• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Lucid Virtu MVP

Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,041 (3.47/day)
Likes
6,646
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, 1 X 4 Tb HGST, 1 x 6Tb Toshiba
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#1
Can someone explain this to me. I cant seam to rap my head around what exactly it does. Is it free? Does it just combined IGP with your GPU. Would there be any benefit for me. No IGPU
 

DanTheBanjoman

Señor Moderator
Joined
May 20, 2004
Messages
10,488 (2.12/day)
Likes
1,331
#2
I tried using it to switch between onboard and addon when needed Use the IGP in Windows, once you start a game it should switch to the addon card and reroute video via IGP. Didn't seem to work well for me though. But that's basically what it should be doing :)
 
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
1,878 (0.78/day)
Likes
878
Location
Mainland Britain
System Name H2o Box
Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 4820k @ 4.40 GHz
Motherboard MSI X79A-G43 Plus (MS-7760) v3
Cooling CPU EK Block and 360RAD H2o
Memory Gskill RipjawsZ 16Gb 9-10-9-28 3T @ 2021Mhz
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080ti AMP EXTREME, EVGA GTX 980ti FTW
Storage HyperX Fury 120GB & Savage 480GB SSD, Seagate 250GB,250GB 7200rpm Kingston 64GB SSD
Display(s) Panasonic GT30 46'' 1080p 3D HDTV [Custom Resolution 3200*1800]
Case Corsair O-800D
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Be Quiet! [Dark Power Pro 11] 1200W CM replaced [7-4-2017]
Mouse Asus ROG
Keyboard Microsoft Digital Media 1.0A
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit v 1703 / OS[build 15063.13]
#3
Hi

Loads of info - http://www.lucidlogix.com/product-virtu-mvp.shtml

Requirements

In order to install VIRTU, Virtu Universal and Virtu MVP you system should have a minimum requirement capability. Please verify the following: 1.An integrated GPU, typically an Intel HDxxxx, is available.
2.A discrete GPU is installed in your system.
3.The integrated GPU is always enabled in your BIOS. Note: this is important as in many cases the integrated GPU will be disabled if a discrete GPU is added to the system.
(We recommend setting the iGPU as the primary display adapter)

In your Windows OS:4.Verify that you have the latest Intel® HD Graphics driver [through Intel's support page]
5.Verify that you have the latest driver for your dGPU [through NVidia/AMD support page]

nb: looks like Virtu MVP is currently bundled with selected laptop and motherboard products - http://www.lucidlogix.com/mvp-product-list.shtml Edit available here - http://www.lucidlogix.com/driverdownloads-mvp.shtml

atb (all the best)

