• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Mice!

Joined
Dec 21, 2005
Messages
344 (0.08/day)
Likes
57
Location
Great state of Texas
System Name Eric's Dream Machine (2017 ed.)
Processor Core i7 6700k
Motherboard GIGABYTE G1 Gaming GA-Z170X-Gaming 7
Cooling Corsair Hydro H60
Memory Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 3200
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE RX Vega 56 (64 BIOS Flash-mod)
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 1TB, Corsair GT 120GB, Corsair GTX 240GB
Display(s) Viewsonic XG2401 24"
Case Fractal Design Define R5
Power Supply EVGA G2-XR 80 PLUS GOLD 750W
Mouse Logitech G602 Wireless
Keyboard Corsair K70 Vengeance MX Red
Software Microsoft Windows 10 Home
#1
I have a question about high resolution mice. I know they are the different settings and stuff but how sensitive are they really? I'm upgrading from an old fashioned ball tracking mouse to a laser or optical one. Which brings me back to my question, how sensitive are the different dpi settings? Just in case if anyone wants to know I will primarily use my mouse for fps gaming among the standard things a PC user does.
 
Joined
Apr 11, 2005
Messages
2,722 (0.59/day)
Likes
44
Location
Canada
Processor Intel Q6600
Motherboard DFI LanParty P35-TR2
Memory 4x1024MB Crucial OC-6400
Video Card(s) ATI HD 3870X2 Crossfire
Storage WD Black 640GB / Seagate 7200.10 320GB
Display(s) 20" Samsung SyncMaster
Case Lian Li PC-A16b
Power Supply SilverStone Decathlon DA750
Software Windows 7 HP
#2
Higher dpi is more sensitive. The only time you'll need like 1600 to 2000 dpi is in gaming. Those kinds of mice like Razer’s and high-end Logitech are quite pricey, but are great for gaming. Usually 800dpi is plenty, but if your serious about your games, higher dpi will be better. Most of the high-end ones can adjust the sensitivity for use in Windows or other things that don't need 2000dpi.
 
Joined
Dec 21, 2005
Messages
344 (0.08/day)
Likes
57
Location
Great state of Texas
System Name Eric's Dream Machine (2017 ed.)
Processor Core i7 6700k
Motherboard GIGABYTE G1 Gaming GA-Z170X-Gaming 7
Cooling Corsair Hydro H60
Memory Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 3200
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE RX Vega 56 (64 BIOS Flash-mod)
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 1TB, Corsair GT 120GB, Corsair GTX 240GB
Display(s) Viewsonic XG2401 24"
Case Fractal Design Define R5
Power Supply EVGA G2-XR 80 PLUS GOLD 750W
Mouse Logitech G602 Wireless
Keyboard Corsair K70 Vengeance MX Red
Software Microsoft Windows 10 Home
#3
How much of a difference would you say the higher dpi makes in gaming? In addition I've read that getting used to the sensitivity can be a pain.
 
Joined
Apr 11, 2005
Messages
2,722 (0.59/day)
Likes
44
Location
Canada
Processor Intel Q6600
Motherboard DFI LanParty P35-TR2
Memory 4x1024MB Crucial OC-6400
Video Card(s) ATI HD 3870X2 Crossfire
Storage WD Black 640GB / Seagate 7200.10 320GB
Display(s) 20" Samsung SyncMaster
Case Lian Li PC-A16b
Power Supply SilverStone Decathlon DA750
Software Windows 7 HP
#4
I would say a fair bit, when I changed from my ball mouse to my optical, it was a real hard time getting use to it. But from 1600 to 2000 dpi, not that much, just a lot harder if not impossible to get the mouse to lose it's track. Say you like sniping, a higher dpi mouse will let you do the smallest changes in the aim. But being too high, can be a pain but it's usually adjustible. I don't like it to sensitive, it's just annoying. Read the review on the Razer Mouse on this site. It might be of some help.

-Dan
 
Joined
Dec 21, 2005
Messages
344 (0.08/day)
Likes
57
Location
Great state of Texas
System Name Eric's Dream Machine (2017 ed.)
Processor Core i7 6700k
Motherboard GIGABYTE G1 Gaming GA-Z170X-Gaming 7
Cooling Corsair Hydro H60
Memory Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 3200
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE RX Vega 56 (64 BIOS Flash-mod)
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 1TB, Corsair GT 120GB, Corsair GTX 240GB
Display(s) Viewsonic XG2401 24"
Case Fractal Design Define R5
Power Supply EVGA G2-XR 80 PLUS GOLD 750W
Mouse Logitech G602 Wireless
Keyboard Corsair K70 Vengeance MX Red
Software Microsoft Windows 10 Home
#5
Cool, thanks. I was just playing COD2 and missing a lot when sniping too, lol.
 
