• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Low voltages PSU, dangerous?

Joined
Sep 21, 2015
Messages
51 (0.05/day)
Likes
6
System Name Main
Processor Intel i5 2500K
Motherboard MSI P67A-GD65 B3
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212+
Memory 16GB DDR3 G.Skill 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 SC
Storage SSD Crucial BX100 250GB, Samsung Spinpoint F1 1TB, Hitachi 500GB
Display(s) LG M2380D, Dell U2312HM
Case Nox Coolbay TX
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DG/Creative X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty
Power Supply XFX PRO 750W
Mouse Logitech G203
#1
Hello, I do have the PSU listed in my specs at my profile. I remember when I bought it I had perfectly fine voltages and that's with me using a R9 290. However I realized a few days ago that my voltages were a little bit low, and considering I didn't change anything and I should be using less power now with a GTX 1060, it seems strange.

These are the voltages. As you can see they're all pretty low and the 3.3v is outside the ATX tolerance specs (I think the minimum is 3.13v or something). They aren't too high on idle neither. I have contacted XFX for a RMA (since it's still inside the 5 years warranty) but their answer was a little bit underwhelming. They said I had to pay for the shipment and I could be taxed from 50 to 100 euro for the return shipment from Hong Kong (which is 100% applied if they use DHL or something). And the whole process may take up to 8 weeks.

It doesn't seem worth it and I think I would be better off buying a new unit with a new warranty and from another brand that doesn't have a RMA system like this. However I wanted to ask, if I keep my current PSU, is there any danger for the rest of the components? Can it damage my whole PC?

Regards!
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
12,355 (3.96/day)
Likes
6,904
Location
Ohio
System Name Daily Driver
Processor 7960X 4.5GHz 16c/16t 1.17V
Motherboard MSI XPower Gaming Titanium
Cooling MCR320 + Kuplos Kryos NEXT CPU block
Memory GSkill Trident Z 4x8 GB DDR4 3600 MHz CL16
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 FTW3
Storage 512GB Patriot Hellfire, 512GB OCZ RD400, 640GB Caviar Black, 2TB Caviar Green
Display(s) 27" Acer Predator 2560x1440 144hz IPS + Yamakasi 27" 2560x1440 IPS
Case Thermaltake P5
Power Supply EVGA 750W Supernova G2
Benchmark Scores Faster than most of you! Bet on it! :)
#3
Yep... use a MM of some sort to verify. Software readings are notoriously off. Youll probably find it fine....
 
Joined
Sep 21, 2015
Messages
51 (0.05/day)
Likes
6
System Name Main
Processor Intel i5 2500K
Motherboard MSI P67A-GD65 B3
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212+
Memory 16GB DDR3 G.Skill 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 SC
Storage SSD Crucial BX100 250GB, Samsung Spinpoint F1 1TB, Hitachi 500GB
Display(s) LG M2380D, Dell U2312HM
Case Nox Coolbay TX
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DG/Creative X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty
Power Supply XFX PRO 750W
Mouse Logitech G203
#4
Thanks for your answers, I think I have one laying around here, I'll look for it this afternoon. In the meantime, if the readings are still wrong but not too wrong (similar to the picture above), is it a major problem to keep using the PSU?
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
12,355 (3.96/day)
Likes
6,904
Location
Ohio
System Name Daily Driver
Processor 7960X 4.5GHz 16c/16t 1.17V
Motherboard MSI XPower Gaming Titanium
Cooling MCR320 + Kuplos Kryos NEXT CPU block
Memory GSkill Trident Z 4x8 GB DDR4 3600 MHz CL16
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 FTW3
Storage 512GB Patriot Hellfire, 512GB OCZ RD400, 640GB Caviar Black, 2TB Caviar Green
Display(s) 27" Acer Predator 2560x1440 144hz IPS + Yamakasi 27" 2560x1440 IPS
Case Thermaltake P5
Power Supply EVGA 750W Supernova G2
Benchmark Scores Faster than most of you! Bet on it! :)
#5
If its in spec, keep it. If not, get rid of it (sooner rather than later).
 
