• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Low FPS in WoW?

Joined
Dec 7, 2008
Messages
72 (0.02/day)
Likes
9
Location
Fort Rucker, AL
System Name R9 280X Crossfire
Processor i5-4670k
Motherboard MSI M-Power
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 16 GB G.Skill 1600
Video Card(s) XFX R9 280X DD
Storage Corsair 250GB SSD, 2x WD Black 500GB Raid 0
Power Supply Cooler Master V1000
#1
I play World of Warcraft on my desktop (check the specs on the left) and I get pretty low fps... usually around 40, seen it drop in the 20's, and pretty steady in the 50's while indoors. That's on one GTX 280.

I put in a second GTX 280 yesterday, running in SLI, and it gives no boost. I read on the WoW forums that it doesn't do well with SLI, so I've set WoW to just run with one gpu, but I still feel I should be able to max out the settings and get steady at 60 and above.

I've also ran Vantage, on one gpu i get P11,000, and on two its over 20,000. It also boost my fps on Lost Planet from 50 to 75 and it runs CoD: WaW on full settings, no problem. So, it seems to be just WoW.

Anyone have any ideas?
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2009
Messages
146 (0.05/day)
Likes
11
#2
ok, first, WoW is like many internet games, your ping can effect your fps, WoW is a weird beast, sometimes the smallist things can make it run poorly.

try dissabling shadows in game, see if that gives you a boost, just try diffrent setting combos, really, as i found with WoW the only way to get it to run really well on some rigs is to tinker till its happy, it will run great on "crappy" hardware for somepeople and poorly on extreamly high end hardware for others :/

some people have found forcing WoW to use only one cpu core to help its performance, you can try that with task manager.

good luck with that.

Oh grab nHancer(google it) use that to change thedriver profile for wow to suit your needs.
 
K

kyle2020

Guest
#3
I play World of Warcraft on my desktop (check the specs on the left) and I get pretty low fps... usually around 40, seen it drop in the 20's, and pretty steady in the 50's while indoors. That's on one GTX 280.

I put in a second GTX 280 yesterday, running in SLI, and it gives no boost. I read on the WoW forums that it doesn't do well with SLI, so I've set WoW to just run with one gpu, but I still feel I should be able to max out the settings and get steady at 60 and above.

I've also ran Vantage, on one gpu i get P11,000, and on two its over 20,000. It also boost my fps on Lost Planet from 50 to 75 and it runs CoD: WaW on full settings, no problem. So, it seems to be just WoW.

Anyone have any ideas?
World of warcraft may be a game that cannot utilize more than one GPU. Its quite old (the original, anywho) so it may not have that utilization installed.
 
Joined
Mar 11, 2009
Messages
1,056 (0.33/day)
Likes
601
Location
Little Rock, AR
System Name Gamer/Server
Processor Intel Core i5 4690/AMD FX 8370
Memory 16/16GB
Video Card(s) EVGA Geforce GTX 980ti FTW/None
Case Fractal Designs/Dell
Power Supply 800w CM/450w Raidmax
Software Windows 10 Pro
#4
something wrong

I know i'm new FIRST POST but i know what im talking about I hope.

Theres def something wrong. I get better than that on my slowish rig. (its on the left too). I get around 50 pretty much everywhere exept dalaran where it drops to mid 20's. So your rig is way better than mine so theres def something wrong. Check your temps? Also defrag and clean registry and all that general stuff. Try maybe reinstalling wow too because you should be getting waaay over what you have. Hope that helps!
 