Joined
Dec 21, 2005
Messages
344 (0.08/day)
Likes
57
Location
Great state of Texas
System Name Eric's Dream Machine (2017 ed.)
Processor Core i7 6700k
Motherboard GIGABYTE G1 Gaming GA-Z170X-Gaming 7
Cooling Corsair Hydro H60
Memory Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 3200
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE RX Vega 56 (64 BIOS Flash-mod)
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 1TB, Corsair GT 120GB, Corsair GTX 240GB
Display(s) Viewsonic XG2401 24"
Case Fractal Design Define R5
Power Supply EVGA G2-XR 80 PLUS GOLD 750W
Mouse Logitech G602 Wireless
Keyboard Corsair K70 Vengeance MX Red
Software Microsoft Windows 10 Home
#6
Do you think 800 dpi is enough for COD? Or any other fps?
 

HookeyStreet

Eat, sleep, game!
Joined
Aug 29, 2004
Messages
7,123 (1.47/day)
Likes
515
Location
Great Yarmouth, England
#7
I recently got a 'Razer CopperHead 2000dpi' :pimp: and its awesome @ 1600dpi for any FPS, 2000dpi is way too fast IMHO (800dpi is good for windows)

The 'Razer CopperHead' is a bit pricey but well worth it m8 :D
 

Anarion

New Member
Joined
May 24, 2005
Messages
485 (0.11/day)
Likes
0
Processor amd HAMMER SERIES 62% oc
Motherboard epox 8NPAJ
Cooling Active, Noisy , air
Memory gSKILL 2gb
Video Card(s) 2900 xt 1g
Storage diamondmax+
Display(s) 215TW HDCP 95%+! color accuracy
Case aluminium sHOW CASE BP
Audio Device(s) Behringer dj pro hpx4000
Power Supply acBel Ai iS
Software xp pro sp2
#8
i'll assure u , u will enjoy every sec of playin with a 800 although if u mind just the best like many other here buy a 100bucks mice ...or 200 or 300 or 4000 :)
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,272 (4.28/day)
Likes
6,079
Location
Florida
System Name Not named yet
Processor I5 7640x 5Ghz 24/7
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling Corsair H55
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x Seagate 3TB Drives (RAID 0) 1x Seagate 256GB SSD 1x Adata 120GB SSD
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Onboard on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#9
were aer you guys adjusting dpi?
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2005
Messages
642 (0.14/day)
Likes
11
Location
Madrid, Spain
System Name Sample light
Processor AMD Phenom II 965
Motherboard MSI DKA790GX
Cooling Zalman 9500LED
Memory 2x 2GB G-skill PC8500
Video Card(s) Asus built AMD/ATI HD4850
Storage 500GB Wesern Digital green
Display(s) too ashamed to tell, but its an acer
Case Lian Li V2000
Audio Device(s) Echo Audiofire 2
Power Supply Corsair VX550
Software Windows XP pro SP3
#10
usualy the software thats comes with end end mice allows DPI configuration, some even allow creating profiles which are loaded when you execute a specific program, like 800dpi for word and 1600 for quake4,

also, the new G5 and G7 from logitech allow on the fly DPI adjusting with a botton on the mouse, so you can have fast aiming with that thompson while retaining a stedy hand with that mouser rifle without having to exit the game to reconfigure the mouse
 
Joined
Dec 18, 2005
Messages
287 (0.07/day)
Likes
5
Location
John Wayne Gacy's basement
System Name DOGEATDOG
Processor Intel® Core™ i7-4790K CPU @ 4.00GHz
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z87X-D3H 64 BIT
Cooling CORSAIR H50 HYDRO SERIES
Memory PNY 8 GIGS
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Geforce GTX 1050 Ti 4GB Windforce
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 250GB 2.5-Inch SATA III Internal SSD
Display(s) INSIGNIA 55 INCH
Case THERMALTAKE TSUNAMI
Audio Device(s) SOUNDMAX
Power Supply 550 W.
Software WINDOWS 10
#11
Eric3988 said:
I have a question about high resolution mice. I know they are the different settings and stuff but how sensitive are they really? I'm upgrading from an old fashioned ball tracking mouse to a laser or optical one. Which brings me back to my question, how sensitive are the different dpi settings? Just in case if anyone wants to know I will primarily use my mouse for fps gaming among the standard things a PC user does.
dude I got an 80 dollar gaming mouse with high res software. When I gamed with it OMG it messed up everything. The sensitivity was Sooooooooo hi in game I couldnt even tune it down with in options ingame I had to minimise the game and turn it down so low that it took for ever to get the curser occros the screen then when I got back into game it was still to fast. So I tryed to get the sensitivity down in with the progy it came with to no avail. I uninstalled the program and even after that It was still to fast. It was like that with all the games I had and I play online games. So I had to restore my PC from a week priyer in order to get rid off that crap.

