• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Metro Exodus horrible performance

Joined
Mar 2, 2013
Messages
474 (0.21/day)
Likes
100
Location
st. louis missouri
Processor I7 2600k at 4.4 ghz
Motherboard Asus p8p67 deluxe
Cooling 5 case fans
Memory Gskill ripjaws 16 gb ddr3 1600 mghz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Windforce GTX 1070, back up card MSI GTX 970
Storage Adata 480 gb solid state drive, Seagate 2 tb solid state/mechanical hybrid shhd/1 tb hitachi hdd
Display(s) 55 inch 4k TV
Case Diypc vt 380
Power Supply 800 watt delta electronics 80 plus server grade psu
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G910
Software windows 10 64 bit and Windows 7 64 bit ultimate (dual boot)
#1
Hey guys, I just purchased Metro Exodus last night and low and behold the game runs like absolute garbage on my pc even on low.

My specs are a gtx 970, FX 8320 @ 3.8ghz and 16 gbs of ram.

Now I know my system is outdated especially the cpu, however this is the first modern game I have played that is unplayable on my pc.

I am getting 20 to 30 fps on low.

Is their anything I can try to improve performance?

Thank you.
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,852 (9.26/day)
Likes
18,853
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X WiFi
Cooling Water
Memory 32GB G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Storage SSD's
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake Core X5
Audio Device(s) SoundBlaster Zx
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse Finalmouse Pro
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Tournament Ed.
#2
You could try fiddling with some settings (make some higher) to put more load on the GPU as opposed to the CPU, but going by benchmarks you're not going to get much more out of it.
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
5,086 (2.44/day)
Likes
3,246
Location
USA
#3
Hey guys, I just purchased Metro Exodus last night and low and behold the game runs like absolute garbage on my pc even on low.

My specs are a gtx 970, FX 8320 @ 3.8ghz and 16 gbs of ram.

Now I know my system is outdated especially the cpu, however this is the first modern game I have played that is unplayable on my pc.

I am getting 20 to 30 fps on low.

Is their anything I can try to improve performance?

Thank you.
Are you on 1080p? If you're at a higher res, try going down to 1080p. Also, turn anti-aliasing down or off and turn shadows down or off. Those two setting changes will improve your frame-rates.

However, you trying to play a brand new AAA title on a CPU that is 7 years old and a GPU that is 6 4.5 years old. Sadly, it might be time to consider an upgrade. You can get a first gen Ryzen for a good price used and a GTX 1070 for a similarly good price. If you like a bit of help finding a good deal on parts, I'd be happy to help you look or give you some ideas.
 
Last edited:

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
26,006 (5.34/day)
Likes
12,428
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB Crucial MX500 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 480GB MX200 SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#4
Push that FX8320 higher, it should be doing at least 4.2GHz.
 
Joined
Nov 1, 2018
Messages
235 (1.65/day)
Likes
309
Location
NL
System Name Infinity One
Processor Intel i7-6800K (Overclocked to 4.2Ghz)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X99-Ultra-Gaming (1.0)
Cooling Corsair H115i
Memory Kingston Hyper-X 3000 (4x16GB)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP!
Storage Samsung 960 EVO 512GB + 2x Crucial MX500 1TB Raid0
Display(s) ASUS ROG PG348Q, DELL U2713HM, 2x DELL U2414H
Case Fractal Design Define R6 Black TG
Audio Device(s) Sony WH-1000X m2, microlab SOLO7C (Gen1)
Power Supply SuperFlower Gold 800W
Mouse SteelSeries RIVAL 600
Keyboard SteelSeries APEX M750
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores Over 9000!
#5
It's very likely the game engine needs decent "single threaded" performance, something that FX is terrible at (it's even slower than Core2).
The visual settings (low/high) are probably GPU related only. Your CPU simply can't keep up.

Get a Ryzen 2600 and you're set.

That 970 should still be good enough for a while.
p.s. - Your financial pain will be in the RAM more than the CPU/Mobo, it's quite expensive still