Joined
Nov 30, 2015
Messages
409 (0.42/day)
Likes
428
Location
Croatia
System Name Hallowed Be Thy Name
Processor FX-6300 @4,0 GHz/ i3-2100 @3,1 GHz
Motherboard ASUS M5A97 EVO R2.0/ Gigabyte GA-B75M-D3H
Cooling Enermax ETS-T40-TB /w Akasa Viper/ CM Seidon 120V Ver.2
Memory 2x4 GB G.Skill Ares @1600 MHz/ 2x4 GB Adata @1333 MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA FTW GTX1050Ti 4GB/ Palit GTX750Ti StormX OC 2GB
Storage Seagate 500 GB 7200 rpm/ WD Blue 160 GB 7200 rpm
Display(s) LG 23MP68VQ-P/ ASUS VW190DE
Case Zalman Z3 Plus /w 5x Scythe Glidestream 1400 rpm/ Deepcool Smarter
Audio Device(s) Onboard x2
Power Supply OCZ ZS 550W / FSP Hexa+ 400W
Mouse Sharkoon Shark Force / Microsoft WMO 1.1A
Keyboard Lenovo SK-8825 / Keytronic KT600
Software W7 Ultimate 64-bit/ W7 Pro 64-bit
#6
If you don't have a multimeter check in BIOS first. My readings with OpenHardwareMonitor and HWMonitor differ greatly from BIOS readings.
 
Joined
Jun 1, 2011
Messages
540 (0.21/day)
Likes
350
Location
Great Plains
System Name gaming
Processor Intel i5-8600k @ 4.8ghz
Motherboard Asus Z370-p
Cooling Cryorig H7
Memory 16GB Crucial Ballistix 2666mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1060 factory OC
Storage Crucial MX500 M.2 x 2; Samsung 860 Evo, Crucial MX100 - 2.5 SSD
Display(s) Acer 24" IPS
Case Phanteks P400S
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DGX - Klipsch pro-media 2.1 speakers
Power Supply Seasonioc Focus Plus 650w
Mouse Corsair M65 Pro
Keyboard Logitech G15 original
Software Win 10
Benchmark Scores i can finally play crysis
#7
Thanks for your answers, I think I have one laying around here, I'll look for it this afternoon. In the meantime, if the readings are still wrong but not too wrong (similar to the picture above), is it a major problem to keep using the PSU?
Is the PSU causing any issues when you are gaming?
 
Joined
Sep 21, 2015
Messages
51 (0.05/day)
Likes
6
System Name Main
Processor Intel i5 2500K
Motherboard MSI P67A-GD65 B3
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212+
Memory 16GB DDR3 G.Skill 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 SC
Storage SSD Crucial BX100 250GB, Samsung Spinpoint F1 1TB, Hitachi 500GB
Display(s) LG M2380D, Dell U2312HM
Case Nox Coolbay TX
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DG/Creative X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty
Power Supply XFX PRO 750W
Mouse Logitech G203
#8
If you don't have a multimeter check in BIOS first. My readings with OpenHardwareMonitor and HWMonitor differ greatly from BIOS readings.
In the bios they are pretty much the same.

Is the PSU causing any issues when you are gaming?
I was thinking about this right now. Sometimes my screen turns to black for a second, then comes back. I don't know if it's related to the PSU, probably not, it can be anything. Other than that, I didn't feel anything else.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
22,169 (5.49/day)
Likes
6,653
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#9
Hello, I do have the PSU listed in my specs at my profile. I remember when I bought it I had perfectly fine voltages and that's with me using a R9 290. However I realized a few days ago that my voltages were a little bit low, and considering I didn't change anything and I should be using less power now with a GTX 1060, it seems strange.

These are the voltages. As you can see they're all pretty low and the 3.3v is outside the ATX tolerance specs (I think the minimum is 3.13v or something). They aren't too high on idle neither. I have contacted XFX for a RMA (since it's still inside the 5 years warranty) but their answer was a little bit underwhelming. They said I had to pay for the shipment and I could be taxed from 50 to 100 euro for the return shipment from Hong Kong (which is 100% applied if they use DHL or something). And the whole process may take up to 8 weeks.

