• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Microsoft... oh how I love thee!

Joined
Jan 6, 2007
Messages
2,549 (0.64/day)
Likes
344
Location
Illinois
Processor i7 2600k@4.6ghz
Motherboard MSI z68ma-ed55
Cooling Silentx Extreem 120mm
Memory 2x4gb XMS 7-8-7-20 1600
Video Card(s) HD6870
Storage 2x128gb Kingston Hyper-X (Raid0), 2x750gb RE3 (RAID1), 2x750gb RE3 (RAID1)
Display(s) Soyo 24", Gateway 22"
Case Fractal Design Arc Mini 6x120mm fans.
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Zalman 750w
Software Windows 7
#1
Ok note to self... Don't bump the escape key half way through the story. :banghead: Anyone know how to disable the escape key? (rips it off) Solving the problem.

So here's the (shorter) story again... I have a laptop with XP home that had a virus curupt the OS, did a repair, went to activate and?... fail. Re-enter the key on the bottom of the laptop and?...fail. Call MS activation support. After telling them the 54 digit code 4 times, they said the product ID gives them an error but the COA (3 times) is ok. Well that's a relief. I figured this would be done in no time. I'd just have to enter the confirmation ID and be on my way. Well, they couldn't give me one and transfered me to another level of support. After FINALLY getting the second oobla-boobla to get the numbers right (3 times), he tells me the same story as the first guy and transfers me again. On to the 3rd level of support, this guy gets the numbers right after the second try, but again, the product ID is invalid. He wanted to transfer me to anothet (5th) support "team" who would be charging me $99. I told him it's not going to happen and to fix it. After arguing for about 15min, he said he'd email me the steps to try and fix the problem. Keep ya posted. ;)

At this point in time I have 5 days left to get the customers crap off the laptop without having to remove the drive and do it that way. Still, the customer is left with a broken OS...I mean, "properly functioning OS" that's disabled due to MS copy protection schemes.

The EASY solution is just download a cracked copy of XP and be done with it. I wonder how much money Microsoft looses paying activation support vs. the amount of money lost do to copywtire infringement. :confused: Sorry MS. You MADE me do it. You shot your own foot. :D
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2011
Messages
5,627 (2.38/day)
Likes
2,986
Processor Intel I7 4790k (stock)
Motherboard ASRock H97M-ITX/ac LGA 1150 Intel H97
Cooling Prolimatech megahalem
Memory Crucial 2x4gb 1600mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA 1060 3gb
Storage OWC Mercury SSD 240 GB
Display(s) Asus 144hz
Case Raijintek Metis
Power Supply Corsair SF600 600w psu
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
#2
Oh microsoft. $99 is the same price as a new copy of win 7/8
 
Joined
Jan 6, 2007
Messages
2,549 (0.64/day)
Likes
344
Location
Illinois
Processor i7 2600k@4.6ghz
Motherboard MSI z68ma-ed55
Cooling Silentx Extreem 120mm
Memory 2x4gb XMS 7-8-7-20 1600
Video Card(s) HD6870
Storage 2x128gb Kingston Hyper-X (Raid0), 2x750gb RE3 (RAID1), 2x750gb RE3 (RAID1)
Display(s) Soyo 24", Gateway 22"
Case Fractal Design Arc Mini 6x120mm fans.
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Zalman 750w
Software Windows 7
#3
I got the email. They just sent me to the Microsoft website explaining how to activate Windows. -.-" Idiots. This is funny though.

"Product activation reduces a form of software piracy that is known as "casual copying". Casual copying is the sharing and installation of software that is not in accordance with the software's end-use license agreement (EULA)."

