• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Metro 2033

Black Panther

Senior Moderator™
Staff member
Joined
May 30, 2007
Messages
8,957 (2.33/day)
Likes
2,166
System Name Great White Bengal
Processor i7 930 @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R
Cooling Scythe Yasya
Memory 12GB (3 x 4GB DDR3 Geil Black Dragon)
Video Card(s) Zotac 670 4GB
Storage eSata Seagate 2TB -- 240GB SSD Sandisk Extreme
Display(s) 27" 2560x1440 Dell U2711
Case NZXT Switch 810 White
Audio Device(s) Onboard sound & Z5500 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair 850W Gold
Mouse Asus ROG Sica
Keyboard Motospeed
Software Windows 10
Is this game very cpu intensive as well?

I'm sure my 5970 will cope, but then I've only got an E8400 (albeit at 4Ghz) and 4GB RAM...
 
Joined
May 21, 2009
Messages
4,966 (1.59/day)
Likes
1,511
System Name i7-PC / HTPC / iMac
Processor i7 3820 / Phenom II 940
Motherboard GIGABYTE G1.ASSASSIN2 / M3A79-T Deluxe
Cooling Corsair Hydro H100i / Scythe II (HS only)
Memory G.SKILL Trident X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3 1600mhz / 4GB DDR2 1066 (@800) Corsair Dominator
Video Card(s) GB Radeon HD 7950s 3GB / GB Radeon HD 7950s 3GB
Storage 2x 80GB Intel X-25, 2x600gb SATA, 1x1tb 5400RPM storage /1x600GB, 3x500GB,1x160,1x120 SATA
Display(s) 1x 27" Yamakasi / Vizio 42" HDTV
Case Lian Li Lancool PC-K58 / Antec 900
Audio Device(s) HT Omega Striker 7.1 / Onboard and HDMI from ATi Card
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling 750W / 610W
Software Ubuntu / Windows 8.1 Pro / OS X / PHPStorm / Gaming
will be nice to see if it makes a differnce with 8 gig cause my other 4 will be here in a few days, so i will pop them in and see if it helps any. probably will abit with my setup cause mine is not very good compared to yyour i7 rigs,
hey guys iam currious as to where my rig compares with your i7 setups on a scale of 1-10 were would mine rate at?
i actually don't know much about other intels, this is my first jump from AMD in a decade.

I have to say though, a Q9650 at almost 4ghz is damn good... the only thing I may have on you is the QPI, but even with that - if your scale is i7 at ten and where do you rate? probably 8 or so, even more. very close.
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2008
Messages
877 (0.25/day)
Likes
63
Location
canada
System Name family system
Processor intel quad core Q9650 o/c'ed to 4.1
Motherboard gigabyte EP45T-USB3P ( new board)
Cooling custom cpu and gpu cooling
Memory 8 gig G.Skills RipJaws @ 7,8,7,24,@1440mhz
Video Card(s) HD5870 SAPPHIRE 1018@1310at1.29v on water
Storage 750 gig sata 7500rpm X2 seagate barracuda
Display(s) acer 22.5 lcd
Case Antec 600
Audio Device(s) 7.1 internal, soon to be auzentech x-fi forte
Power Supply thermaltake 850 watt modular (new version, single rail)
Software Windows 7, 64 ult.
Benchmark Scores vantage E47428 3DMARK06 23290 needs updateing
ok made it out of the catacombs,had to reload that level as i needed that other guy with me, I realy like this game lol
 
Joined
Jun 17, 2007
Messages
7,325 (1.91/day)
Likes
995
Location
C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
System Name Unknown
Processor AMD Bulldozer FX8320 @ 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V
Cooling XSPC Raystorm 750 EX240 for CPU
Memory 8 GB CORSAIR Vengeance Red DDR3 RAM 1922mhz (10-11-9-27)
Video Card(s) XFX R9 290
Storage Samsung SSD 254GB and Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s
Display(s) AOC 23" @ 1920x1080 + Asus 27" 1440p
Case HAF X
Audio Device(s) X Fi Titanium 5.1 Surround Sound
Power Supply 750 Watt PP&C Silencer Black
Software Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
Ok beat it oh high DX9 getting 40 to 75 FPS. Now back to god of war.
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,380 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,023
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
Ok beat it oh high DX9 getting 40 to 75 FPS. Now back to god of war.
So it's all pretty linear isn't it? I was hoping for more free roaming. :ohwell:
 

