• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Making Audio Enhancers Work on Windows

Joined
Aug 24, 2018
Messages
87 (0.78/day)
Likes
23
View attachment 111724

"failed to execute test tone"

And even with 2 boxes of 2.0 sound this message appears
Forget all that, get rid of the 2.0 system. It is not worth it, sound will get all garbled if you use a 4.1 or any other setup together.
Still, if you want to, you should configure your system for quadraphonic on realtek audio manager.
 

archie10

New Member
Joined
Dec 2, 2018
Messages
4 (0.33/day)
Likes
0
Can you answer me just one more question please?
How about the "full range"
How could I know if my speakers are or not "full range". And what this means?

Thanks :)

And sorry if sound rude, english is not my native language, so sometimes i just getting a little more time to understand
 
Joined
Aug 24, 2018
Messages
87 (0.78/day)
Likes
23
Can you answer me just one more question please?
How about the "full range"
How could I know if my speakers are or not "full range". And what this means?

Thanks :)

And sorry if sound rude, english is not my native language, so sometimes i just getting a little more time to understand
Full range: Speakers can play bass.
2.1 is full range; 2.0 is not.
 
Joined
Dec 4, 2018
Messages
4 (0.40/day)
Likes
0
Dear audio expert,

i've installed APO Driver and Dolby Atmos for Gaming on my bluetooth aptx and sounds great. but my aptx device only supported 16 bit 48000 hz on the maximum. can anybody give me a Dolby Atmos preset for 16 bit ?

Thank you and best regards.
 

Attachments

Joined
Aug 24, 2018
Messages
87 (0.78/day)
Likes
23
Dear audio expert,

i've installed APO Driver and Dolby Atmos for Gaming on my bluetooth aptx and sounds great. but my aptx device only supported 16 bit 48000 hz on the maximum. can anybody give me a Dolby Atmos preset for 16 bit ?

Thank you and best regards.
The application processes at 32 bit float. Dolby does not either processes at 24 bit or 16 bit. Windows convert the final audio to 16 bit.
Thus you are already getting the best possible audio.
 
Joined
Dec 4, 2018
Messages
4 (0.40/day)
Likes
0
The application processes at 32 bit float. Dolby does not either processes at 24 bit or 16 bit. Windows convert the final audio to 16 bit.
Thus you are already getting the best possible audio.
ok got it, and how to adjust bass on dynamic mode ? is that possible ?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 30, 2018
Messages
339 (1.07/day)
Likes
176
Before increasing the bass enhancer boost value, i think that the bass enhancer enable value must be changed; it seems disabled.
All XML from OEM <bass-enhancer-enable value="0"/> and <audio-optimizer-enable value="0"/>
Is it because the IEQ on dynamic, movie, music, game and voice profiles automatically turn on/off bass enhancer and bass enhancer?
OEM make a different headphones XML with different audio-optimizer-bands, but audio-optimizer-enable value is 0.
I can hear the different even audio-optimizer-enable value is 0.
Image 9.png
 
Joined
Aug 24, 2018
Messages
87 (0.78/day)
Likes
23
All XML from OEM <bass-enhancer-enable value="0"/> and <audio-optimizer-enable value="0"/>
Is it because the IEQ on dynamic, movie, music, game and voice profiles automatically turn on/off bass enhancer and bass enhancer?
OEM make a different headphones XML with different audio-optimizer-bands, but audio-optimizer-enable value is 0.
I can hear the different even audio-optimizer-enable value is 0.
View attachment 112016
I don't know much about if audio optimizer is applied; it isn't supposed to apply to headphones. This paper explains most of Dolby's tech, why and what purpose they serve.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 9, 2018
Messages
4 (1.00/day)
Likes
0
Hello guys, I just installed DTS Headphone X on my laptop. I followed the instructions according to @alanfox2000 website. But I can't select or change any settings in the DTS control panel. Even though, it seems to work, but can't change headphone type or any settings. I'd really appreciate some help. Thank you in advance.
 