Law-II
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 15, 2011
Messages
978 (0.43/day)
Likes
215
Location
coast ,melbourne
System Name THE MEDIAMACHINE
Processor i5-3570k
Motherboard Asus gene v z-77 matx.
Cooling Antec h20 620
Memory 2x4gb g.skill ripjaws z 2400
Video Card(s) h.i.s radeon 7950 reference 3 gb- hooray!!!
Storage samsung 128gb~830 ssd. samsung 500gb hdrive.
Display(s) 22 inch tele.
Case circa 1996 grey rat box with no sides front.until my own is finished
Audio Device(s) inbuilt creative.supreme effects 3
Power Supply thermaltake tt-500w
Software win 7 x64-
Benchmark Scores Coming soon
#4
I just tried this, my mobo supports it, i have the hd4000 and dedicated amd, with lucid enabled winsat was 7.2, with it disabled its 7.9. so??? whats the benefit other than power consumption?
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,041 (3.47/day)
Likes
6,646
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, 1 X 4 Tb HGST, 1 x 6Tb Toshiba
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#5
Play a game does it help with frame rates. I think it will also increase your Futuremark scores
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2011
Messages
978 (0.43/day)
Likes
215
Location
coast ,melbourne
System Name THE MEDIAMACHINE
Processor i5-3570k
Motherboard Asus gene v z-77 matx.
Cooling Antec h20 620
Memory 2x4gb g.skill ripjaws z 2400
Video Card(s) h.i.s radeon 7950 reference 3 gb- hooray!!!
Storage samsung 128gb~830 ssd. samsung 500gb hdrive.
Display(s) 22 inch tele.
Case circa 1996 grey rat box with no sides front.until my own is finished
Audio Device(s) inbuilt creative.supreme effects 3
Power Supply thermaltake tt-500w
Software win 7 x64-
Benchmark Scores Coming soon
#6
Ok il try that, do you have to list the game or add it in preferences for it to work properly i wonder?
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2009
Messages
4,001 (1.32/day)
Likes
1,652
Location
Sarasota, Florida, USA
System Name Awesomesauce 4.3 | Laptop (MSI GE72VR 6RF Apache Pro-023)
Processor Intel Core i7-5820K 4.16GHz 1.28v/3GHz 1.05v uncore | Intel Core i7-6700HQ @ 3.1GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X99-UD5 WiFi LGA2011-v3| Stock
Cooling Corsair H100i v2 w/ 2x EK Vardar F4-120ER + various 120/140mm case fans | Stock
Memory G.Skill RJ-4 16GB DDR4-2666 CL15 quad channel | 12GB DDR4-2133
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG Strix A8G Gaming GTX 1080 @ 2075/1368 boost | NVIDIA GTX 1060 6GB +200/+500 + Intel 530
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 500GB + Seagate 3TB 7200RPM + others | Kingston 256GB M.2 SATA + 1TB 7200RPM
Display(s) Acer G257HU 1440p 60Hz AH-IPS 4ms | 17.3" 1920*1080 60Hz wide angle TN notebook panel
Case Fractal Design Define XL R2 | MSI
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Z | Realtek with quad stereo speakers and subwoofer
Power Supply Corsair HX850i Platinum | 19.5v 180w Delta brick
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows 10 Home x64
Benchmark Scores GTX 1080 please?
#7
Lucid Virtu (when the display is attached to the IGP) copies the framebuffer from the dedicated card and displays it using the integrated chip. This allows the dedicated card to stay in a low power state when not needed, but turn on when needed without any user intervention. I believe there is about a 10% performance penalty when using this setup. It can also be done vice-versa where the Intel IGP is there for QuickSync video encoding and you use your dGPU as normal.

This sort of technology is present in many laptops that have dGPUs via NVIDIA and AMD's proprietary methods, and falls under the names NVIDIA Optimus and AMD Enduro (formerly PowerXpress). These technologies work basically the same way, having the display outputs connected to the IGP and copying the framebuffer from the dGPU when in high performance mode.
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2011
Messages
978 (0.43/day)
Likes
215
Location
coast ,melbourne
System Name THE MEDIAMACHINE
Processor i5-3570k
Motherboard Asus gene v z-77 matx.
Cooling Antec h20 620
Memory 2x4gb g.skill ripjaws z 2400
Video Card(s) h.i.s radeon 7950 reference 3 gb- hooray!!!
Storage samsung 128gb~830 ssd. samsung 500gb hdrive.
Display(s) 22 inch tele.
Case circa 1996 grey rat box with no sides front.until my own is finished
Audio Device(s) inbuilt creative.supreme effects 3
Power Supply thermaltake tt-500w
Software win 7 x64-
Benchmark Scores Coming soon
#8
So i need to connect to igpu of vid out on mobo, for it to work properly? thanx for the info^
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2011
Messages
978 (0.43/day)
Likes
215
Location
coast ,melbourne
System Name THE MEDIAMACHINE
Processor i5-3570k
Motherboard Asus gene v z-77 matx.
Cooling Antec h20 620
Memory 2x4gb g.skill ripjaws z 2400
Video Card(s) h.i.s radeon 7950 reference 3 gb- hooray!!!
Storage samsung 128gb~830 ssd. samsung 500gb hdrive.
Display(s) 22 inch tele.
Case circa 1996 grey rat box with no sides front.until my own is finished
Audio Device(s) inbuilt creative.supreme effects 3
Power Supply thermaltake tt-500w
Software win 7 x64-
Benchmark Scores Coming soon
#9
Ok heres where this virtu may be quite useful- i just installed some old splintercell games that work fine on the igpu, but wont work on my dedicated 7950 because of driver issues and the age of the games[circa 2005 i think, anyways, if i asssign them a igpu profile in virtu, would that then let them run on igpu and possibly work, i know they work with the hd4000 becuase i played bit of em b4 i got the ded gpu? just a thought.
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2012
Messages
1,598 (0.84/day)
Likes
636
Location
Jacksonhole Florida
System Name DEVIL'S ABYSS
Processor i7-4790K@4.6 GHz
Motherboard Asus Z97-Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H110 (2 x 140mm)(3 x 140mm case fans)
Memory 16GB Adata XPG V2 2400MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA 780 Ti Classified
Storage Intel 750 Series 400GB (AIC), Plextor M6e 256GB (M.2), 13 TB storage
Display(s) Crossover 27QW (27"@ 2560x1440)
Case Corsair Obsidian 750D Airflow
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150
Power Supply Cooler Master V1000
Mouse Ttsports Talon Blu
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 version 1709
Benchmark Scores Passmark CPU score = 13080
#10
Scamware