DirectorC

New Member
Joined
Nov 4, 2009
Messages
1,624 (0.55/day)
Likes
267
Location
Florizy
System Name -= Son of a Whore =-
Processor E8400 @ 4.0GHz (445 x 9)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3R
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+
Memory 3GB Corsair XMS2
Video Card(s) EVGA 8800 GT 512
Storage 74GB Raptor + Caviars in RAID0
Display(s) I-Inc 19" LCD 1440x900
Audio Device(s) Audigy SE & Logitech X-540
Power Supply Corsair 750TX
Software Win32 v6.1.7600
Benchmark Scores Logitech KB & Sidewinder X3
Wow this is the new Crysis as far as load generated huh?!

That just looks so damn stunning. Me wantz.
 

PEPE3D

New Member
Joined
Feb 12, 2009
Messages
44 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Location
NJ, USA
System Name PEPE3D-Custom Built
Processor Intel QX9650 OC @4.02 GHz
Motherboard Asus Maximus II Formula P45
Cooling CoolIT Systems Freezone Elite TEC CPU Cooler with MTEC
Memory Corsair PC-8500 8GB 1066
Video Card(s) Daimond 4870x2 2GB XOC X two CF
Storage C:\Kingston ssdNowV+ series 128 GB(SNVP325-S2B)
Display(s) Samsung 244T 24" 1920x1200
Case Coolermaster HAF-932
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Champion
Power Supply Ultra X 1600 wattts
Software Windows 7 Pro 64 bit Edition
Benchmark Scores 3DMARK 06(24,507)3DMARK VANTAGE(20,587)
I started playing this game today and I think is OK. Graphics are nice real nice. I am playing it at 1920x1200 all eye candy maxed out. FPS 40 to 87. I am still using these Diamond XOC 4870x2 2GB GDDR5 in CF and loving it. I have played almost every new game that had came out since I got them in the fall of 2008. No matter what I play I get great FPS. I think I hold on these puppies until ATI comes out with new cards after 5970, maybe using 32nm GPU's. By the way I run these card clock @850MHz and Memory clock @1000 MHz and water cooled. Idle temp28~32C after playing 5 hrs 39 to 43C depending on the game. Never problems, well build cards. Awesome cards.
 
Joined
Jun 17, 2007
Messages
7,325 (1.91/day)
Likes
995
Location
C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
System Name Unknown
Processor AMD Bulldozer FX8320 @ 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V
Cooling XSPC Raystorm 750 EX240 for CPU
Memory 8 GB CORSAIR Vengeance Red DDR3 RAM 1922mhz (10-11-9-27)
Video Card(s) XFX R9 290
Storage Samsung SSD 254GB and Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s
Display(s) AOC 23" @ 1920x1080 + Asus 27" 1440p
Case HAF X
Audio Device(s) X Fi Titanium 5.1 Surround Sound
Power Supply 750 Watt PP&C Silencer Black
Software Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
So it's all pretty linear isn't it? I was hoping for more free roaming. :ohwell:
Yeah although I have to admit I tried to rush through it. There were areas where you could stay and do a lil more exploring (I would think) but I just decided to keep on going towards the main objective.
 
Joined
Apr 30, 2008
Messages
4,315 (1.23/day)
Likes
1,015
Location
Multidimensional
System Name Derp!
Processor i7 7700 @ 4.2Ghz Turbo On
Motherboard Gigabyte B250 Phoenix Wifi ITX Motherboard
Cooling Noctua NH-L9i LP Cooler || Cooler Master Fan Pro RGB 120mm x 2
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400mhz RAM
Video Card(s) AMD Reference RX 480 8GB
Storage 250GB SS 960 Evo M.2 || WD Blue 500GB SSD || 2TB SG FC SSHD
Display(s) Hisense 1080p Smart LED HDTV 40inch
Case Fractal Node 202 Mini ITX Case
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD Audio / HDMI Audio Via GPU
Power Supply Corsair SFX 600W PSU
Mouse CoolerMaster Masterkeys Lite L RGB Mouse
Keyboard CoolerMaster Masterkeys Lite L RGB Mem-Chanical Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home 64bit
Benchmark Scores Later
Does anyone know if this game is actually using all available CPU cores, meaning a quad core?
 

