• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

M4A79XTD EVO very odd ram problem

OMGH4X!

New Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2010
Messages
46 (0.02/day)
Likes
2
Processor AMD PHII X4 955
Motherboard M4A79XTD EVO
Cooling Hyper 212+
Memory Corsair XMS DDR3 2GB (2x1GB) CL9
Video Card(s) HIS HD5770
Storage WD6401AALS
Display(s) Dell E771a CRT 1280x1024
Case CoolerMaster 690
Power Supply Corsair Tx650w
Software Vista SP2
#1
I have been having problems with this 'board since i got it..

at first it was just small things, like very occasionally i would get 'NO SIGNAL' msg from my monitor on boot and sometimes not detecting HDD/USB media..

A few weeks ago i started getting BSOD's and after running some memtest86+ i was convinced it was the ram... i pulled out the offending stick and have been finerunning since then with 1gb installed.

So today i got another 2gb kit in the mail.. here's where things get a bit weird..

I removed the remaining 1gb from my mobo, opened up the new kit and chucked it in there, reset the CMOS jumpers, and.. it freezes dead at the green ASUS screen.

So at this point i'm thinkin' it's gotta be the 'Board, right?

I reboot a couple times and it finally gets into windows... runs stable for a few mins on prime95 then crashes

I remembered reading that sometimes you can have memory errors caused by bent CPU pins, as the memory controller resides on the CPU itself.

So with this in mind i took everything apart to have a look. The pins were fine but i did notice quite a bit of thermal gunk in places it shouldn't have been (namely; the side of the cpu and on the 'board around the socket) which i promptly removed with some tissue.

Re-assembled, stuck the new kit in there again and it boots fine this time

So.. i throw my other -previously troublesome- 2gb kit in there alongside the new (same model from corsair) so that i have 4gb installed. POST fine.. boots fine.. prime95 fine -touch wood- still running while i'm typing this

I am so confused... it could be (A) something messed up with the mobo (B) due to aforementioned MX-2 (C) maybe the new kit i got just needed warming up (D) Any number of other things i guess..

So yea.. my question is; Could cleaning the CPU and MB really have fixed the problem?
Is that even possible? :S



PS: ThankYou for reading :toast:
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,384 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,023
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#2
I am so confused... it could be (A) something messed up with the mobo (B) due to aforementioned MX-2

So yea.. my question is; Could cleaning the CPU and MB really have fixed the problem?
Is that even possible? :S
Considering the memory controller is on the CPU, yes.
 

OMGH4X!

New Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2010
Messages
46 (0.02/day)
Likes
2
Processor AMD PHII X4 955
Motherboard M4A79XTD EVO
Cooling Hyper 212+
Memory Corsair XMS DDR3 2GB (2x1GB) CL9
Video Card(s) HIS HD5770
Storage WD6401AALS
Display(s) Dell E771a CRT 1280x1024
Case CoolerMaster 690
Power Supply Corsair Tx650w
Software Vista SP2
#3
Man i really hope it was just that the cpu needed cleaning... now that i think about it though, the BSOD's did start around about the time i put an aftermarket cpu cooler in there, so maybe..

Has anyone else ever had thier ram come back to life after they clean the CPU? i've personally never heard of it before... which is why i was so damn confused
 

NAVI_Z

New Member
Joined
Aug 7, 2010
Messages
253 (0.09/day)
Likes
36
System Name Gamer Rig
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE
Motherboard ASUS M4A78T-E
Cooling Corsair H-50 cpu cooler.Kingston Hyper X ram cooler
Memory Corsair Dominator DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) XFX HD 5870 XXX Edition
Storage WD Velociraptor 300gig ; SAmsung Spinpoint 250gig
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 2494 24 inch full 1080p
Case NZXT TEMPEST AIRFLOW KING
Audio Device(s) none
Power Supply Kingwin 800w modular
Software Win 7 Ultimate 64 bit
#4
Man i really hope it was just that the cpu needed cleaning... now that i think about it though, the BSOD's did start around about the time i put an aftermarket cpu cooler in there, so maybe..

Has anyone else ever had thier ram come back to life after they clean the CPU? i've personally never heard of it before... which is why i was so damn confused
no cant say i have but i'm runnig three sticks of ddr3 in dual channel mode.

 

NAVI_Z

New Member
Joined
Aug 7, 2010
Messages
253 (0.09/day)
Likes
36
System Name Gamer Rig
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE
Motherboard ASUS M4A78T-E
Cooling Corsair H-50 cpu cooler.Kingston Hyper X ram cooler
Memory Corsair Dominator DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) XFX HD 5870 XXX Edition
Storage WD Velociraptor 300gig ; SAmsung Spinpoint 250gig
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 2494 24 inch full 1080p
Case NZXT TEMPEST AIRFLOW KING
Audio Device(s) none
Power Supply Kingwin 800w modular
Software Win 7 Ultimate 64 bit
#5


yep...dual mode.
 

OMGH4X!

New Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2010
Messages
46 (0.02/day)
Likes
2
Processor AMD PHII X4 955
Motherboard M4A79XTD EVO
Cooling Hyper 212+
Memory Corsair XMS DDR3 2GB (2x1GB) CL9
Video Card(s) HIS HD5770
Storage WD6401AALS
Display(s) Dell E771a CRT 1280x1024
Case CoolerMaster 690
Power Supply Corsair Tx650w
Software Vista SP2
#6
yep...thanks for that ..