I tryed the Help menue that came with that progy however it made no diffrence.. I will never put any software that comes with any mice.....DONT DO IT...lol :banghead:
 
Joined
Nov 26, 2004
Messages
4,382 (0.92/day)
Likes
1,513
Location
Canuck in Norway
System Name Hellbox 3.0(same case new guts)
Processor i7 4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97 Sabertooth Mark 1
Cooling TT Kandalf L.C.S.(Water/Air)AC Cuplex Kryos CPU Block/Noctua
Memory 2x8GB Corsair Vengance Pro 2400
Video Card(s) Sapphire Tri-X Fury (Unlocked to Fury X)
Storage WD Caviar Black SATA 3 1TB x2 RAID 0 2xSamsung 850 Evo 500GB RAID 0 1TB WD Blue
Display(s) ASUS MG279Q 1440 IPS 144Hz FreeSync
Case TT Kandalf L.C.S.
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster ZX/Logitech Z906 5.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-1050W 80+ Gold
Mouse G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard G19s
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#12
Yeah I got a G5 from my Missus for Xmas I have been using it for about a week initially moving from optical to Laser 800dpi seemed pretty quick, its what I normally rub it on all the time if Im sniping I knock it down to 600 or 400 depending on the situation and kick it up to 1600 or 2000 when I hop in tanks/APCs in BF2 so I can get the turrets around quicker, now how anyone could do anyththing useful at 1600+dpi I will never understand as Dillinger said so fast its near impossible to follow, now of course I can change that on the fly right on the mouse
 

Anarion

New Member
Joined
May 24, 2005
Messages
485 (0.11/day)
Likes
0
Processor amd HAMMER SERIES 62% oc
Motherboard epox 8NPAJ
Cooling Active, Noisy , air
Memory gSKILL 2gb
Video Card(s) 2900 xt 1g
Storage diamondmax+
Display(s) 215TW HDCP 95%+! color accuracy
Case aluminium sHOW CASE BP
Audio Device(s) Behringer dj pro hpx4000
Power Supply acBel Ai iS
Software xp pro sp2
#13
Dillinger said:
dude I got an 80 dollar gaming mouse with high res software. When I gamed with it OMG it messed up everything. The sensitivity was Sooooooooo hi in game I couldnt even tune it down with in options ingame I had to minimise the game and turn it down so low that it took for ever to get the curser occros the screen then when I got back into game it was still to fast. So I tryed to get the sensitivity down in with the progy it came with to no avail. I uninstalled the program and even after that It was still to fast. It was like that with all the games I had and I play online games. So I had to restore my PC from a week priyer in order to get rid off that crap.

I tryed the Help menue that came with that progy however it made no diffrence.. I will never put any software that comes with any mice.....DONT DO IT...lol :banghead:
:laugh:

when somebody buy a 100$ mice , then @least must bought a 21'' mnt & alot fuss&cash on vga to paly on very high res so that mice can answer his need !

btw those hi-res pointing devices are NOT commonly made for gamers they used for engineers or someone like me...;)
 
Joined
Dec 18, 2005
Messages
287 (0.07/day)
Likes
5
Location
John Wayne Gacy's basement
System Name DOGEATDOG
Processor Intel® Core™ i7-4790K CPU @ 4.00GHz
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z87X-D3H 64 BIT
Cooling CORSAIR H50 HYDRO SERIES
Memory PNY 8 GIGS
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Geforce GTX 1050 Ti 4GB Windforce
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 250GB 2.5-Inch SATA III Internal SSD
Display(s) INSIGNIA 55 INCH
Case THERMALTAKE TSUNAMI
Audio Device(s) SOUNDMAX
Power Supply 550 W.
Software WINDOWS 10
#14
INSTG8R said:
Yeah I got a G5 from my Missus for Xmas I have been using it for about a week initially moving from optical to Laser 800dpi seemed pretty quick, its what I normally rub it on all the time if Im sniping I knock it down to 600 or 400 depending on the situation and kick it up to 1600 or 2000 when I hop in tanks/APCs in BF2 so I can get the turrets around quicker, now how anyone could do anyththing useful at 1600+dpi I will never understand as Dillinger said so fast its near impossible to follow, now of course I can change that on the fly right on the mouse
you see always having to change it just sucked! i like to keep it simple and that changing it on the fly and binding keys and all that just didnt work for me cuz I have most of my key bound for in game stuff I admin servers so I have most of my keys bound for like "status" in DOD & Rcon stuff so I can quickly "slay" & "kick" & "ban" It was just to much hooplah for me to deal with. I'm more confortable with what I aready have. & and in BF2 WOW it ws horible i mean one little slite move of the mouse I just spun lol and having to minimize the game every time to tune it down was to much...
 
