• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Microsoft ends support for Windows XP Service Pack 1

Joined
Jan 29, 2006
Messages
9,066 (2.09/day)
Likes
287
Location
My house.
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 4800+ Brisbane @ 2.8GHz (224x12.5, 1.425V)
Motherboard Gigabyte sumthin-or-another, it's got an nForce 430
Cooling Dual 120mm case fans front/rear, Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro, Zalman VF-900 on GPU
Memory 2GB G.Skill DDR2 800
Video Card(s) Sapphire X850XT @ 580/600
Storage WD 160 GB SATA hard drive.
Display(s) Hanns G 19" widescreen, 5ms response time, 1440x900
Case Thermaltake Soprano (black with side window).
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Live! 24 bit (paired with X-530 speakers).
Power Supply ThermalTake 430W TR2
Software XP Home SP2, can't wait for Vista SP1.
#1
To help clear the deck for Windows Vista, Microsoft is ending support for Windows XP SP1. There is very little reason to have SP1, considering that several security issues were patched with SP2. While Microsoft guarantees support of an operating system for five years, they only support service packs for 12 months after the next service pack is released. SP1 was released in September 2002, and SP2 was released in September 2004.

Show full news post
 

bornfree

New Member
Joined
Sep 24, 2006
Messages
101 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
#2
IMO they should pass laws that require all software companies to provide proper tech support and free security updates for a minimum of 10 years. Obviously it doesn't cost a dime to support software that has no problems. The reason MICROSUCKS and other software companies blatantly abuse consumers by dropping product support, is to force consumers to update to the latest and greatest POS the companies are selling this week. Vista is a perfect example. If MICROSUCKS can't secure Windoze how on earth do they expect to secure Vista?

I haven't read a single review of Vista that suggested it was even remotely close to being suitable for release but that won't stop MICROSUCKS from pumping it out the door just as fast as they can. With all the known problems in Vista you can imagine how many unknown problems exist. Vista is a good means to cause financial hardship to the entire world with the exception being MICROSUCKS who will reap windfall profits from their over-priced defective products.
 

DaMulta

My stars went supernova
Joined
Aug 3, 2006
Messages
16,159 (3.89/day)
Likes
1,416
Location
Oklahoma T-Town
System Name Work in progress
Processor AMD 955---4Ghz
Motherboard MSi GD70
Cooling OcZ Phase/water
Memory Crucial2GB kit (1GBx2), Ballistix 240-pin DIMM, DDR3 PC3-16000
Video Card(s) CrossfireX 2 X HD 4890 1GB OCed to 1000Mhz
Storage SSD 64GB
Display(s) Envision 24'' 1920x1200
Case Using the desk ATM
Audio Device(s) Sucky onboard for now :(
Power Supply 1000W TruePower Quattro
#3
Support cost lots of money, 10 years is a long long time. You should be forced to upgrade so company's don't have to look back at older technologies. I believe people should not be running windows 95 and windows 98, but millions of people still are. This holds the hole indrustys back as a hole to move forward, and Vista has been in the works for a long time. It was completely rewritten, and its ready to be released. I will be buying a copy when it is released to keep up with the times.
 
Joined
Nov 4, 2005
Messages
9,950 (2.25/day)
Likes
2,309
System Name MoFo 2
Processor AMD PhenomII 1100T @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV
Cooling Swiftec 655 pump, Apogee GT,, MCR360mm Rad, 1/2 loop.
Memory 8GB DDR3-2133 @ 1900 8.9.9.24 1T
Video Card(s) HD7970 1250/1750
Storage Agility 3 SSD 6TB RAID 0 on RAID Card
Display(s) 46" 1080P Toshiba LCD
Case Rosewill R6A34-BK modded (thanks to MKmods)
Audio Device(s) ATI HDMI
Power Supply 750W PC Power & Cooling modded (thanks to MKmods)
Software A lot.
Benchmark Scores Its fast. Enough.
#4
:lol:


10 years support. Not many whole or computer parts make it that long. Mebey we should make hardware companies support for 10 years too eh?

I liked XP, but only after alot of builds came and went, then SP2 was a huge jump ahead for those who know, cared, and were legal. I laugh at peeps calling me complaining about the compy the local idiot built after SP2 wrecked his hacked copies.
 