Anyway........ I just realized my ram is now running in 2T wheras before it was 1T.

I looked in asus mb user manual but it's .. less than specific about this issue.

Is it OK for the ram to be running in 2T? currently, 9-9-9-24-34-2T same as the screenshot above actually..except mine says 666.7 for DRAM Frequency, 2000.05 Mhz for NB Frequency and 4096 for size..

how much performance will i gain by switching to 1T?

PS: all the ram settings in bios are at auto

PPS: i guess i should have started a new thread .. title is kinda inaccurate now... as my system has been stable with 4g for a couple days at aforementoioned timings
 
Last edited:

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,125 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,559
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#7
yep...thanks for that .. http://i.tpucdn.com/forums/images/smilies/wtf.gif

Anyway........ I just realized my ram is now running in 2T wheras before it was 1T.

I looked in asus mb user manual but it's .. less than specific about this issue.

Is it OK for the ram to be running in 2T? currently, 9-9-9-24-34-2T same as the screenshot above actually..except mine says 666.7 for DRAM Frequency, 2000.05 Mhz for NB Frequency and 4096 for size..

how much performance will i gain by switching to 1T?

PS: all the ram settings in bios are at auto

PPS: i guess i should have started a new thread .. title is kinda inaccurate now... as my system has been stable with 4g for a couple days at aforementoioned timings
higher timings are slower, so yes its 'safe' - hell its even more likely to be stable.

Unlike the DDR1 days, 1T vs 2T hardly makes a difference to performance.


667MHz in CPU-Z means 1333Mhz "DDR"
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,125 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,559
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#8
Man i really hope it was just that the cpu needed cleaning... now that i think about it though, the BSOD's did start around about the time i put an aftermarket cpu cooler in there, so maybe..

Has anyone else ever had thier ram come back to life after they clean the CPU? i've personally never heard of it before... which is why i was so damn confused
no, but i've had ram become more stable in different slots.

example:

1-2-3-4 didnt work but 2-3-4-1 did - despite all modules being 'identical' they behaved differently in different slots.
 

OMGH4X!

New Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2010
Messages
46 (0.02/day)
Likes
2
Processor AMD PHII X4 955
Motherboard M4A79XTD EVO
Cooling Hyper 212+
Memory Corsair XMS DDR3 2GB (2x1GB) CL9
Video Card(s) HIS HD5770
Storage WD6401AALS
Display(s) Dell E771a CRT 1280x1024
Case CoolerMaster 690
Power Supply Corsair Tx650w
Software Vista SP2
#9
Well after a couple days running 24/7 stable with 4gb i just got a BSOD after exiting a game..... damnit..

screen goes all distorted for like half a second then blue screen

page_fault_in_nonpaged_area

something like win32k.sys

this means memory right?
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#10
Memory, or memory controller.

And to illustrate what Mussels said about 1t vs 2t:




 

Attachments

NAVI_Z

New Member
Joined
Aug 7, 2010
Messages
253 (0.09/day)
Likes
36
System Name Gamer Rig
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE
Motherboard ASUS M4A78T-E
Cooling Corsair H-50 cpu cooler.Kingston Hyper X ram cooler
Memory Corsair Dominator DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) XFX HD 5870 XXX Edition
Storage WD Velociraptor 300gig ; SAmsung Spinpoint 250gig
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 2494 24 inch full 1080p
Case NZXT TEMPEST AIRFLOW KING
Audio Device(s) none
Power Supply Kingwin 800w modular
Software Win 7 Ultimate 64 bit
#11


got this on same mem test.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,125 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,559
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#12
hmmm i'ma run that test later for random comparison purposes
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,125 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,559
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#13
as promised

 
Joined
Oct 12, 2008
Messages
5,656 (1.69/day)
Likes
2,606
Location
στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
System Name Ha/AhHa/Dell
Processor QX9650 SLAWN C1/i7-980x/i7-6700K
Motherboard GA-X48_DS4 (F3B bios)/Gigabyte x58A-UDR3 v 2.0(modded FH bios)/Dell Foxconn 0XJ8C4 Z170
Cooling CNPS9900 LED/H60/ 3 pipe-center fan-air
Memory 8 Gig of G.Skill F2-8800CL5D/24 Gb Corsair Vengence/ 24Gb Samsung DDR4 2133
Video Card(s) Galaxy NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960/PowerColor R9 280/ASUS R9 380X Strix G1
Storage All have SSDs with HDDs for extra storage and backup/Dell-M.2 Samsung 850 EVO PCIe
Display(s) Asus 266H/Viewsonic 1080p/HP ZR24W
Case CM-690/CM-690 II adv/Dell 8900 series
Audio Device(s) All use on board (Realtek) w/2.1 speakers
Power Supply PC P&C 750/PC P&C Silencer 950/CM 700 Extreme
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Windows 10 Pro - 64 bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit
#14
Get some electronics cleaner spray and clean the ram slots on the motherboard and cpu socket.
Also, clean the base of the cpu and dimms.

I use this:
CRC CHEMICALS Electronics Cleaner
Make sure, whatever you use, it is non-oily and leaves no residue.