Push that FX8320 higher, it should be doing at least 4.2GHz.
That will not help. FX IPC is around 50% of modern processors. Even at 5Ghz, it's at the speed equivalent of a 2.5Ghz modern one, so extremely slow.
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
5,086 (2.44/day)
Likes
3,246
Location
USA
#6
Push that FX8320 higher, it should be doing at least 4.2GHz.
That's a good point as long as their mobo & PSU can handle it.
It's very likely the game engine needs decent "single threaded" performance, something that FX is terrible at (it's even slower than Core2).
The visual settings (low/high) are probably GPU related only. Your CPU simply can't keep up.
Get a Ryzen 2600 and you're set.
That 970 should still be good enough for a while.
That CPU is not as bad as a lot of people make it out to be. It also depends on what the OP can afford. A GPU would be a much better upgrade to do first, IMHO.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,932 (8.89/day)
Likes
14,660
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name OCD (Overclocking Compulsive Disorder)
Processor Ryzen R7 2700X (stock/XFR OC)
Motherboard Aorus AX370-Gaming 5 (planned x570 upgrade when they come out)
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro W/ Corsair ML RGB fans
Memory 16GB DDR4 3200 Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS mod to Gaming Z) w/ NZXT Kraken x52 AIO
Storage 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000 Pro NVME
Display(s) Phillips 328m6fjrmb (32" 1440p 144hz curved) + Sony KD-55X8500F (55" 4K HDR)
Case Fractal Design R6 Gunmetal Grey (Type C TG)
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G703 + PowerPlay mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#7
The FX chip is definitely going to be holding you back.

Some people will defend them for days, because there are situations where they hold up just fine - this doesnt seem to be one of them.

I would definitely look into a CPU upgrade before a GPU upgrade, and since you have decent DDR3 ram dont look past a second hand intel platform, a 4xxx CPU would give you quite an FPS boost for little cost (as long as you get a decent clocked one, a K chip on a Z board if you can get it cheap)
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
15,925 (3.86/day)
Likes
9,539
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#8
Yup, the GPU and especially the CPU are holding you back for sure. A CPU and GPU upgrade will likely solve the problem.

However, the game has the Denuvo DRM in it, which might well be making all the difference here between terrible performance and passable performance. Personally, I won't buy a game with it on principle, no matter how much I like the game and this one looks very good indeed.
 
Joined
Mar 2, 2013
Messages
474 (0.21/day)
Likes
100
Location
st. louis missouri
Processor I7 2600k at 4.4 ghz
Motherboard Asus p8p67 deluxe
Cooling 5 case fans
Memory Gskill ripjaws 16 gb ddr3 1600 mghz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Windforce GTX 1070, back up card MSI GTX 970
Storage Adata 480 gb solid state drive, Seagate 2 tb solid state/mechanical hybrid shhd/1 tb hitachi hdd
Display(s) 55 inch 4k TV
Case Diypc vt 380
Power Supply 800 watt delta electronics 80 plus server grade psu
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G910
Software windows 10 64 bit and Windows 7 64 bit ultimate (dual boot)
#9
I understand what you are all staying, in fact I am in the process of building a newish pc, I already have most of the parts ordered.

However I thought my current system would be able to play this game at least on medium, especially since it can run pretty much every other game at high/very high settings 1080p 45 to 60 fps, including far cry 5, resident evil 2 remake and battlefield 5.

I am trying to running metro at 1080p as well.
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
20,429 (4.53/day)
Likes
4,607
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i7 2600k 4.4GHz :: Athlon II x4 630 3.5GHz
Motherboard ASUS P8P67 Pro :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 1866 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: none
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) Onboard - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply EVGA 500w 80 Plus :: Wounded Corsair CX600
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#10
If you're getting similar FPS on medium or even low as you do on high, what you have is a CPU limitation. The processor just can't keep up with running the game fast enough to allow the GPU to pump out enough frames.

MSI Afterburner comes with an optional overlay that will display stats you can select on screen while in game. If you see low FPS, low GPU load, and high CPU load... bingo, you've got yourself a bottleneck.
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2015
Messages
1,258 (0.85/day)
Likes
840
System Name Wut?
Processor 4770K @ Stock
Motherboard MSI Z97 Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16GB DDR3 2400
Video Card(s) Vega 56
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB
Display(s) 3440 x 1440
Case Thermaltake T81
Power Supply Seasonic 750 Watt Gold
#11
GPU that is 6 years old
I was surprised when I read this. Seems like yesterday I bought my 980.

the game has the Denuvo DRM in it, which might well be making all the difference here between terrible performance and passable performance.
I thought TPU did an article not terribly long ago comparing an uplay with Denuvo vs. a Gog version and there was only minimal impact. May not have been TPU.

However I thought my current system would be able to play this game at least on medium
Yeah, in looking at the review. I think the 970 is holding you back more than the FX. Not that I am endorsing the 8320 because that isn't helping. Exodus seems pretty intense on the GPU.
 