DirectorC

New Member
Joined
Nov 4, 2009
Messages
1,624 (0.55/day)
Likes
267
Location
Florizy
System Name -= Son of a Whore =-
Processor E8400 @ 4.0GHz (445 x 9)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3R
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+
Memory 3GB Corsair XMS2
Video Card(s) EVGA 8800 GT 512
Storage 74GB Raptor + Caviars in RAID0
Display(s) I-Inc 19" LCD 1440x900
Audio Device(s) Audigy SE & Logitech X-540
Power Supply Corsair 750TX
Software Win32 v6.1.7600
Benchmark Scores Logitech KB & Sidewinder X3
Does anyone know if this game is actually using all available CPU cores, meaning a quad core?
"Interview with Metro 2033 crew about Technology in the game

games.on.net: Does your game takes advantage of multiple CPU cores?

Olez: Yes, it was a decision way, way before the engine was even in prototype. It was multithreaded from the start.


games.on.net: So if I go from a dual to quad core, what performance increase can I expect?

Olez: If you are not bottlenecked by the video card, we have linear scaling – so double the performance. This goes all the way up to eight and sixteen cores."

http://games.on.net/article/7836/Metro_2033_-_Technical_QA
 

InnocentCriminal

Resident Grammar Amender
Joined
Feb 21, 2005
Messages
6,477 (1.38/day)
Likes
844
System Name BeeR 6
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K*
Motherboard ASUS Maximus V Gene (1155/Z77)
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 16GB Samsung Green 1600MHz DDR3**
Video Card(s) 4GB MSI Gaming X RX480
Storage 256GB Samsung 840 Pro SSD
Display(s) 27" Samsung C27F591FDU
Case Fractal Design Arc Mini
Power Supply Corsair HX750W
Software 64bit Microsoft Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores *@ 4.6GHz **@ 2133MHz
"Interview with Metro 2033 crew about Technology in the game

games.on.net: Does your game takes advantage of multiple CPU cores?

Olez: Yes, it was a decision way, way before the engine was even in prototype. It was multithreaded from the start.


games.on.net: So if I go from a dual to quad core, what performance increase can I expect?

Olez: If you are not bottlenecked by the video card, we have linear scaling – so double the performance. This goes all the way up to eight and sixteen cores."

http://games.on.net/article/7836/Metro_2033_-_Technical_QA
I definitely want to see some 980X results in this game then. Especially as the 980X can hit some freaking awesome speeds on air alone.

:D
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2007
Messages
7,043 (1.85/day)
Likes
863
Location
Sector ZZ₉ Plural Z Alpha
System Name УльтраФиолет
Processor Intel Kentsfield Q9650 @ 3.8GHz (4.2GHz highest achieved)
Motherboard ASUS P5E3 Deluxe/WiFi; X38 NSB, ICH9R SSB
Cooling Delta V3 block, XPSC res, 120x3 rad, ST 1/2" pump - 10 fans, SYSTRIN HDD cooler, Antec HDD cooler
Memory Dual channel 8GB OCZ Platinum DDR3 @ 1800MHz @ 7-7-7-20 1T
Video Card(s) Quadfire: (2) Sapphire HD5970
Storage (2) WD VelociRaptor 300GB SATA-300; WD 320GB SATA-300; WD 200GB UATA + WD 160GB UATA
Display(s) Samsung Syncmaster T240 24" (16:10)
Case Cooler Master Stacker 830
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro PCI-E x1
Power Supply Kingwin Mach1 1200W modular
Software Windows XP Home SP3; Vista Ultimate x64 SP2
Benchmark Scores 3m06: 20270 here: http://hwbot.org/user.do?userId=12313
So it's all pretty linear isn't it? I was hoping for more free roaming. :ohwell:
Yeah, it is pretty linear . . . I was a bit disappointed as well, hoping for more "roaming" here and there . . .

Although, there are some areas where you can do some exploring, and the game doesn't exactly "prod" you into moving further - but the maps are rather limited in their scope . . .
 