It doesn't seem worth it and I think I would be better off buying a new unit with a new warranty and from another brand that doesn't have a RMA system like this. However I wanted to ask, if I keep my current PSU, is there any danger for the rest of the components? Can it damage my whole PC?

Regards!
When you RMA you pay for shipping, that is how most if not all companies work. It has been that way since 2002 at least. Normal business practice. You also insure the shipment.
 
Joined
Sep 21, 2015
Messages
51 (0.05/day)
Likes
6
System Name Main
Processor Intel i5 2500K
Motherboard MSI P67A-GD65 B3
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212+
Memory 16GB DDR3 G.Skill 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 SC
Storage SSD Crucial BX100 250GB, Samsung Spinpoint F1 1TB, Hitachi 500GB
Display(s) LG M2380D, Dell U2312HM
Case Nox Coolbay TX
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DG/Creative X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty
Power Supply XFX PRO 750W
Mouse Logitech G203
#10
When you RMA you pay for shipping, that is how most if not all companies work. It has been that way since 2002 at least. Normal business practice. You also insure the shipment.
Yeah, but the return taxes though... They could as well have some warehouses in EU. I simulated this morning a shipping to a random postal code in Netherlands and it was about 25 euro, which is acceptable. For 25 + 50/100 euro, I buy a new one, for products with a price of about 100 euro, it almost invalidates the warranty because I don't think many people would choose this option.

______________________________________________

I'm doing some testing with the black screen for a second. I do think it has something to do with the cpu overclock, I'm trying to raise the voltage so to discard it's a PSU problem, because I remember that with Intel Burn Test, I suffer a black screen too, and I hear the CPU fan slow down during its duration, so maybe the voltage is too low.

However, no good news so far.

CPU OC at 4.4ghz, 1.32v-1.34v --> 3.3v at 3.08v-3.10v and black screen
CPU stock --> 3.3v at 3.13v-3.15v, no black screen

I'm going to increase the vcore a little bit more, my 2500K doesn't like to be overclocked but I think, given the voltage provided, should be stable enough to not to cause a black screen. If I increase the vcore and I still suffer for black screens, can it be possible that the PSU is at fault?
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
12,355 (3.96/day)
Likes
6,904
Location
Ohio
System Name Daily Driver
Processor 7960X 4.5GHz 16c/16t 1.17V
Motherboard MSI XPower Gaming Titanium
Cooling MCR320 + Kuplos Kryos NEXT CPU block
Memory GSkill Trident Z 4x8 GB DDR4 3600 MHz CL16
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 FTW3
Storage 512GB Patriot Hellfire, 512GB OCZ RD400, 640GB Caviar Black, 2TB Caviar Green
Display(s) 27" Acer Predator 2560x1440 144hz IPS + Yamakasi 27" 2560x1440 IPS
Case Thermaltake P5
Power Supply EVGA 750W Supernova G2
Benchmark Scores Faster than most of you! Bet on it! :)
#11
Your CPU runs off the 12V rail (though all are important) which, according to software (grain of salt) is OK. Its possible the PSU is bad, but I don't think this manner of testing will show it.

Seems to be the overclock was causing some instability if it is not doing it at stock.

Again, you are not reading the voltage with a MM so it is likely not accurate the voltage you are reading.
 
Joined
Sep 21, 2015
Messages
51 (0.05/day)
Likes
6
System Name Main
Processor Intel i5 2500K
Motherboard MSI P67A-GD65 B3
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212+
Memory 16GB DDR3 G.Skill 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 SC
Storage SSD Crucial BX100 250GB, Samsung Spinpoint F1 1TB, Hitachi 500GB
Display(s) LG M2380D, Dell U2312HM
Case Nox Coolbay TX
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DG/Creative X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty
Power Supply XFX PRO 750W
Mouse Logitech G203
#12
Your CPU runs off the 12V rail (though all are important) which, according to software (grain of salt) is OK. Its possible the PSU is bad, but I don't think this manner of testing will show it.