K

kyle2020

Guest
#5
Could be a driver issue to - have you installed the latest drivers for your 280(s) off the nvidia site? If you have only installed the generic ones off the driver CD, that may be the problem.
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2009
Messages
146 (0.05/day)
Likes
11
#6
even with the current updates(made it look alot better) its engines still OLD, and blizzard dosnt give a crap about multi gpu, the majority of their players have CRAP systems and run at crap res with crap settings, i know a guy who plays thats got a guild buddy who has 256mb ram win2k and some horrible s3 video card HAHA
 
Joined
Dec 7, 2008
Messages
72 (0.02/day)
Likes
9
Location
Fort Rucker, AL
System Name R9 280X Crossfire
Processor i5-4670k
Motherboard MSI M-Power
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 16 GB G.Skill 1600
Video Card(s) XFX R9 280X DD
Storage Corsair 250GB SSD, 2x WD Black 500GB Raid 0
Power Supply Cooler Master V1000
#7
Thanks for the tips guys, I'll give them a try after work. That nHancer program looks really good. Thanks again.

Edit: I do have the latest drivers... 182.08. I even reinstalled them after I put in the second card.
 
Joined
Dec 7, 2008
Messages
72 (0.02/day)
Likes
9
Location
Fort Rucker, AL
System Name R9 280X Crossfire
Processor i5-4670k
Motherboard MSI M-Power
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 16 GB G.Skill 1600
Video Card(s) XFX R9 280X DD
Storage Corsair 250GB SSD, 2x WD Black 500GB Raid 0
Power Supply Cooler Master V1000
#9
285.20? Beta drivers?

Even so, I still think an old game like WoW should work on drivers that are less that a month old.
 
K

kyle2020

Guest
#10
Thanks for the tips guys, I'll give them a try after work. That nHancer program looks really good. Thanks again.

Edit: I do have the latest drivers... 182.08. I even reinstalled them after I put in the second card.
maybe try using the ones on the disc then? A bit of reverse psychology? haha :laugh:
 
Joined
May 10, 2007
Messages
1,396 (0.36/day)
Likes
124
Location
London, England
#11
Over time, I accumulated a lot of upgrades, going from a low-end A64 3000+ with a GF6600, to what I have now. I must say WoW seemed to run best for me when I was on XP x64, with the X1950GT, and an A64 4200+, and just 1GB of RAM.
I have no understanding as to why, but that was how I found it. I ran better on my older system than it did on my C2D.
I tried anything and everything; trying to reduce latency, lowering the graphics, UPPING the graphics (sometimes you could just have a bottleneck at lower settings, so I figured I'd give it a try), new drivers, old drivers, ATi, Nvidia, AMD, Intel (for both chipset and graphics, and combinations of those). I tried it under XP SP1, SP2, Vista with and without SP1, Ubuntu with Wine, and even (though it ran absolutely horrendously) on my PowerMac G4 (just because it has two processors doesn't mean it runs any better), and still, it would run horribly.
I did notice one thing though, my old laptop with crappy X3100 graphics could actually run it pretty decently, even though it had a slow processor, 1GB of RAM, and was running Vista, and it had very low settings.

WoW really is a game that you just won't get running perfectly. Everything affects it. If you switch between WiFi and ethernet, your ping will increase slightly, usually enough to tip it over the edge. If you're in a busy city, even with a high-end card, you could sometimes see your fps dropping to near unplayable levels. If you happened to forget about a virus scanner in the background, even with a dual-core system, you'd get massive slowdowns (sort of an obvious one though, since it might be scanning the WoW directory, but either way, scanning any part of the hard drive that WoW resides on would slow it down also).

I think that if you're finding the fps playable, even if it might be borderline (the worst problem is when the animations stop, you get lag, and low fps kicking in both at once, and then all of a sudden you're darting forward, and being attacked. As long as that isn't the case, then I'd be less worried about it), I would just not mess with the settings much, it might make things far worse.
 
Joined
Feb 5, 2009
Messages
887 (0.27/day)
Likes
221
System Name Serenity
Processor Intel i7-4770K
Motherboard Asus Maximus VI Hero
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight II SD1283
Memory 16GB Kingston DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 770 4GB
Storage 2x Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSDs, RAID0
Display(s) 2x 27" Samsung curved
Case Coolermaster HAF 932
Audio Device(s) HT Omega Striker 7.1
Power Supply Thermaltake 1200w
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#12
Same thing happened to me. I started getting very low frame rates and stuttering. A good defrag and general cleaning of the machine fixed it up.
 

