• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Lower than expected CPU temp...should I believe it?

Rob!

New Member
Joined
Oct 22, 2007
Messages
157 (0.04/day)
Likes
5
Location
East Taunton, MA, USA
System Name iMac \\ Macbook
Processor Core2Duo 2.4GHz \\ Core Duo 1.83GHz
Memory 4GB DDR2-667 \\ 2GB DDR2-667
Video Card(s) Radeon HD2600 Mobile \\ Intel GMA950 :(
Storage 320GB \\ 120GB \\ 500GB backup
Display(s) 20" 16:10 \\ 13.3" 16:10
Case Aluminum iMac \\ white Macbook
Software OSX 10.5 \\ OSX 10.5 & Windows XP Pro
#1
I just set up my new rig last night and am messing with it today. I'm monitoring temps with ATITool for the video card, and trying both Everest and SpeedFan for the CPU. Everest only shows the HDD and Aux temps, while SpeedFan shows a bunch but doesn't label what they are. From what I can tell, one of the Temp1 readings is the Aux temp and one is the CPU.

Judging from SpeedFan and the temp in the BIOS, my CPU temp idle is about 22C on average (seen it as low as 17C!). The Aux temp is between 18-20C on average. I thought it was ridiculous, so I got a mercury thermometer and let it sit on my case for probably an hour and a half now. I was even doing some gaming, and I just checked that thermometer and my room's ambient temp right now is about 66F, which is 19C.

I've never seen a CPU in the low 20c Celsius on air before...should I believe it, or do you think my temp sensors are off?

The setup is in my system specs. CPU heat sink is an Alpine 7 that I lapped with 800 and 2000 grit sandpaper pretty damn smooth with thermal paste that is comparable to AS5. I don't have any crazy cooling in my case yet; only two 80mm fans (one in one out).
 
Joined
Sep 26, 2006
Messages
6,957 (1.70/day)
Likes
331
Location
Australia, Sydney
#2
I wouldnt trust those readings at all... Most motherboards have really dodgy/faulty motherboard temp monitors. You rarely ever get a motherboard with a temp monitoring chip that is calibrated correctly.. in this case my one is only a few degrees off the actual temp.

Use core temp to measure the temps of your CPU.
 

Rob!

New Member
Joined
Oct 22, 2007
Messages
157 (0.04/day)
Likes
5
Location
East Taunton, MA, USA
System Name iMac \\ Macbook
Processor Core2Duo 2.4GHz \\ Core Duo 1.83GHz
Memory 4GB DDR2-667 \\ 2GB DDR2-667
Video Card(s) Radeon HD2600 Mobile \\ Intel GMA950 :(
Storage 320GB \\ 120GB \\ 500GB backup
Display(s) 20" 16:10 \\ 13.3" 16:10
Case Aluminum iMac \\ white Macbook
Software OSX 10.5 \\ OSX 10.5 & Windows XP Pro
#3
Well in Core Temp I'm getting 0C for one core and 8C for the other core.

Hmph.

In Speed Fan my "Core" temp is 9C. Temp1 is 17C. HDD is 30C (which is expected as that's what they usually are with a case setup such from other rigs I've done for myself).

The CPU is also at 1.25V exactly.
 

panchoman

Sold my stars!
Joined
Jul 16, 2007
Messages
9,595 (2.52/day)
Likes
1,148
Processor Amd Athlon X2 4600+ Windsor(90nm) EE(65W) @2.9-3.0 @1.45
Motherboard Biostar Tforce [Nvidia] 550
Cooling Thermaltake Blue Orb-- bunch of other fans here and there....
Memory 2 gigs (2x1gb) of patriot ddr2 800 @ 4-4-4-12-2t
Video Card(s) Sapphire X1950pro Pci-E x16 @stock@stock on stock
Storage Seagate 7200.11 250gb Drive, WD raptors (30/40) in Raid 0
Display(s) ANCIENT 15" sony lcd, bought it when it was like 500 bucks
Case Apevia X-plorer blue/black
Audio Device(s) Onboard- Why get an sound card when you can hum??
Power Supply Antec NeoHe 550-manufactured by seasonic -replacement to the discontinued smart power series
Software Windows XP pro SP2 -- vista is still crap
#4
not possible unless your room is under 0C, the lowest i've got with my blue orb on my 4600 on stock is 18C, which is real.
 

Rob!