Seems to be the overclock was causing some instability if it is not doing it at stock.

Again, you are not reading the voltage with a MM so it is likely not accurate the voltage you are reading.
I guess we learn something new every day. I looked for a multimeter but unfortunately I ended up not having one.
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
12,355 (3.96/day)
Likes
6,904
Location
Ohio
System Name Daily Driver
Processor 7960X 4.5GHz 16c/16t 1.17V
Motherboard MSI XPower Gaming Titanium
Cooling MCR320 + Kuplos Kryos NEXT CPU block
Memory GSkill Trident Z 4x8 GB DDR4 3600 MHz CL16
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 FTW3
Storage 512GB Patriot Hellfire, 512GB OCZ RD400, 640GB Caviar Black, 2TB Caviar Green
Display(s) 27" Acer Predator 2560x1440 144hz IPS + Yamakasi 27" 2560x1440 IPS
Case Thermaltake P5
Power Supply EVGA 750W Supernova G2
Benchmark Scores Faster than most of you! Bet on it! :)
#13
Try loading the CPU only at stock and see if it happens.. if not, add a GPU test in... loop Unigine Heaven while you run CPU stress tests. If it happens then, Id look more into drivers first than the PSU.

Since its difficult for users to PROPERLY test a PSU, see if you can find a known good PSU and put it in there.
 

peche

Thermaltake fanboy
Joined
Nov 7, 2014
Messages
6,573 (4.86/day)
Likes
5,404
Location
San Jose, Costa Rica
System Name Athenna
Processor intel i7 3770 *Dellided*
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3 Rev. 1.1
Cooling Thermaltake Water 3.0 Pro + Tt Riing12 x2 / Tt ThunderBlade / Gelid Slim 120UV fans
Memory 16GB DRR3 Kingoston with Custom Tt spreaders + HyperX Fan
Video Card(s) GeForce GTX 980 4GB Nvidia Sample
Storage Crucial M4 SSD 64GB's / Seagate Barracuda 2TB / Seagate Barracuda 320GB's
Display(s) 22" LG FLATRON 1920 x 1280p
Case Thermaltake Commander G42 Window
Audio Device(s) On-board Dolby 5.1+ Kingston HyperX Cloud 1
Power Supply Themaltake TR2 700W 80plus bronce & APC Pro backup 1000Va
Mouse Tt eSports Level 10M Rev 1.0 Diamond Black & Tt Conkor "L" mouse pad
Keyboard Tt eSports KNUCKER
Software windows 10x64Pro
Benchmark Scores well I've fried a 775' P4 12 years ago, that counts?
#14
OC video card, little Oc on proccesor, game a bit and list weird experiences, ask a friend for his PSU, do the same and compare results, thats the easiest way to test a psu without tools or knowledge,

Regards,
 
Joined
Sep 21, 2015
Messages
51 (0.05/day)
Likes
6
System Name Main
Processor Intel i5 2500K
Motherboard MSI P67A-GD65 B3
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212+
Memory 16GB DDR3 G.Skill 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 SC
Storage SSD Crucial BX100 250GB, Samsung Spinpoint F1 1TB, Hitachi 500GB
Display(s) LG M2380D, Dell U2312HM
Case Nox Coolbay TX
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DG/Creative X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty
Power Supply XFX PRO 750W
Mouse Logitech G203
#15
Try loading the CPU only at stock and see if it happens.. if not, add a GPU test in... loop Unigine Heaven while you run CPU stress tests. If it happens then, Id look more into drivers first than the PSU.

Since its difficult for users to PROPERLY test a PSU, see if you can find a known good PSU and put it in there.
OC video card, little Oc on proccesor, game a bit and list weird experiences, ask a friend for his PSU, do the same and compare results, thats the easiest way to test a psu without tools or knowledge,

Regards,
I just tested and it happened at stock too (auto voltage at 1.2v, from 34x to 37x multiplier), with no GPU load. The flame in intel burn test freezes, followed by a black screen, then a fucked up screen (the content but distorted) and then goes back to normal. With the distorted screen I can see Intel Burn Test in [Idle] in the top window and not burning, that's why the fan slows down, because it has stopped. It's strange.

