400 4x1/OCZ PC2-8500 4x1
Video Card(s) MSI GTX580 Lightning/2x Gigabyte GTS450 OC 1GB/2x HIS HD4870 512MB
Storage Seagate 1TB/Samsung 500GB/Seagate 1TB
Display(s) Samsung BX2440
Case V4 Black/Mystique 631 Silver/Soprano VX
Audio Device(s) WTF is a sound card?
Power Supply Corsair HX650/Antec Earthwatts 650W Green/None
Software Windows 7 Home/Professional/Professional
Benchmark Scores TBA
#5
I'm not sure about that wolf, not on SB700 I don't think...

Gigabyte GA-MA78GM-US2H

Doesn't look like SB700 come with the ACC that is required.
 
Joined
Mar 6, 2010
Messages
2,146 (0.76/day)
Likes
499
Location
England
System Name White Noise
Processor AMD 1090T
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV
Cooling Corsair H80 (single pull config) + 3x 140mm ThermalTake Riing fans
Memory 2x 4Gb Crucial Ballistix Tactical PC3-14900 @1333mhz 7-7-7-18
Video Card(s) XFX RX480 Core 4GB
Storage 120Gb OCZ Agility 3 + 2x 500Gb WD Blue (raid 0) + 1Tb WD Green
Display(s) HP 24XW
Case NZXT S340
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX X-Fi + Samsung HT-C450 via SPDIF
Power Supply BeQuiet! Pure Power 850w + Cablemod custom cables
Mouse Logitech G502 Core
Keyboard Cooler Master Master Keys Pro L
Software Windows 10
#6
i'm pretty sure it does.... Look at the motherboard in my 2nd rig ;) (That uses the SB700)

Although it's only 95w I'm able to unlock the chip :rockout:
 

_Zod_

New Member
Joined
Oct 7, 2009
Messages
172 (0.06/day)
Likes
37
System Name Zim
Processor AMD FX-6300
Motherboard GA-970A-UD3 (rev. 2.0)
Cooling AMD Stock with heat pipes
Memory Corsair CMV8GX3M2A1333C9 2x 8GB Kit DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 550 Ti FPB
Storage Western Digital WD RE4 1TB - Main
Display(s) HP LP2465 1920x1200
Case COOLMAX CS-480
Audio Device(s) Intergrated VIA VT2021
Power Supply hec X-Power Pro 600
Software Windows 7 Ultimate
#7
Yeah the SB700 doesn't have acc so no unlocking. The 710 does which gigabyte added to my board like a month after I got it so no unlocking for me :mad:

Even if I could unlock the triple core there is a chance it would require a voltage boost and I think at 95 watts TDP is already pushing it.

I may or may not go with Bulldozer early next year, my upgrade cycle is piecemeal unless I come into a wad of disposable income ;)

Thanks for the feedback guys, looks like I will pull the trigger on the Athlon II :toast:
 
Joined
Sep 8, 2006
Messages
596 (0.14/day)
Likes
399
Location
Pacific N.W.
System Name SYS-1//SYS-2//SYS-3//SYS-4
Processor AMD FX-8350//AMD FX-8350//AMD X6 1090T //AMD FX-8350
Motherboard Biostar TA990FXE//Gigabyte 990FX-G//MSI 890GXM-G65//ASUS M5A99FX Pro 2.0
Cooling ZEROtherm Nirvana//Corsair H-110i//AMD PII Cooler//AMD CL Water Cooler
Memory REDLINE 1866 (4X4g)//REDLINE 2133 (4X4g)//Geil (4x2g)//AMD R9 G 2400 (4x4g)
Video Card(s) XFX R9 270 (CF)//R9 270x(CF) Devil's//XFX HD7870//R9 270X(CF) Devil's
Storage Corsair ForceIII GS-360 //Samsung 850-Pro//Samsung 840-Pro//Hyper-X Savage 480
Display(s) Samsung 214T 21.3" LCD//BENQ G2400WD 24" LCD
Case SIGMA LUNA//Corsair 650D //Silverstone SG-01//Cooler Master HAF-XB
Audio Device(s) X-FI Fatality Pro//Sound Blaster Z//Sound Blaster Z//Sound Blaster Z
Power Supply Corsair HX620W//Corsair HX850i//Corsair HX620//Corsair HX 750
Software Win 7 Ult-64//Vista Premium-64//Win 7 Ult-64//Vista Ult-64
Joined
Mar 30, 2011
Messages
765 (0.31/day)
Likes
160
Location
Pocomoke, MD
System Name Good Enough
Processor Intel G3258 @ 3.8ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-H81M-H
Cooling Stock
Memory G.Skill Ripjaws 8gb
Video Card(s) MSI 650 ti Boost
Storage Crucial MX100 128gb SSD
Display(s) ASUS VN248
Case Coolermaster Ammo 533
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC887
Power Supply Antec BP550
Mouse G502
Keyboard Sidewinder x4
Software Windows 7
#9
I'm a fan of the x4 athlons.
 
