• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Memory Settings In Bios (too many options)

Joined
Dec 29, 2008
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
  • OCZ part number:-OCZ2N800SR4GK
  • Module size and kit size:-4 GB 2x2GB
  • CPU model and rated speed:-AMD AM2 X2 6400+
  • Overclocked CPU speed:-200 Freq
  • Divider and FSB used:-16X
  • Motherboard and revision:-ECS KN3 SLI2 v.1
  • Motherboard Bios rev:-6.00 PG
  • Video card:-GeForece 7600
  • Power supply:-OCZ 700W
  • Operating System:-XP 64
  • CPU and System Cooling:-Zalman
  • CPU and System temps:-normal
  • Purchased at/on:-Newegg less than year
  • Country:-USA
  • Memory voltage:-2.1


There are just way too many setting in the memory right now not reading the optimum settings as is the CPU basically i think i'm under clocking them.


There's way more than just the cas, trcd, trp, tras in the bios

any help on what the settings should be??





Now the that's the CPU but the memory is a big problem.

It always defaults to DDR2 400 not DDR2 800

and here's exactly what it says right now with nothing changed.



and here's what's further down on that screen with more options.

what's the TRW TRTP etc???




I have more pics of the bios options in this folder:

http://s165.photobucket.com/albums/u72/cocacolaman_2007/Upgrade PC/

also here's a direct link to download the manual might help to see

all the settings in the bios.

thanks

http://www.ecs.com.tw/ECSWebSite/Do...ual&DetailDesc=&CategoryID=1&MenuID=6&LanID=9


I think I understand the CPU better now. I figured out how to change the voltage
and timings and understand that the 6400 can be overclocked but I am really
looking for stability. I am currently over clocking it to 3.3 GHZ instead of
the 3.2 GHZ which isn't anything, but it should be stable.

The main problem seems to be the memory. I was able to finally get it to
recognize it as DDR 2 800 instead of DDR2 400 but the timings are off.
Every time I try to change them manually I get error and won't boot.

I do have the voltage set to 2.1 v.






Currently have DDRII Timing Item set to auto cause once i
go in try to manually set the CAS, TRCD, TRP, and TRAS
it will not boot just get errors.

I need to know for the memory what the are the correct
settings for the following so I can get the memory to perform
correctly. Right now CPUZ reports the follwoing:

CAS at 6 when it should be 4 or 5
TRCD at 6 when it should be at 4
TRP at 6 when it should be at 4
TRAS at 18 when it should be at 15




The following are the options when I take if off of auto.

what are the proper settings for the follwoing:

TWTR Command Delay ? default set at 3 bus clocks
TRFCO for Dimmo ? default set at 75ns
TRFC1 for Dimm1 ? default set at 75ns
TRFC2 for Dimm2 ? default set at 75ns
TRFC3 FOr Dimm3 ? default set at 75ns
TWR?
TRTP?
TRC?
TCL?
TRCD?
TRRD?
TRP?
TRAS?
1t/2t ? default set to 2t
TRTW ? default set to auto
Async Latency ? default Set to Auto
 
Joined
Nov 1, 2008
Messages
3,619 (1.09/day)
Likes
935
Location
Vietnam
System Name Gaming System / Laptop / HTPC
Processor i5 8600K @4.6Ghz / i5 540m / i7 970
Motherboard Z370 Aorus Ultra Gaming / Acer / Shuttle sx58j3
Cooling CM Seidon 120 XL / Laptop Cooling / SE-903
Memory T Group Nighthawk (3000 MHz)/ 4GB DDR3 / 12gb DDR3
Video Card(s) Colorful 1080Ti / G210m / 7870XT
Storage 750G MX300 + 3TB HDDs / 250G Ultra II /250G 850 EVO
Display(s) Dell U2515H + Asus VX239H/ 15.6" Laptop Screen / 720p 42" Plasma TV
Case Cooler master HAF 922 / Laptop Case / Corsair Air 240
Audio Device(s) On Board Realtek
Power Supply Andyson N700 Titanium / Laptop Power / ACBell 700 W
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard CM Quickfire XT (Cherry MX Reds)
Software Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Firestrike = xxxxx Timespy = 9097 Heaven = xxxx
#3
Joined
Dec 29, 2008
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#4
Ok I got memset but doesn't help. Tried changing the settings in it and all it did was freeze the computuer. Had to reboot in safe mode and remove memset. It will read everything just don't use it to change things. I looked at that link but that did not help in the least.
 
