• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Maximus V Extreme & i5 3570K issues.

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#26
reasoning? I figured since I have dual chips I cant really go wrong can I?
I suppose you could, but from what I can tell it's not gonna be the best for your memory, and 1309 is right now. I expect another update relatively soon, perhaps. At least, I hope so!

It's no problem to flash back, just use USBFlashBack, name the older BIOS properly, and it works fine.


But maybe it fixes Turbo for you...

OHHOHHOOOO!

That creates the VERY decisive question: when you update BIOS, it updates only the active CHIP of the TWO CHIPS? Right now I am unaware of what I did when I updated the BIOS. Theorically, I could be using an age old one, as I switched somewhere in the process....

checking....
Yes, you can choose which chip it boots from, other ROM should not be flashed.
 

fullinfusion

Vanguard Beta Tester
Joined
Jan 11, 2008
Messages
9,605 (2.65/day)
Likes
3,363
Processor I7-7700K
Motherboard Asus Z270 Maximus IX Code
Cooling Custom water plus another cooler
Memory Corsair Vengeance LED Red 4x8GB 32GB 3200MHz kit
Video Card(s) 2 x MSI RX Vega 56 and a single MSI RX Vega 64 in test rig
Storage 960 EVO/960 Pro M.2 nvme 250/1TB, Samsumg 850 evo 256/ WD 1TB blue
Display(s) Nexius 32" freesync 2 HDR
Case Corsair Obsidion 650D/ cardboard box
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 1300W
Mouse Mionix Naos 7000
Keyboard G15
Software Windows 10 Home
#27
reasoning? I figured since I have dual chips I cant really go wrong can I?
No you cant go wrong unless you flash the wrong chip lol...

Thats what I like about the duel bios chips... If you install a bios and dont like it and to top it off you cant flash back that's when the other chip comes in handy handy :toast:
 
Joined
Mar 24, 2010
Messages
4,574 (1.62/day)
Likes
918
Location
Independent in Imperialistic
System Name Oh the name!
Processor i7 7700K
Motherboard MSI Z270 Xpower
Cooling EK 360 Extreme
Memory 16Gb G.Skill TridentZ 3866
Video Card(s) nVidia 1080 Ti Flanders Edition
Storage 1 Intel PCIE SSD750, 2 Sam 840Evo 1TB SSD, WD Black 2TB, Toshiba 3TB
Display(s) Acer Predator X1 (32")
Case Rajintek Paean
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX860
Mouse Mad Catz Pro X
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software W10Pro
#28
I just
1) installed Ai suite only days old new version, seems fine... and.
2) this .14 BIOS.

Then I restarted to reflash the secondary BIOS chip and I was greeted with this messages:

iROG01 updating and then PC turned off. Documentation mentions iROG but nothing a Westerner could understand, lol
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2011
Messages
978 (0.43/day)
Likes
215
Location
coast ,melbourne
System Name THE MEDIAMACHINE
Processor i5-3570k
Motherboard Asus gene v z-77 matx.
Cooling Antec h20 620
Memory 2x4gb g.skill ripjaws z 2400
Video Card(s) h.i.s radeon 7950 reference 3 gb- hooray!!!
Storage samsung 128gb~830 ssd. samsung 500gb hdrive.
Display(s) 22 inch tele.
Case circa 1996 grey rat box with no sides front.until my own is finished
Audio Device(s) inbuilt creative.supreme effects 3
Power Supply thermaltake tt-500w
Software win 7 x64-
Benchmark Scores Coming soon
#29
Joined
Mar 24, 2010
Messages
4,574 (1.62/day)
Likes
918
Location
Independent in Imperialistic
System Name Oh the name!
Processor i7 7700K
Motherboard MSI Z270 Xpower
Cooling EK 360 Extreme
Memory 16Gb G.Skill TridentZ 3866
Video Card(s) nVidia 1080 Ti Flanders Edition
Storage 1 Intel PCIE SSD750, 2 Sam 840Evo 1TB SSD, WD Black 2TB, Toshiba 3TB
Display(s) Acer Predator X1 (32")
Case Rajintek Paean
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX860
Mouse Mad Catz Pro X
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software W10Pro
#30
BIOS 15 is out naAAUW ! ;)
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#31
I flashed 1408 the other day, havent had any problems so far, in fact my rigg seems to be more stable now as far as im aware?:eek::laugh::)
I had problems with this BIOS and both the Formula and the Extreme. Settings made in BIOS are not properly applied. At first I thought it was ram issue, close investigation after showed that the BIOS is not something I want running on my system, period. Turbo is not working correctly, either. On the Formula board, the IGP has become permanently enabled. I even tried re-flashing the BIOS on that board, pulling the BIOS chip, installing a different CPU...still IGP enabled.


I'll try this new one, but flashed over the 14xx BIOS. I will not pull the 0704 off the other chip, since it's working reasonably well.
 
Joined
Mar 24, 2010
Messages
4,574 (1.62/day)
Likes
918
Location
Independent in Imperialistic
System Name Oh the name!
Processor i7 7700K
Motherboard MSI Z270 Xpower
Cooling EK 360 Extreme
Memory 16Gb G.Skill TridentZ 3866
Video Card(s) nVidia 1080 Ti Flanders Edition
Storage 1 Intel PCIE SSD750, 2 Sam 840Evo 1TB SSD, WD Black 2TB, Toshiba 3TB
Display(s) Acer Predator X1 (32")
Case Rajintek Paean
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX860
Mouse Mad Catz Pro X
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software W10Pro
#32
with bios 14xx I had set a 44x multi and under Windows it turned out as 46x all the time, I set everything to auto or default in BIOS, and only the multi to 44x and still got 46x. Then I uninstalled AISuite, used Asus Unofficial Cleaner, and now it is working but not good, voltages are hard to control, EPU sometimes stops working. I think the BIOS devs are thinking only in 3rd gen processors now.
 

sneekypeet

Unpaid Babysitter
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,631 (5.77/day)
Likes
9,356
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#33
IDK Erixx I only ran the 3750K in mine and I don't see the issues you were describing in your log. Very possible this is geared to Gen3 though. Also still on the 12xx bios;)
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#34
IDK Erixx I only ran the 3750K in mine and I don't see the issues you were describing in your log. Very possible this is geared to Gen3 though. Also still on the 12xx bios;)
I did see the same as Erixx with both 3570k and 3770k, that's part of what I experienced, for sure. I can push the button and swap BIOSes and go back to that crap, any time. :p

Honestly, I think there is new UEFI base code, might be part of the problem, will have to give them a few versions to get it nicely sorted out.