Must be a conspiracy to sell more motherboards and trick you into upgrading! Seriously, though, LucidLogix MVP doesn't seem to work for long if it works at all. Not just me, every mention of MVP in forums says the same thing. Overclocking will make it crash almost every time, and even at stock speeds it crashes at times. I set it up as instructed, in the right order and with all the latest drivers, but it just won't act right. So basically the iGPU is wasted real estate on the die that could be used for more cores or on-chip RAM, as nobody buys a "K" SKU and doesn't get a dedicated GPU - even a $50 video card will blow away the HD 4000. Just because Intel is headed towards SoC doesn't mean power users should be stuck without the no iGPU option such as the Sandy Bridge i5-2550K - one reason not to upgrade to Ivy. I went with Ivy Bridge because I was ignorant of the fact that PCIe 3.0 is irrelevant in this generation, since no available video cards can even saturate a 2.0 bus. But still maybe in a year or two it may pay off, but by then Haswell or Broadwell will be worth upgrading to - like I said, it's a conspiracy to make you keep buying more parts!
 

Nikonix

New Member
Joined
Oct 9, 2012
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#11
Problem you may encounter

Hello all you fine peoples,

Seeing as how I just spent a good chunk of time trying to fix a WinSAT.exe appcrash issue I was having I thought this could be of some help to readers.

VirtuMVP repeatedly crashed my WEI (WinSAT.exe) which has a nasty habit of running itself once a week on default. Every Sunday at 1am (I believe that is the default time) WinSAT attempts to run the full assessment after installing VirtuMVP. Windows sees the change in configuration (installing VirtuMVP) and this results in the full test (if hardware environment remains the same assessment does not completely run).

PC SPECS (as this may not happen to all of you):

Core i7 2600K 3833 MHz
ASUS P8Z77-V Deluxe
8 GB G.SKILL ARES CL9 @2133 MHz
EVGA GeForce GTX 560Ti 448-core 1.31 MB
2 x Corsair Force GT 120 MB RAID 0

Problem signature:
Problem Event Name: APPCRASH
Application Name: WinSAT.exe
Application Version: 6.1.7601.17514
Application Timestamp: 4ce798fc
Fault Module Name: KERNELBASE.dll
Fault Module Version: 6.1.7601.17651
Fault Module Timestamp: 4e21213c
Exception Code: 00000879
Exception Offset: 000000000000cacd
OS Version: 6.1.7601.2.1.0.256.1
Locale ID: 1033
Additional Information 1: 4ad4
Additional Information 2: 4ad47ccfcaccd9679578c6aee301d17e
Additional Information 3: c4a5
Additional Information 4: c4a56fa53fd4b50ab0cd9aee0792c13c
 
