• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

MacBook Pro Retina with Haswell-GT3 Silicon Confirmed

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
34,335 (9.23/day)
Likes
17,427
Location
Hyderabad, India
System Name Long shelf-life potato
Processor Intel Core i7-4770K
Motherboard ASUS Z97-A
Cooling Xigmatek Aegir CPU Cooler
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX Beast DDR3-1866
Video Card(s) 2x GeForce GTX 970 SLI
Storage ADATA SU800 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U28D590D 28-inch 4K
Case Cooler Master CM690 Window
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
Mouse Razer Abyssus 2014
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro Creators Update
#1
Apple's MacBook Air refresh for 2013 saw it integrating Intel's 4th generation Core "Haswell" CPUs in an effort to improve performance and battery life. It was only a matter of time before the CPU architecture caught up with the rest of Apple's lineup. A validation of a 15-inch MacBook Pro on Geekbench database reveals that Apple is already testing the notebook with the very latest Intel chips.

With Core "Haswell," Intel introduced a new grade of silicon codenamed "Haswell-GT3," which combines four CPU cores with up to 6 MB L3 cache, and a large integrated graphics core that features 40 execution units, as opposed to 20 found on regular "Haswell-GT2" and "Haswell-GT1" grades. The added pixel-crunching muscle makes the chip ready to singlehandedly take on Apple's Retina displays, without the need for discrete GPUs, such as the NVIDIA GeForce GT 650M that handled the first Retina-equipped MacBook Pro.

Show full news post
 
Last edited:

JoePesci

New Member
Joined
May 9, 2013
Messages
23 (0.01/day)
Likes
5
#2
Does this mean that the next MacBook Pro (!) will have no additional discreet GPU but only the integrated one?

I think the current MacBook Pro is already thin enough. For once Apple could keep the thickness and increase the performance instead of keeping the performance and making the product even thinner, though I already can guess which route Apple will choose.
 
Joined
Oct 13, 2007
Messages
96 (0.03/day)
Likes
10
System Name Server
Processor AMD Phenom 9950BE @ 3.3Ghz
Motherboard ASUS M3A78-EM+
Cooling Apogee GT Waterblock on Thermaltake Rhythm
Memory CRUCIAL Ballistix Tracer PC2-6400 4X1GB
Video Card(s) ASUS EN9600GT Silent
Storage OCZ Vertex2 60GB SSD / 3X 1TB WD Caviar Green
Display(s) 2X APPLE CINEMA DISPLAY 20"
Case Thermaltake LANBOX Lite VF6000BWS
Power Supply CORSAIR CMPSU-650TX 650W
Software WINDOWS 7 x64 Ultimate
#3
Does this mean that the next MacBook Pro (!) will have no additional discreet GPU but only the integrated one?

I think the current MacBook Pro is already thin enough. For once Apple could keep the thickness and increase the performance instead of keeping the performance and making the product even thinner, though I already can guess which route Apple will choose.
Only the 15" MacBook Pros have had discreet graphics. All other models have always used Intel IGPs...
 
Joined
Sep 19, 2012
Messages
615 (0.32/day)
Likes
75
System Name [WIP]
Processor Intel Pentium G3420 [i7-4790K SOON(tm)]
Motherboard MSI Z87-GD65 Gaming
Cooling [Corsair H100i]
Memory G.Skill TridentX 2x8GB-2400-CL10 DDR3
Video Card(s) [MSI AMD Radeon R9-290 Gaming]
Storage Seagate 2TB Desktop SSHD / [Samsung 256GB 840 PRO]
Display(s) [BenQ XL2420Z]
Case [Corsair Obsidian 750D]
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Software Windows 8.1 x64 Pro / Linux Mint 15 / SteamOS
#4
Does this mean that the next MacBook Pro (!) will have no additional discreet GPU but only the integrated one?

I think the current MacBook Pro is already thin enough. For once Apple could keep the thickness and increase the performance instead of keeping the performance and making the product even thinner, though I already can guess which route Apple will choose.
I think you're thinking of MacBook Airs... on ther other hand, why the Hell am I commenting on a Apple-related post...
 