Joined
Apr 18, 2010
Messages
499 (0.18/day)
Likes
114
Processor AMD 1300X
Motherboard ASRock AB350 Gaming K4
Cooling TR Macho Rev. A
Memory 16GB Corsair 3200 MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX 560
Storage 250 GB 850 EVO, 2x6 TB WD Ae
Case Fractal R4
Audio Device(s) Aune MK2 DAC
Power Supply SeaSonic X650
Mouse Logitech G702
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder
Software Win 10
#10
AMD Phenom II X4 840 3.2GHz 4 x 512KB L2 Cache Soc...

Although it's branded a Phenom II it's actually an Athlon II (Propus core). If you're looking for BC2 performance I would absolutely recommend a quad and the fastest one you can afford. I think it's worth the extra $18 for 300 MHz more (guessing you have no overclock headroom), and since it's retail box you'll probably recover that on resale value down the road.
 

Fourstaff

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Nov 29, 2009
Messages
9,376 (3.19/day)
Likes
2,100
Location
Home
System Name Asus K50-X5DAB \\ Orange!
Processor Athlon QL-65 2.2Ghz \\ 3570K
Motherboard Laptop \\ ASRock z77 Extreme4
Cooling Laptop \\ H100i
Memory 1x1GB + 1X2GB \\ 2x4Gb 1600Mhz CL9 Corsair XMS3
Video Card(s) Mobility Radeon HD4570 512mb \\ Zotac 660Ti OC 2Gb
Storage 250Gb \\ Samsung 840 250Gb + Toshiba DT01ACA300 3Tb
Display(s) 15.6" 1366x768 \\ LG 22EA53VQ
Case Laptop Chassis \\ NZXT Phantom 410 Black/Orange
Power Supply Power Brick \\ Corsair CXM500w
#11
AMD Phenom II X4 840 3.2GHz 4 x 512KB L2 Cache Soc...

Although it's branded a Phenom II it's actually an Athlon II (Propus core). If you're looking for BC2 performance I would absolutely recommend a quad and the fastest one you can afford. I think it's worth the extra $18 for 300 MHz more (guessing you have no overclock headroom), and since it's retail box you'll probably recover that on resale value down the road.
You can actually overclock Athlon II quite a bit. Not as much as others obviously, but still quite healthy.
 
Joined
Apr 18, 2010
Messages
499 (0.18/day)
Likes
114
Processor AMD 1300X
Motherboard ASRock AB350 Gaming K4
Cooling TR Macho Rev. A
Memory 16GB Corsair 3200 MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX 560
Storage 250 GB 850 EVO, 2x6 TB WD Ae
Case Fractal R4
Audio Device(s) Aune MK2 DAC
Power Supply SeaSonic X650
Mouse Logitech G702
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder
Software Win 10
#12
You can actually overclock Athlon II quite a bit. Not as much as others obviously, but still quite healthy.
The board he has will probably be quite limited with FSB overclocks, maybe 205-210 at best if he even wants to try.
 

Fourstaff

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Nov 29, 2009
Messages
9,376 (3.19/day)
Likes
2,100
Location
Home
System Name Asus K50-X5DAB \\ Orange!
Processor Athlon QL-65 2.2Ghz \\ 3570K
Motherboard Laptop \\ ASRock z77 Extreme4
Cooling Laptop \\ H100i
Memory 1x1GB + 1X2GB \\ 2x4Gb 1600Mhz CL9 Corsair XMS3
Video Card(s) Mobility Radeon HD4570 512mb \\ Zotac 660Ti OC 2Gb
Storage 250Gb \\ Samsung 840 250Gb + Toshiba DT01ACA300 3Tb
Display(s) 15.6" 1366x768 \\ LG 22EA53VQ
Case Laptop Chassis \\ NZXT Phantom 410 Black/Orange
Power Supply Power Brick \\ Corsair CXM500w
#13
The board he has will probably be quite limited with FSB overclocks, maybe 205-210 at best if he even wants to try.
Ah, I didn't really paid any attention to the board.
 

Zyon

New Member
Joined
Mar 18, 2011
Messages
264 (0.11/day)
Likes
29
Location
Australia
System Name Computernamehere/Computernamehere2/Computernamehere3
Processor i5-2500/Athlon 6000+/C2D Q6700
Motherboard P67A-UD3R/M2N-SLI Deluxe/P5K-Deluxe
Cooling Stock/Hyper212+/Unknown Coolermaster
Memory Patriot PC3-10666 2x2/A-Data PC2-6400 4x1/OCZ PC2-8500 4x1
Video Card(s) MSI GTX580 Lightning/2x Gigabyte GTS450 OC 1GB/2x HIS HD4870 512MB
Storage Seagate 1TB/Samsung 500GB/Seagate 1TB
Display(s) Samsung BX2440
Case V4 Black/Mystique 631 Silver/Soprano VX
Audio Device(s) WTF is a sound card?
Power Supply Corsair HX650/Antec Earthwatts 650W Green/None
Software Windows 7 Home/Professional/Professional
Benchmark Scores TBA
#14
http://forums.whirlpool.net.au/archive/1271438

Revision 1 motherboard is 700, unlocking is no-go :(

Depending on how much he's willing to spend but I'd say from the point where he only considered the phenom and the athlon I'd say the 840 was no interest since it's $10+ over the athlon, the triple core also comes with 3.2ghz.
 