Joined
Mar 29, 2012
Messages
409 (0.20/day)
Likes
84
Location
brčko dc/bosnia and herzegovina
System Name windows 10 pro 64bit
Processor i5 6600k 4.6ghz 1.37v
Motherboard asus maximus viii gene
Cooling Fractal Design Kelvin S24
Memory 2x8(16)GB 2860mhz
Video Card(s) gtx 970 4gb MSI
Storage ssd crusial 128gb 6gb/s
Display(s) dell E248WFP 24" 1200p
Case Aerocool DS Cube
Audio Device(s) asus motherboard intergrated
Power Supply be Quiet pure power L8 600w
Software my favorite World of Tanks :) is that a software?? :)
#12
I just tried this, my mobo supports it, i have the hd4000 and dedicated amd, with lucid enabled winsat was 7.2, with it disabled its 7.9. so??? whats the benefit other than power consumption?
same hapend to me..i was wondering why!! then i get it..its just that when u rerun assesment it test ur igpu not dedicated gpu!! that is all...
and that virtu work for me..its god thign saving electirc bils,,couse when u watch movies or surf u use igpu..,start ur game start ur dedicated!! that is prety ossom to me!!
and i just read on some forum that there is some new technology zero core
thats for crosfire option,if ur surfing ur card turn off starting ur game start the card..
and on virtu it just put ur card to idle!!:nutkick:
 

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,516 (6.46/day)
Likes
6,937
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#13
I uninstalled it :/
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2009
Messages
4,001 (1.32/day)
Likes
1,652
Location
Sarasota, Florida, USA
System Name Awesomesauce 4.3 | Laptop (MSI GE72VR 6RF Apache Pro-023)
Processor Intel Core i7-5820K 4.16GHz 1.28v/3GHz 1.05v uncore | Intel Core i7-6700HQ @ 3.1GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X99-UD5 WiFi LGA2011-v3| Stock
Cooling Corsair H100i v2 w/ 2x EK Vardar F4-120ER + various 120/140mm case fans | Stock
Memory G.Skill RJ-4 16GB DDR4-2666 CL15 quad channel | 12GB DDR4-2133
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG Strix A8G Gaming GTX 1080 @ 2075/1368 boost | NVIDIA GTX 1060 6GB +200/+500 + Intel 530
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 500GB + Seagate 3TB 7200RPM + others | Kingston 256GB M.2 SATA + 1TB 7200RPM
Display(s) Acer G257HU 1440p 60Hz AH-IPS 4ms | 17.3" 1920*1080 60Hz wide angle TN notebook panel
Case Fractal Design Define XL R2 | MSI
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Z | Realtek with quad stereo speakers and subwoofer
Power Supply Corsair HX850i Platinum | 19.5v 180w Delta brick
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows 10 Home x64
Benchmark Scores GTX 1080 please?
#14
I turned off my Intel 3000 HD since I never used this feature anyway, and my HD 7950 is used for either crunching or gaming all day.
 
Joined
Mar 24, 2010
Messages
4,574 (1.62/day)
Likes
918
Location
Independent in Imperialistic
System Name Oh the name!
Processor i7 7700K
Motherboard MSI Z270 Xpower
Cooling EK 360 Extreme
Memory 16Gb G.Skill TridentZ 3866
Video Card(s) nVidia 1080 Ti Flanders Edition
Storage 1 Intel PCIE SSD750, 2 Sam 840Evo 1TB SSD, WD Black 2TB, Toshiba 3TB
Display(s) Acer Predator X1 (32")
Case Rajintek Paean
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX860
Mouse Mad Catz Pro X
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software W10Pro
#15
Hi,
will add my question to this existing thread...

