• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Making bootable back up of whooping 3Tb

Joined
Jan 19, 2009
Messages
318 (0.10/day)
Likes
28
Location
New York, NY
System Name The Baconator
Processor Phenom II X4 965 @ 4.00GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-790FX
Cooling Zalman 9900 CPU Cooler
Memory 16Gb DDR3 @ 1600MHz
Video Card(s) ATi Radeon HD 5870
Storage OS: WD 300Gb @ 10,000rpm. Storage: 2 x 1Tb @ 7,200rpm
Display(s) ASUS 27" LED 1080p Monitor
Case Cooler Master Sniper Medium Tower
Audio Device(s) MoBo Integrated
Power Supply Corsair PSU 750W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#1
I have nearly 3Tb spread over 4 HDD's. Now I'm looking for a way to back all this up in one 3Tb HDD (or 2 1.5Tb?). What is the best way to proceed with this? Buy a bare internal 3Tb HDD? External WD/Seagate one?

I really hate doing fresh OS installs unless I get brand new built, so if I main drive were to fail, I would want to unplug it, plug the back up one, good to go.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,211 (9.51/day)
Likes
13,701
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#2
just work on a better setup.

single drive for OS, single drive for games, all the rest as storage.


that way you only need a backup of the OS drive itself.
 
Joined
Jan 19, 2009
Messages
318 (0.10/day)
Likes
28
Location
New York, NY
System Name The Baconator
Processor Phenom II X4 965 @ 4.00GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-790FX
Cooling Zalman 9900 CPU Cooler
Memory 16Gb DDR3 @ 1600MHz
Video Card(s) ATi Radeon HD 5870
Storage OS: WD 300Gb @ 10,000rpm. Storage: 2 x 1Tb @ 7,200rpm
Display(s) ASUS 27" LED 1080p Monitor
Case Cooler Master Sniper Medium Tower
Audio Device(s) MoBo Integrated
Power Supply Corsair PSU 750W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#3
just work on a better setup.

single drive for OS, single drive for games, all the rest as storage.


that way you only need a backup of the OS drive itself.
I'm not sure I get you.
I have the HDD's in a good set up. 1Tb HDD for nothing but video. Another Tb for more videos and misc files. Then OS HDD. I could indeed make simple back up of just OS drive, but what if one of the other drives end up failing?

Speaking of which, would I have to do a fresh install to set up a RAID 1? Never done one before.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,211 (9.51/day)
Likes
13,701
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#4
you would need to format any drives you want to put in any kind of RAID array.


odds of drive failure are really low after they've been in use for a few months.


you can either have a 1:1 backup of each drive (easiest in RAID 1), run a raid 5 array for redundancy for drive failure, or not bother with backing up anything but the OS.


i've got 15TB of storage here and very rarely lose any data. it'd just cost way too much to set up a fileserver on raid 5 to be worth it.
 
Joined
Jan 19, 2009
Messages
318 (0.10/day)
Likes
28
Location
New York, NY
System Name The Baconator
Processor Phenom II X4 965 @ 4.00GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-790FX
Cooling Zalman 9900 CPU Cooler
Memory 16Gb DDR3 @ 1600MHz
Video Card(s) ATi Radeon HD 5870
Storage OS: WD 300Gb @ 10,000rpm. Storage: 2 x 1Tb @ 7,200rpm
Display(s) ASUS 27" LED 1080p Monitor
Case Cooler Master Sniper Medium Tower
Audio Device(s) MoBo Integrated
Power Supply Corsair PSU 750W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#5
I think I have an idea of what I want to do now.
The OS drive is a 300Gb, and I have 2 of them. Will do RAID 1 on that.
And I'll buy a 3Tb internal to back up the rest. Is that good?

Also, any tips on back up software?
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,211 (9.51/day)
Likes
13,701
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#6
i put everything on externals and power them off when not in use, so i have no need of backups.

apart from new drives failing, i never lose any data.
 