Joined
Nov 1, 2008
Messages
3,619 (1.09/day)
Likes
935
Location
Vietnam
System Name Gaming System / Laptop / HTPC
Processor i5 8600K @4.6Ghz / i5 540m / i7 970
Motherboard Z370 Aorus Ultra Gaming / Acer / Shuttle sx58j3
Cooling CM Seidon 120 XL / Laptop Cooling / SE-903
Memory T Group Nighthawk (3000 MHz)/ 4GB DDR3 / 12gb DDR3
Video Card(s) Colorful 1080Ti / G210m / 7870XT
Storage 750G MX300 + 3TB HDDs / 250G Ultra II /250G 850 EVO
Display(s) Dell U2515H + Asus VX239H/ 15.6" Laptop Screen / 720p 42" Plasma TV
Case Cooler master HAF 922 / Laptop Case / Corsair Air 240
Audio Device(s) On Board Realtek
Power Supply Andyson N700 Titanium / Laptop Power / ACBell 700 W
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard CM Quickfire XT (Cherry MX Reds)
Software Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Firestrike = xxxxx Timespy = 9097 Heaven = xxxx
#5
k, sorry - the guy gives some good advice, try posting in the thread with a screenshot. try changing 1 setting at a time. and yes don't choose apply and save - just apply. Expect it to crash a lot. Start by lowering your performance setting by 1. slowly lower your tRas then slowly lower your tRfc - i got some good timings from my mem. i'll post a pic in a minute of my timings
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 1, 2008
Messages
3,619 (1.09/day)
Likes
935
Location
Vietnam
System Name Gaming System / Laptop / HTPC
Processor i5 8600K @4.6Ghz / i5 540m / i7 970
Motherboard Z370 Aorus Ultra Gaming / Acer / Shuttle sx58j3
Cooling CM Seidon 120 XL / Laptop Cooling / SE-903
Memory T Group Nighthawk (3000 MHz)/ 4GB DDR3 / 12gb DDR3
Video Card(s) Colorful 1080Ti / G210m / 7870XT
Storage 750G MX300 + 3TB HDDs / 250G Ultra II /250G 850 EVO
Display(s) Dell U2515H + Asus VX239H/ 15.6" Laptop Screen / 720p 42" Plasma TV
Case Cooler master HAF 922 / Laptop Case / Corsair Air 240
Audio Device(s) On Board Realtek
Power Supply Andyson N700 Titanium / Laptop Power / ACBell 700 W
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard CM Quickfire XT (Cherry MX Reds)
Software Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Firestrike = xxxxx Timespy = 9097 Heaven = xxxx
#7
You got a AMD system - soz, don;t know much about the mem timings - post in the thread with a screenshot mullered or JrRacingFan will have some good advice.
 

DaMulta

My stars went supernova
Joined
Aug 3, 2006
Messages
16,159 (3.90/day)
Likes
1,416
Location
Oklahoma T-Town
System Name Work in progress
Processor AMD 955---4Ghz
Motherboard MSi GD70
Cooling OcZ Phase/water
Memory Crucial2GB kit (1GBx2), Ballistix 240-pin DIMM, DDR3 PC3-16000
Video Card(s) CrossfireX 2 X HD 4890 1GB OCed to 1000Mhz
Storage SSD 64GB
Display(s) Envision 24'' 1920x1200
Case Using the desk ATM
Audio Device(s) Sucky onboard for now :(
Power Supply 1000W TruePower Quattro
#8
Try one setting at a time and run this program to see if it passes
http://hcidesign.com/memtest/

Then after you get as low as you can go test for 12 hours or so and see if you can pass. If so your gold.



This is as low as I can go and pass my test.




Oh and you see my speed? It's math of x 2 then you get = speed 900 x 2= 1800Mhz
 
Joined
Jul 18, 2008
Messages
2,866 (0.83/day)
Likes
697
Location
South Carolina
System Name KILLER
Processor Intel Core i7 4770K
Motherboard MSI Z87 G45 Gaming
Cooling Water Cooling
Memory 2x4GB Gskill 2400mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780TI
Storage SSD Kingston 240GB
Display(s) 24" Asus 144hz
Case Cooler Master HAF
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Platinum
Power Supply Antec 1200 Watt Modular
Software Windows 7 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Vantage 51342
#9
Set your dram freq. to 500 and timings to 5-5-5-15 @2.2 volts and see what you get!!
 

DaMulta

My stars went supernova
Joined
Aug 3, 2006
Messages
16,159 (3.90/day)
Likes
1,416
Location
Oklahoma T-Town
System Name Work in progress
Processor AMD 955---4Ghz
Motherboard MSi GD70
Cooling OcZ Phase/water
Memory Crucial2GB kit (1GBx2), Ballistix 240-pin DIMM, DDR3 PC3-16000
Video Card(s) CrossfireX 2 X HD 4890 1GB OCed to 1000Mhz
Storage SSD 64GB
Display(s) Envision 24'' 1920x1200
Case Using the desk ATM
Audio Device(s) Sucky onboard for now :(
Power Supply 1000W TruePower Quattro
#10
Try 3-3-3-10 and see if it will run at 2.2v or 2.3v

I've ran DDR2 like that way to many times:)