I do have my old PSU around here, I changed it because the voltage was low'ish and I wanted to buy the R9 290 and it wasn't enough (it's 650w but poor brand). I can go and grab my friends PSU too, who just happens to have changed his own, but that'll take more time.

So can it be the PSU? The CPU? Because when this happens, and when I finish Intel Burn Test, it doesn't say is not stable, it says it's all good.
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
12,355 (3.96/day)
Likes
6,904
Location
Ohio
System Name Daily Driver
Processor 7960X 4.5GHz 16c/16t 1.17V
Motherboard MSI XPower Gaming Titanium
Cooling MCR320 + Kuplos Kryos NEXT CPU block
Memory GSkill Trident Z 4x8 GB DDR4 3600 MHz CL16
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 FTW3
Storage 512GB Patriot Hellfire, 512GB OCZ RD400, 640GB Caviar Black, 2TB Caviar Green
Display(s) 27" Acer Predator 2560x1440 144hz IPS + Yamakasi 27" 2560x1440 IPS
Case Thermaltake P5
Power Supply EVGA 750W Supernova G2
Benchmark Scores Faster than most of you! Bet on it! :)
#16
Run the GPU only and see if it happens...

You need to think a bit and figure out how to binary test and isolate components to find the issue.

It really sounds like a GPU issues be it the GPU itself or a driver if you are seeing borked screens.... that has nothing to do with th CPU.
 
Joined
Sep 21, 2015
Messages
51 (0.05/day)
Likes
6
System Name Main
Processor Intel i5 2500K
Motherboard MSI P67A-GD65 B3
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212+
Memory 16GB DDR3 G.Skill 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 SC
Storage SSD Crucial BX100 250GB, Samsung Spinpoint F1 1TB, Hitachi 500GB
Display(s) LG M2380D, Dell U2312HM
Case Nox Coolbay TX
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DG/Creative X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty
Power Supply XFX PRO 750W
Mouse Logitech G203
#17
I tried to reproduce the same issue five times (with a reboot between each test) but it worked fine each time. The only change I did was to close MSI Afterburner from the tray. As you can see, I'm taking shots in the dark, but I would say this issue is resolved (hopefully I don't have to correct myself later).

Back to the PSU, as you say, without proper tools...
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
22,169 (5.49/day)
Likes
6,653
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#18
Yeah, but the return taxes though... They could as well have some warehouses in EU. I simulated this morning a shipping to a random postal code in Netherlands and it was about 25 euro, which is acceptable. For 25 + 50/100 euro, I buy a new one, for products with a price of about 100 euro, it almost invalidates the warranty because I don't think many people would choose this option.

______________________________________________

I'm doing some testing with the black screen for a second. I do think it has something to do with the cpu overclock, I'm trying to raise the voltage so to discard it's a PSU problem, because I remember that with Intel Burn Test, I suffer a black screen too, and I hear the CPU fan slow down during its duration, so maybe the voltage is too low.

However, no good news so far.

CPU OC at 4.4ghz, 1.32v-1.34v --> 3.3v at 3.08v-3.10v and black screen
CPU stock --> 3.3v at 3.13v-3.15v, no black screen

I'm going to increase the vcore a little bit more, my 2500K doesn't like to be overclocked but I think, given the voltage provided, should be stable enough to not to cause a black screen. If I increase the vcore and I still suffer for black screens, can it be possible that the PSU is at fault?
Black screens typically are gpu related.

Back your OC to stock though and just run the igp, if no crashes, increase the cpu oc back, if it crashes then its the cpu/board, if not then its the gpu. Check other voltages, tolerance is -5/+5% on psu rails.
 
Joined
Sep 21, 2015
Messages
51 (0.05/day)
Likes
6
System Name Main
Processor Intel i5 2500K
Motherboard MSI P67A-GD65 B3
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212+
Memory 16GB DDR3 G.Skill 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 SC
Storage SSD Crucial BX100 250GB, Samsung Spinpoint F1 1TB, Hitachi 500GB
Display(s) LG M2380D, Dell U2312HM
Case Nox Coolbay TX
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DG/Creative X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty
Power Supply XFX PRO 750W
Mouse Logitech G203
#19
Black screens typically are gpu related.

