• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

M4A79XTD EVO Ram slot broken?

rockleez

New Member
Joined
Dec 23, 2009
Messages
136 (0.05/day)
Likes
9
System Name AlanZ
Processor AMD Phenom II x2 550
Motherboard Asus M4A79XTD EVO
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight-S1283
Memory Crucial 2GB DDR3 1333MHz Ballistix Memory CL7
Video Card(s) HIS HD 5770 1GB GDDR5 PCI-E Graphics Card
Storage Western Digital 500GB SATAII 7200RPM 16MB
Display(s) Samsung Syncmaster 226BW
Case Antec Three Hundred
Power Supply Corsair PSU/VX Series 550 Watt ATX
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
#1
I bought a ballistix 2x2GB 1333mhz early February and its been working fine since 3-4 months ago, blue screens and sudden freezing have been happening but as soon as i took out the one stick it worked fine, so i thought it was a faulty stick, but i put the other stick into the other slot, and it also didn't work with weird restarting problems.
Is there anything i can do?
Replace Mobo?

Thankyou
 
Joined
Apr 11, 2009
Messages
921 (0.29/day)
Likes
186
Location
London, UK
Processor AMD FX 8350 Black Edition @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3 Rev 4.0
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory Samsung Green 16GB 30nm 1600Mhz DDR3
Video Card(s) XFX HD 7950 DD 3GB @ 850/5000Mhz
Storage 240GB Intel 520 SSD + 2TB Seagate Barracuda
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" QHD
Case Fractal Design R5 Black
Power Supply Seasonic Platinum 760W
Mouse Corsair Raptor M40
Keyboard Corsair Raptor K50
Software Windows 10 Pro
#2
yep rma it
 

rockleez

New Member
Joined
Dec 23, 2009
Messages
136 (0.05/day)
Likes
9
System Name AlanZ
Processor AMD Phenom II x2 550
Motherboard Asus M4A79XTD EVO
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight-S1283
Memory Crucial 2GB DDR3 1333MHz Ballistix Memory CL7
Video Card(s) HIS HD 5770 1GB GDDR5 PCI-E Graphics Card
Storage Western Digital 500GB SATAII 7200RPM 16MB
Display(s) Samsung Syncmaster 226BW
Case Antec Three Hundred
Power Supply Corsair PSU/VX Series 550 Watt ATX
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
#5
Could be cpu memcontroller too. So need to try another cpu as well.

I'd start with CMOS clear....if you have not already.
is that just going into BIOS and loading default?... Sorry for noob questions lol im a new builder
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,453 (10.11/day)
Likes
18,121
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X WiFi
Cooling Water
Memory 16GB G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Storage SSD's
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake Core X5
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Zx
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
#6
Clearing the CMOS means moving the jumper on the motherboard. Look in your manual. You can also just remove the battery for a few seconds to do it. Once done, make sure to go back into your bios and set everything back up, especially setting the RAM to it's recommended voltage, frequency and timings.
 
Joined
Jan 21, 2009
Messages
1,864 (0.57/day)
Likes
119
#7
Clearing the CMOS means moving the jumper on the motherboard. Look in your manual. You can also just remove the battery for a few seconds to do it. Once done, make sure to go back into your bios and set everything back up, especially setting the RAM to it's recommended voltage, frequency and timings.
Setting the time is really mportant cause msn messenger base is connection on the bios time it seems. All the time i forgot to put the correct time in bios i wasnt able to connect on msn and YES even if i setted the clock correctly in windows
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,453 (10.11/day)
Likes
18,121
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X WiFi
Cooling Water
Memory 16GB G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Storage SSD's
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake Core X5
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Zx
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
#8
Setting the time is really mportant cause msn messenger base is connection on the bios time it seems. All the time i forgot to put the correct time in bios i wasnt able to connect on msn and YES even if i setted the clock correctly in windows
Good tip! A lot of things rely on the bios time, root certificates and stuff like that. :toast:
 
Joined
Jan 21, 2009
Messages
1,864 (0.57/day)
Likes
119
#9
I may be a dumbass sometimes but I'm sometimes right hahahah
That's me ...sometimes im a dumbass, sometimes im right and remaining of the times I don't give a F*** :p