1Kurgan1

The Knife in your Back
Joined
Dec 8, 2008
Messages
10,412 (3.16/day)
Likes
2,391
Location
Duluth, Minnesota
System Name My Comp | Fiancees Comp
Processor i7 5820k @ 4.6Ghz 1.285v| i5 2500k
Motherboard MSI x99 SLI Plus | AsRock Z77 Pro 3
Cooling Watercooled
Memory 16GB DDR4 2400 @ 2666 | 12GB DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) AMD R9 290x | MSI 5850 OC
Storage 128gb SSD + 2x 2TB | 2TB
Display(s) Asus 27" LCD | 25" Hanns G
Case CM Storm | CM Elite 430
Audio Device(s) Creative Recon 3D PCIe
Power Supply Enermax Galaxy 1250W | Rosewill 630w
Mouse Logitech G700s | Logitech G100s
Keyboard Logitech G901 | Logitech G105
Software Win 8.1 Ultimate x64 | Win 8.1 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores 3D Mark - Fire Strike Extreme - 4403
#13
The game runs like crap with my 4870x2, I got better FPS on my single Asus 4850 TOP. Just not a dual GPU game.
 
Joined
Dec 27, 2007
Messages
555 (0.15/day)
Likes
104
Location
Indiana
System Name Evil Dragon
Processor AMD FX-8320 Vishera @4.7ghz
Motherboard Asus 970 pro gaming Aura
Cooling Corsair Hydro Series H100i V2(fully Lapped). 4 40mm NB/VRM fans. 6 Thermaltake Riing 12 Series fans
Memory 2X8gig GeIL EVO Veloce Series DDR3 1600 @9.9.9.26
Video Card(s) Powercolor Red Devil RX 480 (1400/2100)
Storage PNY XLR8 480gig SSD. Patriot Pyro SE 60gig SSD.
Display(s) ASUS VP228H LED
Case Thermaltake Core V31
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek ALC1150 W/Creative Sound Blaster Cinema 2
Power Supply EVGA 850 BQ 110
Keyboard Roccat Isku FX
Software Win 10 Pro
#14
For some reason (Blizz has never given a str8 answer) WoW doesnt do well with newer Video cards. I have seen many posts on the Tech forums about this.

I can tell you on my HD3850 I get 75+fps anywhere but Dalaran. But I am also only using a 19" WS LCD.
 
Joined
Feb 26, 2008
Messages
4,870 (1.36/day)
Likes
681
Location
Joplin, Mo
System Name Ultrabeast GX2
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 @ 4.0GHZ 24/7
Motherboard Gigabit P35-DS3L
Cooling Rosewill RX24, Dual Slot Vid, Fan control
Memory 2x1gb 1066mhz@850MHZ DDR2
Video Card(s) 9800GX2 @ 690/1040
Storage 750/250/250/200 all WD 7200
Display(s) 24" DCLCD 2ms 1200p
Case Apevia
Audio Device(s) 7.1 Digital on-board, 5.1 digital hooked up
Power Supply 700W RAIDMAXXX SLI
Software winXP Pro
Benchmark Scores 17749 3DM06
#15
Ill agree that WoW is a weird beast, I get anywhere from 50 to 800 FPS on my 9800GX2. Just keep tweaking with the settings til it suits you. Also what res are you playing at?

Also, ping can affect your performance.

Looks like you have a Q9300. Return the second GTX280 and get yourself a Q9650 or e8600. The Q9300 will bottleneck your GTX280s real bad. In fact, im willing to say that is probably your problem.
Depending on what game you are playing, the q9300 can have as little gaming power as a celeron e1200 or e2180/2200.