Back your OC to stock though and just run the igp, if no crashes, increase the cpu oc back, if it crashes then its the cpu/board, if not then its the gpu. Check other voltages, tolerance is -5/+5% on psu rails.
Hi, I think I can confirm the issue was caused by MSI Afterburner, I tried two more times now, one with MSI Afterburner on, and one with it turned off, and with it working I had the black screen issue, without it everything works as it should. I made this tests with the CPU at 4.4ghz and 1.32v (it's a lazy 2500K, can't go to 4.5ghz without a big jump in voltage).

The voltage issue may be left unresolved I think. I don't have a way to measure the voltage accurately, in fact OCCT reads the 12v rail at 8v or so, so I can't trust software readings. I don't have any apparent issue apart from the black screen talked above, and I'm not willing to spend 75+ euro and be left without a PSU for 8 weeks without knowing if it's at fault or not. It would be hilarious (not for me though) to sent it to XFX and get returned the same PSU because they find no faults. I looked for multimeters and they seem to be a little bit pricey, there are some that are like 'portable' but I don't think those would work for me, because I may be wrong but as far as I know, those can't put a decent load into the PSU, right? Or would they?
 
Joined
Nov 18, 2010
Messages
3,999 (1.43/day)
Likes
2,319
Location
Rīga, Latvia
System Name HELLSTAR
Processor Intel 5960X @ 4.4GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X99-UD3
Cooling Custom Loop. 360+240 rads.
Memory 4x8GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 2966MHz 16-17-17-35
Video Card(s) ASUS 1080 Ti FE + water block
Storage Optane 900P + Samsung 950Pro 256GB NVMe + 750 EVO 500GB
Display(s) Philips PHL BDM3270
Case Phanteks Enthoo Evolv ATX Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Fractal Design Newton R3 1000W
Mouse Razer Basilisk
Keyboard Razer Deathstalker
Software Windows 10 insider
#20
Just get ANY MM... Even an ebay 2$ will do.
 
Joined
Sep 21, 2015
Messages
51 (0.05/day)
Likes
6
System Name Main
Processor Intel i5 2500K
Motherboard MSI P67A-GD65 B3
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212+
Memory 16GB DDR3 G.Skill 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 SC
Storage SSD Crucial BX100 250GB, Samsung Spinpoint F1 1TB, Hitachi 500GB
Display(s) LG M2380D, Dell U2312HM
Case Nox Coolbay TX
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DG/Creative X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty
Power Supply XFX PRO 750W
Mouse Logitech G203
#21
Just get ANY MM... Even an ebay 2$ will do.
I got one that isn't digital, it works like with 'watch handles', move a switch to X volts and plug a red and a black 'something'... Would that work? If not then I'll buy one off ebay.
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
4,837 (1.61/day)
Likes
2,162
#22
I really wouldn't worry if you have found the culprit of the black screen issue (maybe premature to think that's the case but give it some more time to be sure anyway and you'll know one way or another) and no other issues persist, forget what readings software is giving you for the voltages unless you have reason to believe your PSU is an issue.

Just out of curiosity, why did they say you would have to pay taxes on a replacement when it's not like you have bought an item and imported it for it to incur taxes, it's a a faulty item (may or may not be the case, but regardless) that was sent back and returned or a replacement supplied to you, you've already paid the applicable taxes when you bought the original unit, should really be shipping cost which shouldn't run you more than 10-20 euros tops, though the 8 week thing is a deal breaker, so yea, I'd probably do the same and buy another unit from a different mfr if I was in the same position, shitty turn around time and would stop me buying their products again if that was the case.

if it's an analogue multimeter it should still work as intended presuming you know how to use it :)
 