Joined
Mar 2, 2013
Messages
474 (0.21/day)
Likes
100
Location
st. louis missouri
Processor I7 2600k at 4.4 ghz
Motherboard Asus p8p67 deluxe
Cooling 5 case fans
Memory Gskill ripjaws 16 gb ddr3 1600 mghz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Windforce GTX 1070, back up card MSI GTX 970
Storage Adata 480 gb solid state drive, Seagate 2 tb solid state/mechanical hybrid shhd/1 tb hitachi hdd
Display(s) 55 inch 4k TV
Case Diypc vt 380
Power Supply 800 watt delta electronics 80 plus server grade psu
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G910
Software windows 10 64 bit and Windows 7 64 bit ultimate (dual boot)
#12
I was surprised when I read this. Seems like yesterday I bought my 980.



I thought TPU did an article not terribly long ago comparing an uplay with Denuvo vs. a Gog version and there was only minimal impact. May not have been TPU.



Yeah, in looking at the review. I think the 970 is holding you back more than the FX. Not that I am endorsing the 8320 because that isn't helping. Exodus seems pretty intense on the GPU.

I don't know, I saw a few videos of people benchmarking the 970 with metro exodus and they where averaging 60 on high and 40 on ultra, yes it would dip, but it was running better than what it does on my pc.

I will try a few things but if I can't get it to run well I will just wait until I get my new pc before I play it.

Thanks.
 

cdawall

where the hell are my stars
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
27,602 (5.97/day)
Likes
8,467
Location
Houston
System Name All the cores || Bedroom Gamer
Processor 2990WX || 6700T
Motherboard Asrock X399M || MSI H170l
Cooling XSPC RayStorm Neo, MCR220-Stack+MCR220+MCR320, D5-PWM+EK X-RES 140 || Intel copper cored stocker
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200 CL16 || 2x8GB EVGA 2400
Video Card(s) (2) EVGA SC BLACK 1080Ti's || AMD Vega FE 16GB
Storage 2x Samsung SM951 512GB, Samsung PM961 512GB|| PM951 128GB+evo 850 500GB+OCZ Vector 180 480GB
Display(s) Dell UP2414Q 3840X2160@60hz || 42" Plasma
Case Caselabs Mercury S5 || GEEEK A50
Audio Device(s) Fischer HA-02->Fischer FA-002W High edition/FA-003/Jubilate/FA-011 depending on my mood
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200w || Corsair 450w SFX
Mouse Thermaltake Theron || Steam controller
Keyboard Thermaltake Poseidon ZX || Steam controller
Software W10P
Benchmark Scores Zoom zoom mofo
#13
It's an old rig. Welcome to two generations ago's midrange gpu with known weak points and a cpu that was weak in release date.

Drop settings down and hope for the best.
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
15,925 (3.86/day)
Likes
9,539
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#14
I thought TPU did an article not terribly long ago comparing an uplay with Denuvo vs. a Gog version and there was only minimal impact. May not have been TPU.
I dunno, you might be right. I just remember reading that Denuvo is very invasive on a system, sometimes causing problems with the regular functioning of File Explorer and things like that since it's running in the background 100% of the time and also reduced game performance by running the game in a virtual machine. This is why I won't touch a game that's infected with this garbage.
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
24,241 (6.36/day)
Likes
13,469
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) Sapphire NITRO+ RX 590 Special Edition 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate Exos 12 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
#15
...if you have Windows 10, you no longer need to guess where the bottleneck is. Open Task Manager before running the game, go to the Performance tab, then run the game until you hit a point of obvious poor performance. Quickly switch to Task Manager and look through the options on the left (GPU, CPU, HDD, SDD, RAM, etc.) and see which ones are hitting 100% and which ones aren't. You can change the CPU graph to show load per virtual core. If any of those were hitting 100% with the poor performance, you know where your problem is.

If v-sync is off, GPU should always hit 100% but nothing else should. If v-sync (or some kind of frame rate limiter) is enabled and it is hitting 100%, then the GPU is the bottleneck (incapable of hitting the target/monitor Hz).


Judging by this video, GTX 970 can't maintain 60 fps at 1920x1080 in D3D11 (quality high, HairWorks off, motion blur low, no AA, x16 AF, 1.0 shading rate, tessellation on, Advanced PhsyX off):
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 2, 2013
Messages
474 (0.21/day)
Likes
100
Location
st. louis missouri
Processor I7 2600k at 4.4 ghz
Motherboard Asus p8p67 deluxe
Cooling 5 case fans
Memory Gskill ripjaws 16 gb ddr3 1600 mghz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Windforce GTX 1070, back up card MSI GTX 970
Storage Adata 480 gb solid state drive, Seagate 2 tb solid state/mechanical hybrid shhd/1 tb hitachi hdd
Display(s) 55 inch 4k TV
Case Diypc vt 380
Power Supply 800 watt delta electronics 80 plus server grade psu
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G910
Software windows 10 64 bit and Windows 7 64 bit ultimate (dual boot)
#17
Well after overclocking my cpu and gpu and tweaking some settings in nvidia control panel such as the refresh rate( which was stuck at 30hz, yes i am an idiot lol) and using riva tuner to cap my fps, I am actually getting much better performance.