I'm forced to resort to "casual copying" to fix the machine because product activation is apperently malfunctioning and they won't fix it. How ironic. It's just easier though. Too bad this old Toshiba won't run Win7 very well.
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2011
Messages
5,627 (2.38/day)
Likes
2,986
Processor Intel I7 4790k (stock)
Motherboard ASRock H97M-ITX/ac LGA 1150 Intel H97
Cooling Prolimatech megahalem
Memory Crucial 2x4gb 1600mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA 1060 3gb
Storage OWC Mercury SSD 240 GB
Display(s) Asus 144hz
Case Raijintek Metis
Power Supply Corsair SF600 600w psu
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
#4
What about windows 8. It is lower on the specs than 7. It uses .8gb ram in idle. 1.2gb during general use. I am on it right now with my laptop. I keep seeing sales bringing an oem key down to $75
 
Joined
Jan 6, 2007
Messages
2,549 (0.64/day)
Likes
344
Location
Illinois
Processor i7 2600k@4.6ghz
Motherboard MSI z68ma-ed55
Cooling Silentx Extreem 120mm
Memory 2x4gb XMS 7-8-7-20 1600
Video Card(s) HD6870
Storage 2x128gb Kingston Hyper-X (Raid0), 2x750gb RE3 (RAID1), 2x750gb RE3 (RAID1)
Display(s) Soyo 24", Gateway 22"
Case Fractal Design Arc Mini 6x120mm fans.
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Zalman 750w
Software Windows 7
#5
Laptop only has 1gb ddr and a P4. XP is using 190mb atm.
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2011
Messages
5,627 (2.38/day)
Likes
2,986
Processor Intel I7 4790k (stock)
Motherboard ASRock H97M-ITX/ac LGA 1150 Intel H97
Cooling Prolimatech megahalem
Memory Crucial 2x4gb 1600mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA 1060 3gb
Storage OWC Mercury SSD 240 GB
Display(s) Asus 144hz
Case Raijintek Metis
Power Supply Corsair SF600 600w psu
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
#6
Linux?
 
Joined
Jan 6, 2007
Messages
2,549 (0.64/day)
Likes
344
Location
Illinois
Processor i7 2600k@4.6ghz
Motherboard MSI z68ma-ed55
Cooling Silentx Extreem 120mm
Memory 2x4gb XMS 7-8-7-20 1600
Video Card(s) HD6870
Storage 2x128gb Kingston Hyper-X (Raid0), 2x750gb RE3 (RAID1), 2x750gb RE3 (RAID1)
Display(s) Soyo 24", Gateway 22"
Case Fractal Design Arc Mini 6x120mm fans.
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Zalman 750w
Software Windows 7
#7
He's an old guy who plays old Sierra games and astrology software.
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2007
Messages
6,142 (1.67/day)
Likes
1,636
Location
Austin Texas
System Name silen8
Processor Intel i7 7820X Delidded @ 4.64Ghz / 3.1Ghz Mesh
Motherboard MSI X299 Tomahawk
Cooling 240mm Corsair H105 Intake
Memory 32 GB Quad 3434Mhz DDR4 15-16-16-38-300-1T
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1080 Ti Gaming
Storage 1Tb Samsung 960 Pro m2, 1TB Samsung 850 Pro SSD
Display(s) Dell 24" 2560x1440 144hz, G-Sync @ 165Hz
Case NZXT S340 Elite Black
Audio Device(s) Arctis 7
Power Supply FSP HydroG 750W
Mouse zowie ec-2
Keyboard corsair k65 tenkeyless
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores Cb: 2103 Multi, 209 Single, 10450 Timespy - 10150 GPU/11900 CPU, superpi 1M - 7.71s
#8
crack it.
 

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
14,888 (3.45/day)
Likes
5,416
System Name A dancer in your disco of fire
Processor i3 4130 3.4Ghz
Motherboard MSI B85M-E45
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 4 x 4GB Crucial Ballistix Sport 1400Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 760 DCU2OC 2GB
Storage Crucial BX100 120GB | WD Blue 1TB x 2
Display(s) BenQ GL2450HT
Case AeroCool DS Cube White
Power Supply Cooler Master G550M
Mouse Intellimouse Explorer 3.0
Keyboard Dell SK-3205
Software Windows 10 Pro
#9
Did you use the phonetical alphabet (Alpha, Beta, Charlie etc)? Because without that it's almost impossible to get it right over the phone.

And they can't just fix it anyway I think. Activation is an automated process. Didn't the automated phone activation system work?
 
