• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Microsoft Issues Windows Vista Hotfix for Gaming - KB940105

malware

New Member
Joined
Nov 7, 2004
Messages
5,422
Likes
954
Location
Bulgaria
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 VID: 1.2125
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3P rev.2.0
Cooling Thermalright Ultra-120 eXtreme + Noctua NF-S12 Fan
Memory 4x1 GB PQI DDR2 PC2-6400
Video Card(s) Colorful iGame Radeon HD 4890 1 GB GDDR5
Storage 2x 500 GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 32 MB RAID0
Display(s) BenQ G2400W 24-inch WideScreen LCD
Case Cooler Master COSMOS RC-1000 (sold), Cooler Master HAF-932 (delivered)
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic + Logitech Z-5500 Digital THX
Power Supply Chieftec CFT-1000G-DF 1kW
Software Laptop: Lenovo 3000 N200 C2DT2310/3GB/120GB/GF7300/15.4"/Razer
Joined
Jun 29, 2006
Messages
423
Likes
10
Location
Infront Of PC ... Perth, WA
System Name NINJA ASSASSIN
Processor Intel Core i5 2500 @ 3.3GHz
Motherboard Asrock H61M/U3S3
Cooling Stock
Memory 8GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Windforce OC GTX 760 4GB
Storage WD Green 1TB :: WD Green 2TB
Display(s) 32" Teac LED TV
Case BitFenix Shinobi w/ Window
Audio Device(s) Creative SB VX 5.1
Power Supply XFX PRO 650W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64Bit
#2
anyone put it to the test yet ?

might DL soon

:rockout:
 

Zero Cool

New Member
Joined
Jan 28, 2007
Messages
1,197
Likes
6
Location
Prague, CZ
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 4600+ Manchester BOX, 939 OC @ 2.7
Motherboard DFI LanParty UT NF4 SLI-DR Expert - nForce4 SLI
Cooling 3D Galaxy II, Gigabyte CPU idle below 35C
Memory 2x 1GB KINGSTON DDR Dual Channel
Video Card(s) EN7900GTX EXTREME EDITION 2DHT 512MB
Storage Seagate 200GB 7200rpm
Display(s) ASUS MW221 < 22" WideScreen / 1680x1050
Case Sunbeam Samurai Gaming Case, Half broken by mum
Audio Device(s) Intergrated within the Mother Board 7.1 surround sound
Power Supply Chieftec 500W MODEL: CFT-5000-A12S
Software Windows Vista Ultimate
#4

WarEagleAU

Bird of Prey
Joined
Jul 9, 2006
Messages
10,809
Likes
529
Location
Gurley, AL
System Name Boddha Getta Boddha Getta Bah!
Processor AMD FX 6100 @ 4.432Ghz @1.382
Motherboard ASUS M5A99X EVO AMD 990X AMD SB950
Cooling Custom Water. EK 240MM Kit, Supreme HSF - Runs 35C
Memory 2 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance White LP @ 1.35V
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon HD 6870 980/1100
Storage WD Caviar Black 1.0TB, WD Caviar Green 1.0TB, WD 160GB
Display(s) Asus VH222/S 22: (21.5" Viewable) 1920x1080p HDMI LCD Monitor
Case NZXT White Switch 810
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek 5.1
Power Supply NZXT Hale 90 Gold Cert 750W Modular PSU
Software Windows 8.1 Profession 64 Bit
#5
Are the Geforce 6,7 and 8 cards more prone to problems with gaming in Windows vista?
 