Joined
Jul 21, 2008
Messages
4,434 (1.29/day)
Likes
1,050
Location
Clifton Park, NY
System Name [Uber Noober Setup]
Processor [i7 3770K]
Motherboard [MSI P67A-G45(B3)]
Memory [32GB Corsair Vengeance (8GBx4)]
Video Card(s) [EVGA GTX 1080]
Storage [128GB OCZ VTX4 SSD, 2TB Internal HDD]
Display(s) [2x 27" ASUS at 1920x1080p - 1x 34" Samsung at 1440p]
Case [Coolermaster CM 690]
Audio Device(s) [X-Fi XtremeGamer]
Power Supply [CORSAIR 850W]
Software [Windows 10 64-Bit]
is the text all weird and jarbley for every1 else? i have periods and whatnot where letters should be in words.
 

tigger

I'm the only one
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
10,476 (2.44/day)
Likes
1,673
System Name Black to the Core MKIV
Processor Intel I7 6700k
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming socket 1151
Cooling NZXT Kraken X61 280mm radiator
Memory 2x8gb Corsair vengeance LPX 2400 DDR4
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon R9 290 4gb ddr5
Storage Patriot Blast 120gb ssd Boot and WD10EADX-22TDHB0 1TB Data
Display(s) Dell 2408WFP 24" 1920x1200
Case Nzxt IS 340
Audio Device(s) Asus xonar dsx pci-e
Power Supply Corsair CX750
Mouse Logitech G502
Software Win 10 Pro x64
I had the same problem,words mixed up or symbols in place of letters.
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2007
Messages
7,043 (1.85/day)
Likes
863
Location
Sector ZZ₉ Plural Z Alpha
System Name УльтраФиолет
Processor Intel Kentsfield Q9650 @ 3.8GHz (4.2GHz highest achieved)
Motherboard ASUS P5E3 Deluxe/WiFi; X38 NSB, ICH9R SSB
Cooling Delta V3 block, XPSC res, 120x3 rad, ST 1/2" pump - 10 fans, SYSTRIN HDD cooler, Antec HDD cooler
Memory Dual channel 8GB OCZ Platinum DDR3 @ 1800MHz @ 7-7-7-20 1T
Video Card(s) Quadfire: (2) Sapphire HD5970
Storage (2) WD VelociRaptor 300GB SATA-300; WD 320GB SATA-300; WD 200GB UATA + WD 160GB UATA
Display(s) Samsung Syncmaster T240 24" (16:10)
Case Cooler Master Stacker 830
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro PCI-E x1
Power Supply Kingwin Mach1 1200W modular
Software Windows XP Home SP3; Vista Ultimate x64 SP2
Benchmark Scores 3m06: 20270 here: http://hwbot.org/user.do?userId=12313
is the text all weird and jarbley for every1 else? i have periods and whatnot where letters should be in words.
Haven't noticed . . . but I don't have subtitles on, either.
 
Joined
May 21, 2009
Messages
4,966 (1.59/day)
Likes
1,511
System Name i7-PC / HTPC / iMac
Processor i7 3820 / Phenom II 940
Motherboard GIGABYTE G1.ASSASSIN2 / M3A79-T Deluxe
Cooling Corsair Hydro H100i / Scythe II (HS only)
Memory G.SKILL Trident X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3 1600mhz / 4GB DDR2 1066 (@800) Corsair Dominator
Video Card(s) GB Radeon HD 7950s 3GB / GB Radeon HD 7950s 3GB
Storage 2x 80GB Intel X-25, 2x600gb SATA, 1x1tb 5400RPM storage /1x600GB, 3x500GB,1x160,1x120 SATA
Display(s) 1x 27" Yamakasi / Vizio 42" HDTV
Case Lian Li Lancool PC-K58 / Antec 900
Audio Device(s) HT Omega Striker 7.1 / Onboard and HDMI from ATi Card
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling 750W / 610W
Software Ubuntu / Windows 8.1 Pro / OS X / PHPStorm / Gaming
I have them on and have not noticed that at all.
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2007
Messages
3,833 (1.00/day)
Likes
594
System Name Medusa
Processor i7 2600k @4.8ghz
Motherboard Asus P8P67 Pro
Cooling CPU : Noctua NH-L12 GPU: EK FC 1080 via Magicool 360 III PRO > Photon 170 (D5)
Memory 8gb Corsair XMS DDR3 @1600mhz
Video Card(s) GTX 1080 FE
Storage Vertex 4 256 /Crucial C300 256/ Hitachi 2TB 2x
Display(s) Tempest X270OC @ 120hz / LG W3000h
Case Fractal Define S [Antec Skeleton hanging in hall of fame]
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar Xense with AKG K612 cans on Monacor SA-100
Power Supply Seasonic X-850
Mouse Razer Naga 2014
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores FFXIV ARR Benchmark 1600p score 12,098[this means nothing any more!]
One thing I noticed, especially when you get to the front lines on the tracks between the Reds and the Reich, is that you can't really play the game like a fast shooter, especially with the difficulty turned up. And unlike most games the pace isn't so awfully frantic, that you have no idea what's going on ;coughCODcough;. Additionally, enemies don't always boom headshot you while you're in complete cover. I do admit, that sometimes they have pretty good vision in the dark, but I often find after they are dead, that they had vision goggles on.