Joined
Mar 24, 2010
Messages
4,574 (1.62/day)
Likes
918
Location
Independent in Imperialistic
System Name Oh the name!
Processor i7 7700K
Motherboard MSI Z270 Xpower
Cooling EK 360 Extreme
Memory 16Gb G.Skill TridentZ 3866
Video Card(s) nVidia 1080 Ti Flanders Edition
Storage 1 Intel PCIE SSD750, 2 Sam 840Evo 1TB SSD, WD Black 2TB, Toshiba 3TB
Display(s) Acer Predator X1 (32")
Case Rajintek Paean
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX860
Mouse Mad Catz Pro X
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software W10Pro
#10
^that +1

Otherwise someone used the oem disc and code.... for another computer.
 
Joined
Jul 6, 2006
Messages
473 (0.11/day)
Likes
303
Location
ireland, galway
Processor q6600 G0 @ 2.8Ghz
Motherboard ex38 DS4
Cooling air
Memory 4 *1gig tracer ballistic
Video Card(s) sapphire dual bios 6950
Storage ssd- sandisk 120gb, sata- 2 500gb samsung in raid 1 & 1 samsung 400gb
Display(s) LG w2452tx
Case nzxt
Audio Device(s) na
Power Supply hiper 730
Mouse g9
Keyboard bt microsoft arch
Software win7
#11
crack it!!! 99bucks for xp LOL
talk about tryin to flog a dead horse
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,046 (3.47/day)
Likes
6,654
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, 1 X 4 Tb HGST, 1 x 6Tb Toshiba
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#12
Is it an OEM XP ? I'm suprized they tried to help you at all. You say its a Toshiba. Call them they might help. They may be able to get you the original XP disk for a small fee. HP charges $14

Also with XP you need the exact version of XP to be able to activate it with the serial number. Not just the type (home, Pro) but the version. What disk did you use, you may want to try another.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 6, 2007
Messages
2,549 (0.64/day)
Likes
344
Location
Illinois
Processor i7 2600k@4.6ghz
Motherboard MSI z68ma-ed55
Cooling Silentx Extreem 120mm
Memory 2x4gb XMS 7-8-7-20 1600
Video Card(s) HD6870
Storage 2x128gb Kingston Hyper-X (Raid0), 2x750gb RE3 (RAID1), 2x750gb RE3 (RAID1)
Display(s) Soyo 24", Gateway 22"
Case Fractal Design Arc Mini 6x120mm fans.
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Zalman 750w
Software Windows 7
#13
Did you use the phonetical alphabet (Alpha, Beta, Charlie etc)? Because without that it's almost impossible to get it right over the phone.

And they can't just fix it anyway I think. Activation is an automated process. Didn't the automated phone activation system work?
Yes I used the phonetic alphabet. The automated system didnt work.

Is it an OEM XP ? I'm suprized they tried to help you at all. You say its a Toshiba. Call them they might help. They may be able to get you the original XP disk for a small fee. HP charges $14

Also with XP you need the exact version of XP to be able to activate it with the serial number. Not just the type (home, Pro) but the version. What disk did you use, you may want to try another.
Yes it's OEM.

Yes.
 

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
14,888 (3.45/day)
Likes
5,416
System Name A dancer in your disco of fire
Processor i3 4130 3.4Ghz
Motherboard MSI B85M-E45
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 4 x 4GB Crucial Ballistix Sport 1400Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 760 DCU2OC 2GB
Storage Crucial BX100 120GB | WD Blue 1TB x 2
Display(s) BenQ GL2450HT
Case AeroCool DS Cube White
Power Supply Cooler Master G550M
Mouse Intellimouse Explorer 3.0
Keyboard Dell SK-3205
Software Windows 10 Pro
#14
In those circumstances they can generate new keys for you. At least we did that in sweden, but we didn't want people to know it. :laugh:
 