Zero Cool

New Member
Joined
Jan 28, 2007
Messages
1,197
Likes
6
Location
Prague, CZ
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 4600+ Manchester BOX, 939 OC @ 2.7
Motherboard DFI LanParty UT NF4 SLI-DR Expert - nForce4 SLI
Cooling 3D Galaxy II, Gigabyte CPU idle below 35C
Memory 2x 1GB KINGSTON DDR Dual Channel
Video Card(s) EN7900GTX EXTREME EDITION 2DHT 512MB
Storage Seagate 200GB 7200rpm
Display(s) ASUS MW221 < 22" WideScreen / 1680x1050
Case Sunbeam Samurai Gaming Case, Half broken by mum
Audio Device(s) Intergrated within the Mother Board 7.1 surround sound
Power Supply Chieftec 500W MODEL: CFT-5000-A12S
Software Windows Vista Ultimate
#6

Pinchy

New Member
Joined
Apr 29, 2006
Messages
5,105
Likes
270
Location
Sydney, Australia
System Name UltraPC
Processor E8500 Core 2 Duo, 1333Mhz FSB, 3.16Ghz @ 4.5GHz (got into Windows @ 4.75GHz)
Motherboard ASUS P5Q-e
Cooling CPU Cooler - TT V14 Pro, 2x120mm CM Blue LED fans, 1x90mm CM Blue LED fan
Memory G.Skill Pi 4GB (2x2GB) Dual Channel DDR2 PC8000 (1000MHz), 5-5-5-15
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD4850 512mb with ASUS EAH4850 BIOS
Storage 2x 500GB Seagate 7200.12 Raid 0
Display(s) Acer AL1912, 19" LCD screen
Case Thermaltake Soprano Black ATX case
Audio Device(s) Onboard 7.1, Speakers - 5 + Sub + Monitor speakers
Power Supply Thermaltake 850W Toughpower Cable Management - Quad (2x18A and 2x30A) 12V rails
Software Win 7 Pro x64, MSN, CS:Source, etc etc
#7
All games are fine on the 6800GO in the laptop. Dont see a reason to update to it (plus i cant update to 163 drivers....stupid dell :p).
 

Flint

New Member
Joined
Jan 28, 2006
Messages
41
Likes
0
Location
G'burg, MD
Processor Core2 Duo E6600 @ 3.2Ghz
Motherboard Asus P5B-Deluxe
Cooling Xigmatek HDT-S1283
Memory 4 GB Patriot DDR2-1066
Video Card(s) HD 4870
Storage 2 Seagate 80GB in Raid 0
Display(s) Viewsonic VX924
Case Lian Li G70
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi
Power Supply Enermax Liberty 620
Software WinXp/Vista 32 dual boot
#8
...and what about users of ATI video cards? the MS site says nothing about this being exclusive to any brand, so is this recommended for us ATI users too? http://support.microsoft.com/kb/940105
 

FAXA

New Member
Joined
Feb 9, 2007
Messages
234
Likes
5
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E6300 @3.15GHz
Motherboard Asus P5N-E SLI NF650i SLi
Cooling 2x120MM fans, Stock Intel Cooler, 1x80mm fans
Memory 2GB DDR2 PC5400 (2x1GB Corsair XMS2 w/ Heat Spreaders)
Video Card(s) Inno3D 8800GTS 320MB 650MHz Core
Storage 2x 250GB SATA300
Display(s) Dell D1226H 1600x1200 CRT
Case Windowed Coolermaster Centurion 5
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 24-bit
Power Supply 520W Corsair HX Series Modular PSU
Software Windows Vista™ Home Premium (6.0, Build 6000) (6000.vista_rtm.061101-2205)
#9
My BF2 has stopped crashing YAY!!!
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,094
Likes
13,520
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#10
i've been running this one for a while, anandtech has info about it.

this DOES work on ATI. What it does, is fixes a bug.


In DX9, the video card ram was shadowed into the memory address space, so that the 32 bit programs/drivers could access and modify it as if it was system ram.

However, for some reason it was always maxed out in vista - if you have a 768MB GTX, that was 768MB of address space gone. Under 32 bit vista, when you hit 4GB address space.... you crashed. BF2142 on titan maps was very prone to this.

All this fix does is reduces the amount a fair bit, so its not at max - a 768MB card might use 200-300MB now, giving you some more headroom before you crash. A proper fix should come out some time in the future, but most people are reccomending vista x64 instead.


P.S
It should be noted that this affects memory *address space* and not system memory itself - system memory is part of the address space, video card ram, and all shadowed ROM's (bios, PCI cards, etc use some) - however, i have noticed 1-200MB less ram usage after installing this, i assume this difference will be lower for users with less than 512MB of total video ram.
 