New Member
Joined
Oct 22, 2007
Messages
157 (0.04/day)
Likes
5
Location
East Taunton, MA, USA
System Name iMac \\ Macbook
Processor Core2Duo 2.4GHz \\ Core Duo 1.83GHz
Memory 4GB DDR2-667 \\ 2GB DDR2-667
Video Card(s) Radeon HD2600 Mobile \\ Intel GMA950 :(
Storage 320GB \\ 120GB \\ 500GB backup
Display(s) 20" 16:10 \\ 13.3" 16:10
Case Aluminum iMac \\ white Macbook
Software OSX 10.5 \\ OSX 10.5 & Windows XP Pro
#5
Any other suggestions for monitoring CPU temp? I don't want to have to go out and by a physical sensor I have to plug in there somewhere.
 

von kain

New Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2006
Messages
780 (0.19/day)
Likes
47
Location
athens/greece
System Name intel-hate
Processor Amd phenom 2 955 @ 3800
Motherboard msi 790fx-gd70
Cooling coolermaster
Memory 4096 @1600 corsair
Video Card(s) sapphire 5770 @950-1350
Storage 1 seagate 80gb sata2 1 160gb seagate sata
Display(s) 20inch wide lg
Power Supply chieftech 750w
Software windows 7 x64
Benchmark Scores nah
#6
most reading from mobo's are faulty enough to trick you try to stick an thermometer and you sell see the difference
 
Joined
Feb 17, 2007
Messages
979 (0.25/day)
Likes
26
System Name beastybuild
Processor 4670k
Motherboard GigabyteZ87X-UD4H
Cooling SR-1 360 and GTX 360 custom, Koolance 380Iblock, swiftech355 &xspc"restop"
Memory 2X4gig G Skill Ripjaw 2400
Video Card(s) Gigabyte gtx660ti(OC) windforce
Storage western Digi sata
Display(s) Acer 24 LCD
Case modmantasticca
Audio Device(s) basic onboard
Power Supply Sea Sonic G550m
Software Win 7 Enterprise 64
Benchmark Scores 4.9 stable with mem at 1333 4.8 stable with mem at 2133
#7
best I have found is S and M even though it is torture test, leave it off.. but then go to monitering and see, att tool by Ray Adams for GPU also.. my core temp is low 12-15C!!!
 

Rob!

New Member
Joined
Oct 22, 2007
Messages
157 (0.04/day)
Likes
5
Location
East Taunton, MA, USA
System Name iMac \\ Macbook
Processor Core2Duo 2.4GHz \\ Core Duo 1.83GHz
Memory 4GB DDR2-667 \\ 2GB DDR2-667
Video Card(s) Radeon HD2600 Mobile \\ Intel GMA950 :(
Storage 320GB \\ 120GB \\ 500GB backup
Display(s) 20" 16:10 \\ 13.3" 16:10
Case Aluminum iMac \\ white Macbook
Software OSX 10.5 \\ OSX 10.5 & Windows XP Pro
#8
most reading from mobo's are faulty enough to trick you try to stick an thermometer and you sell see the difference
What kind of thermometer? And where to I put it? Shim it under the heatsink or something?
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,120 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,550
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#9
What kind of thermometer? And where to I put it? Shim it under the heatsink or something?
i personally have an infrared (laser) thermometer, it lets me get readings without having to touch the nasty-hot heatsinks like those on my GTX :toast:
 

Rob!

New Member
Joined
Oct 22, 2007
Messages
157 (0.04/day)
Likes
5
Location
East Taunton, MA, USA
System Name iMac \\ Macbook
Processor Core2Duo 2.4GHz \\ Core Duo 1.83GHz
Memory 4GB DDR2-667 \\ 2GB DDR2-667
Video Card(s) Radeon HD2600 Mobile \\ Intel GMA950 :(
Storage 320GB \\ 120GB \\ 500GB backup
Display(s) 20" 16:10 \\ 13.3" 16:10
Case Aluminum iMac \\ white Macbook
Software OSX 10.5 \\ OSX 10.5 & Windows XP Pro
#10
i personally have an infrared (laser) thermometer, it lets me get readings without having to touch the nasty-hot heatsinks like those on my GTX :toast:
Well where exactly do I measure? Just the bottom of the heatsink or something? I've never had to do this before as I was never in such doubt of onboard temp sensors.
 

wolverineI

New Member
Joined
Jul 23, 2007
Messages
25 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
Location
So Cal
#11
is that a brisbane 4000,if so the mobo wont read right without a bios update.had the same
issue with my biostar.none of the temp programs will read right especially cpu core.would help if you put mobo maker and model.with the mobo specific monitoring utility and the latest bios, if available,it will read correctly.
 

von kain

New Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2006
Messages
780 (0.19/day)
Likes
47
Location
athens/greece
System Name intel-hate
Processor Amd phenom 2 955 @ 3800
Motherboard msi 790fx-gd70
Cooling coolermaster
Memory 4096 @1600 corsair
Video Card(s) sapphire 5770 @950-1350
Storage 1 seagate 80gb sata2 1 160gb seagate sata
Display(s) 20inch wide lg
Power Supply chieftech 750w
Software windows 7 x64
Benchmark Scores nah
#12
mussels have a point with the laser thermometer,another is to have a sensor install and have the reading in you frond panel, but don't put a glass thermometer
 

Rob!

