• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

M5A78L-M / USB3 Rev. 1.00 does not turn on

engiblas38

New Member
Joined
Aug 2, 2021
Messages
11 (0.21/day)
Greetings, I have a problem with my M5A78L-M / USB3 Rev. 1.00.
I have a CPU FX-6300 (FD6300WMW6KHK) and two 4GB RAM at 1600Mhz.
Everything was working great (a year and a half) and suddenly you don't want to turn on.
I took out the motherboard to verify it, it turns on, it does not give video, it does not give error sounds.
I have already verified with the electrical schematic all the voltages and they are correct.
I changed the pins of the bios to flash it, removed the battery and nothing at all.
I come to the conclusion that the bios chip was corrupted and that is why the card does not know what to do.
I ordered a new chip and a programmer to install a clean bios to see how it works. I'll let you know as soon as the chip arrives and I program it.
 

Attachments

  • 20210728_161122.jpg
    20210728_161122.jpg
    2.3 MB · Views: 40
Last edited by a moderator:
Joined
Mar 25, 2020
Messages
17 (0.03/day)
Location
Spain
System Name Warthog
Processor Ryzen 5 2600 4Ghz 1.3v
Motherboard Gigabyte b450 Aorus Elite
Cooling AMD Wraith Max Cooler
Memory 16gb Hyper X Predator 3200 Cl16
Video Card(s) Oem Gtx960 1500Mhz overclock.
Storage 120Gb ssd + 2Tb 7200rpm Toshiba drive
Display(s) Samsung s22d300 75Hz Overclock + Acer shit second monitor.
Case Nox Hummer ZX Zero
Audio Device(s) Superlux HD668b, Logitech G432, G430
Power Supply EVGA B5 650W 80+ bronze Fully Modular
Mouse Steelseries Rival 300, Hyper X Pulsefire Core
Keyboard Ozone AlphaStrike Outemu Red
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Cinebench r15 1372Cb Unigine heaven 4.0 Extreme presset: 1354
What schematic did you follow to check if all the voltages are ok? I have the same problem and did buy a programer and bios chip but im waiting on the shipment cause its from aliexpress so...
Does your motherboard spins the fan but no post or does it spin the fan for slip second and then stop?
Thx :)
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
32,251 (6.20/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Try another power supply first

Then pull the motherboard out of the case with all bare essential equipment needed get it running (psu, power switch, gpu, monitor, keyboard, mouse)

Greetings, I have a problem with my M5A78L-M / USB3 Rev. 1.00.
I have a CPU FX-6300 (FD6300WMW6KHK) and two 4GB RAM at 1600Mhz.
Everything was working great (a year and a half) and suddenly you don't want to turn on.
I took out the motherboard to verify it, it turns on, it does not give video, it does not give error sounds.
I have already verified with the electrical schematic all the voltages and they are correct.
I changed the pins of the bios to flash it, removed the battery and nothing at all.
I come to the conclusion that the bios chip was corrupted and that is why the card does not know what to do.
I ordered a new chip and a programmer to install a clean bios to see how it works. I'll let you know as soon as the chip arrives and I program it.
 
Joined
Feb 3, 2019
Messages
1,102 (1.14/day)
Location
Chicago Land
Processor Lidless PGA 2700X
Motherboard Asus B450-I Gaming
Cooling Stock Air
Memory Corsair 3000nhz 13-15-15-15-32-53 2T
Video Card(s) Asus strix GTX 980 OC
Storage SSD
Display(s) 21" - 55"
Case None
Power Supply Antec CP series 850w
Mouse Razar Mamba Tournament Edition
Keyboard Logitech G910
Software W7
Benchmark Scores Max Cpu clock 7685Mhz FX-8300 WPrime 32m 2.886 seconds AMD 2700x
I come to the conclusion that the bios chip was corrupted and that is why the card does not know what to do.
I ordered a new chip and a programmer to install a clean bios to see how it works. I'll let you know as soon as the chip arrives and I program it.
You can remove all the drives and install the installation media disk that came with the board into the DVD reader.
Boot from the motherboard disk....
If the board's bios is in fact corrupted, the system will still post from the disk.
Select the bios recovery and install.
This will install the factory shipped bios onto the board.
If all goes well, you should be up and running.
Do note which processors are supported by the first bios revision.

Yes, this works. I've done it on an M3A and a similar board to this one, the M5A78L-M Plus.
But it has to be in fact a corrupt bios. But this is a quick way to find out without a programmer... (All Asus boards come shipped with bios recovery on the motherboard disk)
 

Toothless

Tech, Games, and TPU!
Supporter
Joined
Mar 26, 2014
Messages
7,647 (2.79/day)
Location
Washington, USA
System Name Veraltet
Processor 3700x
Motherboard AsRock Taichi Ultimate x470
Cooling NH-D15 Chromax
Memory G.Skill 2x16GB 3200mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX1080 Ti Gaming X
Storage 2 NVME + 4 HDD
Display(s) LG 34UB88-P + 2x AOC 2425W
Case CoolerMaster NR600
Audio Device(s) SteelSeries Arctis 5
Power Supply Rosewill Fortress 750w
Mouse Corsair Scimitar Pro
Keyboard Corsair K55
Software Windows 10 Professional
Benchmark Scores Brrrrrrr
Looks like it did the same thing my M5A97 did; die.

Board is most likely completely gone.
 

engiblas38

New Member
Joined
Aug 2, 2021
Messages
11 (0.21/day)
What schematic did you follow to check if all the voltages are ok? I have the same problem and did buy a programer and bios chip but im waiting on the shipment cause its from aliexpress so...
Does your motherboard spins the fan but no post or does it spin the fan for slip second and then stop?
Thx :)
Hi, you can download the schematic from this site: http://schematic-x.blogspot.com/2018/04/asus-pack-198-files.html and need a boardviewer.

