• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Magic number "3800Mhz" For Ryzen 3000 Series

Joined
May 29, 2017
Messages
228 (0.18/day)
Have a question what in most of the time is the biggest bottleneck in times when there is no way to hit that magic number 3800Mhz 1:1 when overclocking Micron E-Die, Samsung B-die or Hynix CJR.

1. It's cpu memory controler
2. It's motherboard
3. Bios doesn't allow
4. It's memory inself
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 5, 2019
Messages
477 (0.98/day)
System Name Neon Master
Processor AMD Ryzen 3900x
Motherboard x570 Aorus Master F30
Cooling H115i RGB Platinum 280mm/Case Fans NF-A14 x4
Memory G.Skill Neo 32GB @3600 MT/s C16
Video Card(s) RTX 3080 TUF OC
Storage MP600 2TB
Display(s) LG 27GL850-b
Case Phanteks Evolv X
Audio Device(s) DT 770 Pro
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 1000w
Mouse Scimitar Pro
Keyboard K95 Platinum
None of the above, CPU not being able to get IF stable at 1900 is the biggest hurdle, then maybe next cheap motherboards that cant handle fast ram.
 
Joined
May 29, 2017
Messages
228 (0.18/day)
None of the above, CPU not being able to get IF stable at 1900 is the biggest hurdle, then maybe next cheap motherboards that cant handle fast ram.
So it's not a cpu memory controller just a bad cpu bin right
 
Joined
Aug 5, 2019
Messages
477 (0.98/day)
System Name Neon Master
Processor AMD Ryzen 3900x
Motherboard x570 Aorus Master F30
Cooling H115i RGB Platinum 280mm/Case Fans NF-A14 x4
Memory G.Skill Neo 32GB @3600 MT/s C16
Video Card(s) RTX 3080 TUF OC
Storage MP600 2TB
Display(s) LG 27GL850-b
Case Phanteks Evolv X
Audio Device(s) DT 770 Pro
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 1000w
Mouse Scimitar Pro
Keyboard K95 Platinum
Kinda, mine can't do 1900 IF for example no matter what, but i can get the ram to run without 1:1 much higher.
 
Joined
Sep 3, 2019
Messages
1,669 (3.65/day)
Location
Thessaloniki, Greece
System Name PC alive since Aug 18th 2019
Processor Ryzen 5 3600 (PBO Enabled)
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Pro, BIOS F22
Cooling Corsair H110i 280mm (Liquid metal for TIM)
Memory CorsairVengeanceLPX DDR4 2x8GB 3466MHz CL16-18-18-36 1T, B-die A0 PCB, @3800 CL16-18-18-36 1T(1.46V)
Video Card(s) MSI RX 5700XT Gaming X
Storage Samsung NVMe: 970Pro 512GB (2019) / SATA-III: 850Pro 1TB SSD (2017), 860Evo 1TB SSD (2020)
Display(s) 24" EIZO FlexScan S2411W 1920x1200, 16:10 60Hz samsung S-PVA 14-bit (16.7M/1.06B colors), 6ms G2G
Case None
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z <--optical link--> Logitech Z5500 5.1 500W
Power Supply Corsair HX750i
Mouse Logitech MX Master
Keyboard Logitech G15 v2
Software Windows 10 Home 64bit (v2004)
From my understanding, you cannot pin point it to a single reason. I believe it’s a combination of things. It’s not about high/low tier of CPUs, boards either. DRAM sticks capability can play a role but it’s far from being the only one.

I do believe tho that most times it’s more of a combination of DRAM sticks and board, and less the CPU’s UMC.
Board memory channel tracing and topology can make difference.
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2004
Messages
7,144 (1.22/day)
Location
Formosa
System Name Overlord Mk MXVI
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Master
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro
Memory 32GB Viper Steel 3600 DDR4 @ 3800MHz 16-19-16-19-36
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 2080 Gaming OC 8G
Storage 1TB WD Black NVMe (2018), 2TB Viper VPN100, 1TB WD Blue 3D NAND
Display(s) Asus PG27AQ
Case Corsair Carbide 275Q
Audio Device(s) Corsair Virtuoso SE
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Wooting Two
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/33u9si
Considering that there have been some memory world record overclocking on Ryzen 3000, it's not the memory controller that's ever likely to be the issue.
My understanding is that if you get a chip now, you might even be able to get 3866 1:1 with a little bit of luck. The 5000 series is obviously expected to do 4000 1:1 based on the leaked AMD slide.
That said, AMD's memory controller has some quirks that takes a bit of getting used to, so if you're coming from Intel, it's not going to be the exactly same things to tweak to get the best results.
As you can see from my system specs, I'm running four sticks of fairly affordable RAM at 3800 1:1, which is both an overclock and tightened latencies compared to the specs these modules were sold as for Intel systems.
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2020
Messages
298 (0.89/day)
System Name Kiste
Processor Intel Core i9 10850k 5.1 Ghz/4.8 Ghz 1.4V
Motherboard MSI MEG Z490 Unify
Cooling NZXT Kraken X73 (Now an NH D15 Chromax. Black)
Memory G.Skill Trident Z Neo 3600 Mhz CL16 (2x16GB)
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 3090 Gaming X Trio, and a big collection with all Ampere, almost all Pascal and Turing Cards
Storage Samsung 980 Pro 500GB, 2x Samsung 870 QVO 4TB, Crucial MX500 2TB (Backup)
Display(s) LG 27GL850-B QHD 144Hz
Case NZXT H710 Black
Audio Device(s) Bose Companion Series 2 III, Sennheiser GSP600
Power Supply bequiet! Dark Power Pro 750W Platinum
Mouse Logitech G903 Lightspeed Hero, G502 Hero Special Edition, Zowie EC-2A
Keyboard Logitech G915, Corsair K95 RGB Platinum
it is pretty much the substrate itself and not the IMC or motherboard.