Joined
Jul 1, 2005
Messages
5,196 (1.14/day)
Likes
296
Location
Kansas City, KS
System Name Dell XPS 15 9560
Processor I7-7700HQ
Memory 32GB DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1050/1080 Ti
Storage 1TB SSD
Display(s) 2x Dell P2715Q/4k Internal
Case Razer Core
Audio Device(s) Creative E5/Objective 2 Amp/Senn HD650
Mouse Logitech Proteus Core
Keyboard Logitech G910
#15
Eric3988 said:
How much of a difference would you say the higher dpi makes in gaming? In addition I've read that getting used to the sensitivity can be a pain.
DPI makes a huge impact- 2000DPI will result in high sensativity, fast movement, while 400 will provide nice slow accurate aiming.

The logitech G7 is amazing... :) You can select 5 different custom dpi settings from 400 to 2000 dpi and its wireless... 2 battery packs.. I absolutely friggin love mine... Highly recommended..

Get it, and you dont have to worry about "which dpi is better" you can use em all ;)
 
Joined
Jul 1, 2005
Messages
5,196 (1.14/day)
Likes
296
Location
Kansas City, KS
System Name Dell XPS 15 9560
Processor I7-7700HQ
Memory 32GB DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1050/1080 Ti
Storage 1TB SSD
Display(s) 2x Dell P2715Q/4k Internal
Case Razer Core
Audio Device(s) Creative E5/Objective 2 Amp/Senn HD650
Mouse Logitech Proteus Core
Keyboard Logitech G910
#16
Anarion said:
btw those hi-res pointing devices are NOT commonly made for gamers they used for engineers or someone like me...;)

nope.. gaming is taking over ;)
 
Joined
Jul 1, 2005
Messages
5,196 (1.14/day)
Likes
296
Location
Kansas City, KS
System Name Dell XPS 15 9560
Processor I7-7700HQ
Memory 32GB DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1050/1080 Ti
Storage 1TB SSD
Display(s) 2x Dell P2715Q/4k Internal
Case Razer Core
Audio Device(s) Creative E5/Objective 2 Amp/Senn HD650
Mouse Logitech Proteus Core
Keyboard Logitech G910
#17
Dillinger said:
you see always having to change it just sucked! i like to keep it simple and that changing it on the fly and binding keys and all that just didnt work for me cuz I have most of my key bound for in game stuff I admin servers so I have most of my keys bound for like "status" in DOD & Rcon stuff so I can quickly "slay" & "kick" & "ban" It was just to much hooplah for me to deal with. I'm more confortable with what I aready have. & and in BF2 WOW it ws horible i mean one little slite move of the mouse I just spun lol and having to minimize the game every time to tune it down was to much...
You dont bind keys. Its 2 small + and - buttons by the scroll wheel. If you dont wanna change it, you dont have to, if you want to you can.. simple button press on the mouse, and poof! instant dpi change... :) It is magnificant once you experience it... :D If you have to minimize it to change the dpi, get a decent brand mouse.. ;) *cough* G7*cough*
 
Joined
Nov 26, 2004
Messages
4,382 (0.92/day)
Likes
1,513
Location
Canuck in Norway
System Name Hellbox 3.0(same case new guts)
Processor i7 4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97 Sabertooth Mark 1
Cooling TT Kandalf L.C.S.(Water/Air)AC Cuplex Kryos CPU Block/Noctua
Memory 2x8GB Corsair Vengance Pro 2400
Video Card(s) Sapphire Tri-X Fury (Unlocked to Fury X)
Storage WD Caviar Black SATA 3 1TB x2 RAID 0 2xSamsung 850 Evo 500GB RAID 0 1TB WD Blue
Display(s) ASUS MG279Q 1440 IPS 144Hz FreeSync
Case TT Kandalf L.C.S.
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster ZX/Logitech Z906 5.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-1050W 80+ Gold
Mouse G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard G19s
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#18
Yeah I use my scrolls to change weapons etc, thumb button is ALWAYS reload for any game I do wish they woulda put the DPI adjustments on the side be alot easier to change on the fly