Hit me up when you figure this out, I am very interested in the fix.

the Q9300 has half the cache and clocks lower by far, and is usually not a good gaming performer. If you cant get the 9650 atleast get the 9550 or e8600. On non multithreaded games/apps your e8500/8600 will be your best bet, but a quad core is much more future proof.
 
Joined
Mar 31, 2007
Messages
1,895 (0.48/day)
Likes
162
Location
ontario canada
System Name home brew
Processor Intel Corei7 3770K OC @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-V
Cooling Corsair H100
Memory 16GB DDR3 1600 GSKILL
Video Card(s) Powercolor Radeon 7970, MSI Radeon 7970
Storage Mushkin Chronos Deluxe 240gb. 2 TB Hdd.
Display(s) 3x24inch Dell Ultra IPS
Case CM storm trooper
Power Supply Antec Quattro OC ed. 1200w
Software Windows 7 Business x64
Benchmark Scores vantage: P43089
#16
When I'm just flying somewhere I get 100 fps. But in some combat ill be at 50. With a lot of people in dalaran ill hit 25.
 
Joined
Aug 5, 2007
Messages
316 (0.08/day)
Likes
46
Location
Canuckistan
System Name Slave
Processor Core i7 920 @4.2 Lapped
Motherboard Biostar Tpower x58
Cooling Ek Supreme + Backplate, Thermochill 120.3, mcp655
Memory 6Gb Gskill Black Pi ddr3 1600 8-7-7-19 1t
Video Card(s) XFX R9 290 (flashed to 290x) + DTek Fuzion block @1100
Storage Samsung 840 evo, WD Black
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 1440p
Case p180b
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Extreme P.O.S.
Power Supply Enermax Revolution 85+ 950watt
Benchmark Scores i7 920 c0 @ 4.6ghz
#17
Back in the days i was playing wow, my s939 box with a x1900xt had no trouble maxing the game in 1680x1050 with aa on... Something is wrong...
 

1Kurgan1

The Knife in your Back
Joined
Dec 8, 2008
Messages
10,412 (3.16/day)
Likes
2,391
Location
Duluth, Minnesota
System Name My Comp | Fiancees Comp
Processor i7 5820k @ 4.6Ghz 1.285v| i5 2500k
Motherboard MSI x99 SLI Plus | AsRock Z77 Pro 3
Cooling Watercooled
Memory 16GB DDR4 2400 @ 2666 | 12GB DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) AMD R9 290x | MSI 5850 OC
Storage 128gb SSD + 2x 2TB | 2TB
Display(s) Asus 27" LCD | 25" Hanns G
Case CM Storm | CM Elite 430
Audio Device(s) Creative Recon 3D PCIe
Power Supply Enermax Galaxy 1250W | Rosewill 630w
Mouse Logitech G700s | Logitech G100s
Keyboard Logitech G901 | Logitech G105
Software Win 8.1 Ultimate x64 | Win 8.1 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores 3D Mark - Fire Strike Extreme - 4403
#18
Back in the days i was playing wow, my s939 box with a x1900xt had no trouble maxing the game in 1680x1050 with aa on... Something is wrong...
The game has gona through many improvements in just Burning Crusade alone. Then add WotLK where they increased the view distance massively and added in shadows and more tweaking.

Back when the game came out I had a friend who played the game fantastically on a I believe 1ghz PIII, Geforce 2 MX200, and like 512mb ram. You try that now and you will get utterly destroyed.

They haven't done massive steps to the graphics, but the minor things, spell detail, more foilage, realtime shadows. If you want to see how you current system does vs the old 939 and xtx1900 you had, go back to an Azeroth zone. Turn view distance to half, spell detail way down, and turn off shadows. Watch your FPS go up like crazy.
 
