• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

machinist e5-mr9a-pro wont boot, shows FF

Joined
Nov 6, 2019
Messages
74 (0.04/day)
friend of mine got this here:

https://www.aliexpress.com/item/1005006394406501.html

when he wants to boot, the debug led only shows FF all the time.

any ideas what this could be or how to solve?

removing ram, gpu or clearing bios has no effect on the debug code, always shows FF no matter what.

booting one ram stick does not work neither.

try another psu or board / cpu dead?
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
23,568 (3.74/day)
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Icarus Mk.VI
Processor Intel 8600k@Stock -- pending tuning
Motherboard Asus ROG Strixx Z370-F
Cooling CPU: BeQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 4 {1xCorsair ML120 Pro|5xML140 Pro}
Memory 32GB XPG Gammix D10 {2x16GB}
Video Card(s) ASUS Dual Radeon™ RX 6700 XT OC Edition
Storage Samsung 970 Evo 512GB SSD (Boot)|WD SN770 (Gaming)|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300|2x 2TB Crucial BX500
Display(s) LG GP850-B
Case Corsair 760T (White)
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V573|Speakers: JBL Control One|Auna 300-CN|Wharfedale Diamond SW150
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores (ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻━┻
Try the CPU in a different board. If the CPU works in the other board the the Machinist board is toast.

Thats the problem when you buy these sort of boards. They are often frankensteined together from parts that are pulled off faulty boards to make a working motherboard then held together with a bios that is beyond useless with often results in a lot of compatibility issues with other hardware if not immediately then further on down the road.

Always a huge risk with these boards.
 
Joined
Nov 6, 2019
Messages
74 (0.04/day)
Try the CPU in a different board. If the CPU works in the other board the the Machinist board is toast.

Thats the problem when you buy these sort of boards. They are often frankensteined together from parts that are pulled off faulty boards to make a working motherboard then held together with a bios that is beyond useless with often results in a lot of compatibility issues with other hardware if not immediately then further on down the road.

Always a huge risk with these boards.

yeah. the chins say the test everything before its send out. its a pretty good deal when it works.

i found that some dudes switched the psu and then it worked, another time it was the usb front panel connector from the case that caused the issue, reseating the cpu or booting the board with anything on it (no ram, no cpu, no cpu, etc) may also help.

well try that and report back.
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
23,568 (3.74/day)
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Icarus Mk.VI
Processor Intel 8600k@Stock -- pending tuning
Motherboard Asus ROG Strixx Z370-F
Cooling CPU: BeQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 4 {1xCorsair ML120 Pro|5xML140 Pro}
Memory 32GB XPG Gammix D10 {2x16GB}
Video Card(s) ASUS Dual Radeon™ RX 6700 XT OC Edition
Storage Samsung 970 Evo 512GB SSD (Boot)|WD SN770 (Gaming)|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300|2x 2TB Crucial BX500
Display(s) LG GP850-B
Case Corsair 760T (White)
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V573|Speakers: JBL Control One|Auna 300-CN|Wharfedale Diamond SW150
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores (ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻━┻
If you have to cut corners like that, Its always a safer bet to try and buy one off someone else whose had one, used it for a while/satisfied their curiosity and wants to get rid of it.

I wouldnt even bother testing other CPUs in the board either until you've confirmed if the one you originally put in works with another system or not. It could have fried it for all we know.

If it does work then you could try different CPUs if you have some available and time on your hands otherwise send it back for a refund if possible and keep looking.
 
Last edited:

Toothless

Tech, Games, and TPU!
Supporter
Joined
Mar 26, 2014
Messages
9,421 (2.50/day)
Location
Washington, USA
System Name Veral
Processor 5950x
Motherboard MSI MEG x570 Ace
Cooling Corsair H150i RGB Elite
Memory 4x16GB G.Skill TridentZ
Video Card(s) Powercolor 7900XTX Red Devil
Storage Crucial P5 Plus 1TB, Samsung 980 1TB, Teamgroup MP34 4TB
Display(s) Acer Nitro XZ342CK Pbmiiphx + 2x AOC 2425W
Case Fractal Design Meshify Lite 2
Audio Device(s) Blue Yeti + SteelSeries Arctis 5 / Samsung HW-T550
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Mouse Corsair Nightsword
Keyboard Corsair K55
VR HMD HP Reverb G2
Software Windows 11 Professional
Benchmark Scores PEBCAK
FF code per manuals means "fully functioning" however I've personally seen it as "fully f*cked"

Pop the CMOS battery out, let it sit with no power for 5 minutes, try again.
 
Joined
Nov 6, 2019
Messages
74 (0.04/day)
If you have to cut corners like that, Its always a safer bet to try and buy one off someone else whose had one, used it for a while/satisfied their curiosity and wants to get rid of it.