Flint

New Member
Joined
Jan 28, 2006
Messages
41
Likes
0
Location
G'burg, MD
Processor Core2 Duo E6600 @ 3.2Ghz
Motherboard Asus P5B-Deluxe
Cooling Xigmatek HDT-S1283
Memory 4 GB Patriot DDR2-1066
Video Card(s) HD 4870
Storage 2 Seagate 80GB in Raid 0
Display(s) Viewsonic VX924
Case Lian Li G70
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi
Power Supply Enermax Liberty 620
Software WinXp/Vista 32 dual boot
#11
Thanks, Mussels. I'll DL it later on. :toast:
 
Joined
Nov 16, 2006
Messages
2,717
Likes
445
Location
Blighty
System Name Skylake / Sandybridge
Processor i7 6700k@4.8 / i5 2500k@4.6
Motherboard Asus Maximus VIII Ranger / Asrock z68 Extreme4 g3
Cooling EK Supremacy MX, CoolGate 240,EK D5pwm Revo Res/ EK Supreme, swiftech 240 rad, D5 non vario
Memory 16gb G.Skill Trident Z 16gb cl16 / 16gb Corsair Vengeance Pro 2400@2133cl9
Video Card(s) Asus Strix 1070 / Powercolor R9 390 PCS+
Storage Samsung SM961 256gb,BX100 250gb ,kc400 512gb/ 120gb Corsair Force GT, HyperX Savage 240gb,
Display(s) Panasonic 50dx700 tv + Dell u2515 / Dell u2312
Case TTake Suppressor F51/F31
Power Supply EVGA 1000 P2 / EVGA 650 G2
Mouse G900 / G700s
Keyboard Roccat Suora FX Brown / Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Win 10 / Win 10
#12
good find mussels, i wonder if this would help that guy having issues with 2 1gb 2900's and 8gb ram that was on here a while back (i know he was on 64 bit, but maybe theres a good few bugs linked to extra address space available)
 

effmaster

New Member
Joined
Aug 22, 2007
Messages
1,327
Likes
72
Location
Rocket City, Alabama (Huntsville)
Processor Core Duo T2250 1.73 GHZ
Memory 2 GB DDR2
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GEForce Go 7600 256 MB
Storage 120 GB
Display(s) 17 inch notebook
Case metallic grey
Audio Device(s) Creative xmod (though that doesnt really count as a sound card lol)
Power Supply power plug and battery
Software Lots of it
#13
Does this update only affect desktop video cards or will it work on My geforce Go 7600 even though its a laptop graphics card it has 256 MB on it:confused::confused:
 
Joined
Sep 5, 2004
Messages
1,870
Likes
249
Location
The Kingdom of Norway
System Name Wiak's Gaming Rig 2017
Processor Ryzen 1700X
Motherboard ASUS PRIME X370-PRO
Cooling Noctua
Memory Corsair Vengenace LPX 3200 CL16 @ 2933
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon 480 8GB Gaming X
Storage Samsung 960 EVO 500GB / Samsung 850 EVO 1TB
Case Corsair 200R
Power Supply Corsair AX850
Mouse Corsair Sabre Laser
Keyboard Logitech Orion Brown (G610)
#14
i've been running this one for a while, anandtech has info about it.

this DOES work on ATI. What it does, is fixes a bug.


In DX9, the video card ram was shadowed into the memory address space, so that the 32 bit programs/drivers could access and modify it as if it was system ram.

However, for some reason it was always maxed out in vista - if you have a 768MB GTX, that was 768MB of address space gone. Under 32 bit vista, when you hit 4GB address space.... you crashed. BF2142 on titan maps was very prone to this.

All this fix does is reduces the amount a fair bit, so its not at max - a 768MB card might use 200-300MB now, giving you some more headroom before you crash. A proper fix should come out some time in the future, but most people are reccomending vista x64 instead.


