1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

MEM temp. readings possible on gtx 460?

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by nesco1801, Nov 15, 2010.

  1. nesco1801 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Messages:
    53 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    So...

    Is it possible to read temperature on memory modules on NVidia 400 series, in particularly
    MSI gtx 460 hawk? Because these run pretty high freq. when OC-ed

    ATI had this way back on series 4000.
     
  2. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    16,596 (3.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17,122
    ati doesnt have memory temperature readings either.

    what you see in gpu-z on ati is the temperature of the memory controller area in the gpu silicon.

    an additional sensor called "pcb temp" shows the temperature of the temperature monitoring chip which is located somewhere on the board in varying locations. some other applications call this "memory temperature" which seems an inaccurate description. (yes i know pcb temperature is not 100% right either)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. nesco1801 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Messages:
    53 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    So NVidia's series 400 doesn't have any "memory controller area temperature" counterpart then? Or any other temp. sensor, besides so called "GPU temp" sensor?

    Peple were complaining that VRM area gets really hot on their gtx 460 HAWK's, and I'd like to see how much I'm endangering my card when OC-ing it.

    My card works perfectly happy with memory running at 1150 MHz, and I didn't even try to go further fearing I may burn it.
    Having a low-cost 500W PSU with passive PFC deepens my fears further :eek:
     
  4. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    16,596 (3.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17,122
    at least not as far as we know. but you get three gpu load sensors in return :)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. largon

    largon

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,786 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    435
    Location:
    Tre, Suomi Finland
    GDDR5 chips do have a on-die temp sensor in the spec (IIRC)... Would be really nice to have them readings accessible.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)