So all in all, you actually get to use stealth and cover to your advantage, and it feels good spending fifteen or more minutes clearing out a semi large area, because you were tactical.

I also after a while started to forget about mutants. The game felt like some trench war battle but in tunnels instead.

I do have to say though, that a lack of a lean function, as well as a prone/crawl really hurts the gameplay. I'm glad they didn't go with some third person view 'duck and cover' feature like Mass Effect 2, but still, lean/crawl would have taken it up a notch.
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2009
Messages
9,767 (2.99/day)
Likes
1,779
Location
Suffolk/Essex, England
System Name Joseph's Laptop Clevo P771ZM
Processor 4970k @4/4.4ghz
Motherboard *shrugs*
Cooling About 2 kilos of copper fins and pipes.
Memory 2x 8gb
Video Card(s) GTX 970m 6gb
Storage 500gb Msata SSD 2x 2TB storage drives
Display(s) Built in
Power Supply 300w power brick
Mouse Steam controller
Software Windows ten
#


You realise that's intentional right?

War is hectic as hell, gun fights between two groups are especially hectic.
 

[crs]

New Member
Joined
Mar 18, 2010
Messages
20 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
System Name Wish I went for a Socket 1366
Processor Intel i7 860 @ 3.36GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-P55-UD4 (Bios update fixed restart issue)
Cooling CPU: Xigmatek Scorpian. GPU: Accelero Xtreme GTX Pro.
Memory G.Skill [ Ripjaws ] 2000MHz (8gb)
Video Card(s) BFG GTX 275 OCX (Stable now ^^)
Storage WD 500gb SATA (soon to be x2)
Display(s) Sony 40"
Case Xigmatek Midgard
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar D2X PCi-E
Power Supply Corsair HX1000W
Software Windows 7 Professional 64
Completed it in 13.8 hrs according to steam lol. Very enjoyable, had to play it at 1600x900, with settings only at high, DX9 and the lowest AF settings just to get it to run so that i wouldnt notice slow down or mouse lag lol. Overall sweet game, short but good
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2007
Messages
7,043 (1.85/day)
Likes
863
Location
Sector ZZ₉ Plural Z Alpha
System Name УльтраФиолет
Processor Intel Kentsfield Q9650 @ 3.8GHz (4.2GHz highest achieved)
Motherboard ASUS P5E3 Deluxe/WiFi; X38 NSB, ICH9R SSB
Cooling Delta V3 block, XPSC res, 120x3 rad, ST 1/2" pump - 10 fans, SYSTRIN HDD cooler, Antec HDD cooler
Memory Dual channel 8GB OCZ Platinum DDR3 @ 1800MHz @ 7-7-7-20 1T
Video Card(s) Quadfire: (2) Sapphire HD5970
Storage (2) WD VelociRaptor 300GB SATA-300; WD 320GB SATA-300; WD 200GB UATA + WD 160GB UATA
Display(s) Samsung Syncmaster T240 24" (16:10)
Case Cooler Master Stacker 830
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro PCI-E x1
Power Supply Kingwin Mach1 1200W modular
Software Windows XP Home SP3; Vista Ultimate x64 SP2
Benchmark Scores 3m06: 20270 here: http://hwbot.org/user.do?userId=12313
Completed it in 13.8 hrs according to steam lol. Very enjoyable, had to play it at 1600x900, with settings only at high, DX9 and the lowest AF settings just to get it to run so that i wouldnt notice slow down or mouse lag lol. Overall sweet game, short but good

I'm thinking the 14hr mark is going to be the avearage. I beat it in 14.2, and that was taking my time.

Running through it again for shits & giggles, trying to pick up the other achievements (simply for sense of "completion"), and then I'll be back to STALKER for a long while.