Running it at ultra and it hovers around 40 fps. Not to bad.


Thanks for the help guys and happy gaming.
 
Last edited:

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,932 (8.89/day)
Likes
14,660
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name OCD (Overclocking Compulsive Disorder)
Processor Ryzen R7 2700X (stock/XFR OC)
Motherboard Aorus AX370-Gaming 5 (planned x570 upgrade when they come out)
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro W/ Corsair ML RGB fans
Memory 16GB DDR4 3200 Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS mod to Gaming Z) w/ NZXT Kraken x52 AIO
Storage 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000 Pro NVME
Display(s) Phillips 328m6fjrmb (32" 1440p 144hz curved) + Sony KD-55X8500F (55" 4K HDR)
Case Fractal Design R6 Gunmetal Grey (Type C TG)
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G703 + PowerPlay mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#18
Some people are disagreeing which part is holding you back, but i've got first hand experience with FX systems with 970s and 980's - many were built as VR systems by a friend who went by clock speeds/paper specs vs first hand experience/benchmarks

All of them benefited FAR more from a CPU upgrade (FX 8350 to a 2500k was the most shocking improvement, since its older) than a GPU upgrade, its the single threaded performance that kills them. 970 will definitely do fine at 1080p, with some settings turned down (medium seems reasonable)
 
Joined
Mar 2, 2013
Messages
474 (0.21/day)
Likes
100
Location
st. louis missouri
Processor I7 2600k at 4.4 ghz
Motherboard Asus p8p67 deluxe
Cooling 5 case fans
Memory Gskill ripjaws 16 gb ddr3 1600 mghz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Windforce GTX 1070, back up card MSI GTX 970
Storage Adata 480 gb solid state drive, Seagate 2 tb solid state/mechanical hybrid shhd/1 tb hitachi hdd
Display(s) 55 inch 4k TV
Case Diypc vt 380
Power Supply 800 watt delta electronics 80 plus server grade psu
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G910
Software windows 10 64 bit and Windows 7 64 bit ultimate (dual boot)
#19
Some people are disagreeing which part is holding you back, but i've got first hand experience with FX systems with 970s and 980's - many were built as VR systems by a friend who went by clock speeds/paper specs vs first hand experience/benchmarks

All of them benefited FAR more from a CPU upgrade (FX 8350 to a 2500k was the most shocking improvement, since its older) than a GPU upgrade, its the single threaded performance that kills them. 970 will definitely do fine at 1080p, with some settings turned down (medium seems reasonable)
I am currently running the game on ultra, hovers between 40 and 60 fps. I had the refresh rate sate to 30hz in nvidia control panel (I forgot to change it as I had recently reinstalled windows 10 due to a virus) which was why I was getting really bad performance. Changed it to 60 hz and and all is good now.

But its odd because I was playing Titanfall 2 before I changed the refresh rate and it ran perfectly fine as well as Resident Evil 2 Remake. O well Metro is playing very well for me now.

I
 
Joined
Feb 14, 2012
Messages
888 (0.34/day)
Likes
640
Location
Romania
System Name No name
Processor i5 8600k@4800Mhz 1.22v
Motherboard Gigabyte Z370 UD3P
Cooling Noctua U12P
Memory 16GB 3000Mhz
Video Card(s) Evga 980Ti SC + Accelero Xtreme III
Storage Kingston AV400 256GB, WD30PURX
Display(s) Asus MG279Q and AOC q3279vwfd8
Case Regnum RG4F Frosty White
Audio Device(s) XFI Music
Power Supply Seasonic G650 650W
Mouse Cougar 600M
Keyboard Asus Strix MX Brown
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores 5948 3dmark TimeSpy
#20
Some games use your desktop refresh rate. So if that is 30Hz, then the game will be set at 30FPS. In other games, you can select the refresh rate you want to use at that particular resolution.
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
5,086 (2.44/day)
Likes
3,246
Location
USA
#21
Some games use your desktop refresh rate. So if that is 30Hz, then the game will be set at 30FPS. In other games, you can select the refresh rate you want to use at that particular resolution.
This is true.