New Member
Joined
Oct 22, 2007
Messages
157 (0.04/day)
Likes
5
Location
East Taunton, MA, USA
System Name iMac \\ Macbook
Processor Core2Duo 2.4GHz \\ Core Duo 1.83GHz
Memory 4GB DDR2-667 \\ 2GB DDR2-667
Video Card(s) Radeon HD2600 Mobile \\ Intel GMA950 :(
Storage 320GB \\ 120GB \\ 500GB backup
Display(s) 20" 16:10 \\ 13.3" 16:10
Case Aluminum iMac \\ white Macbook
Software OSX 10.5 \\ OSX 10.5 & Windows XP Pro
#13
is that a brisbane 4000,if so the mobo wont read right without a bios update.had the same
issue with my biostar.none of the temp programs will read right especially cpu core.would help if you put mobo maker and model.with the mobo specific monitoring utility and the latest bios, if available,it will read correctly.
I have a Biostar NF520-A2 motherboard. I'll see what I can do about updating the BIOS...I've never done it before. :ohwell:
 

Necrofire

New Member
Joined
Nov 1, 2007
Messages
585 (0.16/day)
Likes
43
System Name Chuck
Processor Core i5-2500k @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard msi P67A-C43
Cooling hyper 212, 2 120mm fans
Memory 8GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) XFX 6870
Storage 60GB sata3 sandforce ssd, 1TB samsung hdd
Display(s) Yamakazi Catleap
Case Possibly Antec, not sure
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Rosewill 600W
#14
Temps can be off, just ask around for people who have the same cooler and processor what their temps are, and average it. I know my second core always seems to be 6-8 C hotter than the first, no matter what load is on it. Don't worry about updating the bios, it won't work for temp sensors.
 

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
14,881 (3.45/day)
Likes
5,413
System Name A dancer in your disco of fire
Processor i3 4130 3.4Ghz
Motherboard MSI B85M-E45
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 4 x 4GB Crucial Ballistix Sport 1400Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 760 DCU2OC 2GB
Storage Crucial BX100 120GB | WD Blue 1TB x 2
Display(s) BenQ GL2450HT
Case AeroCool DS Cube White
Power Supply Cooler Master G550M
Mouse Intellimouse Explorer 3.0
Keyboard Dell SK-3205
Software Windows 10 Pro
#15
If you haven't the latest Coretemp, get it. I got wierd readings as well before I installed the latest revision..
 

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.94/day)
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
#16
The on-die temp diode is supposedly broken in the Brisbanes. Nothing I found gave an accurate reading on my 4000+. Everything reads low. BIOS updates did not help at all.
 
Joined
Jan 24, 2007
Messages
179 (0.04/day)
Likes
11
System Name My last amd rig for now i love my new i7
Processor Amd fx-9590
Motherboard ASROCK Fatal1ty 990fx pro
Cooling liquid
Memory G. Skill Ripjaw ddr3 1600 x32gb
Video Card(s) Dual AMD XFX 7990
Storage Samsung 840 pro
Display(s) asus
Case Dell 1520 c2d@2.6 4gb ddr2 667 8600m gt 500gb 7200rpm hitachi
Audio Device(s) Asus ROG g60J I7@2.8 8gb ddr3
Power Supply Antec 1200w
Software windows 7 x64
#17
so what laser thermo is the best i searched google and looked through a ton and suggestions welcome
 

von kain

New Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2006
Messages
780 (0.19/day)
Likes
47
Location
athens/greece
System Name intel-hate
Processor Amd phenom 2 955 @ 3800
Motherboard msi 790fx-gd70
Cooling coolermaster
Memory 4096 @1600 corsair
Video Card(s) sapphire 5770 @950-1350
Storage 1 seagate 80gb sata2 1 160gb seagate sata
Display(s) 20inch wide lg
Power Supply chieftech 750w
Software windows 7 x64
Benchmark Scores nah
#18
this i thing is out off this topic.but i guess how much are the money you want to spend
 
