• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Memory type unknown after flashing bios

w1cked

New Member
Joined
Feb 13, 2018
Messages
5 (0.04/day)
Likes
2
#1
Hello,

I have an issue with my GTX Strix 1080 (STRIX-GTX1080-A8G-GAMING) after flashing vbios. Memory type is "Unknown" according to GPU-Z and my memory clock is locked to 405 Mhz. (see pictures in attachment)

I already tried to revert to original bios (86.04.17.00.E3) but it does not fix the problem.

Does anyone have an idea of how to fix this problem ?

For information, one thread is already open here : http://www.overclockers.com/forums/...own-after-flashing-bios?p=8055676#post8055676

Thank you in advance,
 

Attachments

Last edited:
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
1,922 (0.74/day)
Likes
949
Location
Mainland Britain
System Name H2o Box
Processor Intel(R) Xeon e5-2690 v2 Stock 3.0 GHz @ 3.399
Motherboard MSI X79A-G43 Plus (MS-7760) v3
Cooling CPU EK Block & Phobya G-Changer 360 V2.0 RAD H2o VGA "AlphaCool M18" Hybrid
Memory Gskill TridentX 16Gb 8-9-9-24 2T @ 1866Mhz [locked]
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080ti AMP EXTREME
Storage HyperX Fury 120GB & Savage 480GB SSD, Seagate 250GB,250GB 7200rpm Kingston 64GB SSD
Display(s) Panasonic GT30 46'' 1080p 3D HDTV [Custom Resolution 4096*2304]
Case Corsair O-800D
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Be Quiet! [Dark Power Pro 11] 1200W CM replaced [7-4-2017]
Mouse Asus ROG
Keyboard Microsoft Digital Media 1.0A
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit v 1803 / OS[build 17134.48]
#2
Hi

Welcome to TPU

I already tried to revert to original bios (86.04.17.00.E3) but it does not fix the problem.
Confirm this was a copy of the original Vbios from the vga card [Yes/No]

Question: what version of NVFlash ?

Have tried reinstalling driver!

atb

Law-II
 
Last edited:

w1cked

New Member
Joined
Feb 13, 2018
Messages
5 (0.04/day)
Likes
2
#3
The gpu is working but it is never going above 405 Mhz, even in game or under heavy load it remains stuck @405Mhz.

I tried to reflash using NVIDIA NVFlash 5.427.0 with bios https://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/...80-8192-160630. (I also tried some STRIX OC bios : https://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/...1B80-1043-8594) but same result.

I also tried to reinstall newest driver using DDU.

I'd like to understand why my gpu is not capable of going above 405Mhz and if it is related to some memory issue.

My MoBo is : Gigabyte Z370 Aorus Gaming 7 / Proc : i7 8700k.
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
12,355 (4.00/day)
Likes
6,904
Location
Ohio
System Name Daily Driver
Processor 7960X 4.5GHz 16c/16t 1.17V
Motherboard MSI XPower Gaming Titanium
Cooling MCR320 + Kuplos Kryos NEXT CPU block
Memory GSkill Trident Z 4x8 GB DDR4 3600 MHz CL16
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 FTW3
Storage 512GB Patriot Hellfire, 512GB OCZ RD400, 640GB Caviar Black, 2TB Caviar Green
Display(s) 27" Acer Predator 2560x1440 144hz IPS + Yamakasi 27" 2560x1440 IPS
Case Thermaltake P5
Power Supply EVGA 750W Supernova G2
Benchmark Scores Faster than most of you! Bet on it! :)
#4
Just wondering how many forums are you going to ask this question at? I see three so far. :)

I would consider linking those threads at each site so as not to waste people's time giving answers that have already been mentioned at other sites.

Generally, I would stick with one, knowledgeable site so as not to waste volunteer's time...as an exmaple, we went over all of this at OCF already....and already answered the question of 'why your GPU is now not capable of going above 405 Mhz and if its related to some memory issue'
http://www.overclockers.com/forums/...own-after-flashing-bios?p=8055676#post8055676
 

w1cked

New Member
Joined
Feb 13, 2018
Messages
5 (0.04/day)
Likes
2
#5
Sorry I just want to maximize my chance of having an useful answer to get this problem fixed.

Could not know that the same people is using three different forums. Otherwise, what is the point of having 3 different forums...

Thank you for your time anyway..
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
12,355 (4.00/day)
Likes
6,904
Location
Ohio
System Name Daily Driver
Processor 7960X 4.5GHz 16c/16t 1.17V
Motherboard MSI XPower Gaming Titanium
Cooling MCR320 + Kuplos Kryos NEXT CPU block
Memory GSkill Trident Z 4x8 GB DDR4 3600 MHz CL16
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 FTW3
Storage 512GB Patriot Hellfire, 512GB OCZ RD400, 640GB Caviar Black, 2TB Caviar Green
Display(s) 27" Acer Predator 2560x1440 144hz IPS + Yamakasi 27" 2560x1440 IPS
Case Thermaltake P5
Power Supply EVGA 750W Supernova G2
Benchmark Scores Faster than most of you! Bet on it! :)
#6
The point is etiquette and has nothing to do with the same people using the same forums. I didn't find out you did this by going here. ;)

At any forum, people are using their spare time, unpaid, to help people with questions. If you are going to cross post the same question to multiple forums, you should at least mention it in the first post and link the other threads so the people can look and see what was said before and if there is anything to add. Otherwise, you will get multiple volunteers answering you in mostly the same manner as other sites.

.........and why did you double post????
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
12,355 (4.00/day)
Likes
6,904
Location
Ohio
System Name Daily Driver
Processor 7960X 4.5GHz 16c/16t 1.17V
Motherboard MSI XPower Gaming Titanium
Cooling MCR320 + Kuplos Kryos NEXT CPU block
Memory GSkill Trident Z 4x8 GB DDR4 3600 MHz CL16
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 FTW3
Storage 512GB Patriot Hellfire, 512GB OCZ RD400, 640GB Caviar Black, 2TB Caviar Green
Display(s) 27" Acer Predator 2560x1440 144hz IPS + Yamakasi 27" 2560x1440 IPS
Case Thermaltake P5
Power Supply EVGA 750W Supernova G2
Benchmark Scores Faster than most of you! Bet on it! :)
#8
You can just as easily do it now by editing in the threads into the first post. :)
 
Top