Joined
Sep 30, 2012
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#5
Graphics

Actually the graphics in the retina are a 650m GDDR5 clocked higher than a gtx 660m
 

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
14,881 (3.45/day)
Likes
5,413
System Name A dancer in your disco of fire
Processor i3 4130 3.4Ghz
Motherboard MSI B85M-E45
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 4 x 4GB Crucial Ballistix Sport 1400Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 760 DCU2OC 2GB
Storage Crucial BX100 120GB | WD Blue 1TB x 2
Display(s) BenQ GL2450HT
Case AeroCool DS Cube White
Power Supply Cooler Master G550M
Mouse Intellimouse Explorer 3.0
Keyboard Dell SK-3205
Software Windows 10 Pro
#6
The Iris IGP is actually pretty competent as far as IGP goes. Not for such a high resolution though, but they were never suitable for gaming anyway..
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2010
Messages
4,012 (1.47/day)
Likes
630
Location
UK
System Name PC
Processor AMD FX 8320E @4.3ghz
Motherboard Asrock 970 extreme3
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC12DX, 3 x NZXT FN 140mm, 1x NZXT FV V2 120mm
Memory 8GB Corsair Vengeance Blue 1600mhz
Video Card(s) ASUS R9 290 DCII-OC 4GB
Storage 128GB Kingston V200 SSD 1TB WD Blue, 750GB Maxtor
Display(s) LG 27MB85Z 27" 1440p
Case NZXT Source 340
Power Supply Thermaltake 675w
Mouse Logitech G500S
Keyboard Logitech G510S
Software Windows 8.1 64 bit
#7
The Iris IGP is actually pretty competent as far as IGP goes. Not for such a high resolution though, but they were never suitable for gaming anyway..
Just set it to 1440x900 it scales perfectly on the monitor, so it will look like a native 1440x900, which is an alright res for gaming
 
Joined
Dec 28, 2012
Messages
825 (0.45/day)
Likes
306
#8
"With Core "Haswell," Intel introduced a new grade of silicon codenamed "Haswell-GT3," which combines four CPU cores with up to 6 MB L3 cach"


no, that is gt3e. gt3 is being used in the dual core i5 4258 and 4288u processors.
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2010
Messages
1,484 (0.58/day)
Likes
544
System Name My Surround PC
Processor Intel Core i7 4770K @ 4.2 GHz (1.15 V)
Motherboard ASRock Z87 Extreme6
Cooling Swiftech MCP35X / XSPC Rasa CPU / Swiftech MCW82 / Koolance HX-1320 w/ 8 Scythe Fans
Memory 16GB (2 x 8 GB) Mushkin Blackline DDR3-2400 CL11-13-13-31
Video Card(s) MSI Nvidia GeForce GTX 980 Ti Armor 2X
Storage Samsung SSD 850 Pro 256GB, 2 x 4TB HGST NAS HDD in RAID 1
Display(s) 3 x Acer K272HUL 27" in Surround 7860x1440
Case NZXT Source 530
Audio Device(s) Integrated ALC1150 + Logitech Z-5500 5.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-1250 1.25kW
Mouse Gigabyte Aivia Krypton
Keyboard Logitech G15
Software Windows 8.1 Pro x64
#9
"With Core "Haswell," Intel introduced a new grade of silicon codenamed "Haswell-GT3," which combines four CPU cores with up to 6 MB L3 cach"


no, that is gt3e. gt3 is being used in the dual core i5 4258 and 4288u processors.
No,

GT3e includes the 128MB L4 cache whereas GT3 does not. GT3e is only available with quad cores, but GT3 is available on both dual and quad cores. The "e" has nothing to do with the number of CPU cores. The original article is correct.
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2011
Messages
4,357 (1.91/day)
Likes
1,074
Processor Intel Core i7 3770k @ 4.3GHz
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V LK
Memory 16GB(2x8) DDR3@2133MHz 1.5v Patriot
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce GTX 1080 GAMING X 8G
Storage 59.63GB Samsung SSD 830 + 465.76 GB Samsung SSD 840 EVO + 2TB Hitachi + 300GB Velociraptor HDD
Display(s) Acer Predator X34 3440x1440@100Hz G-Sync
Case NZXT PHANTOM410-BK
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium PCIe
Power Supply Corsair 850W
Mouse Anker
Software Win 10 Pro - 64bit
Benchmark Scores 30FPS in NFS:Rivals
#10
Just set it to 1440x900 it scales perfectly on the monitor, so it will look like a native 1440x900, which is an alright res for gaming
No it wont. I tried that just because people were insisting with the same stupid ideea, and the image was pure crap, washed out and pixelated.
Pls stop posting those urban legends misinformation. Anything not native on LCD, looks blurry and washed out.
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2010
Messages
4,012 (1.47/day)
Likes
630
Location
UK
System Name PC
Processor AMD FX 8320E @4.3ghz
Motherboard Asrock 970 extreme3
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC12DX, 3 x NZXT FN 140mm, 1x NZXT FV V2 120mm
Memory 8GB Corsair Vengeance Blue 1600mhz
Video Card(s) ASUS R9 290 DCII-OC 4GB
Storage 128GB Kingston V200 SSD 1TB WD Blue, 750GB Maxtor
Display(s) LG 27MB85Z 27" 1440p
Case NZXT Source 340
Power Supply Thermaltake 675w
Mouse Logitech G500S
Keyboard Logitech G510S
Software Windows 8.1 64 bit
#11
No it wont. I tried that just because people were insisting with the same stupid ideea, and the image was pure crap, washed out and pixelated.
Pls stop posting those urban legends misinformation. Anything not native on LCD, looks blurry and washed out.
I will therefore say it should look the same, the idea of using resolutions that scale perfectly works perfectly well on other devices