So far it works, but only with the latest december 2012 drivers for Virtu MVP in Windows 8.

That said, I was most interested in the power saving features (use the iGPU when not gaming). Well,...err.... now that it works I have been alternating between the iGPU HDMI output and the dGPU HDMI output (hot swapping the monitor cable) and there is ZERO difference in power consumption as shown on my APC UPS LCD display.

GPU-Z shows the dGPU staying at idle herz's, that is 324 MHz, and 22% of TDP, the same in both scenarios. No dGPU hybernation or deep sleep, as I expected. Will delete Virtu MVP/disable iGP unless someone tells my testing is flawed.
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,041 (3.47/day)
Likes
6,646
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, 1 X 4 Tb HGST, 1 x 6Tb Toshiba
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#16
Isn't it suppose too just connect to just the iGPU and it switches internally?
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2012
Messages
1,598 (0.84/day)
Likes
636
Location
Jacksonhole Florida
System Name DEVIL'S ABYSS
Processor i7-4790K@4.6 GHz
Motherboard Asus Z97-Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H110 (2 x 140mm)(3 x 140mm case fans)
Memory 16GB Adata XPG V2 2400MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA 780 Ti Classified
Storage Intel 750 Series 400GB (AIC), Plextor M6e 256GB (M.2), 13 TB storage
Display(s) Crossover 27QW (27"@ 2560x1440)
Case Corsair Obsidian 750D Airflow
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150
Power Supply Cooler Master V1000
Mouse Ttsports Talon Blu
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 version 1709
Benchmark Scores Passmark CPU score = 13080
#17
That said, I was most interested in the power saving features (use the iGPU when not gaming). Well,...err.... now that it works I have been alternating between the iGPU HDMI output and the dGPU HDMI output (hot swapping the monitor cable) and there is ZERO difference in power consumption as shown on my APC UPS LCD display.
You're not supposed to swap the cable, MVP does the swap for you. the reason you are getting the same power consumption is because you are using the iGPU in both scenarios.
 
Joined
Mar 24, 2010
Messages
4,574 (1.62/day)
Likes
918
Location
Independent in Imperialistic
System Name Oh the name!
Processor i7 7700K
Motherboard MSI Z270 Xpower
Cooling EK 360 Extreme
Memory 16Gb G.Skill TridentZ 3866
Video Card(s) nVidia 1080 Ti Flanders Edition
Storage 1 Intel PCIE SSD750, 2 Sam 840Evo 1TB SSD, WD Black 2TB, Toshiba 3TB
Display(s) Acer Predator X1 (32")
Case Rajintek Paean
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX860
Mouse Mad Catz Pro X
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software W10Pro
#18
Thanks Hood, that can be, but in either case, the dGPU values of 324 MHz, and 22% TDP, is not exactly "idle", much less "disconnected", and not "powersaving". Any chance of getting a powersaving benefit from Virtu?
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2012
Messages
1,598 (0.84/day)
Likes
636
Location
Jacksonhole Florida
System Name DEVIL'S ABYSS
Processor i7-4790K@4.6 GHz
Motherboard Asus Z97-Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H110 (2 x 140mm)(3 x 140mm case fans)
Memory 16GB Adata XPG V2 2400MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA 780 Ti Classified
Storage Intel 750 Series 400GB (AIC), Plextor M6e 256GB (M.2), 13 TB storage
Display(s) Crossover 27QW (27"@ 2560x1440)
Case Corsair Obsidian 750D Airflow
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150
Power Supply Cooler Master V1000
Mouse Ttsports Talon Blu
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 version 1709
Benchmark Scores Passmark CPU score = 13080
#19
Thanks Hood, that can be, but in either case, the dGPU values of 324 MHz, and 22% TDP, is not exactly "idle", much less "disconnected", and not "powersaving". Any chance of getting a powersaving benefit from Virtu?
I can't even get MVP to run without crashing if overclocked over 4.2 GHz, and I too was disappointed with yet another GREAT NEW FEATURE that doesn't work. Really, it was hard to tell what's going on with that very limited software, and AFAIK nobody's had any luck with it. I flushed it and haven't missed it at all.
 