I wouldnt even bother testing other CPUs in the board either until you've confirmed if the one you originally put in works with another system or not. It could have fried it for all we know.

If it does work then you could try different CPUs if you have some available and time on your hands otherwise send it back for a refund if possible and keep looking.
yeah. it has buyer protection and can be returned for free, too. we will try another psu and reseat the cpu. if it wont boot its flying back.

im suspecting the issue may lie with c6/c7 lp state support from the psu. this psu he tried just seemed to trashy for me, too little power and probably no c6/c7 support or sth else. we ordered another one (be quiet! System Power 10 750W ATX 2.52) and will check with that. i believe there may be issues with different atx versions from some psus in con with the chin xeon kits.
 
Last edited:

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
40,678 (6.54/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
FF code per manuals means "fully functioning" however I've personally seen it as "fully f*cked"

Pop the CMOS battery out, let it sit with no power for 5 minutes, try again.
No manuals-no support, Id return the board
 
Joined
Nov 16, 2023
Messages
658 (2.73/day)
Location
Woodstock IL
System Name I don't name my rig
Processor 13700K
Motherboard MSI Z690 D4
Cooling Air/water/DryIce
Memory Corsair 3600mhz something die cl18 at 4000mhz
Video Card(s) RX 6700 XT
Storage 980 Pro
Display(s) Some LED 1080P TV
Case Open bench
Audio Device(s) Some Old Sherwood stereo and old cabinet speakers
Power Supply Antec 850w Continous Power Series (since 2009)
Mouse Razor Mamba Tournament Edition
Keyboard Logitech G910
VR HMD Quest 2
Software Windows
Benchmark Scores Max Freq 13700K 6.7ghz DryIce. Max all time Freq FX-8300 7685mhz LN2
I would pop a diag speaker on the board and go for the Beep Codes.

Some guy made a useful thread that should had been stickied and kept up to date, but seems to lack interest for proper diag. Concensus = return the board, but you don't even know why.


Good Luck!!
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
40,678 (6.54/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
I would pop a diag speaker on the board and go for the Beep Codes.

Some guy made a useful thread that should had been stickied and kept up to date, but seems to lack interest for proper diag. Concensus = return the board, but you don't even know why.


Good Luck!!
Really depends if it truly is using an American Mega Trends/AMI, Phoenix, Award firmware etc and not some basket case firmware.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 6, 2019
Messages
74 (0.04/day)
well i think it may be this here too, just so obvious:

(enable english translation)



im not there locally so i cant check. i told him to disconnect everything but i bet he left the usb panel on and apparently this board has a bug where it cant boot with FF due to that. trying to find that out right now...
 
Last edited:

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
40,678 (6.54/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
well i think it may be this here too, just so obvious:



im not there locally so i cant check. i told him to disconnect everything but i bet he left the usb panel on and apparently this board has a bug where it cant boot with FF due to that. trying to find that out right now...
Tell him over the phone to disconnect it, do a teleconference with him
 
Joined
Dec 25, 2020
Messages
5,323 (4.10/day)
Location
São Paulo, Brazil
Does this board even have a real X99 or C612 chipset? A lot of these Chinese refurbished boards don't actually have a supported chipset.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
40,678 (6.54/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Does this board even have a real X99 or C612 chipset? A lot of these Chinese refurbished boards don't actually have a supported chipset.
It claims to use intel b85...

 

Ruru

S.T.A.R.S.
Joined
Dec 16, 2012
Messages
11,544 (2.73/day)
Location
Finland
System Name 4K-gaming
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 5800X h2o
Motherboard Gigabyte B550M Aorus Elite
Cooling Custom loop
Memory 32GB Kingston HyperX Fury DDR4-3466
Video Card(s) Asus GeForce RTX 3080 TUF h2o
Storage ~3TB SSDs + 6TB external HDDs
Display(s) Acer 27" 4K120 + Lenovo 32" 4K60
Case Corsair 4000D Airflow White
Audio Device(s) Asus TUF H3 Wireless
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 750W
Mouse Logitech MX518 + Asus TUF P1 mousepad
Keyboard Roccat Vulcan 121 AIMO
VR HMD Oculus Rift CV1
Software Windows 11 Pro
Benchmark Scores It runs Crysis
It claims to use intel b85...

Which is interesting as at least in desktop form, Broadwell is supported only by 9-series, and that V4 Xeon is a BW-E(P).
 