Damn, and I was thinking the other day . . . there's some sweet features in Metro that would be awesome in STALKER. The ability to put on and take off your gasmask at will - having to deal with mask filters . . . the sense of actual nightvision goggles and having to keep your batteries charged . . .
 
Joined
Feb 7, 2010
Messages
1,453 (0.51/day)
Likes
227
System Name 2K Gamer
Processor AMD 8370 @ 4.5GHZ
Motherboard ASUS Pro Gaming / Aura 970
Cooling Corsair H60 AIO
Memory 16GB G. Skill RipJaw @ 1600MHZ
Video Card(s) Zotac AMP! GTX 1070
Storage Samsung 600 Gig HDD (Raid 0 @ 7,500) / WD 1TB Blue @ 7,200 / PNY 128 GB SSD For Linux
Display(s) 27'' ASUS 144MHZ G-SYNC Read 1400p Gaming Monitor / 23'' LG LCD Flatron W2361VG 1080p @ 50,000:1
Case NZXT Source 530
Audio Device(s) Onboard 7.1 HD Realtek
Power Supply 750w Corsair HX
Mouse Cougar Gaming Mouse
Keyboard Saitek Eclipse
Software Windows 10 64bit Education Edition
HELP, anybody getting this error? It will let me play the game, but it won't let me fire any weapons or make me press ESC to teh main screen! .

 
Joined
Dec 8, 2008
Messages
1,334 (0.41/day)
Likes
163
I'm thinking the 14hr mark is going to be the avearage. I beat it in 14.2, and that was taking my time.

Running through it again for shits & giggles, trying to pick up the other achievements (simply for sense of "completion"), and then I'll be back to STALKER for a long while.

Damn, and I was thinking the other day . . . there's some sweet features in Metro that would be awesome in STALKER. The ability to put on and take off your gasmask at will - having to deal with mask filters . . . the sense of actual nightvision goggles and having to keep your batteries charged . . .
I have to disagree. These are pointless gimmicks like the car repair in FarCry 2, nothing more than routine chores.
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2009
Messages
9,767 (2.99/day)
Likes
1,779
Location
Suffolk/Essex, England
System Name Joseph's Laptop Clevo P771ZM
Processor 4970k @4/4.4ghz
Motherboard *shrugs*
Cooling About 2 kilos of copper fins and pipes.
Memory 2x 8gb
Video Card(s) GTX 970m 6gb
Storage 500gb Msata SSD 2x 2TB storage drives
Display(s) Built in
Power Supply 300w power brick
Mouse Steam controller
Software Windows ten
I have to disagree. These are pointless gimmicks like the car repair in FarCry 2, nothing more than routine chores.
Aye but depends on perspective really, to some it adds immersion.

I remember when you didn't even have ammo in games :laugh:
 

InnocentCriminal

Resident Grammar Amender
Joined
Feb 21, 2005
Messages
6,477 (1.38/day)
Likes
844
System Name BeeR 6
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K*
Motherboard ASUS Maximus V Gene (1155/Z77)
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 16GB Samsung Green 1600MHz DDR3**
Video Card(s) 4GB MSI Gaming X RX480
Storage 256GB Samsung 840 Pro SSD
Display(s) 27" Samsung C27F591FDU
Case Fractal Design Arc Mini
Power Supply Corsair HX750W
Software 64bit Microsoft Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores *@ 4.6GHz **@ 2133MHz
Hopefully we'll see some patches released to amend poor performance. I'm very surprised to see some people with i5/i7 rigs struggling to run this game (even in DX10).
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2009
Messages
2,143 (0.66/day)
Likes
312
System Name THE MAD BEAST!!!
Processor Tinfoil rapper with some coathangers
Motherboard Graham cracker with with frosting
Cooling A shovel full of snow
Memory Grey matter out of a corpse
Video Card(s) Cat eyes
Storage A whales brain
Display(s) Cyclops eyeball
Case Inside a yetis hollowed out corpse
Audio Device(s) howling banchee
Power Supply 32 hamster on a massive wheel
Software WHo needs software when you have a box of kittens
Benchmark Scores IS gatrillions a number?
Hopefully we'll see some patches released to amend poor performance. I'm very surprised to see some people with i5/i7 rigs struggling to run this game (even in DX10).
thats cause i5/17 are noobs, i run that bitch maxed oout no problem get that intel garbage out of here....But im just jealous cause i cant afford...wait ill refraise that...i wont spend that much money on a processor thats just mildy better then a amd for 400% more