having this much traffic through the PCB of the CPU itself is more likely the limiting factor.
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2006
Messages
851 (0.16/day)
Location
Toronto, Ontario
System Name AMD Ryzen
Processor 3800X
Motherboard Asus Prime X570-Pro
Cooling Corsair H150i Pro
Memory 16GB Gskill Trident RGB DDR4-3200 14-14-14-34-1T
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE Radeon RX 580 GAMING 8GB
Storage Corsair MP600 1TB PCIe 4 / Samsung 860Evo 1TB x2 Raid 0
Display(s) HP ZR24w + LG 24MB35 on Neo-Flex® Dual Monitor Lift Stand
Case Fractal Design Meshify S2
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi + Logitech Z-5500
Power Supply Corsair AX850 Titanium
Mouse Corsair Dark Core RGB
Keyboard Logitech G810
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 1909
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/1zr4a5
Considering that there have been some memory world record overclocking on Ryzen 3000, it's not the memory controller that's ever likely to be the issue.
My understanding is that if you get a chip now, you might even be able to get 3866 1:1 with a little bit of luck. The 5000 series is obviously expected to do 4000 1:1 based on the leaked AMD slide.
That said, AMD's memory controller has some quirks that takes a bit of getting used to, so if you're coming from Intel, it's not going to be the exactly same things to tweak to get the best results.
As you can see from my system specs, I'm running four sticks of fairly affordable RAM at 3800 1:1, which is both an overclock and tightened latencies compared to the specs these modules were sold as for Intel systems.
I'm looking forward to see the testing of the 5000 series and optimal IF settings.

Once I drop a Zen 3 chip in my system I will need to see if I can hit 4000 speed with my current ram. I was planning on going 4x8 with another set of the same sticks next year. But need to wait to see how this will play out.

Also related asus just released the recommended bios for Zen 3

Version 2802 2020/10/2320.01 MBytes
PRIME X570-PRO BIOS 2802
"1. Updated AMD AM4 AGESA V2 PI 1.1.0.0 Patch B
2. Improve system performance and stability
3. Improved DRAM compatibility"

I've updated and this bios is excellent I got a nice boost in my scores with PBO Fmax on.

Also wonder is this bios will make 3800 easier with those using Zen 2?
 
Joined
Aug 9, 2019
Messages
263 (0.55/day)
Processor Ryzen 3600
Motherboard Gigabyte B450m DS3H
Cooling BeQuiet dark rock slim
Memory Crucial Ballistix sport 3000cl15 2x8@3733cl16 dram calc
Video Card(s) Sapphire 5700XT blower
Storage WD green 480GB m.2
Display(s) Lenovo G24-10
Case Cooler master Q300L
Power Supply EVGA GQ 650W
Software Windows 10 home 64
IF/fclk is the hurdle for me. 99% stable but random reboots now and then.
 
Joined
Sep 3, 2019
Messages
1,669 (3.65/day)
Location
Thessaloniki, Greece
System Name PC alive since Aug 18th 2019
Processor Ryzen 5 3600 (PBO Enabled)
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Pro, BIOS F22
Cooling Corsair H110i 280mm (Liquid metal for TIM)
Memory CorsairVengeanceLPX DDR4 2x8GB 3466MHz CL16-18-18-36 1T, B-die A0 PCB, @3800 CL16-18-18-36 1T(1.46V)
Video Card(s) MSI RX 5700XT Gaming X
Storage Samsung NVMe: 970Pro 512GB (2019) / SATA-III: 850Pro 1TB SSD (2017), 860Evo 1TB SSD (2020)
Display(s) 24" EIZO FlexScan S2411W 1920x1200, 16:10 60Hz samsung S-PVA 14-bit (16.7M/1.06B colors), 6ms G2G
Case None
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z <--optical link--> Logitech Z5500 5.1 500W
Power Supply Corsair HX750i
Mouse Logitech MX Master
Keyboard Logitech G15 v2
Software Windows 10 Home 64bit (v2004)
And forgot to response in this yesterday...
So it's not a cpu memory controller just a bad cpu bin right
Not exactly. As I said it’s not about high/low tier CPUs (Higher tier has better binned chiplets).
I have maybe the worst binned 3600 out there with bronze rating, no OC capability and lousy boosting. Yet I’m running 1900MHz all 3 memory subsystems (UCLK = FCLK = MEMCLK) without cranking up high voltage to SoC, IF and UMC.