All of them benefited FAR more from a CPU upgrade (FX 8350 to a 2500k was the most shocking improvement, since its older) than a GPU upgrade, its the single threaded performance that kills them. 970 will definitely do fine at 1080p, with some settings turned down (medium seems reasonable)
I have seen this too. It really depends of the game and this is one I don't have. However, my experiences with the GTX970 have been less than stellar and with a brand new AAA title like this, 4GB VRAM is a limiting factor more than the 8320 OC'd will be given that he has 16GB of ram. An RX 480/580 8GB or GTX 1060(6GB)/1070 would provide a much better upgrade for this and other newer games.
 
Joined
Sep 17, 2014
Messages
8,132 (4.93/day)
Likes
7,153
Location
Duiven, Netherlands
Processor i7 8700k 4.7Ghz @ 1.26v
Motherboard AsRock Fatal1ty K6 Z370
Cooling beQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 3
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200/C16
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X @ 2100/5500
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 1TB + Samsung 830 256GB + Crucial BX100 250GB + Toshiba 1TB HDD
Display(s) Eizo Foris FG2421
Case Fractal Design Define C TG
Power Supply EVGA G2 750w
Mouse Logitech G502 Protheus Spectrum
Keyboard Sharkoon MK80 (Brown)
Software W10 x64
#22
Let's face it, the FX 8320 will hold even a 970 back. Not by much, but certainly by a noticeable %, depending on the game it can even amount to a significant performance loss. The CPU upgrade path is most certainly the first consideration here for the near future. GPU wise, a 970 can keep up at 1080p medium just fine and it has 4GB VRAM which is sufficient, but the FX will struggle more often than not. If OP targeted 60 FPS / medium~high, the FX is what stops him, not the 970.

Regardless, that wasn't the issue here, but mostly to clarify.
 
Joined
Aug 6, 2017
Messages
3,415 (5.75/day)
Likes
2,189
Location
Poland
System Name skurwiel szatan
Processor i7 5775c @4.3GHz/1.385v/EDRAM @2GHz
Motherboard Z97X Gaming 5
Cooling Noctua D15S
Memory Crucial Ballistix Tactical LP 1600 CL8 @2133 CL8
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Ti Gaming X Trio 2GHz
Storage SU900 128 (OS)/850 PRO 256+256+ 512,860 EVO 500,XPG SX950U 480 (games)/4TB of external HDDs (3+1)
Display(s) Acer XB241YU+Dell S2716DG dual monitor setup
Case Full tower
Audio Device(s) Mad Catz FREQ wireless
Power Supply Superflower Leadex Gold 850W
Mouse G403 wireless + Steelseries DeX + Roccat rest
Keyboard Razer Deathstalker
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores A LOT
#23
if previous metro games are an indication,single threaded performance is all that matters.
40-60 is more or less what you can expect from 970.
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
5,086 (2.44/day)
Likes
3,246
Location
USA
#24
Let's face it, the FX 8320 will hold even a 970 back. Not by much, but certainly by a noticeable %, depending on the game it can even amount to a significant performance loss.
Have to disagree with this. I have recently upgraded someone from an 8350 OC'd to 4ghz to an Intel 8700K based system and they had a EVGA GTX960 SC. I had showed him what a 1070 could do for him in that system and while he was impressed, he wanted to do the full upgrade. The fact was, that with the 1070 in his FX system(and he only had 8GB of ram) the frame-rates in his games more than doubled. With the 1070 and 8700K the frame rates almost tripled.

If the OP( @stoggs1 ) did a similar upgrade to a 1070 and OC'd their 8320 a little more(an easy task), much better performance would be gained rather than doing a CPU upgrade first. Yes, the FX CPUs are old and long in the tooth, but they are not the useless junk everyone seems to think they are. A GPU upgrade will serve much better short term.
 
Joined
Jun 15, 2016
Messages
797 (0.79/day)
Likes
395
System Name My PC
Processor 4670K@4.4GHz
Motherboard Gryphon Z87
Cooling CM 212
Memory 2x8GB+2x4GB @2400GHz
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon RX 580 GTS Black Edition 1425MHz OC+, 8GB
Storage Intel 530 SSD 480GB + Intel 510 SSD 120GB + 2x500GB hdd raid 1
Display(s) HP envy 32 1440p
Case CM Mastercase 5
Audio Device(s) Sbz Zxr
Power Supply Antec 620W
Mouse G502
Keyboard G910
Software Win 10 pro
#25
Time for new rig.
 
Top