Joined
Aug 26, 2015
Messages
8 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
Guys I think I've messed up my system audio-wise and I have no idea how to fix that.

I just tried out these apo drivers as a last resort. Installation went fine, but eventually I got no sound at all. In apos config manager I tried out various configs for my active audio device to unlock surround sound (I believe the last one I tried was DTS connect) and eventually surround settings showed up in the realtek properties. But when I started the audio test I couldn't hear anything.

Later on I chose to give up entirely and live with stereo (for now at least). So I uninstalled apo and reinstalled the realtek stock drivers (I uninstalled the realtek audio device from the device manager to get rid of any modified files, rebooted, realtek audio device showed up in the device manager, update driver -> windows searched for drivers automatically and installed them).

And now even though the realtek device is being recognized and stated "fully functional" by windows, I still get no audio at all.

What can I do to fix that, apart from formatting and reinstalling windows (which I hope won't be necessary)?

MSI Z370M Mortar
Realtek ALC 892
Latest Windows 10 with all updates
 
Joined
Jan 30, 2018
Messages
339 (1.07/day)
Likes
176
Guys I think I've messed up my system audio-wise and I have no idea how to fix that.

I just tried out these apo drivers as a last resort. Installation went fine, but eventually I got no sound at all. In apos config manager I tried out various configs for my active audio device to unlock surround sound (I believe the last one I tried was DTS connect) and eventually surround settings showed up in the realtek properties. But when I started the audio test I couldn't hear anything.

Later on I chose to give up entirely and live with stereo (for now at least). So I uninstalled apo and reinstalled the realtek stock drivers (I uninstalled the realtek audio device from the device manager to get rid of any modified files, rebooted, realtek audio device showed up in the device manager, update driver -> windows searched for drivers automatically and installed them).

And now even though the realtek device is being recognized and stated "fully functional" by windows, I still get no audio at all.

What can I do to fix that, apart from formatting and reinstalling windows (which I hope won't be necessary)?

MSI Z370M Mortar
Realtek ALC 892
Latest Windows 10 with all updates

1. Delete C:\Windows\System32\drivers\RTAIODAT.DAT + rtkhdaud.dat
2. Uninstall through Driver Setup API - https://github.com/alanfox2000/real...iver-setup-api-recommend-for-inf-installation
3. Reinstall UAD or Legacy HDA driver

If you have applied "DTS Connect" product config and want 2 channels back, choose Realtek System Effects product config for Realtek Codec.
Image 2.png
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 26, 2015
Messages
8 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
@alanfox2000
Thanks for the reply, I tried that but it didn't help either.

As I said, when I check my sound panel, erything seems perfectly normal. There's absolutely nothing suspicious. I don't have any more Dolby entries in my realtek properties. I have no longer any custom drivers installed. In the realtek properties, It's all set to 2 channel again (there is no other option anyway).

Realtek digital out is set as the default and active sound output, there are no errors, it's listed in the device manager, and my sound system is definitely plugged in and running. But when I go to the realtek properties and click on test, I still can't hear a thing. I tested another optical cable already, but the cable should be fine.

Now after hours of trial and error I booted back into macOS (I have hackintosh on another SSD). Of course this has nothing to do with either Windows or my onboard audio... but now comes the shock. There's no sound coming from digital out in macOS either, even though it worked perfectly before.

I checked the BIOS to see if onboard audio is disabled, but it's enabled.

Is it possible to break the audio chip by messing around with these custom drivers?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 30, 2018
Messages
339 (1.07/day)
Likes
176
@alanfox2000
Thanks for the reply, I tried that but it didn't help either.

As I said, when I check my sound panel, erything seems perfectly normal. There's absolutely nothing suspicious. I don't have any more Dolby entries in my realtek properties. I have no longer any custom drivers installed. In the realtek properties, It's all set to 2 channel again (there is no other option anyway).