My motherboard spins the fan but no post or any beep alert.

Try another power supply first

Then pull the motherboard out of the case with all bare essential equipment needed get it running (psu, power switch, gpu, monitor, keyboard, mouse)
The board is out of the case with only CPU and obviously the PSU. Power on, fan spinning but no warning beep, just CPU fan spinning. :(

You can remove all the drives and install the installation media disk that came with the board into the DVD reader.
Boot from the motherboard disk....
If the board's bios is in fact corrupted, the system will still post from the disk.
Select the bios recovery and install.
This will install the factory shipped bios onto the board.
If all goes well, you should be up and running.
Do note which processors are supported by the first bios revision.

Yes, this works. I've done it on an M3A and a similar board to this one, the M5A78L-M Plus.
But it has to be in fact a corrupt bios. But this is a quick way to find out without a programmer... (All Asus boards come shipped with bios recovery on the motherboard disk)
I buy a CH341A chip programmer and waiting for it. As soon I work with that, I share with the members the results.

2021-08-03_151843.jpg
 
Joined
Mar 25, 2020
Messages
17 (0.03/day)
Location
Spain
System Name Warthog
Processor Ryzen 5 2600 4Ghz 1.3v
Motherboard Gigabyte b450 Aorus Elite
Cooling AMD Wraith Max Cooler
Memory 16gb Hyper X Predator 3200 Cl16
Video Card(s) Oem Gtx960 1500Mhz overclock.
Storage 120Gb ssd + 2Tb 7200rpm Toshiba drive
Display(s) Samsung s22d300 75Hz Overclock + Acer shit second monitor.
Case Nox Hummer ZX Zero
Audio Device(s) Superlux HD668b, Logitech G432, G430
Power Supply EVGA B5 650W 80+ bronze Fully Modular
Mouse Steelseries Rival 300, Hyper X Pulsefire Core
Keyboard Ozone AlphaStrike Outemu Red
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Cinebench r15 1372Cb Unigine heaven 4.0 Extreme presset: 1354
Thx man, i'll try it out! :)
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
32,251 (6.20/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
What gpu do you have?
 

engiblas38

New Member
Joined
Aug 2, 2021
Messages
11 (0.21/day)
What gpu do you have?
No gpu, just the one that came with the board

OK, I already passed the new bios to the new chip and it still has the same problem. One thing I noticed is that the pulse controller was getting very hot which led me to check the north and south bridges. It turns out that the south bridge (AMD SB715 or AMD 218-0660017) has 5 shorted capacitors. I will have to buy one and see what happens or just discard it.

Thank you very much to all

diagrama.jpg
 

engiblas38

New Member
Joined
Aug 2, 2021
Messages
11 (0.21/day)
Wait... you resoldered the clockgen and southbridge on a 10 year old mainstream board and repaired it??? Thats amazing.

This is the southbridge:

This is the clock generator:

My recommendation is that you first get the schematic of the motherboard, check all the voltages and it will be easier for you to find the fault.
 
Joined
Mar 25, 2020
Messages
17 (0.03/day)
Location
Spain
System Name Warthog
Processor Ryzen 5 2600 4Ghz 1.3v
Motherboard Gigabyte b450 Aorus Elite
Cooling AMD Wraith Max Cooler
Memory 16gb Hyper X Predator 3200 Cl16
Video Card(s) Oem Gtx960 1500Mhz overclock.
Storage 120Gb ssd + 2Tb 7200rpm Toshiba drive
Display(s) Samsung s22d300 75Hz Overclock + Acer shit second monitor.
Case Nox Hummer ZX Zero
Audio Device(s) Superlux HD668b, Logitech G432, G430
Power Supply EVGA B5 650W 80+ bronze Fully Modular
Mouse Steelseries Rival 300, Hyper X Pulsefire Core
Keyboard Ozone AlphaStrike Outemu Red
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Cinebench r15 1372Cb Unigine heaven 4.0 Extreme presset: 1354
how did you get to the conclusion that was the sb and the clock generator? thx :)
 

engiblas38

New Member
Joined
Aug 2, 2021
Messages
11 (0.21/day)
how did you get to the conclusion that was the sb and the clock generator? thx :)
After verifying the voltages with the schematic and they all reached where they should go, with the negative of the multimeter on the negative pin of the 4-pin connector (12v) with the positive clamp, I proceeded to measure the capacitors that are on the SB as shown. shows in this video.


for the clockgen I put a little alcohol on the chip and when you turn on the board you can measure the time it takes to dissolve. if it does it fast the chip is short and if it takes time the chip is good.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
32,251 (6.20/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Good guys, problem solved. I changed the south bridge and also the clock generator (ICS9LPRS483BGLF) because it was heating up very fast because it was faulty.

That was the motherboard problem :peace:

View attachment 211472
Put a heatsink and fan on it
 

engiblas38

New Member
Joined
Aug 2, 2021
Messages
11 (0.21/day)
Put a heatsink and fan on it
It's not really a bad idea, but even with the heat sinks if the integrated is damaged it doesn't solve anything. Now, once it has been repaired, if your proposal is valid to avoid future overheating and extend their life.

 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
32,251 (6.20/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
It's not really a bad idea, but even with the heat sinks if the integrated is damaged it doesn't solve anything. Now, once it has been repaired, if your proposal is valid to avoid future overheating and extend their life.


Yeas of course after the repair, put a heatsink and a fan over those components.
 
Top