1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

making this laptop faster

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by MxPhenom 216, Jan 16, 2011.

  1. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    11,835 (5.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,565
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    I am working on clients laptop again and its running windows vista on 1GB of ram. So far what ive done is run ccleaner and cleaned it up and used the registery thing, ran a defragging program, uninstalled their norton and mcfee and got them MSE. Its still not all that much faster. Is their anything else i can do with what the system has? I was thinking about just not charging them any money and asking them if they would want to upgrade the memory to like 2GB or upgrade the memory with 2GB and then get Windows 7 as well.
     
  2. Batou1986

    Batou1986

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2,885 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    626
    Location:
    Baltimore MD
    ive worked on a few of those 1gb of ram is crippling for vista/7 best thing you can do for something like that is more ram and a 7200 rpm hdd
    performance should be on par between win7/vista SP2 i wouldn't waste the money on 7 on something that slow
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (3.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,632
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    What processor is in the laptop?
     
  4. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    11,835 (5.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,565
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    alright. i guess ill probalby just charge like $50 bucks for what ive done. But then ask her if she wants to upgrade to like 2GB of ram and if she does then just charge for the installation time and all that. 2GB should help. maybe ill ask her if she wants a new hard drive to
     
  5. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (3.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,632
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    Remember that if the system is not paging to the HDD adding more RAM will not help.
    You need to find the bottleneck.
    What exactly is slow?
     
  6. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    11,835 (5.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,565
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    loading up the stuff at the beginning. and doing stuff in windows. i probably is the hard drive now that i think about it.

    Western Digital Scorpio Black WD2500BEKT 250GB 720...

    hows that??

    She has a AMD Turion 1.6GHZ x2 CPU also. not sure if that is a slow down as well. ill talk to her and see what she wants to do, Ultimately i think 2GB of ram, hard drive, and probalby a fresh installation of windows 7 will make it much faster
     
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2011
  7. Black Haru

    Black Haru

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    1,284 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    362
    Location:
    Indiana
    w7/vista needs more RAM. even if its a wimpy little 5400rpm drive, my w7 rarely goes below 2 gigs of RAM usage (granted I could trim that a bit, but no need for me with 8 gigs)

    it could easily be both.
     
  8. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    11,835 (5.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,565
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    but wouldnt it be nicer and if shes willing to do it. just get the ram and the hard drive together. would boost it up by quite a bit
     
  9. rickss69

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,454 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    620
    Location:
    Rockvale TN (Not Australia)
    Put XP on it and ditch the antivirus.
     
  10. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    11,835 (5.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,565
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    yeah how about not. XP plus no anti virus is a bad idea
     
    Peter1986C and yogurt_21 say thanks.
  11. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,604 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    London, UK
    put seven on it, my machine was running fine on 1 gb of ram while my new set was on RMA

    it had antivirus, fully loaded steam, precision and a hell of a lot of other stuff on start too, ran like normal
     
  12. rickss69

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,454 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    620
    Location:
    Rockvale TN (Not Australia)
    You want something that will work decent or something that just kind of looks good? It has not been stated, but I'm betting it is an older laptop with minimal components.
     
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2011
  13. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    11,835 (5.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,565
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    what do you mean? she gave it to me saying. Make it faster!
     
  14. WhiteLotus

    WhiteLotus

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,570 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    865
    How many start up apps does it have? Kill a good few of those and see if it improves.

    Easiest way for me is to use CCleaner in the tools section they have a start-up where you can delete of disable stuff.
     
  15. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    11,835 (5.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,565
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    like 10 things. im not sure what to disable and what to keep


    It takes forever for MSE to start up
     
  16. WhiteLotus

    WhiteLotus

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,570 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    865
    Well that is what google is for :D
    though if in doubt disable one thing at a time and see if you can still use the laptop just like before. If you can keep it disabled and move on to the next thing.

    Good one to disable would be Microsoft office, music software (iTunes/Zune launchers), audio software controls, any update programs, stuff that you use that sneaks in a start up command without you knowing.
     
  17. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    11,835 (5.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,565
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    okay i disabled like 5 more things

    It says windows defender starts up. should i disable that too??

    EDIT: runs quite a bit better. I think more ram will fix a lot of it. because its using 70% of the 1GB just in idle at the desktop
     
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2011
  18. WhiteLotus

    WhiteLotus

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,570 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    865
    If you have MSE then I don't see why not. As long as she doesn't visit the dirty back alleys of the internet getting a virus is becoming very rare.
     
  19. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    11,835 (5.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,565
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    no she doesnt. she uses the laptop for facebook and for doing business transaction stuff in her hair salon


    How would this affect performance. Her laptop can fit 4GB of ram. How would putting 4GB of ram and doing a fresh install of windows 7 64 bit do??
     
  20. rickss69

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,454 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    620
    Location:
    Rockvale TN (Not Australia)
    I would not throw money into a minimal laptop myself. If you want to try XP pm me and I will give you a DL link.
     
  21. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,604 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    London, UK
    fresh install of seven would do great!
    4GB of ram is acessive but it will speed it up in intensive programs rather than internet tasks, you can try using a lighter browser like Opera or Chrome which will make the internet appear MUCH quicker than firefox or IE
     
  22. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    11,835 (5.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,565
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    well im going to see what she wants to do. im not doing to downgrade to windows xp. im going to see if she would like to upgrade to 2GB of ram and maybe a fresh install of windows 7
     
  23. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    11,835 (5.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,565
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    yeah she uses Chrome

    alright i think i know what im going to do. Im going to charge her $50 for what ive done so far. Then ask her if she wants to upgrade the memory and go to windows 7. if she does then ill order the memory and get her windows 7 and then do my norm routine of backing up her system and installing windows 7 and 2GB of ram
     
  24. Thatguy New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    666 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    What does she do with this laptop ? What type of work or activity ? Maybe a linux distro or other alternate OS's would work fine if she is only facebook and web browsing.
     
  25. rickss69

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,454 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    620
    Location:
    Rockvale TN (Not Australia)
    ^ Excellent alternative. ;)
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)