Azn Tr14dZ

New Member
Joined
Mar 2, 2006
Messages
5,289 (1.23/day)
Likes
19
Processor AMD Athlon 64 3200+
Motherboard DFI LanParty nf4 Ultra-D
Cooling Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 2x512MB GeIL
Video Card(s) ATI Radeon X800XL
Storage 2x80GB Western Digital
Display(s) HP vs17
Case SuperTalent
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster
Power Supply Ultra X-Finity 500 Watt
#5
NOOOOOOOOO!!!!!! I still have SP1, since whenever I try to install SP2, in corrupts my whole system...wierd huh? Damn it...I'm pissed.
 

evil bill

New Member
Joined
Jan 20, 2006
Messages
369 (0.08/day)
Likes
14
Location
Scotland
System Name Main Rig | Second Rig
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo Wolfdale E8200 @ 3.2Ghz | Pentium 4 530J 3.0Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P5KC @ 1,600Mhz FSB | Asus P5P800
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro | Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
Memory OCZ 4GB DDR2-800 (2x2GB) 5-4-4-15 | Corsair 1GB XMS DDR-400 (2 x 512MB)
Video Card(s) MSI NX8800GT 512MB Pre-OCd @ 660/950 | Powercolor X850 Pro 256MB AGP
Storage 500GB WD Caviar SATA300 | Hitachi Deckstar 80GB SATA
Display(s) LG 22" W2252TQ
Case Antec 900 | ATX Window case
Audio Device(s) Onboard High Definition Audio | Soundblaster Audigy SE
Power Supply Hiper 730W HPU-5M730-SE | Tagan 480W
Software Vista 64-bit SP1 | Windows 7 32-bit RC1
#6
NOOOOOOOOO!!!!!! I still have SP1, since whenever I try to install SP2, in corrupts my whole system...wierd huh? Damn it...I'm pissed.
a friend of mine had that issue as well. He said it was something to do with XP and the AMD 64 both doing some kind of error checking which interfered with each other (real techy answer huh :laugh: ) Apparently, if you do a format and clean install then run SP2 it works - not ideal, but it did work for him. Obviously, google this issue for further info, I know its really vague.............
 

Track

New Member
Joined
Sep 27, 2006
Messages
312 (0.08/day)
Likes
0
Location
Israel
Processor Intel Pentium 4 (prescott) 3.0Ghz 1M L2 cache 800Mhz FSB w/HT
Motherboard Asus P4GD1
Cooling Zalman VF900, Zalman 7700, 1x AC 80nm
Memory 1024 MB DDR400 PC3200
Video Card(s) X1900XT (512Mb) @ 745/1660
Storage 1x WD 80GB 8M cache 7200 RPM, 1x WD 250GB 8M cache 7200RPM
Display(s) Viewsonic VA712 LCD 17"
Power Supply 500W
Software Windows XP SP2 Gold Edition
#7
No "support"? What does that mean?
My SP1 hasnt crashed yet.
 

Jimmy 2004

New Member
Joined
Jan 15, 2005
Messages
5,458 (1.16/day)
Likes
242
Location
England
System Name Jimmy 2004's PC
Processor S754 AMD Athlon64 3200+ @ 2640MHz
Motherboard ASUS K8N
Cooling AC Freezer 64 Pro + Zalman VF1000 + 5x120mm Antec TriCool Case Fans
Memory 1GB Kingston PC3200 (2x512MB)
Video Card(s) Saphire 256MB X800 GTO @ 450MHz/560MHz (Core/Memory)
Storage 500GB Western Digital SATA II + 80GB Maxtor DiamondMax SATA
Display(s) Digimate 17" TFT (1280x1024)
Case Antec P182
Audio Device(s) Audigy 4 + Creative Inspire T7900 7.1 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair HX520W
Software Windows XP Home
#8
Well... I'd like to direct everyone with their views to take a look at this thread. Many of the arguments from then still stand now :D
 
Joined
May 27, 2005
Messages
3,651 (0.80/day)
Likes
341
Location
Little Rock Arkansas, United States
System Name Monolith
Processor Intel Xeon E3110 Wolfdale@3.5GHz
Motherboard MSI P35-Neo
Cooling Active Air
Memory 4GB DDR2 800
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 3850 512MB PCI-E
Storage 1 x 80GB Internal, 1 x 250GB Internal, 1 x 40GB External
Display(s) Acer X203w
Case Generic black case with locking front bezel
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS
Power Supply 500 Watt Seasonic M12
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#9
IMO they should pass laws that require all software companies to provide proper tech support and free security updates for a minimum of 10 years. Obviously it doesn't cost a dime to support software that has no problems. The reason MICROSUCKS and other software companies blatantly abuse consumers by dropping product support, is to force consumers to update to the latest and greatest POS the companies are selling this week. Vista is a perfect example. If MICROSUCKS can't secure Windoze how on earth do they expect to secure Vista?