If 4 pixels display one pixel, it looks identical, it's only when displays do silly scaling and interpolation that this breaks down, the rendering the the retina display screen is different

sorry I simply assumed the retina display would work as a normal display does, where it appears it does all sorts of aliasing and pixel doubling, instead of running a true 2880x1800 res :eek:
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 15, 2011
Messages
4,357 (1.91/day)
Likes
1,074
Processor Intel Core i7 3770k @ 4.3GHz
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V LK
Memory 16GB(2x8) DDR3@2133MHz 1.5v Patriot
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce GTX 1080 GAMING X 8G
Storage 59.63GB Samsung SSD 830 + 465.76 GB Samsung SSD 840 EVO + 2TB Hitachi + 300GB Velociraptor HDD
Display(s) Acer Predator X34 3440x1440@100Hz G-Sync
Case NZXT PHANTOM410-BK
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium PCIe
Power Supply Corsair 850W
Mouse Anker
Software Win 10 Pro - 64bit
Benchmark Scores 30FPS in NFS:Rivals
#12
Sorry I was a little tired.
The thing is I have tried this with one of my friends on a 4K TV vs a HD TV. Both the same size, but when we switched the 4K TV to a HD channel the image was way worst than the native HD next to it. Actually it almost looked like an upscaled standard TV signal. And to test even more, the store clerk put a demo game on both on the same time on 1080p and there I have the confirmation that having 1080p displayed on a 4K monitor looks more more worst than if having it at native 1080p.
Surprisingly the 4K monitor was looking better, actually extremely good, only on static pictures (very sharp clarity) and 4K movies. Anything lower than that the 1080p monitor next to it was 2x time more better.
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2010
Messages
4,012 (1.47/day)
Likes
630
Location
UK
System Name PC
Processor AMD FX 8320E @4.3ghz
Motherboard Asrock 970 extreme3
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC12DX, 3 x NZXT FN 140mm, 1x NZXT FV V2 120mm
Memory 8GB Corsair Vengeance Blue 1600mhz
Video Card(s) ASUS R9 290 DCII-OC 4GB
Storage 128GB Kingston V200 SSD 1TB WD Blue, 750GB Maxtor
Display(s) LG 27MB85Z 27" 1440p
Case NZXT Source 340
Power Supply Thermaltake 675w
Mouse Logitech G500S
Keyboard Logitech G510S
Software Windows 8.1 64 bit
#13
Sorry I was a little tired.
The thing is I have tried this with one of my friends on a 4K TV vs a HD TV. Both the same size, but when we switched the 4K TV to a HD channel the image was way worst than the native HD next to it. Actually it almost looked like an upscaled standard TV signal. And to test even more, the store clerk put a demo game on both on the same time on 1080p and there I have the confirmation that having 1080p displayed on a 4K monitor looks more more worst than if having it at native 1080p.
Surprisingly the 4K monitor was looking better, actually extremely good, only on static pictures (very sharp clarity) and 4K movies. Anything lower than that the 1080p monitor next to it was 2x time more better.
This is the problem, most tv's interpolate, while quarter res should scale perfectly, the only realistic way to make it work is to have it pixel double in software

Look at PSP on Vita for example, since (assuming filtering is set to off) it just sends off double vertical and horizontal pixels it actually works there
 