Joined
Nov 18, 2010
Messages
3,999 (1.43/day)
Likes
2,319
Location
Rīga, Latvia
System Name HELLSTAR
Processor Intel 5960X @ 4.4GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X99-UD3
Cooling Custom Loop. 360+240 rads.
Memory 4x8GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 2966MHz 16-17-17-35
Video Card(s) ASUS 1080 Ti FE + water block
Storage Optane 900P + Samsung 950Pro 256GB NVMe + 750 EVO 500GB
Display(s) Philips PHL BDM3270
Case Phanteks Enthoo Evolv ATX Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Fractal Design Newton R3 1000W
Mouse Razer Basilisk
Keyboard Razer Deathstalker
Software Windows 10 insider
#23
I got one that isn't digital, it works like with 'watch handles', move a switch to X volts and plug a red and a black 'something'... Would that work? If not then I'll buy one off ebay.
Yes. They work fine. You do not need 0.001V precission. For this task it is fine.
 
Joined
Sep 21, 2015
Messages
51 (0.05/day)
Likes
6
System Name Main
Processor Intel i5 2500K
Motherboard MSI P67A-GD65 B3
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212+
Memory 16GB DDR3 G.Skill 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 SC
Storage SSD Crucial BX100 250GB, Samsung Spinpoint F1 1TB, Hitachi 500GB
Display(s) LG M2380D, Dell U2312HM
Case Nox Coolbay TX
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DG/Creative X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty
Power Supply XFX PRO 750W
Mouse Logitech G203
#24
I really wouldn't worry if you have found the culprit of the black screen issue (maybe premature to think that's the case but give it some more time to be sure anyway and you'll know one way or another) and no other issues persist, forget what readings software is giving you for the voltages unless you have reason to believe your PSU is an issue.

Just out of curiosity, why did they say you would have to pay taxes on a replacement when it's not like you have bought an item and imported it for it to incur taxes, it's a a faulty item (may or may not be the case, but regardless) that was sent back and returned or a replacement supplied to you, you've already paid the applicable taxes when you bought the original unit, should really be shipping cost which shouldn't run you more than 10-20 euros tops, though the 8 week thing is a deal breaker, so yea, I'd probably do the same and buy another unit from a different mfr if I was in the same position, shitty turn around time and would stop me buying their products again if that was the case.

if it's an analogue multimeter it should still work as intended presuming you know how to use it :)
I don't know. The 8 weeks thing is the worst case scenario according to them. I must say I didn't buy this psu from a store, it was used but not registered in their website. I registered it with the purchase date from the person who sold it to me, and, as such, I told the same thing to XFX, that I had no 'proof' of buying for those reasons. Maybe that's the reason for this kind of 'RMA', since they can't verify the date is correct. I don't know, maybe, after all, they were doing a good action, without proof they could have said no, or charge me for a repair/something, but the taxes though...

About the multimeter, if there's something that has been evident in this thread, is that I know literally nothing about psu's. I obviously don't know how to operate it (I've seen a few guides in google and it doesn't seem extremely hard). It's not an issue because if I can't I have someone who knows about this.
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2010
Messages
5,405 (1.77/day)
Likes
1,860
Location
Manchester uk
System Name Quad GT evo V
Processor FX8350 @ 4.6ghz1.435c NB2.44ghz Ht2.64ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte 990X Gaming
Cooling 360EK extreme 360Tt rad all push/pull, cpu,NB/Vrm blocks all EK
Memory Corsair vengeance 16Gb @1600 cas8
Video Card(s) Rx vega 64 waterblockedEK
Storage samsung 840(250OS), WD 1Tb+2Tb +3Tbgrn, 1tb seagate sshd hybrid(games)
Display(s) Samsung uea28"850R 4k freesync, LG 49" 4K 60hz ,Oculus
Case Custom(modded) thermaltake Kandalf
Audio Device(s) Xfi creative 7.1 on board ,Yamaha dts av setup
Power Supply corsair 1200Hxi
Mouse CM optane
Keyboard CM optane
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 15.69K best overall sandra so far 6600 3dmark
#25
I would be fine with it, thats the minimums the average is fine and the minimum wont hurt anything if enough current is there ,it would crash if it's having issues.
 
Top