I haven't read a single review of Vista that suggested it was even remotely close to being suitable for release but that won't stop MICROSUCKS from pumping it out the door just as fast as they can. With all the known problems in Vista you can imagine how many unknown problems exist. Vista is a good means to cause financial hardship to the entire world with the exception being MICROSUCKS who will reap windfall profits from their over-priced defective products.
So Microsoft should still have tech support for DOS and Windows 3.x? That's a little overkill isn't it?
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2006
Messages
5,103 (1.18/day)
Likes
1,258
Location
AZ
System Name Thought I'd be done with this by now
Processor i7 4790K 4.4GHZ turbo currently at 4.6GHZ at 1.16v
Motherboard MSI Z97-G55 SLI
Cooling Scythe Mugen 2 rev B (SCMG-2100), stock on gpu's.
Memory 8GB G.SKILL Ripjaws Z Series DDR3 2400MHZ 10-12-12-31
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 760 Superclocked replaced HIS R9 290 that was artifacting
Storage 1TB MX300 M.2 OS + Games, 4x ST31000524NS in Raid 10 Storage and Backup, external 2tb backup,
Display(s) BenQ GW2255 surprisingly good screen for the price.
Case Raidmax Scorpio 668
Audio Device(s) onboard HD
Power Supply EVGA 750 GQ
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores no one cares anymore lols
#10
you kidding those were the best microsoft os's
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2005
Messages
6,885 (1.49/day)
Likes
1,501
System Name MY PC
Processor E8400 @ 3.80Ghz > Q9650 3.60Ghz
Motherboard Maximus Formula
Cooling D5, 7/16" ID Tubing, Maze4 with Fuzion CPU WB
Memory XMS 8500C5D @ 1066MHz
Video Card(s) HD 2900 XT 858/900 to 4870 to 5870 (Keep Vreg area clean)
Storage 2
Display(s) 24"
Case P180
Audio Device(s) X-fi Plantinum
Power Supply Silencer 750
Software XP Pro SP3 to Windows 7
Benchmark Scores This varies from one driver to another.
#12
NOOOOOOOOO!!!!!! I still have SP1, since whenever I try to install SP2, in corrupts my whole system...wierd huh? Damn it...I'm pissed.
You need to disable NX from the bios however, some AMD MB's don't have such a feature. NX or XD from the bios helps enable DEP in SP2 thus causing problems for some who have no bios option to disable it all together. photo

explanation here

Here is what some of the bios show No execute

Execute disable function


Execute Disable B...


No Execute Memory


NX Technology
 

Shyska

New Member
Joined
Sep 7, 2005
Messages
158 (0.04/day)
Likes
16
Processor AMD Athlon64 3000+ Venice @2.5GHz
Motherboard Asus A8N-E :(this board limits my cpu overclock ):
Cooling CPU box, GPU Zalman VF700-Cu
Memory 2x512MB PC3200 @227MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire X850XT 256MB PCI-E @ 605/618
Storage 40GB & 120GB Maxtors
Power Supply Generic 400W
Software Windows XP Pro SP2 | Debian GNU/Linux <sarge>
#13
Can anyone explain me what are they saying by that? Is it that Microsoft won't give me my legit support just because SP2 isn't compatible with some of my hardware?
 