I’m not aware tho how the CPU substrate can be across the binned chiplets and CPUs in general. Probably has no correlation.
Rumors allegedly claim a better substrate also for 5000 series, other than better bins.
 
Joined
Apr 12, 2013
Messages
3,765 (1.35/day)
It's a combination of things, stable memory timings & indeed speed depends on a lot of factors including but not limited to OS & the software you run. Which is to say that your OC may work in Windows but maybe not on Linux & yeah I know the Memtest or Prime95 argument, except that doesn't work for all possible software/hardware combinations out there not in my experience at least.
 
Joined
Aug 9, 2019
Messages
263 (0.55/day)
Processor Ryzen 3600
Motherboard Gigabyte B450m DS3H
Cooling BeQuiet dark rock slim
Memory Crucial Ballistix sport 3000cl15 2x8@3733cl16 dram calc
Video Card(s) Sapphire 5700XT blower
Storage WD green 480GB m.2
Display(s) Lenovo G24-10
Case Cooler master Q300L
Power Supply EVGA GQ 650W
Software Windows 10 home 64
And forgot to response in this yesterday...

Not exactly. As I said it’s not about high/low tier CPUs (Higher tier has better binned chiplets).
I have maybe the worst binned 3600 out there with bronze rating, no OC capability and lousy boosting. Yet I’m running 1900MHz all 3 memory subsystems (UCLK = FCLK = MEMCLK) without cranking up high voltage to SoC, IF and UMC.

I’m not aware tho how the CPU substrate can be across the binned chiplets and CPUs in general. Probably has no correlation.
Rumors allegedly claim a better substrate also for 5000 series, other than better bins.
IF fclk is on the I/O-die I think. You won the I/O-die lottery and lost the core-die lottery :p
My 3600 is both poorly binned and I/O-die is not top notch either ;)
 
Joined
Sep 3, 2019
Messages
1,669 (3.65/day)
Location
Thessaloniki, Greece
System Name PC alive since Aug 18th 2019
Processor Ryzen 5 3600 (PBO Enabled)
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Pro, BIOS F22
Cooling Corsair H110i 280mm (Liquid metal for TIM)
Memory CorsairVengeanceLPX DDR4 2x8GB 3466MHz CL16-18-18-36 1T, B-die A0 PCB, @3800 CL16-18-18-36 1T(1.46V)
Video Card(s) MSI RX 5700XT Gaming X
Storage Samsung NVMe: 970Pro 512GB (2019) / SATA-III: 850Pro 1TB SSD (2017), 860Evo 1TB SSD (2020)
Display(s) 24" EIZO FlexScan S2411W 1920x1200, 16:10 60Hz samsung S-PVA 14-bit (16.7M/1.06B colors), 6ms G2G
Case None
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z <--optical link--> Logitech Z5500 5.1 500W
Power Supply Corsair HX750i
Mouse Logitech MX Master
Keyboard Logitech G15 v2
Software Windows 10 Home 64bit (v2004)
IF fclk is on the I/O-die I think. You won the I/O-die lottery and lost the core-die lottery :p
My 3600 is both poorly binned and I/O-die is not top notch either ;)
Yes IF is located on the I/O Die with the UMC (UnifiedMemoryController) but don’t forget that IF is connecting the I/O Die with the CCD(s) and the CCXs between them.
So it runs through the CPU substrate. So the substrate it self also matters a lot.
The I/O Die is on very mature node now, the 14nm of GlobalFountries and I hardly believe that the Dies have too much difference between them in binning. Could be tho...
 
Joined
Aug 19, 2020
Messages
63 (0.59/day)
System Name Silent Black
Processor Ryzen 9 3900x
Motherboard MSI X470 Gaming Plus Max
Cooling Noctua D15S
Memory Ripjaws 2x16GB 3600C16 @ 3733mhz 16-19-20-36 GDM Off
Video Card(s) Evga 2060 Super
Storage 500 Nvme + 500 HDD
Display(s) 24" 1080p Dell
Case Lian Li Lancool II
Power Supply 750w
Software Rendering and Structural Analysis
Benchmark Scores CB R20=8014 CB R15=3581
I’m not aware tho how the CPU substrate can be across the binned chiplets and CPUs in general. Probably has no correlation.
Most likely.
My cpu can finish cinebench with 4.575/4.475 with 1.368v just tried it. But my problem is IF max out at 1866.

My previous stick (corsair) and now (g.skill) can both run 3800mhz decoupled IF or 1800 IF.
But cannot boot with 1900 flck not matter what recommended voltages, soc, cldo_...

It's easy to spot ram/mobo is the culprit by running decoupled mode.
 
Top