Realtek digital out is set as the default and active sound output, there are no errors, it's listed in the device manager, and my sound system is definitely plugged in and running. But when I go to the realtek properties and click on test, I still can't hear a thing. I tested another optical cable already, but the cable should be fine.

Now after hours of trial and error I booted back into macOS (I have hackintosh on another SSD). Of course this has nothing to do with either Windows or my onboard audio... but now comes the shock. There's no sound coming from digital out in macOS either, even though it worked perfectly before.

I checked the BIOS to see if onboard audio is disabled, but it's enabled.

Is it possible to break the audio chip by messing around with these custom drivers?
I think the modded driver RealtekSounzVoizSoundAliveSamsung.exe contains rtkhdaud.dat (this rtkhdaud.dat file is not for your devices, that make your digital out broken)

Download Realtek HDA Test Utility
https://www.techpowerup.com/forums/...-live-and-dts-interactive.193148/post-3888195

Follow these step that will recreate rtkhdaud.dat that is work for your own deceives
Driver Policy Tab -> Get Policy Driver -> Save -> Press speakers with a cross button -> Press speakers which don't have a cross button
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2018
Messages
4 (1.00/day)
Likes
0
Hello guys, I just installed DTS Headphone X on my laptop. I followed the instructions according to @alanfox2000 website. But I can't select or change any settings in the DTS control panel. Even though, it seems to work, but can't change headphone type or any settings. I'd really appreciate some help. Thank you in advance.
@alanfox2000 Is there any solution for this? :(
 
Joined
Jan 30, 2018
Messages
339 (1.07/day)
Likes
176
It says: <control name="SSID">10438724</control>
Delete C:\ProgramData\SRS Labs\APO\slconfig.xml
Download and install APO Driver 2.3.4 (just uploaded), it will install new slconfig.xml contains ID
<control name="SSID">0000000</control>

Delete these registry
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\SRS Labs
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\DTS
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\DTS Audio


Use Product Config Tool
Restart dts_apo_service Services
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2018
Messages
4 (1.00/day)
Likes
0
Delete C:\ProgramData\SRS Labs\APO\slconfig.xml
Download and install APO Driver 2.3.4 (just uploaded), it will install new slconfig.xml contains ID
<control name="SSID">0000000</control>

Delete these registry
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\SRS Labs
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\DTS
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\DTS Audio


Use Product Config Tool
Restart dts_apo_service Services
I'm sorry but it didn't work. I followed your steps but nothing has changed. I still can't select any options on DTS Audio (I installed DTS Headphone X.) u.u

The new APO Driver 2.3.4 didn't install the new slconfig.xml. Folder is just empty.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 26, 2015
Messages
8 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
@alanfox2000
Firstly:
I got my digital out working again. I uninstalled it from the device manager again, but this time when I reinstalled, I didn‘t let Windows download and install automatically. Instead I selected „let me choose a driver from my hard drive“ (or something similar, I don‘t remember the exact wording). Then Windows gave me a list of several available drivers from the system. I chose realtek high definition and I finally had my sound back.

BUT SECONDLY:
I managed to get DDL and DTS Interactive!!

I stumbled upon the realtek drivers patcher. I noticed that while I was checking out the apo drivers, but you can also download it standalone from here.

Then I downloaded the official realtek drivers for my motherboard. Right from the MSI support page.

I ran the patcher and let it patch rltkAPO and rltkAPO64 (the patcher also asks for rtkAPO and rtkAPO64, but these two didn’t exist whatsoever).

After that, I installed the now patched driver, let it do it‘s thing, accepted the warning that Windows can‘t verify this driver -> install anyway, let it reboot twice, and then I couldn‘t believe it. I fucking got DTS Interactive and DDL in my realtek properties and IT IS REALLY WORKING. HOLY SHIT.

Just started a few games just to verify and shit really has become real. Also, my sound system now indicates DTS when I run a game (before that it was Pro Logic 2). Damn, NO DEDICATED SOUND CARD NEEDED.

Oh my god the nightmare is finally over. Thanks to everyone! I am SO happy right now!
 
Top