1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

memory and motherboard compatibility question

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by goldenry, Apr 28, 2007.

  1. goldenry New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I recently bought an Intel 965 Express Chipset MObo.
    This Mobo has these requirements for memory:

    Only DDR2-800 memory supporting JEDEC approved 1.8V operation with timings of 5-5-5 or 6-6-6 is supported on Intel Desktop Boards based on Intel 965 Express Chipsets. Any other timings or voltages above 1.8V are not supported and may result in memory initialization errors (indicated by three beeps when the system is powered on) or a no POST/no boot situation

    Soooo...i bought this memory:
    G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit
    Cas Latency 5
    Timing 5-5-5-15
    Voltage 1.8V - 2.0V

    Seems like it should work, but upon booting I get the 3 beeps and a black screen.

    So, is this not the right memory or could there be another reason my mobo is beeping 3 times? Does what channels I plug the memory into have anything to do with it?
    (note: I am a novice and have built one computer succesfully before)

    It seems to start booting correctly when I DO NOT have my windows install disc in the drive, but then it asks me to put in a boot disc, and then it beeps upon reboot.

    Thanks!!:)
     
  2. ex_reven New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    5,224 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    According the AMI beep code index (im not sure if thats what applies to you...but it seems the most relevant)

    If youve been trying to boot with both sticks of ram in, id suggest first trying to attempt booting with one 1gb stick. According to that error code quote it COULD have to do with which slot you have put your ram into. So id advise you trying to put just the one gig in, try booting with that one stick in all of the four slots. If that fails, then try the other stick. If neither work that pretty much rules out faulty ram (unless your REALLY unlucky).

    Can you get into BIOS??? Ive never heard of that memory restriction on the 965 boards...but seeing to as the RAM is listing to run on anywhere between
    you should check in BIOS to see if its on a higher than supported voltage.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. goldenry New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    getting closer

    I can't seem to get into the bios but...

    If I take out the second mem stick it starts booting up and eventually says:
    PXE-E61: Media test failure, check cable.
    Exiting Intel Boot Agent
    No bootable device - insert boot disk and press any key

    So, I put in the windows install disc.

    When it reboots it appears as if windows is starting to install, but eventually says it did not find any hard disk connected. So I've checked the connections on my SATA hard drive and tried to replace the power cables. still no luck in the computer recognizing the drive.

    So I'm running into one problem after another.

    Does the fact that removing the second mem stick lets the computer boot up mean that the second stick is bad? (computer wont start with only the second stick in it either

    I can't figure out why my hard drive isn't being recognized. Could it be a bad drive completely? and how could I check that?

    Thanks for the help.
    I've made a small step with figuring out how to get it to at least start with the advice you've offered so far.
     
  4. bretts31344

    bretts31344

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2006
    Messages:
    344 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    The second RAM stick is most likely bad. Try using Memtest86 to test the RAM sticks.

    Your hard drive is Sata correct? If so, you probably need a Raid driver disk (should come with your motherboard or be on the motherboard disk). When entering the Windows setup, press F6 to allow the setup to use the driver to read your SATA hard drive.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. ex_reven New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    5,224 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    not being able to get into bios is quite bad. Its really the foremost thing you should be aiming for (apart from hardware failure, which doesnt seem so likely)...

    If its saying theres no bootable device, try putting your hdd into another SATA port.
    Sometimes shoving it into anything other than SATA1 will stop it from bootng.
    Try changing the sata cable etc.

    Is your DVD/CD drive SATA? If so you may have to change the jumpers or something.
    Perhaps try the ram/hard drive in another system if possible.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)