P.S
It should be noted that this affects memory *address space* and not system memory itself - system memory is part of the address space, video card ram, and all shadowed ROM's (bios, PCI cards, etc use some) - however, i have noticed 1-200MB less ram usage after installing this, i assume this difference will be lower for users with less than 512MB of total video ram.
yep vista x64 is the best system for you gaming rig ^^
vista 32bit is the best system for you htpc
in vista x64 you get more than 3GB RAM!, this is why you can get upto 16GB on motherboards when running x64 version of windows aka windows amd64

all heil to amd for getting this revolution to the consumer :respect:
 
Joined
Jul 18, 2007
Messages
6
Likes
1
Location
Lima - Perú
Processor Intel C2D E6300 @ 3.0Ghz 1.44v
Motherboard ASUS P5N-E SLI w/
Cooling AF7PRO + TR HR-05 SLI + TT EXTREME SPIRIT II + Evercool NEON CRAB + TR HR-03+
Memory G.Skill 2x1GB DDR2 800 @ 860
Video Card(s) Foxconn 8800GTS 640MB 575/1800
Storage Seagate ATA200GB / SATA80GB
Display(s) LG Flatron EZ T730SH
Case MGE XG Dragon
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply HEC Winpower 550W UB
Software Windows Vista
#15
Bioshock now works fine in Dx10 mode (no more RT 2.03 + D3DOverride Triple Buffering in DX10 enable)
 
Last edited:

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,094
Likes
13,520
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#16
good find mussels, i wonder if this would help that guy having issues with 2 1gb 2900's and 8gb ram that was on here a while back (i know he was on 64 bit, but maybe theres a good few bugs linked to extra address space available)
Yes. He'd have lost 2GB just to his cards alone, with the bug.

Does this update only affect desktop video cards or will it work on My geforce Go 7600 even though its a laptop graphics card it has 256 MB on it:confused::confused:
This affects the vista OS - however, with only a 256MB card, it wouldnt affect it all that much.
Dont forget you need the 163.xx drivers, they arent available on laptops yet.

yep vista x64 is the best system for you gaming rig ^^
vista 32bit is the best system for you htpc
in vista x64 you get more than 3GB RAM!, this is why you can get upto 16GB on motherboards when running x64 version of windows aka windows amd64

all heil to amd for getting this revolution to the consumer :respect:
Vista64 is great - so is 4GB ram :)
And shhhh, the intel users *cough* who are running x64 *cough* might hear you ;)

(Intel did have 64 bit first, just not a chip that did 32 and 64 simultaneously)
 
Joined
Dec 1, 2006
Messages
448
Likes
39
#17
(Intel did have 64 bit first, just not a chip that did 32 and 64 simultaneously)
There was Intel Itanium possessor in year 2003 when AMD64 was introduced on the market. I still remember looking Intel website - the cheapest price was 7000$ for a CPU. It was a server CPU on PCB with DDRSDRAM level3 cash and IA-64 architecture. Intel didn't manage to sell even 10 000 of this CPU till 2003 , but MS made an OS for Itanium. There was an opinion that Itanium CPU is only for DB servers and it is a long term Intel goal to introduce 64bit computing to the desktop PC's (10 yarns or so).
 
Joined
Nov 16, 2006
Messages
2,717
Likes
445
Location
Blighty
System Name Skylake / Sandybridge
Processor i7 6700k@4.8 / i5 2500k@4.6
Motherboard Asus Maximus VIII Ranger / Asrock z68 Extreme4 g3
Cooling EK Supremacy MX, CoolGate 240,EK D5pwm Revo Res/ EK Supreme, swiftech 240 rad, D5 non vario
Memory 16gb G.Skill Trident Z 16gb cl16 / 16gb Corsair Vengeance Pro 2400@2133cl9
Video Card(s) Asus Strix 1070 / Powercolor R9 390 PCS+
Storage Samsung SM961 256gb,BX100 250gb ,kc400 512gb/ 120gb Corsair Force GT, HyperX Savage 240gb,
Display(s) Panasonic 50dx700 tv + Dell u2515 / Dell u2312
Case TTake Suppressor F51/F31
Power Supply EVGA 1000 P2 / EVGA 650 G2
Mouse G900 / G700s
Keyboard Roccat Suora FX Brown / Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Win 10 / Win 10
#18