Joined
Jan 6, 2007
Messages
2,549 (0.64/day)
Likes
344
Location
Illinois
Processor i7 2600k@4.6ghz
Motherboard MSI z68ma-ed55
Cooling Silentx Extreem 120mm
Memory 2x4gb XMS 7-8-7-20 1600
Video Card(s) HD6870
Storage 2x128gb Kingston Hyper-X (Raid0), 2x750gb RE3 (RAID1), 2x750gb RE3 (RAID1)
Display(s) Soyo 24", Gateway 22"
Case Fractal Design Arc Mini 6x120mm fans.
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Zalman 750w
Software Windows 7
#15
In those circumstances they can generate new keys for you. At least we did that in sweden, but we didn't want people to know it. :laugh:
Wouldn't be the first time I've heard about something being better in a foreign country. :toast:
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,046 (3.47/day)
Likes
6,654
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, 1 X 4 Tb HGST, 1 x 6Tb Toshiba
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#17
Its OEM, Microsoft has no responsibility to support it. See if you can beg Toshiba for a key
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,320 (4.00/day)
Likes
4,726
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 290X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#18
Oh microsoft. $99 is the same price as a new copy of win 7/8
Nice and convenient huh.

And hate to to think how many people went out to find out how much Win 7\8 costs and got it for a system that might not be able to run it.. And i bet that phone call is not conveniently recorded when some one tries to sue them.

Our next door neighbor just hates the newer OS even more so because there is no support for some of the hardware he uses..

And to those who say he\they should buy new hardware why the fuck should they it works should be able to use it still.
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,046 (3.47/day)
Likes
6,654
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, 1 X 4 Tb HGST, 1 x 6Tb Toshiba
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#19
Nice and convenient huh.


Our next door neighbor just hates the newer OS even more so because there is no support for some of the hardware he uses..

And to those who say he\they should buy new hardware why the fuck should they it works should be able to use it still.
And Linux will support it. Go figure
 

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
14,888 (3.45/day)
Likes
5,416
System Name A dancer in your disco of fire
Processor i3 4130 3.4Ghz
Motherboard MSI B85M-E45
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 4 x 4GB Crucial Ballistix Sport 1400Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 760 DCU2OC 2GB
Storage Crucial BX100 120GB | WD Blue 1TB x 2
Display(s) BenQ GL2450HT
Case AeroCool DS Cube White
Power Supply Cooler Master G550M
Mouse Intellimouse Explorer 3.0
Keyboard Dell SK-3205
Software Windows 10 Pro
#20
Our next door neighbor just hates the newer OS even more so because there is no support for some of the hardware he uses..

And to those who say he\they should buy new hardware why the fuck should they it works should be able to use it still.
Is it MS or the hardware vendors fault it doesn't work? I'm not blaiming MS for any of that, it's not feasible (imo) to maintain compatibility with everything ever made.
 
Joined
Jan 6, 2007
Messages
2,549 (0.64/day)
Likes
344
Location
Illinois
Processor i7 2600k@4.6ghz
Motherboard MSI z68ma-ed55
Cooling Silentx Extreem 120mm
Memory 2x4gb XMS 7-8-7-20 1600
Video Card(s) HD6870
Storage 2x128gb Kingston Hyper-X (Raid0), 2x750gb RE3 (RAID1), 2x750gb RE3 (RAID1)
Display(s) Soyo 24", Gateway 22"
Case Fractal Design Arc Mini 6x120mm fans.
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Zalman 750w
Software Windows 7
#21
I'll gladly blame MS for anything related to the OS that's not functioning. MonopolySoft is in bed with hardware manufacturers who seek "MS Certification". All the major hardware manufacturers want that to gain consumer trust. The "electronic infrastructure" of a computer hasn't changed since 1985 so there's no reason old hardware (forgetting ISA) shouldn't work unless it's through planned obsolescence for profits. Software is the easiest way to accomplish that. Keep telling people it's for the best and they'll keep updating even though the version before was quite capable of performing the tasks. I guess the users are partly to blame. You know the ones... The people who jumped on Ivybridge but all they do is play on Facebook and watch Youtube videos. I shouldn't leave them out of the equation. :laugh:
 

