1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Max x resolution of graphics attachments.

Discussion in 'Comments & Feedback' started by lemonadesoda, Sep 28, 2008.

  1. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,366 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    987
    Can we change the max x upload size of the various graphics formats, incl. .png and .gif to a typical screenshot resolution, ie. 1600 or 1680?

    Same goes for jpg. Can we limit it to 1600 or 1680 as well please. There have been a few "nasty" and huge photos >3000 that have been mammoth in size because users are not scaling or compressing their jpegs.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    32,791 (9.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16,528
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Size (in pixels) of the image is not what counts, the size (in KB/MB) is what counts. The vBulletin system re-sizes large images automatically to make it comfortable for even 1024x768 screens. The script however, re-sizes the image only after your browser cached it. If a person uses the code to link to large images, we can't place a size-specific restriction, as for our [URL=http://www.techpowerup.org/]image hosting service[/URL], as you can see, there's already a cap on the size (that's 2 MB per image):

    [IMG]http://img.techpowerup.org/080928/bta171.png

    What's more, the system has image re-size options right there, in case you have a 3000xZOMG px image and are lazy to manually re-size it. The software also maintains aspect ratio, so if you specify just the horiz / vert pixel count, it can accordingly stretch/skew your image. This lops down the image size (in KB) aswell.

    This however, is different from the image/file attach system the forum software comes with. The image hosting service is free for use by anyone, nothing specific to TPU community only, so we can't play "bad hosts" there :)

    It boils down to etiquette, really. It's upto the poster to realise, that the images used in the post could make several peoples' modems/routers cry. So I think beyond 1280x1024 px, you need convincing reasons to post pics with larger dimensions. (such as a chart..chips with tiny markings, etc). The size in KB/MB is the key. 10s of pics with > 500 KB /pic....now that's a put off. Thanks for sharing your concerns.
     
  3. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    23,253 (5.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,211
    Exactly what btarunr said. It isn't the number of pixels that matters, it is the size of the image, which is already limitted to 2MB.

    If you don't like the large images, might I suggest you uncheck this option:
    [​IMG]

    (and the picture also ilustrates our point that the number of pixels doesn't matter, it is the size in bytes that matters, and that is the only reason I made it that big)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  4. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,366 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    987
    In the advanced edit window, there is the paperclip, that will allow you to attach files ... or pictures. The limit is there. Going through the TPU image hosting service is cumbersome and adds a lot of extra steps (unless using TPU capture... not installed on all machines).

    Perhaps a BUTTON on the advanced edit dialog to jump straight to TPU hosting? Or link vBulletin attachment to TPU hosting? Maybe my workflow is wrong.

    THIS is where the vBulletin set up needs fixing:
     

    Attached Files:

    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (3.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,632
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    I asked about the same thing back in July in this thread but never got a reply from any mods or W1zz. I thought it would be a useful addition too.
     
  6. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    32,791 (9.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16,528
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    You can always click on the techPowerUp! menu (above the top Post Reply button), and right-click on Free Image Hosting to open in a new window/tab.
     
  7. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,366 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    987
    TPU should be a LEAN MACHINE
    What's all this nonsense about navigate there, click here, open a second browser window, nagivate north by north east, three steps backwards, turn around, wait until full moon, and look under the coconut tree, rubbish?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    32,791 (9.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16,528
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    For me it takes 5 seconds, to go from the quick reply box to the menu and open the image host site. There are no real advantages for me with this "lean machine" of yours :ohwell:

    When quick-replying there are no image upload options anyway. And it ends up being quicker (typing post + image host site) than if I were to type a full-on "post reply".
     
  9. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,366 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    987
  10. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    32,791 (9.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16,528
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    [​IMG]

    ^List of services offered by Techpowerup.

    Forums is one of them. This is as lean as it gets.
     
  11. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,366 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    987
    Theres a good button on the Quick Reply input box. The ABC spellcheck. I think everyone misses it (LOL) but its place is well placed. It isnt on some "open another browser instance, scroll to the top of the forum, use the dropdown, navigate to Free Image Hosting, click, etc."

    By the icon inster image should be "upload image" icon. This would open another browser window automatically to free image hosting page.

    BINGO.

    Lean.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    32,791 (9.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16,528
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    I don't know how many TPU users use MSIE, but MSIE (and browsers that are based on MSIE) are the only ones that support that button, and that too, using the IESpell application. Firefox, Safari, Opera, etc. don't support it. Anyway, this is a good idea...a link to the hosting page. Let's see how it works out.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)