1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Medion Rolls Out AMD-based Akoya Mini E1312 Netbook

Discussion in 'News' started by malware, Jul 6, 2009.

  1. malware New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    5,422 (1.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    954
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    AMD-based netbook offerings are not so widespread these days, but Medion's new Akoya Mini E1312 makes an exception. The Mini E1312 gets AMD Sempron 210U power-saving processor technology and ATI Radeon Xpress 1250 graphics instead of the usual Intel combo. It also has a 160GB hard disk, 1 GB DDR2 RAM, 6-cell battery with a 9-cell option, 1.3 MP webcam, and Bluetooth 2.1. In addition there are three USB 2.0 ports, an HDMI port, a 3-in-1 multi-format memory card reader, 802.11b/g/draft-n Wi-Fi and an Ethernet port. Finally, there is the netbook's display which is a 11.6-inch screen with 1366x768 native 16:9 resolution. The Medion Akoya Mini E1312 is running Microsoft Windows XP and will be available in black or white starting from 12 July, priced at £339.99 with a 3-year warranty.

    [​IMG]

    Source: Pocket-lint
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. iStink

    iStink New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    648 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    49
    how does it compare performance wise to the common intel atom setup?
     
  3. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (4.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    I was excited until I saw the X1250. I want an AMD netbook, but I want an upgrade over my current AMD laptop.. HD 3200 would've been awesome. My current one has X1250 and it doesn't play 3d games very well at all. The HD 3300 on my motherboard can play Left 4 Dead, Crysis and pretty much anything at the lowest/medium settings.
     
  4. a111087

    a111087

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,805 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    232
    Location:
    US
    lol, its a Netbook, not gaming laptop
     
    mdm-adph and lemonadesoda say thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,370 (1.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    991
    Could it be that (cr4ppy) medion has one of the best specced netbooks? If it has a matte screen and a decent trackpad, they are on to a winner. But would I buy a "medion"?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. Flyordie

    Flyordie New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,870 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Medion isn't bad... just unknown. A+ to Medion for coming up with this AMD Netbook.. The Sempron should outperform the Atom in most cases if the clockspeed is above 1.6Ghz.
     
  7. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (4.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    And? I'd still like having a decent graphic card.
     
  8. Flyordie

    Flyordie New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,870 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    btw- Shadow... the HD3300 on this board does 1.1Ghz. ;-)
     
  9. AlCabone New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    Messages:
    78 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Europe
    It is not an Atom competitor. It is a CULV competitor.
     
  10. Error 404

    Error 404

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,777 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    169
    Location:
    South Australia
    IIRC then pretty much any CPU based on "normal" architecture (superscalar, out-of-order execution...), as long as its clocked alright then it blows the Atom out of the water. Isn't the AMD netbook chip a 1 GHz K8 architecture based CPU? If thats the case then it'll most likely give the Atom a run for its money, and the X1250 should beat the crippled GMA950 any day.
    It looks like a very decent netbook, IMO.
     
  11. sideeffect New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2005
    Messages:
    81 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    This is 1 year to late. It doesn't need to compete with the Intel GMA 950 but rather the Nvidia ION which it can't.

    If they used the the HD3000 series then it would be a good alternative to a ION netbook. I hope we don't have to wait a year for those to come out though.

    AMD are being so slow to get their products out even though they have the technology this chipset is years old and the K8 architecture even older yet we only just get this now?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. mandis

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    96 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    The GMA950 doesn't even deserve to be called a graphics card, I have seen it on many systems ranging from netbooks to C2D laptops and it can't do 3d at all. In fact i'm pretty sure it's worse in 3d tasks than my 3dfx voodoo 2 from 1998! As for the X1250 it is "ok" for a netbook. I have a 15" HP laptop which has it along with a sempron 3800+ (2.2Ghz) and 2gigs of ram and i could play left4dead under XP without a problem. I doubt it would run Crysis though.
     
  13. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    4,328 (1.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    963
    Location:
    Australia
    Is this meant to be similar or compete with the Eee mini laptop/notebooks? and does it come with a Disc drive at all? (I cant see it saying it does)

    Also what is the price against a Eee? if this is alot cheaper then its a good idea i think, and also coming out with windows XP :rockout:

    This is going to sell like hotcakes if its sold in Aldi stores thats for sure.
     
  14. qwerty_lesh

    qwerty_lesh

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Messages:
    535 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Netbooks arent supposed to have Disc drives...
    if you want one that has one, Asus do have an eeepc model out now with one, even that is them contradicting the term netbook though.
     
    Melvis says thanks.
  15. cdawall

    cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    25,635 (6.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,859
    Location:
    Houston
    gateway has one of these too except its an athlon 64 and X1270
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  16. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,318 (6.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    Just an FYI, the 210U is a 1.5Ghz 15w cpu.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  17. wiak

    wiak

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,859 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    242
    Location:
    The Kingdom of Norway
    lol the radeon x1250 is miles ahead of gma950 and its not an competioner to ion, radeon hd 3200 that was released over a YEAR before ion is
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  18. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,662 (2.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    x1250? id take a gma-000
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  19. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    9,681 (2.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,163
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_hnOCUkbix0 ;)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU 10 Million points folded for TPU
  20. Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,234 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    397
    Can this run warcraft 3?
     
  21. mdm-adph

    mdm-adph

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,479 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    340
    Location:
    Your house.
    I'd imagine it could. Probably Quake 3, too. :p
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  22. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,480 (2.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,382

    I doubt it has any problems with Warcraft 3, Quake 3 runs on a P1 233MHz with a i740, so that runs fine too.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  23. mdm-adph

    mdm-adph

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,479 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    340
    Location:
    Your house.
    But what about Unreal '99? I'm going to have to see some independent testing before I'll believe it.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  24. mandis

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    96 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    or you could go for an ALTAIR 8800 which is in par if not a bit better than the Intel GMA...:laugh:
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)