Joined
Aug 5, 2007
Messages
316 (0.08/day)
Likes
46
Location
Canuckistan
System Name Slave
Processor Core i7 920 @4.2 Lapped
Motherboard Biostar Tpower x58
Cooling Ek Supreme + Backplate, Thermochill 120.3, mcp655
Memory 6Gb Gskill Black Pi ddr3 1600 8-7-7-19 1t
Video Card(s) XFX R9 290 (flashed to 290x) + DTek Fuzion block @1100
Storage Samsung 840 evo, WD Black
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 1440p
Case p180b
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Extreme P.O.S.
Power Supply Enermax Revolution 85+ 950watt
Benchmark Scores i7 920 c0 @ 4.6ghz
#19
The x1900xt was crusing smoothly in wow:bc if i remember well. i stopped playing after that.
 

1Kurgan1

The Knife in your Back
Joined
Dec 8, 2008
Messages
10,412 (3.16/day)
Likes
2,391
Location
Duluth, Minnesota
System Name My Comp | Fiancees Comp
Processor i7 5820k @ 4.6Ghz 1.285v| i5 2500k
Motherboard MSI x99 SLI Plus | AsRock Z77 Pro 3
Cooling Watercooled
Memory 16GB DDR4 2400 @ 2666 | 12GB DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) AMD R9 290x | MSI 5850 OC
Storage 128gb SSD + 2x 2TB | 2TB
Display(s) Asus 27" LCD | 25" Hanns G
Case CM Storm | CM Elite 430
Audio Device(s) Creative Recon 3D PCIe
Power Supply Enermax Galaxy 1250W | Rosewill 630w
Mouse Logitech G700s | Logitech G100s
Keyboard Logitech G901 | Logitech G105
Software Win 8.1 Ultimate x64 | Win 8.1 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores 3D Mark - Fire Strike Extreme - 4403
#20
BC didn't have realtime shadows and veiw distances was something tiny like 777y compared to now I think it's over 2000y.

If you want to make a good comparison you really have to go back to the old zones and run your old settings (they arent max settings anymore). Even go back to the BC zones, turn off shadows, cut view distance to under half. And see what your results are.
 
Joined
Jan 7, 2008
Messages
519 (0.14/day)
Likes
60
Location
U of WY, USA
System Name Fusilli
Processor AMD Phenom II 965 C3 @ 3.9GHz (200x19.5, 1.51V)
Motherboard MSI K9A2 Platinum 790FX/SB600 (AM2+)
Cooling Zalman 9700NT, 2x silent 80mm & 2x 120mm Scythe & Enermax
Memory 4GB Patriot Viper DDR2 @ 1066 5-5-5-15 2.1V
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD4870 512MB @ 825/1050 (3x heatpipes)
Storage 2x 250GB RAID 0 - Seagate 7200.10 16MB on Promise FastTrak
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2450 & VX1940
Case Lian-Li PC60 PlusII
Audio Device(s) Auzen X-Fi Prelude, Denon AH-D1000 headphones
Power Supply OCZ GameXtreme 600W
Software Windows 7 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Vantage - P10909
#21
like others said, wow is very sensitive to lag. it is also very CPU dependant, but with your q9300, i'm guessing that's not the problem. i'm think your problem is interent related, and/or you have a bogged-down wow server/realm.

on my server, with my rig, i get 40-60fps depending on location. in dalaran, as low as the 20s. i play at max settings and AF, 1680x1050, v-sync, and 4x AA.

then when i run instances (which run off of dedicated servers btw, not your regular realm server) i get 60fps constant with some slumps into the 50s.

try creating a dummy character on a low-population realm with the best connection you can find and see if the game runs better.
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2008
Messages
5,230 (1.48/day)
Likes
661
Location
IRAQ-Baghdad
System Name MASTER
Processor Core i7 3930k run at 4.4ghz
Motherboard Asus Rampage IV extreme
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 4x4G kingston hyperx beast 2400mhz
Video Card(s) 2X EVGA GTX680
Storage 2X Crusial M4 256g raid0, 1TbWD g, 2x500 WD B
Display(s) Samsung 27' 1080P LED 3D monitior 2ms
Case CoolerMaster Chosmos II
Audio Device(s) Creative sound blaster X-FI Titanum champion,Creative speakers 7.1 T7900
Power Supply Corsair 1200i, Logitch G500 Mouse, headset Corsair vengeance 1500
Software Win7 64bit Ultimate
Benchmark Scores 3d mark 2011: testing
#22
gtx 280 eat WOW , what about WOW benchmark what you see in it , mmmm WOW use physics so try old nvidia drivers with ageia physics
 