Joined
Nov 16, 2023
Messages
658 (2.73/day)
Location
Woodstock IL
System Name I don't name my rig
Processor 13700K
Motherboard MSI Z690 D4
Cooling Air/water/DryIce
Memory Corsair 3600mhz something die cl18 at 4000mhz
Video Card(s) RX 6700 XT
Storage 980 Pro
Display(s) Some LED 1080P TV
Case Open bench
Audio Device(s) Some Old Sherwood stereo and old cabinet speakers
Power Supply Antec 850w Continous Power Series (since 2009)
Mouse Razor Mamba Tournament Edition
Keyboard Logitech G910
VR HMD Quest 2
Software Windows
Benchmark Scores Max Freq 13700K 6.7ghz DryIce. Max all time Freq FX-8300 7685mhz LN2
Really depends if it truly is using an American Mega Trends/AMI, Phoenix, Award firmware etc and not some basket case firmware.
Wouldn't matter... All 3 use different beep orientations to declare an issue.

FF on AMI is reserved for future codes. There would be accompany beep, CPU not detected.

CPU is either unsupported or CPU broken.

Also, is possible board broken. But, so far, everyone else here has taken a GUESS not an actual diagnostic step that wouldn't require purchase of MORE hardware to diagnose what a Beep or two would have said free.

These come with some motherboards and some cases. Look around. Might help in a pinch ;)

EDIT: I should say, if it doesn't beep, board broken.

diag speaker.jpg
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
13,566 (3.82/day)
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Lenovo ThinkCentre
Processor AMD 5650GE
Motherboard Lenovo
Memory 32 GB DDR4
Display(s) AOC 24" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Mouse Lenovo
Keyboard Lenovo
Software W11 Pro 64 bit
friend of mine got this here:

https://www.aliexpress.com/item/1005006394406501.html

when he wants to boot, the debug led only shows FF all the time.

any ideas what this could be or how to solve?

removing ram, gpu or clearing bios has no effect on the debug code, always shows FF no matter what.

booting one ram stick does not work neither.

try another psu or board / cpu dead?
What CPU is he trying to boot with?
 
Joined
Dec 25, 2020
Messages
5,323 (4.10/day)
Location
São Paulo, Brazil
It claims to use intel b85...


I genuinely wonder how do they even wire a B85 to work with Haswell-E... if the CPU is v4 I don't think the chipset would even work since Z87 and B85 are not compatible with Broadwell
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
40,678 (6.54/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Wouldn't matter... All 3 use different beep orientations to declare an issue.

FF on AMI is reserved for future codes. There would be accompany beep, CPU not detected.

CPU is either unsupported or CPU broken.

Also, is possible board broken. But, so far, everyone else here has taken a GUESS not an actual diagnostic step that wouldn't require purchase of MORE hardware to diagnose what a Beep or two would have said free.

These come with some motherboards and some cases. Look around. Might help in a pinch ;)

EDIT: I should say, if it doesn't beep, board broken.

View attachment 354660

Very rare to see a buzzer pigtail even, i have some from back in the day even
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
13,566 (3.82/day)
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Lenovo ThinkCentre
Processor AMD 5650GE
Motherboard Lenovo
Memory 32 GB DDR4
Display(s) AOC 24" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Mouse Lenovo
Keyboard Lenovo
Software W11 Pro 64 bit
I genuinely wonder how do they even wire a B85 to work with Haswell-E... if the CPU is v4 I don't think the chipset would even work since Z87 and B85 are not compatible with Broadwell
The listing does say NOT compatible with .....
 
Joined
Nov 6, 2019
Messages
74 (0.04/day)
chipset is Intel Q87. they can vary too, but thats usually mentioned on the store page.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 16, 2023
Messages
658 (2.73/day)
Location
Woodstock IL
System Name I don't name my rig
Processor 13700K
Motherboard MSI Z690 D4
Cooling Air/water/DryIce
Memory Corsair 3600mhz something die cl18 at 4000mhz
Video Card(s) RX 6700 XT
Storage 980 Pro
Display(s) Some LED 1080P TV
Case Open bench
Audio Device(s) Some Old Sherwood stereo and old cabinet speakers
Power Supply Antec 850w Continous Power Series (since 2009)
Mouse Razor Mamba Tournament Edition
Keyboard Logitech G910
VR HMD Quest 2
Software Windows
Benchmark Scores Max Freq 13700K 6.7ghz DryIce. Max all time Freq FX-8300 7685mhz LN2
The listing does say NOT compatible with .....
And all you need is a beepity beep beep to confirm it. And.... buy a support cpu. lol.

Very rare to see a buzzer pigtail even, i have some from back in the day even
I threw a bunch out HAHA. it's just a must have for older gear. It's saved me on many platforms. Q-Code too, but not always as helpful for diag, it's like a scan tool that gives you a MIL code but no description.

I always liked the XBOX ring of death. At least you knew you where Fk'ed haha
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
13,566 (3.82/day)
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Lenovo ThinkCentre
Processor AMD 5650GE
Motherboard Lenovo
Memory 32 GB DDR4
Display(s) AOC 24" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Mouse Lenovo
Keyboard Lenovo
Software W11 Pro 64 bit
Top