Joined
Jul 22, 2008
Messages
708 (0.20/day)
Likes
93
Location
midway city ca
System Name ROG MACHINE
Processor Ryzen 7 1800x
Motherboard Crosshair vi Hero
Cooling Corsair hydro H115i
Memory corsair vengeance rgb 32gb 4x8gb ddr4
Video Card(s) asus rog strix 1080
Storage samsung 960 evo 1tb m.2/mushkin reactor 1tb ssd/ 3x toshiba 3tb hdd
Display(s) Acer 4k monitor
Case corsair obsidian 750d
Power Supply corsair AX 1200i 1200 watt psu
Mouse coolermaster sentinel
Keyboard corsair k70
Software windows 10 pro 64bit
#7
I think I have an idea of what I want to do now.
The OS drive is a 300Gb, and I have 2 of them. Will do RAID 1 on that.
And I'll buy a 3Tb internal to back up the rest. Is that good?

Also, any tips on back up software?
for backup software i use acronis true image it works good for me
 
Joined
Jan 11, 2009
Messages
9,027 (2.74/day)
Likes
1,446
Location
Montreal, Canada
System Name Fun waste of money
Processor i7 3930k @ 4 Ghz
Motherboard AsRock X79 Fatal1ty Professional
Cooling Dark Rock Pro 3 (removed 120mm fan)
Memory 32GB (4x8gb) 2133Mhz CL9 Mushkin RedLine
Video Card(s) EVGA ACX 3.0 GTX 1060 6GB
Storage 3.25TB separated in 5 SSDs (SanDisk Extreme Pro, Intel 730 & 520, 2*Crucial MX100)
Display(s) 27" 2560x1440 [Korean] PCBANK PB2700
Case BeQuiet! SilentBase 800
Audio Device(s) iBasso D10 + AKG KXXX
Power Supply EVGA P2 750W 80+ Platinum semi-fanless
Mouse Sensei RAW
Keyboard Black cherry MX Thermaltake ESports
Software Windows 10 Pro X64
#8
Why not just do 1 big RAID?
 
Joined
Jan 19, 2009
Messages
318 (0.10/day)
Likes
28
Location
New York, NY
System Name The Baconator
Processor Phenom II X4 965 @ 4.00GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-790FX
Cooling Zalman 9900 CPU Cooler
Memory 16Gb DDR3 @ 1600MHz
Video Card(s) ATi Radeon HD 5870
Storage OS: WD 300Gb @ 10,000rpm. Storage: 2 x 1Tb @ 7,200rpm
Display(s) ASUS 27" LED 1080p Monitor
Case Cooler Master Sniper Medium Tower
Audio Device(s) MoBo Integrated
Power Supply Corsair PSU 750W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#9
After giving it several thoughts, I ended up buying a Seagate FreeAgent GoFlex Desk 3TB, and will make a RAID 1 for just the OS HDD.
I've also used CASPER to back up/clone my HDD's before, and it worked impeccably, so I'll continue to use that. Thank you all.
 
Joined
Sep 5, 2004
Messages
1,874 (0.38/day)
Likes
256
Location
The Kingdom of Norway
System Name Wiak's Gaming Rig 2017
Processor Ryzen 1700X
Motherboard ASUS PRIME X370-PRO
Cooling Noctua
Memory Corsair Vengenace LPX 3200 CL16 @ 2933
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon 480 8GB Gaming X
Storage Samsung 960 EVO 500GB / Samsung 850 EVO 1TB
Case Corsair 200R
Power Supply Corsair AX850
Mouse Corsair Sabre Laser
Keyboard Logitech Orion Brown (G610)
#10
depends on what you want to have
steam games you can re-download
if you realy want to backup use tape or something in that storage family, harddrives are unreliable for backups

RAID is not backup, its more of a fail safe in case of a harddrive crash
 
Joined
Aug 12, 2007
Messages
57 (0.01/day)
Likes
7
#11
After giving it several thoughts, I ended up buying a Seagate FreeAgent GoFlex Desk 3TB, and will make a RAID 1 for just the OS HDD.
I've also used CASPER to back up/clone my HDD's before, and it worked impeccably, so I'll continue to use that. Thank you all.
I have to warn you, that 3tb 7,200 RPM drive (assuming it is the same one I got) will cook itself in that enclosure. I have one, and love it, but I have taken the drive out of the enclosure for the time being. It is a very impressive drive, but I was seeing over 60C within an hour of starting to copy stuff over to it via USB3. I can only imagine what it would be after 5 hours of steady copying.