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
14,888 (3.45/day)
Likes
5,416
System Name A dancer in your disco of fire
Processor i3 4130 3.4Ghz
Motherboard MSI B85M-E45
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 4 x 4GB Crucial Ballistix Sport 1400Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 760 DCU2OC 2GB
Storage Crucial BX100 120GB | WD Blue 1TB x 2
Display(s) BenQ GL2450HT
Case AeroCool DS Cube White
Power Supply Cooler Master G550M
Mouse Intellimouse Explorer 3.0
Keyboard Dell SK-3205
Software Windows 10 Pro
#22
I'll gladly blame MS for anything related to the OS that's not functioning. MonopolySoft is in bed with hardware manufacturers who seek "MS Certification". All the major hardware manufacturers want that to gain consumer trust. The "electronic infrastructure" of a computer hasn't changed since 1985 so there's no reason old hardware (forgetting ISA) shouldn't work unless it's through planned obsolescence for profits. Software is the easiest way to accomplish that. Keep telling people it's for the best and they'll keep updating even though the version before was quite capable of performing the tasks. I guess the users are partly to blame. You know the ones... The people who jumped on Ivybridge but all they do is play on Facebook and watch Youtube videos. I shouldn't leave them out of the equation. :laugh:
Printer drivers in Win7 take about 400MBs iirc. People always bitch about how bloated windows is ("why cant i use my 20gb drive for os it worked with win98!?????!??!"), imagine what it would be like to add/update functions if they were to support everything from 1990 and onward. Imagine all the stupid legacy code they would have to update.

Modern stuff might be certified, but that is no reason old stuff would be so.

EDIT: BTW, do you blame them for your AV software not working? What if you install a toolbar that's so badly coded it breaks your browser? Is that MSs fault too? Too many times I've talked to people whining about something not working. I tell them to remove that RegistryUltraBoosterBackupHyperAccelerator and stop running it, everything works fine again and it still is a Windows problem? I really don't understand your reasoning.
 
Joined
Nov 1, 2008
Messages
3,627 (1.09/day)
Likes
938
Location
Vietnam
System Name Gaming System / Laptop / HTPC
Processor i5 8600K @4.6Ghz / i5 540m / i7 970
Motherboard Z370 Aorus Ultra Gaming / Acer / Shuttle sx58j3
Cooling CM Seidon 120 XL / Laptop Cooling / SE-903
Memory T Group Nighthawk (3000 MHz)/ 4GB DDR3 / 12gb DDR3
Video Card(s) Colorful 1080Ti / G210m / 7870XT
Storage 750G MX300 + 3TB HDDs / 250G Ultra II /250G 850 EVO
Display(s) Dell U2515H + Asus VX239H/ 15.6" Laptop Screen / 720p 42" Plasma TV
Case Cooler master HAF 922 / Laptop Case / Corsair Air 240
Audio Device(s) On Board Realtek
Power Supply Andyson N700 Titanium / Laptop Power / ACBell 700 W
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard CM Quickfire XT (Cherry MX Reds)
Software Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Firestrike = xxxxx Timespy = 9097 Heaven = xxxx
#23
what has that got to do with the registration code not working?
 

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
14,888 (3.45/day)
Likes
5,416
System Name A dancer in your disco of fire
Processor i3 4130 3.4Ghz
Motherboard MSI B85M-E45
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 4 x 4GB Crucial Ballistix Sport 1400Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 760 DCU2OC 2GB
Storage Crucial BX100 120GB | WD Blue 1TB x 2
Display(s) BenQ GL2450HT
Case AeroCool DS Cube White
Power Supply Cooler Master G550M
Mouse Intellimouse Explorer 3.0
Keyboard Dell SK-3205
Software Windows 10 Pro
#24
Joined
Oct 2, 2005
Messages
2,909 (0.65/day)
Likes
659
Location
Baltimore MD
Processor FX-8320@ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte 970A-UD3
Cooling Xigmatek S1283
Memory 2x4Gb Corsair 1600 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX-480 Nitro
Storage OCZ Vertex 3 120G, 1TB WD Black
Display(s) Dell S2330MX
Case Corsair Carbide Air 540
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Fatal1ty / 5.1 Logitech Z-5500
Power Supply Silverstone DA750
Software Win10 pro 64bit
#25
That is odd, usually if you re install a fresh OEM edition of XP sp X where X is the sp the key was generated for usually printed on the COA, it works fine.
The only time i had an issue like that was in a similar situation where sp1 keys didn't work for sp2 installs, I was trying to save time :rolleyes:.
You may have to activate it over the phone by punching in the keys to the automated service.