Joined
Dec 7, 2008
Messages
72 (0.02/day)
Likes
9
Location
Fort Rucker, AL
System Name R9 280X Crossfire
Processor i5-4670k
Motherboard MSI M-Power
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 16 GB G.Skill 1600
Video Card(s) XFX R9 280X DD
Storage Corsair 250GB SSD, 2x WD Black 500GB Raid 0
Power Supply Cooler Master V1000
#23
Ill agree that WoW is a weird beast, I get anywhere from 50 to 800 FPS on my 9800GX2. Just keep tweaking with the settings til it suits you. Also what res are you playing at?

Also, ping can affect your performance.

Looks like you have a Q9300. Return the second GTX280 and get yourself a Q9650 or e8600. The Q9300 will bottleneck your GTX280s real bad. In fact, im willing to say that is probably your problem.
Depending on what game you are playing, the q9300 can have as little gaming power as a celeron e1200 or e2180/2200.

Hit me up when you figure this out, I am very interested in the fix.

the Q9300 has half the cache and clocks lower by far, and is usually not a good gaming performer. If you cant get the 9650 atleast get the 9550 or e8600. On non multithreaded games/apps your e8500/8600 will be your best bet, but a quad core is much more future proof.
The Q9300 can have that much effect on my GTX 280s? What if it's overclocked... mines at 3.3GHz 24/7 stable. I play a lot of newer games, and do a lot of video decoding and stuff, so I really would like to stick with a quad. I'll look into the 9650, but I don't think I'm gonna sell my other 280 just to get WoW running good. They just kill too much with every other game.

gtx 280 eat WOW , what about WOW benchmark what you see in it , mmmm WOW use physics so try old nvidia drivers with ageia physics
WoW benchmark? Never knew there was one... I'll check it out.

Same thing happened to me. I started getting very low frame rates and stuttering. A good defrag and general cleaning of the machine fixed it up.
Defrags at least once a week, and I clean regularly using CC Cleaner.
 
Joined
Aug 9, 2008
Messages
4,563 (1.34/day)
Likes
2,700
Location
Kingston, Ontario Canada
System Name My Rig | Kids Rig
Processor Core i5 3570K @ 4.0 ghz 1.15 vcore | FX 8350 @4 ghz
Motherboard EVGA Z77 FTW 1.21 BIOS |Gigabyte 990FXA UDH (rev 4.0)
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO R2-push/pull with 2x 120mm PWM | CM Hyper 212
Memory Mushkin Blackline 4GB x 2 1600mhz XMP profile |G. Skill 4GB x 2 DDR3 1866mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX 480 8gb | Asus Strix R9 390X 8GB
Storage Kingston SSDNOW V300 120/240 GB OS & Games / 1000 GB Data | 320GB OS / 500GB Data & Games
Display(s) Samsung S24D590 24" PLS 5ms 60hz refresh with Enhanced Sync | BenQ GW2270 22" VA 5ms 60hz refresh
Case NZXT 810 Switch |Thermaltake Soprano Snow Edition
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DSX w/ Logitech z623 | Realtek
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 750W 80+ Gold | CoolerMaster GS750M 80+ Bronze
Mouse Razer Diamondback Chroma | Tt Level 10M
Keyboard Razer Ornata Chroma w/ meka-membrane keys | MadCatz S.T.R.I.K.E. TE w/ Kailh brown
Software Windows 10 Pro | Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores Thanks to Norton/Lt_JWS/Guitar for the 2nd pc parts :)
#25
When I play on my 4850 all the settings are full or near full and i only pull 60frames. mind u its a constant 60 fps tho.