Joined
May 15, 2006
Messages
4,677 (1.10/day)
Likes
86
Location
Someone who's going to find NewTekie1 and teach hi
Processor DualCore AMD Athlon 64x2 4800+ (o/c 2801mhz STABLE (Ketxxx, POGE, Tatty One, ME))
Motherboard ASUS A8N-SLI Premium (PCIe x16, x4, x1)
Cooling PhaseChange Coolermaster CM754/939 (fan/heatsink), Thermalright heatspreaders + fan built on (RAM)
Memory 512mb PC-3200 DDR400 (set DDR-33 for o/c) by Corsair (matched pair, 2x256mb) 200.1/200mhz
Video Card(s) BFG GeForce 7900 GTX OC 512mb GDDR3 ram (o/c manually to 686 core/865 memory) - PhaseChange cooled
Storage Dual "Raptor X" 16mb 10krpm/RAID 0 Promise EX8350 x4 PCIe 128mb & Intel IO chip/CENATEK RocketDrive
Display(s) SONY 19" Trinitron MultiScan 400ps 1600x1200 75hz refresh 32-bit color
Case Antec Super-LanBoy (aluminum baby-tower w/ lower front & upper rear cooling exhaust fans)
Audio Device(s) RealTek AC97 onboard mobo stereo sound (Altec Lansing ACS-45 speakers - 10 yrs. still running!)
Power Supply Antec 500w ATX 2.0 "SmartPower" powersupply
Software Windows Server 2003 SP #1 fully patched, & massively tuned/tweaked to-the-max (plus latest drivers)
#14
you kidding those were the best microsoft os's
Well, I'd agree on DOS @ its last iteration from MS in version 6.22: Solid as IRON!

:)

* Personally though, I think that 2000/XP/Server 2003, as of their latest patchwork as of today 10/10/2006 are JUST as solid, & around 100x more capable...

APK
 

evil bill

New Member
Joined
Jan 20, 2006
Messages
369 (0.08/day)
Likes
14
Location
Scotland
System Name Main Rig | Second Rig
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo Wolfdale E8200 @ 3.2Ghz | Pentium 4 530J 3.0Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P5KC @ 1,600Mhz FSB | Asus P5P800
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro | Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
Memory OCZ 4GB DDR2-800 (2x2GB) 5-4-4-15 | Corsair 1GB XMS DDR-400 (2 x 512MB)
Video Card(s) MSI NX8800GT 512MB Pre-OCd @ 660/950 | Powercolor X850 Pro 256MB AGP
Storage 500GB WD Caviar SATA300 | Hitachi Deckstar 80GB SATA
Display(s) LG 22" W2252TQ
Case Antec 900 | ATX Window case
Audio Device(s) Onboard High Definition Audio | Soundblaster Audigy SE
Power Supply Hiper 730W HPU-5M730-SE | Tagan 480W
Software Vista 64-bit SP1 | Windows 7 32-bit RC1
#15
Can anyone explain me what are they saying by that? Is it that Microsoft won't give me my legit support just because SP2 isn't compatible with some of my hardware?
in a word

Yes
 

b1lk1

New Member
Joined
May 4, 2005
Messages
688 (0.15/day)
Likes
17
Location
Ontario, Canada
System Name Money pit
Processor Q2Q Q8300
Motherboard ASUS P5E3 deluxe WIFI AP@N
Cooling 120.2/Swiftech655/Apogee GT/DD Fillport & res
Memory OCZ PC3-1333MHZ 2X1GB/Kingston HYPERX PC3-1325MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD4830
Storage Seagate 7200.11 1TB
Display(s) Dell 2209WA
Case some crap 5 year old generic modded case
Audio Device(s) X-FI fagtality
Power Supply PC P&C 510W
Software Vista Premium 64
#16
I have run SP2 on may different computers, including an old P3 500MHz Compaq, and currently on a P3 800MHz machne for my kids and never had an issue. I have installed it on 20 or so other PC's I have build of all configurations, from Socket A to S478, S939, Slot 1, Socket 370, and now Socket 775. If you have yet to get SP2 to function on your machine, it might be time for a Dell. Otherwise, you sdhould have gotten support to fix the issues before MS gave up on you.
 