_Zod_

New Member
Joined
Oct 7, 2009
Messages
172 (0.06/day)
Likes
37
System Name Zim
Processor AMD FX-6300
Motherboard GA-970A-UD3 (rev. 2.0)
Cooling AMD Stock with heat pipes
Memory Corsair CMV8GX3M2A1333C9 2x 8GB Kit DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 550 Ti FPB
Storage Western Digital WD RE4 1TB - Main
Display(s) HP LP2465 1920x1200
Case COOLMAX CS-480
Audio Device(s) Intergrated VIA VT2021
Power Supply hec X-Power Pro 600
Software Windows 7 Ultimate
#15
AMD Phenom II X4 840 3.2GHz 4 x 512KB L2 Cache Soc...

Although it's branded a Phenom II it's actually an Athlon II (Propus core). If you're looking for BC2 performance I would absolutely recommend a quad and the fastest one you can afford. I think it's worth the extra $18 for 300 MHz more (guessing you have no overclock headroom), and since it's retail box you'll probably recover that on resale value down the road.
I'm over clocking now with a FSB of 232 stable. So I would probably boost that cheap x4 a couple 100 mhz without any problems. I could go with the 3.2ghz Athlon II instead of the 2.9 for an extra $10 but I'm positive I can OC the 2.9 to 3.2 easily. If I were going to go an extra $18 I may as well get the real Phenom II.
 
Joined
Apr 18, 2010
Messages
499 (0.18/day)
Likes
114
Processor AMD 1300X
Motherboard ASRock AB350 Gaming K4
Cooling TR Macho Rev. A
Memory 16GB Corsair 3200 MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX 560
Storage 250 GB 850 EVO, 2x6 TB WD Ae
Case Fractal R4
Audio Device(s) Aune MK2 DAC
Power Supply SeaSonic X650
Mouse Logitech G702
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder
Software Win 10
#16
Ah, I stand corrected then your board does more FSB than I guessed it might.

The 2.9 has a 14.5 multi and the 3.2 has a 16. So assuming you could do 232 on both the 2.9 would do 3.36 while the 3.2 would do 3.7. As someone who's played a lot of BC2 I'm just telling you ever lost drop from the CPU does make a difference in multiplayer; on my old Phenom II set the difference between 3.6 and 3.95 was quite noticeable. And I still think you'd recover the cost going with the retail box on resale.
 

Funtoss

New Member
Joined
Mar 4, 2011
Messages
588 (0.24/day)
Likes
61
Location
New Zealand
System Name My Heater
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 3.2ghz
Motherboard Asus P5B-E Plus
Cooling Zalman CNPS 9700 NT
Memory Patriot 4GB 800MHz DDR2
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 460 1GB
Storage 2x Western Digital 640GB (1.28TB)
Display(s) Viewsonic VX2349wm 24"
Case Raidmax Hurricane
Audio Device(s) C-Media 8738
Power Supply Aywun Megapower 650w 80+
Software Windows 7 64 Bit
#17
get the athlon x4 :) it really is good for gaming
 

_Zod_

New Member
Joined
Oct 7, 2009
Messages
172 (0.06/day)
Likes
37
System Name Zim
Processor AMD FX-6300
Motherboard GA-970A-UD3 (rev. 2.0)
Cooling AMD Stock with heat pipes
Memory Corsair CMV8GX3M2A1333C9 2x 8GB Kit DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 550 Ti FPB
Storage Western Digital WD RE4 1TB - Main
Display(s) HP LP2465 1920x1200
Case COOLMAX CS-480
Audio Device(s) Intergrated VIA VT2021
Power Supply hec X-Power Pro 600
Software Windows 7 Ultimate
#18
Just to update, I pulled the trigger on the Phenom II 925 because NewEgg had a promo code that took it down to $104. So I'm going to try and overclock it past 3Ghz.

-Well 5 moths later I now started over clocking this 925. Got it at 3.2 GHZ @ 1.2v and even managed to under-volt the NB, this using the AMD stock heat sink/fan from an old 3.0 GHZ Windsor core x2 (heat pipe one we have all seen). Runs 51c at full load. I still have plenty or room on the ram so I'm going to see if I can get her to like 3.4 under-volted. Just switching to this stock from the overclocked dual core doubled my frame rate.-
 
Last edited: