• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Microsoft May Bring Back The Start Button

Joined
Mar 26, 2010
Messages
7,646 (2.71/day)
Likes
1,983
Location
Jakarta, Indonesia
System Name micropage7
Processor Intel G4400
Motherboard MSI B150M Bazooka D3
Cooling Stock ( Lapped )
Memory 16 Gb Team Xtreem DDR3
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX460
Storage Seagate 1 TB, 5oo Gb and SSD A-Data 128 Gb
Display(s) LG 19 inch LCD Wide Screen
Case HP dx6120 MT
Audio Device(s) Stock
Power Supply Be Quiet 600 Watt
Software Windows 7 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Classified
#1
One of the most noticeable changes Microsoft made to the Windows operating system in the latest version, Windows 8, was the absence of the Start button. For years, the Start button has been a constant fixture of the Windows desktop environment. Traditionally, the Start button enabled the users to see the Start menu which features the programs and applications they could start up and use. If you were missing the Start button, you might not have to wait too long for it to return to the Windows OS.



There are strong rumors that Microsoft is looking to add the Start button to the upcoming Windows 8.1. Previously known as Windows Blue, version 8.1 is going to take their operating system to the next level. The addition of the Start button probably means that Microsoft has given into public demand and is bringing it back. However, that is where the good news ends. Microsoft is only considering bring back the Start button but not in its full functionality.

The Start button would only be used for accessing the Start Screen. This means that you won’t be able to view the elaborate Start menu characteristic of previous Windows’ versions. So, Windows might bring the Start button back but not the entire experience associated with it. However, this is hardly a cause for concern. After all, Windows users won’t change their operating systems just because of a Start Button.

When Microsoft first announced that the traditional Start button had been done away with, it did cause some controversy. The Start button made using Windows much easier, especially for new users. Its absence on the Windows 8 platform increased the effort a user had to put in to learn how to work. The Windows flag replaced the Start button. Coming to think of it, the new rumored Start button is going to perform the same function as the flag does, i.e. giving you access to the Start screen.

Originally, before Windows 8 was launched, Microsoft had said that the company had used feedback gathered from the Customer Experience Improvement Program when deciding to remove the Start button. The reversal in stance also seems to be on the back of user feedback. You would still have to wait until the first public preview of Windows 8.1 is revealed later in the year. Since Windows 8.1 is going to hit the markets before the end of the year, it shouldn’t be long before this news is confirmed

http://techbeat.com/2013/05/microsoft-may-bring-back-the-start-button/
 
Joined
May 24, 2007
Messages
4,715 (1.22/day)
Likes
354
Location
Tennessee
System Name AM3+
Processor AMD FX-8350 @ 4715.73 MHz (23.5*200.63 MHz)
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair V Formula-Z AM3+ AMD 990FX SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard
Cooling AMD 8150 Factory Water Cooler
Memory Corsair XMS3 16 GB 1333 MHz PC3-10666 240-Pin DDR3
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG MATRIX-R9290X-P-4GD5 Radeon R9 290X 4GB 512-Bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0
Storage SanDisk Ultra II 480GB, INTEL SS DSC2BW240A4, Western Digital WDC WD50 00AAKX-003CA0
Display(s) Acer S211HL bd 21.5-Inch Widescreen Ultra-Slim LED Display - Black
Case COOLER MASTER Elite 335 Upgraded RC-335U-KKN1 Black Steel / Plastic ATX Mid Tower Computer Case
Power Supply Corsair RM Series 850 Watt ATX/EPS 80PLUS Gold-Certified Power Supply - CP-9020056-NA RM850
Software Windows 10.0 Pro 64 Bit
#2
Tom's has tested a version of the new build and there is no start button or option to activate it. The start button is not needed anymore in my opinion.
 
Joined
Apr 30, 2006
Messages
1,168 (0.27/day)
Likes
435
Processor 7900
Motherboard Rampage Apex
Cooling H115i
Memory 64GB TridentZ 3200 14-14-14-34-1T
Video Card(s) Fury X
Case Corsair 740
Audio Device(s) 8ch LPCM via HDMI to Yamaha Z7 Receiver
Power Supply Corsair AX860
Mouse G903
Keyboard G810
Software 8.1 x64
#3
What drives me crazy is the fullscreen only metro apps.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,242 (5.04/day)
Likes
4,819
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#4
the button didnt take up the whole screen and gave you complete access to all programs. Start screen is very intrusive. Plus flat pastels is yuk. I liked how W7 is and id rather keep that across the OS spectrum. MS tried doing too much at once and it is a complete and utter mess of a failure. Plus opening only 4 screens at a time or full screen only programs. this isnt windows anymore this is just like iOS or Droid/Mobile apps.
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2010
Messages
7,646 (2.71/day)
Likes
1,983
Location
Jakarta, Indonesia
System Name micropage7
Processor Intel G4400
Motherboard MSI B150M Bazooka D3
Cooling Stock ( Lapped )
Memory 16 Gb Team Xtreem DDR3
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX460
Storage Seagate 1 TB, 5oo Gb and SSD A-Data 128 Gb
Display(s) LG 19 inch LCD Wide Screen
Case HP dx6120 MT
Audio Device(s) Stock
Power Supply Be Quiet 600 Watt
Software Windows 7 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Classified
#5
personally i prefer if MS using dual option, like touch screen version and normal start button
 
Joined
May 24, 2007
Messages
4,715 (1.22/day)
Likes
354
Location
Tennessee
System Name AM3+
Processor AMD FX-8350 @ 4715.73 MHz (23.5*200.63 MHz)
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair V Formula-Z AM3+ AMD 990FX SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard
Cooling AMD 8150 Factory Water Cooler
Memory Corsair XMS3 16 GB 1333 MHz PC3-10666 240-Pin DDR3
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG MATRIX-R9290X-P-4GD5 Radeon R9 290X 4GB 512-Bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0
Storage SanDisk Ultra II 480GB, INTEL SS DSC2BW240A4, Western Digital WDC WD50 00AAKX-003CA0
Display(s) Acer S211HL bd 21.5-Inch Widescreen Ultra-Slim LED Display - Black
Case COOLER MASTER Elite 335 Upgraded RC-335U-KKN1 Black Steel / Plastic ATX Mid Tower Computer Case
Power Supply Corsair RM Series 850 Watt ATX/EPS 80PLUS Gold-Certified Power Supply - CP-9020056-NA RM850
Software Windows 10.0 Pro 64 Bit
#6
the button didnt take up the whole screen and gave you complete access to all programs. Start screen is very intrusive. Plus flat pastels is yuk. I liked how W7 is and id rather keep that across the OS spectrum. MS tried doing too much at once and it is a complete and utter mess of a failure. Plus opening only 4 screens at a time or full screen only programs. this isnt windows anymore this is just like iOS or Droid/Mobile apps.
Actually they have claimed 7% tablet share and haven't even been pushing that hard until recently.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,242 (5.04/day)
Likes
4,819
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#7
IDK MS should of just left W7 alone and implemented a touch interface and called the OS W7.5
 
Joined
Jan 29, 2012
Messages
4,484 (2.09/day)
Likes
3,648
Location
Boca Raton, Florida
System Name natr0n-PC
Processor Phenom II X6 1100T @ 3.7 GHz - NB 3.0 GHz | Xeon E3-1290
Motherboard MSI 970 Gaming | Asus Sabertooth Z77
Cooling TRUE 120 |Deep Cool Assassin
Memory Gskill Ripjaws X - 16GB DDR3 (4x4GB)
Video Card(s) MSI 7970 Twin Frozr III BE OC - 1100/1500
Storage Crucial MX300 525GB + Multiple Mechs
Display(s) SyncMaster 2343BWX 23" 2048x1152 / Dell 1909W 19" 1440x900
Case Sunbeam Transformer Silver - frame is built like a tank
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Extreme Music | X-Fi Titanium - Bookshelf system
Power Supply Corsair TX650 v1
Software Windows XP/7/8.1/10
Benchmark Scores Xeon E3-1290 cpuz world record
#8
In the meantime if anyone is using win 8 you can use classicshell .
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,317 (4.00/day)
Likes
4,724
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 290X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#9
OMG how can a company be so fucking stupid, just give us the frigging option to pick what we want including the new idea..

That's as hard as it needs to be and not all the BS. I bet they would not be screwing around like this if they were running short on money but i bet they wounder why they are losing money but they surly will not blame them self's and there stupid and forceful idea's.


What a bunch of pricks.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,242 (5.04/day)
Likes
4,819
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#10
Vista made them lose money thats why they focused so hard to make 7 almost perfect
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,381 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,023
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#11
Don't care. My Windows 8 has a start button. If I didn't want to do the small task of putting it there I would of stuck to Windows 7.
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,317 (4.00/day)
Likes
4,724
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 290X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#12
Vista made them lose money thats why they focused so hard to make 7 almost perfect
Well some of the 7 changes lost them money too. You learn how to use a OS they they block the way you used to do some thing or\and rename it..

For example there was no need to remove and rename nearly every thing in the control panel after XP.. Making people lost on what they trying to find don't help sales.

They had it right in XP layout wise more or less then they fuck it up with vista which is still fucked up.
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2010
Messages
283 (0.10/day)
Likes
45
Location
Honky Tonk Nashville, TN
#13
The Win7 start button or just that blue circle with the windows flag is fine by me. The organization in Win7 is better. I do not plan on going to win8 otherwise.

Much of M$ OSes are good-bad-good-bad-good-bad... It's a dumb cycle.

They failed at these OSes in the past. Why oh why do they still keep doing this rather than expound on a likable OS that people love?

The bad ones ... Win-1, Win-2, 98, CE, ME, NT, 2000, Vista, Win8,
The good ones ... Win-2.x, Win-3.11, 95, 98SE, XP (Pro), Win7,
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,242 (5.04/day)
Likes
4,819
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#14
Well some of the 7 changes lost them money too. You learn how to use a OS they they block the way you used to do some thing or\and rename it..

For example there was no need to remove and rename nearly every thing in the control panel after XP.. Making people lost on what they trying to find don't help sales.

They had it right in XP layout wise more or less then they fuck it up with vista which is still fucked up.
the categories deal has been around since XP, i just put the control panel in classic view to see everything.
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,317 (4.00/day)
Likes
4,724
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 290X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#15
the categories deal has been around since XP, i just put the control panel in classic view to see everything.
They still moved shit.. Like they moved all the stuff that was under display. Right click explore was all so removed from the recycle bin although i am sure you can put it back if i could be assed too. Then they renamed shit too.

Everyone to their own i guess
 
Joined
May 6, 2013
Messages
14 (0.01/day)
Likes
3
#16
If they actually gave you the option to choose I would jump onto the bandwagon. Now I know I will eventually have to when DX12 comes out and it's only available on the latest Win OS. But god do I hate the metro UI with a passion....

There are solutions though to getting the start button back...But I don't want to use free or purchased software to bring back a feature that should of never have been fully removed to begin with...Silly microsoft =*(...
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,242 (5.04/day)
Likes
4,819
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#17
They still moved shit.. Like they moved all the stuff that was under display. Right click explore was all so removed from the recycle bin although i am sure you can put it back if i could be assed too. Then they renamed shit too.

Everyone to their own i guess
atleast it wasnt too drastic of a change like 8 is- i got told by a Uverse customer i just did a install for saying that MS told him that w8 might not be compatible with the 2Wire Modem-Router(Residential Gateway). I honestly feel that MS dont want to blame their own wireless drivers and controls for the problems. I recall several reports of printers not working right in W8 either. I remember back in the day games supporting multiple video cards not just nvidia or ATI but S3, 3DFX etc.

Honestly MS needs better testers.
 
Joined
Mar 7, 2007
Messages
3,788 (0.96/day)
Likes
671
Location
Pompano beach, Florida
System Name HAL
Processor Core i7 4770k @ 4.6 ghz.
Motherboard Asus Maximus VII Hero
Cooling H80i Closed loop liquid cooling.
Memory 4x 4 (16) GB Corsair Vengeance ddr3 2133 @ 2200
Video Card(s) GTX 1080 FTW
Storage 256 GB Ocz V4 SSD "Thank you Kreij (Dean)" + 2x 1TB drives.
Display(s) 50" Samsung, UHD, 4k, 60hz.
Case Corsair Carbide MId tower
Audio Device(s) LG system through optical 5.1
Power Supply CORSAIR Enthusiast Series TX850M
Software Microsoft Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores Haven (3720), Cinebench (932)
#18
I think it's great to reinvent things.. But once you find the best way to do something.. You should not totally F it up, by adding a bunch of BS, just to make an OS feel like a tablet..
Dedicated PC users do not care about the crap.. It's crap..
Which is why win 8 failed.. If they had even remotely listened to consumers about if, they wouldn't of been so dumb to release it as it was..
 
Joined
May 13, 2010
Messages
4,423 (1.59/day)
Likes
1,603
System Name RemixedBeast
Processor Intel i5 3570K @ 3.4Ghz
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Pro3
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 16GB Corsair XMS3
Video Card(s) EVGA Nvidia GTX 650 Ti SSC 1GB
Storage 1.5TB Seagate/128GB Samsung 840
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster P2350 23in @ 1920x1080 + LG Flatron 19in Widescreen 1440x900
Case Antec Three Hundred Two
Audio Device(s) Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro 80 // Fiio E7 Amp/DAC
Power Supply 620w Antec High Current Gamer HCG-620M
Mouse Logitech G700s/G502
Keyboard Logitech K740
Software Windows Server 2012 x64 Standard
Benchmark Scores Network: APs: Cisco Meraki MR32, Ubiquiti Unifi AP-AC-LR and Lite, Ligowave NFT-3AC
#19
Nothing is compatible with 2wire
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,317 (4.00/day)
Likes
4,724
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 290X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#20
atleast it wasnt too drastic of a change like 8 is- i got told by a Uverse customer i just did a install for saying that MS told him that w8 might not be compatible with the 2Wire Modem-Router(Residential Gateway). I honestly feel that MS dont want to blame their own wireless drivers and controls for the problems. I recall several reports of printers not working right in W8 either. I remember back in the day games supporting multiple video cards not just nvidia or ATI but S3, 3DFX etc.

Honestly MS needs better testers.
But still they are changing stuff that don't need to be changed and without giving the costumer the option of the past OS's is just plain ignorant.

Better testers ?, surly you mean better listeners. To me this BS it's like if they know they are wrong but don't want to admit it.

They can come out with 100 different start buttons or not one at all as long as i can make it how i want it which is best for me.

Maybe they could of made it optional on install or 1st startup never stopped them in the passed popping other crap up on 1st time boot at least this be more useful.
 

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
7,346 (2.61/day)
Likes
3,964
Location
Rochester area
System Name Kreij Lives On
Processor Intel Core i5 4670K @ 4.4Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VI Gene Z87
Cooling Reeven Okeanos Single 140MM Fan +2 SP120 White's
Memory 16GB kingston hyper x @ 2133 @ 11 11 11 32
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 ACX Copper Single fan
Storage 240gb Cruical MX200SSD/WD Blue 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S24D300/HP2071D
Case Custom Full Aluminum By ST.o.CH <3
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse Roccat KONE
Keyboard Rocatt ISKU with ISKUFX keycaps
Software Windows 10 +startisback
Joined
Sep 25, 2012
Messages
1,598 (0.84/day)
Likes
636
Location
Jacksonhole Florida
System Name DEVIL'S ABYSS
Processor i7-4790K@4.6 GHz
Motherboard Asus Z97-Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H110 (2 x 140mm)(3 x 140mm case fans)
Memory 16GB Adata XPG V2 2400MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA 780 Ti Classified
Storage Intel 750 Series 400GB (AIC), Plextor M6e 256GB (M.2), 13 TB storage
Display(s) Crossover 27QW (27"@ 2560x1440)
Case Corsair Obsidian 750D Airflow
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150
Power Supply Cooler Master V1000
Mouse Ttsports Talon Blu
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 version 1709
Benchmark Scores Passmark CPU score = 13080
#22
very Good point

Don't care. My Windows 8 has a start button. If I didn't want to do the small task of putting it there I would of stuck to Windows 7.
Yep, been using ClassicShell since day one with zero problems - took 5 minutes to download, install, and configure - runs seamlessly in the background as if part of Windows. And yet people who should have no trouble at all installing a simple utility resist the move to Windows 8, as if it's as bad as M.E. or Vista, and as a consequence lose the real benefits and improvements afforded by the new OS. I only see the "Start Screen" for 1 second, each time I boot, and once having set my default programs/file associations, I never have to leave the Desktop, where I have control over everything just as in Win7.
They could have easily avoided all this controversy and sold the crap out of Win8 simply by offering a choice during install to lose the whole "Metro" interface or keep it, satisfying desktop users and tablet users alike. I imagine very few desktop PC users are buying Apps from the Windows Store, since they can find almost any conceivable program for free, and it doesn't have to run in full screen (what brainiac came up with this idea? - probably some kid who never had a desktop PC).
 

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
14,886 (3.45/day)
Likes
5,416
System Name A dancer in your disco of fire
Processor i3 4130 3.4Ghz
Motherboard MSI B85M-E45
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 4 x 4GB Crucial Ballistix Sport 1400Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 760 DCU2OC 2GB
Storage Crucial BX100 120GB | WD Blue 1TB x 2
Display(s) BenQ GL2450HT
Case AeroCool DS Cube White
Power Supply Cooler Master G550M
Mouse Intellimouse Explorer 3.0
Keyboard Dell SK-3205
Software Windows 10 Pro
#23
Should be in Software.

Anyway, whatevs. I sort of want them to not get it back because it makes people angry.
 
Joined
May 27, 2008
Messages
3,577 (1.02/day)
Likes
533
Location
Huddersfield, uk
Processor E8200
Motherboard Asus P5KC
Cooling cooler master hyper tx3, 2x 120mm, 1x 80mm
Memory 4 GB DDR3 OCZ Black Edition
Video Card(s) Gigabyte HD 2600xt silent pipe II
Storage 500GB WD Sata / 60 GB Samsung IDE
Display(s) 20" samusng LCD, gaming at 1680 x 1050
Case some old amd thing
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply 650W
Software Windows 8.1, with 'start is back' obviously
Benchmark Scores It boots whilst im still young so im pleased with that.
#24
Beat me to it, installed that about a week after i got 8. Its fantastic. I like it more than any standard start buton menu in older OS's. Fully customisable, then just uninstall every stupid little app rubbish and stop windows automatically re-installing them if you add another account with this and its as if nothing has ever happened. I was so impressed with the StartisBack i even paid for it after the trial. Best £2 i ever spent. Now when i boot no dam metro, all my files open up in their proper programes instead of the dam stupid app equivalents and for them who still want the metro you can change the shortcut to bring it up or even add a button in the start menu.

Windows 8 start button how it should have been :)
 
Joined
Oct 12, 2008
Messages
5,656 (1.69/day)
Likes
2,606
Location
στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
System Name Ha/AhHa/Dell
Processor QX9650 SLAWN C1/i7-980x/i7-6700K
Motherboard GA-X48_DS4 (F3B bios)/Gigabyte x58A-UDR3 v 2.0(modded FH bios)/Dell Foxconn 0XJ8C4 Z170
Cooling CNPS9900 LED/H60/ 3 pipe-center fan-air
Memory 8 Gig of G.Skill F2-8800CL5D/24 Gb Corsair Vengence/ 24Gb Samsung DDR4 2133
Video Card(s) Galaxy NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960/PowerColor R9 280/ASUS R9 380X Strix G1
Storage All have SSDs with HDDs for extra storage and backup/Dell-M.2 Samsung 850 EVO PCIe
Display(s) Asus 266H/Viewsonic 1080p/HP ZR24W
Case CM-690/CM-690 II adv/Dell 8900 series
Audio Device(s) All use on board (Realtek) w/2.1 speakers
Power Supply PC P&C 750/PC P&C Silencer 950/CM 700 Extreme
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Windows 10 Pro - 64 bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit
#25
Installed 8 recently on one of my systems to play with & test.
And, came to the conclusion, I hated not having a Start button.
I could still do everything I did before;however, it felt odd and wanted the Start button back.
So, I tried a few and ended up using Start Menu 8 by Iobit... it is free and you can customize it.
I am still giving it run to see if there is anything else I dislike or like better.