Joined
Jan 29, 2006
Messages
9,066 (2.09/day)
Likes
287
Location
My house.
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 4800+ Brisbane @ 2.8GHz (224x12.5, 1.425V)
Motherboard Gigabyte sumthin-or-another, it's got an nForce 430
Cooling Dual 120mm case fans front/rear, Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro, Zalman VF-900 on GPU
Memory 2GB G.Skill DDR2 800
Video Card(s) Sapphire X850XT @ 580/600
Storage WD 160 GB SATA hard drive.
Display(s) Hanns G 19" widescreen, 5ms response time, 1440x900
Case Thermaltake Soprano (black with side window).
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Live! 24 bit (paired with X-530 speakers).
Power Supply ThermalTake 430W TR2
Software XP Home SP2, can't wait for Vista SP1.
#17

DaMulta

My stars went supernova
Joined
Aug 3, 2006
Messages
16,159 (3.89/day)
Likes
1,416
Location
Oklahoma T-Town
System Name Work in progress
Processor AMD 955---4Ghz
Motherboard MSi GD70
Cooling OcZ Phase/water
Memory Crucial2GB kit (1GBx2), Ballistix 240-pin DIMM, DDR3 PC3-16000
Video Card(s) CrossfireX 2 X HD 4890 1GB OCed to 1000Mhz
Storage SSD 64GB
Display(s) Envision 24'' 1920x1200
Case Using the desk ATM
Audio Device(s) Sucky onboard for now :(
Power Supply 1000W TruePower Quattro
#18
Oh no people with hacked copys of XP are going to be pissed off.
 

evil bill

New Member
Joined
Jan 20, 2006
Messages
369 (0.08/day)
Likes
14
Location
Scotland
System Name Main Rig | Second Rig
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo Wolfdale E8200 @ 3.2Ghz | Pentium 4 530J 3.0Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P5KC @ 1,600Mhz FSB | Asus P5P800
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro | Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
Memory OCZ 4GB DDR2-800 (2x2GB) 5-4-4-15 | Corsair 1GB XMS DDR-400 (2 x 512MB)
Video Card(s) MSI NX8800GT 512MB Pre-OCd @ 660/950 | Powercolor X850 Pro 256MB AGP
Storage 500GB WD Caviar SATA300 | Hitachi Deckstar 80GB SATA
Display(s) LG 22" W2252TQ
Case Antec 900 | ATX Window case
Audio Device(s) Onboard High Definition Audio | Soundblaster Audigy SE
Power Supply Hiper 730W HPU-5M730-SE | Tagan 480W
Software Vista 64-bit SP1 | Windows 7 32-bit RC1
#19

infrared

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
May 28, 2005
Messages
4,241 (0.92/day)
Likes
1,859
Location
Southampton, UK
System Name Raisin
Processor Ryzen 7 1800X (binned silicon lottery chip, good for 4.2GHz)
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero - bios 1401
Cooling 240mm rad with corsair ML fans, EK D5 pump/res, XSPC raystorm pro, lapped.
Memory G.Skill TridentZ DDR4-4266 16GB @ 3466MHz CL14
Video Card(s) EVGA 1080Ti FE - waterblock pending.
Storage Samsung 960 Evo 500GB + Corsair 120GB ssd (linux)
Display(s) Asus ROG Swift PG278QR 165hz 1440P
Case Lian Li test bench (can't decide on a case!)
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 750W G3
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Cherry MX Board 6.0
Software Win 10 & Linux Mint 18.1
#20
I have run SP2 on may different computers, including an old P3 500MHz Compaq, and currently on a P3 800MHz machne for my kids and never had an issue. I have installed it on 20 or so other PC's I have build of all configurations, from Socket A to S478, S939, Slot 1, Socket 370, and now Socket 775. If you have yet to get SP2 to function on your machine, it might be time for a Dell. Otherwise, you sdhould have gotten support to fix the issues before MS gave up on you.
Yeah, i'm running xp pro xp2 on my P3 933mhz machine now :D no problems at all
 
Joined
Jan 15, 2005
Messages
5,458 (1.16/day)
Likes
242
Location
England
System Name Jimmy 2004's PC
Processor S754 AMD Athlon64 3200+ @ 2640MHz
Motherboard ASUS K8N
Cooling AC Freezer 64 Pro + Zalman VF1000 + 5x120mm Antec TriCool Case Fans
Memory 1GB Kingston PC3200 (2x512MB)
Video Card(s) Saphire 256MB X800 GTO @ 450MHz/560MHz (Core/Memory)
Storage 500GB Western Digital SATA II + 80GB Maxtor DiamondMax SATA
Display(s) Digimate 17" TFT (1280x1024)
Case Antec P182
Audio Device(s) Audigy 4 + Creative Inspire T7900 7.1 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair HX520W
Software Windows XP Home
#21