Easy Rhino

Linux Advocate
Joined
Nov 13, 2006
Messages
14,405 (3.56/day)
Likes
4,257
System Name VHOST01 | Desktop
Processor i7 980x | i5 7500 Kaby Lake
Motherboard Gigabyte x58 Extreme | AsRock MicroATX Z170M Exteme4
Cooling Prolimatech Megahelams | Stock
Memory 6x4 GB @ 1333 | 2x 8G Gskill Aegis DDR4 2400
Video Card(s) Nvidia GT 210 | Nvidia GTX 970 FTW+
Storage 4x2 TB Enterprise RAID5 |Corsair mForce nvme 250G
Display(s) N/A | Dell 27" 1440p 8bit GSYNC
Case Lian Li ATX Mid Tower | Corsair Carbide 400C
Audio Device(s) NA | On Board
Power Supply SeaSonic 500W Gold | Seasonic SSR-650GD Flagship Prime Series 650W Gold
Mouse N/A | Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard N/A | Posiden Z RGB Cherry MX Brown
Software Centos 7 | Windows 10
#14
best notebook on the market.
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2007
Messages
6,142 (1.67/day)
Likes
1,636
Location
Austin Texas
System Name silen8
Processor Intel i7 7820X Delidded @ 4.64Ghz / 3.1Ghz Mesh
Motherboard MSI X299 Tomahawk
Cooling 240mm Corsair H105 Intake
Memory 32 GB Quad 3434Mhz DDR4 15-16-16-38-300-1T
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1080 Ti Gaming
Storage 1Tb Samsung 960 Pro m2, 1TB Samsung 850 Pro SSD
Display(s) Dell 24" 2560x1440 144hz, G-Sync @ 165Hz
Case NZXT S340 Elite Black
Audio Device(s) Arctis 7
Power Supply FSP HydroG 750W
Mouse zowie ec-2
Keyboard corsair k65 tenkeyless
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores Cb: 2103 Multi, 209 Single, 10450 Timespy - 10150 GPU/11900 CPU, superpi 1M - 7.71s
#15
This is the problem, most tv's interpolate, while quarter res should scale perfectly, the only realistic way to make it work is to have it pixel double in software

Look at PSP on Vita for example, since (assuming filtering is set to off) it just sends off double vertical and horizontal pixels it actually works there
^ this... assuming no weird effects you will have exactly, to the pixel, detail of the lower rez due to the perfect ratio.

Anyways im getting an older retina tomorrow due to this news so I will test and let yall know.
 

Easy Rhino

Linux Advocate
Joined
Nov 13, 2006
Messages
14,405 (3.56/day)
Likes
4,257
System Name VHOST01 | Desktop
Processor i7 980x | i5 7500 Kaby Lake
Motherboard Gigabyte x58 Extreme | AsRock MicroATX Z170M Exteme4
Cooling Prolimatech Megahelams | Stock
Memory 6x4 GB @ 1333 | 2x 8G Gskill Aegis DDR4 2400
Video Card(s) Nvidia GT 210 | Nvidia GTX 970 FTW+
Storage 4x2 TB Enterprise RAID5 |Corsair mForce nvme 250G
Display(s) N/A | Dell 27" 1440p 8bit GSYNC
Case Lian Li ATX Mid Tower | Corsair Carbide 400C
Audio Device(s) NA | On Board
Power Supply SeaSonic 500W Gold | Seasonic SSR-650GD Flagship Prime Series 650W Gold
Mouse N/A | Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard N/A | Posiden Z RGB Cherry MX Brown
Software Centos 7 | Windows 10
#16
^ this... assuming no weird effects you will have exactly, to the pixel, detail of the lower rez due to the perfect ratio.

Anyways im getting an older retina tomorrow due to this news so I will test and let yall know.
that makes me jealous :shadedshu :cry::) :pimp:
 
Joined
May 4, 2011
Messages
24 (0.01/day)
Likes
6
Location
Korpi
System Name 15" rMBP, mid 2012 base model
Processor Intel Core i7-3615QM
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GeForce GT 650M
#17
No it wont. I tried that just because people were insisting with the same stupid ideea, and the image was pure crap, washed out and pixelated.
Pls stop posting those urban legends misinformation. Anything not native on LCD, looks blurry and washed out.
As an rMBP user who occasionally plays some games too, I'd like to inform you, that indeed, yes it f***ing will. 1440x900 scaled on the rMBPs 15" 2880x1800 display looks identical to the picture of a 15" 1440x900 native screen. The scaling is exactly one pixel to four, without any resampling, and because the pixel density of the rMBP screen is quite high, it's almost impossible to actually see that a single point consists of four actual pixels. I've seen this IRL, and I challenge you to actually make a side-by-side comparison too, before you go and accuse someone of spreading misinformation.

I'm sorry to say this, but washed out and blurry image suggests, that you are doing something wrong, most likely using an incorrect resolution. PEBKAC