• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Memtest64 crashes on start if i use maximum

ImAsleep

New Member
Joined
Oct 3, 2018
Messages
1 (0.06/day)
Likes
0
#1
When i start memtest on maximum my pc crashes at start am i an idiot becouse i think it uses the ram that windows was using so i lowered it and it was using 97% ram and i didnt get any error for 2 hours
8gb ddr4 2666mhz 1.350v
ryzen 1600 oc 3.7ghz 1.2625v
 
Last edited:

sneekypeet

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
25,591 (5.59/day)
Likes
10,601
System Name His
Processor Intel i9 7920X
Motherboard Asus Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H150i PRO RGB
Memory G.Skill TridentZ RGB 32GB @ 3600MHz
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080ti SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case Cooler Master Cosmos C700P (Inverted Layout)
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony Receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#2
If you look at other threads in this section, I am pretty sure some has to be left for the OS to use, and this is typical behavior.
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
10,443 (2.22/day)
Likes
4,300
Location
Manchester, NH
System Name Working on it ;)
Processor I7-4790K (Stock speeds right now)
Motherboard MSI Z97 U3 Plus
Cooling Be Quiet Pure Rock Air
Memory 16GB 4x4 G.Skill CAS9 2133 Sniper
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE Vega 64 (Non Reference)
Storage Samsung EVO 500GB / 8 Different WDs / QNAP TS-253 8GB NAS with 2x2Tb WD Black
Display(s) 34" LG 34CB88-P 21:9 Curved UltraWide QHD (3440*1440) *FREE_SYNC*
Case Rosewill Challenger
Audio Device(s) Onboard + HD HDMI
Power Supply Corsair HX750 (love it)
Mouse Logitech G5
Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB & G610 Orion Red
Software Win 10 upgraded from Win 7 Pro
#3
If you look at other threads in this section, I am pretty sure some has to be left for the OS to use, and this is typical behavior.
Wouldn't it be better to use Memtest boot disc or USB? That's how I've done it. Also, I find it hard to believe that windows would let it stomp on memory reserved for windows.
 

sneekypeet

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
25,591 (5.59/day)
Likes
10,601
System Name His
Processor Intel i9 7920X
Motherboard Asus Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H150i PRO RGB
Memory G.Skill TridentZ RGB 32GB @ 3600MHz
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080ti SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case Cooler Master Cosmos C700P (Inverted Layout)
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony Receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#4
Wouldn't it be better to use Memtest boot disc or USB? That's how I've done it. Also, I find it hard to believe that windows would let it stomp on memory reserved for windows.
For advanced users, sure, but this is posted under W1zzards OS bound version of software ;)
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
10,443 (2.22/day)
Likes
4,300
Location
Manchester, NH
System Name Working on it ;)
Processor I7-4790K (Stock speeds right now)
Motherboard MSI Z97 U3 Plus
Cooling Be Quiet Pure Rock Air
Memory 16GB 4x4 G.Skill CAS9 2133 Sniper
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE Vega 64 (Non Reference)
Storage Samsung EVO 500GB / 8 Different WDs / QNAP TS-253 8GB NAS with 2x2Tb WD Black
Display(s) 34" LG 34CB88-P 21:9 Curved UltraWide QHD (3440*1440) *FREE_SYNC*
Case Rosewill Challenger
Audio Device(s) Onboard + HD HDMI
Power Supply Corsair HX750 (love it)
Mouse Logitech G5
Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB & G610 Orion Red
Software Win 10 upgraded from Win 7 Pro
#5
Joined
Oct 26, 2005
Messages
407 (0.09/day)
Likes
359
#6
It should work just fine even within Windows. If the OS left without memory, the system would be non-responsive, and trash the disk by paging the memory. Complete PC crash is unusual. MemTest86 is useless, it just scan the memory chips for physical errors. Lack of voltage or wrong timings likely to go undetected. MemTest64 does parallel testing and more likely to catch all kind of errors even with 3 percent of the RAM used by the OS.
 
Joined
Jun 15, 2016
Messages
382 (0.45/day)
Likes
158
System Name My PC
Processor 4670K@4.4GHz
Motherboard Gryphon Z87
Cooling CM 212
Memory 2x8GB+2x4GB @2400GHz
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon RX 580 GTS Black Edition 1425MHz OC+, 8GB
Storage Intel 530 SSD 480GB + Intel 510 SSD 120GB + 2x500GB hdd raid 1
Display(s) HP envy 32 1440p
Case CM Mastercase 5
Audio Device(s) Sbz Zxr
Power Supply Antec 620W
Mouse G502
Keyboard G910
Software Win 10 pro
#7
For memory testing use hct mem test 1 instance per core/thread for example: 8GB RAM 4 core cpu 4 instances with 1.5GB each and leave it 10 cycles ie 1000%, memtest it's outdated and can't find errors/instability which hct finds in 15-30 min.
 
Top