Joined
Jan 24, 2007
Messages
179 (0.04/day)
Likes
11
System Name My last amd rig for now i love my new i7
Processor Amd fx-9590
Motherboard ASROCK Fatal1ty 990fx pro
Cooling liquid
Memory G. Skill Ripjaw ddr3 1600 x32gb
Video Card(s) Dual AMD XFX 7990
Storage Samsung 840 pro
Display(s) asus
Case Dell 1520 c2d@2.6 4gb ddr2 667 8600m gt 500gb 7200rpm hitachi
Audio Device(s) Asus ROG g60J I7@2.8 8gb ddr3
Power Supply Antec 1200w
Software windows 7 x64
#19
20-100 i wantnsomething thats going to be accurate and durable more than anything dont care about battery life
i use rechargable
 

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
14,881 (3.45/day)
Likes
5,413
System Name A dancer in your disco of fire
Processor i3 4130 3.4Ghz
Motherboard MSI B85M-E45
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 4 x 4GB Crucial Ballistix Sport 1400Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 760 DCU2OC 2GB
Storage Crucial BX100 120GB | WD Blue 1TB x 2
Display(s) BenQ GL2450HT
Case AeroCool DS Cube White
Power Supply Cooler Master G550M
Mouse Intellimouse Explorer 3.0
Keyboard Dell SK-3205
Software Windows 10 Pro
#20
Ahh.. It's a Brisbane.. Does Coretemp even work with those processors?
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,120 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,550
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#21
20-100 i wantnsomething thats going to be accurate and durable more than anything dont care about battery life
i use rechargable
i got mine for $50 au, and its only accurate to the C (no decimal point)

but really its harder than it seems, on my tower heatsink, the CPU reads 72C, the heatpipes read 55-65C and the heatsink all the way up to the top just gets colder and colder. so it REALLY matters what you're looking at since say... a bad grease job could leave your heatsink at 40C and your CPU at 80C.

they're useful, but just beware they arent magic :)
 

wolverineI

New Member
Joined
Jul 23, 2007
Messages
25 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
Location
So Cal
#22
Temps can be off, just ask around for people who have the same cooler and processor what their temps are, and average it. I know my second core always seems to be 6-8 C hotter than the first, no matter what load is on it. Don't worry about updating the bios, it won't work for temp sensors.
the biostar bios update is specifically for temp sensor misreading of the brisbane core.
where do you get the idea it wont work for temp sensors? there have been many bios changes for mobos from asus to soltek that involved fixes for temp sensor readings.abit nf7s
v2 comes to mind.as well as the entire nf2 platform in the original versions.as to your second core always being 6-8 hotter,this is usually from the temp program such as speedfan
listing your northbridge temp as a core temp. core temp the program even with the latest
cannot read the brisbane core correctly.as you can see from his reply,he does have a brisbane and he does have a biostar,this is a known issue already being corrected by bios updates.
 

Necrofire

New Member
Joined
Nov 1, 2007
Messages
585 (0.16/day)
Likes
43
System Name Chuck
Processor Core i5-2500k @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard msi P67A-C43
Cooling hyper 212, 2 120mm fans
Memory 8GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) XFX 6870
Storage 60GB sata3 sandforce ssd, 1TB samsung hdd
Display(s) Yamakazi Catleap
Case Possibly Antec, not sure
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Rosewill 600W
#23
I have a biostar, and a windsor.
So I was wrong about the temps being wrong, but none of the 4 or so bios updates on 4 different mobos fixed any temp sensors.
Hell, there's no bios update that will make my mobo correctly read my 6000+.

Speedfan, Everest, and a couple of other programs that can read cores all say that my second core is roughly 6-8 C hotter than the first.

Right now, Everest is telling me 31 and 38 C for the cores, and 20 for the CPU (yes, it's really cold in my room). Hell, I could be wrong, though. I've only seen my dual-core (6000) and two of my friends' dual-cores (4800 and a 5600) give the same readings, with different mobos.
 

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.94/day)
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
#24
I have a biostar, and a windsor.
So I was wrong about the temps being wrong, but none of the 4 or so bios updates on 4 different mobos fixed any temp sensors.
Hell, there's no bios update that will make my mobo correctly read my 6000+.

Speedfan, Everest, and a couple of other programs that can read cores all say that my second core is roughly 6-8 C hotter than the first.

Right now, Everest is telling me 31 and 38 C for the cores, and 20 for the CPU (yes, it's really cold in my room). Hell, I could be wrong, though. I've only seen my dual-core (6000) and two of my friends' dual-cores (4800 and a 5600) give the same readings, with different mobos.
A 6-8C difference isn't unusual at all. Both cores won't run at the same temp.