Joined
Mar 24, 2010
Messages
4,574 (1.62/day)
Likes
918
Location
Independent in Imperialistic
System Name Oh the name!
Processor i7 7700K
Motherboard MSI Z270 Xpower
Cooling EK 360 Extreme
Memory 16Gb G.Skill TridentZ 3866
Video Card(s) nVidia 1080 Ti Flanders Edition
Storage 1 Intel PCIE SSD750, 2 Sam 840Evo 1TB SSD, WD Black 2TB, Toshiba 3TB
Display(s) Acer Predator X1 (32")
Case Rajintek Paean
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX860
Mouse Mad Catz Pro X
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software W10Pro
#20
Hi Hood, Well there are laptops being sold with varied "hybrid" tech, AMD Fusion I believe, Nvidia has it's own Hybrid, and Virtu was THE idea to manage 2 graphic processors of mixed brands. Battery saving was the goal or part of it. If this does not work, there could be lawsuits!
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,316 (4.00/day)
Likes
4,724
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 290X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#21
Last time i tried it the system average power usage was 20+ watts extra. I'll try it again at some point but i cannot see it beating the idle wattage the system runs at already ( 77w) but you never know :p :).

Another problem was it did not switch cards when needed and some times the other way around. One i really remember was Minecraft and it just was stuck on the iGPU..

In the end if it cannot manage to lower the systems idle power at least it's a fail for me..
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2004
Messages
12,374 (2.57/day)
Likes
5,817
Location
Europe\Slovenia
System Name Dark Silence 2
Processor Intel Core i7 5820K @ 4.5 GHz (1.15V)
Motherboard MSI X99A Gaming 7
Cooling Cooler Master Nepton 120XL
Memory 32 GB DDR4 Kingston HyperX Fury 2400 MHz @ 2666 MHz
Video Card(s) AORUS GeForce GTX 1080Ti 11GB (1950/11000 OC Mode)
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 2TB SSD (3D V-NAND)
Display(s) ASUS VG248QE 144Hz 1ms (DisplayPort)
Case Corsair Carbide 330R Titanium
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound BlasterX AE-5 + Altec Lansing MX5021 (HiFi capacitors and OPAMP upgrade)
Power Supply BeQuiet! Dark Power Pro 11 750W
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard Cherry Stream XT Black
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (Fall Creators Update)
#22
I don't quite understand the logic behind this stuff. I want Lucid Virtu MVP as a software solution on my system. But apparently you strictly need their chip on a mobo even though i'm not interested in hybrid GPU usage at all. I just want their V-Sync without framerate cap and that performance improving thing they showcased for Skyrim.
 
Joined
Aug 31, 2010
Messages
274 (0.10/day)
Likes
85
Location
Unknown
System Name ASAS
Processor Intel Core i5 2500K @ 4.2 GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z68A-D3-B3
Cooling Scythe Ashura
Memory Patriot 2x4GB DDR3 1600MHz 9-9-9-24 T1 @ 1.5V
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce GTX 770 2GB Gaming
Storage Samsung 830 256GB + Samsung Spinpoint T133 HD400LJ 400GB
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster EX1920
Case Bitfenix Ghost
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC889
Power Supply Seasonic S12II-620 Bronze 620W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit SP1
#23
If Lucidlogix added more support for games and drivers, Virtu MVP could be a really nice feature.

In some games MVP give a nice performance increase, while in others performance might degrade slightly. Some games show artifacts when HyperFormance is enabled or don't work at all.

Here are some benches. http://www.games.lt/g/news.news_full/30207.10?sev=part
Up to 80% in AvP 2010, 32% in Mafia II, 29% in FC2, 24% in STALKER CoP and JC2. Performance increase depends a lot on game, settings, hardware and drivers.