• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Microsoft Releases List of Most Notable Changes in Windows Vista SP1

Joined
Jan 29, 2006
Messages
9,066 (2.09/day)
Likes
287
Location
My house.
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 4800+ Brisbane @ 2.8GHz (224x12.5, 1.425V)
Motherboard Gigabyte sumthin-or-another, it's got an nForce 430
Cooling Dual 120mm case fans front/rear, Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro, Zalman VF-900 on GPU
Memory 2GB G.Skill DDR2 800
Video Card(s) Sapphire X850XT @ 580/600
Storage WD 160 GB SATA hard drive.
Display(s) Hanns G 19" widescreen, 5ms response time, 1440x900
Case Thermaltake Soprano (black with side window).
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Live! 24 bit (paired with X-530 speakers).
Power Supply ThermalTake 430W TR2
Software XP Home SP2, can't wait for Vista SP1.
#1
The 21 page document can be found in both XLS and PDF format.

Both can be downloaded from Microsoft.

In case you don't feel like sifting through 21 pages of Microsoft's PR team at their finest, I took the liberty of summing up the summary. Basically, Microsoft took in a lot of user feedback, and mushed it into Vista Service Pack 1. Service Pack 1 addresses a ton of specific reliability and performance issues. Microsoft even went so far as to re-do the Vista kernel.

Show full news post
 

3991vhtes

New Member
Joined
Apr 22, 2007
Messages
2,785 (0.72/day)
Likes
107
Location
My house.
Processor AMD Athlon 64 3800+ Venice 2.4GHz
Motherboard ASUS A8V-VM SE
Cooling Stock
Memory 1GB DDR400
Video Card(s) DiamondViper Radeon X1650PRO 512MB PCI-e
Storage Seagate 250GB SATA
Display(s) Acer AL2002W 20" LCD Widescreen
Case cheap
Audio Device(s) Creative SoundBlaster
Power Supply 500 watt
Software Vista Ultimate
Benchmark Scores 4.1 Vista index
#2
I'll have to read it later! :D
 
Joined
Jan 31, 2007
Messages
1,397 (0.35/day)
Likes
101
Location
Edmonds, Washington
System Name Computer
Processor Intel i7 920 @ 4.2ghz
Motherboard Asus Rampage II Extreme
Cooling Air + Corsair Hydro H80i
Memory 16GB Corsair
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX970 G1
Storage Samsung 500GB 850 evo & WD Raptor 1TB, Thank You @ Linus from LinusTechTips for it :)
Display(s) Asus 24"
Case Corsair 600T
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar Essence STX
Power Supply XFX 750W
Software Windows 7
#3
sounds like a sexy let down. but hopfully not. :)
 

MikeJeng

New Member
Joined
Jan 12, 2008
Messages
551 (0.15/day)
Likes
23
Location
United States - CA
System Name Nerd Command Center
Processor i5-2500K 3.3Ghz
Motherboard MSI P67A-GD55
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory Corsair DDR3 1600 (2x2GB)
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX570
Storage Ocz Vertex 2 60GB
Display(s) Samsung 2343bwx 2048x1152
Case CM Cosmos 1000: Matte black + window
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Thermaltake 700W Modular PSU
Software Windows 7 Ultimate
#4
I heard Vista eats RAM for dinner.




Has Microsoft put Vista on a diet yet.




I haven't considered buying this operating system yet because of it's "appetite for RAM"
 

kylew

New Member
Joined
Nov 19, 2007
Messages
604 (0.16/day)
Likes
70
Location
Liverpool
Processor Main: Intel Core 2 Quad Q6700 @ 3.7Ghz / Server: Q6600@ Stock
Motherboard Main: Asus P5E @ Rampage Forumla / Server: P5K Deluxe
Cooling Main: Thermalright 120 Ultra Extreme (8 x 120mm fans inc. PSU + 2 x 92mm fans.) / Server: Stock
Memory Main: 4x2GB Gskill DDR2 1000Mhz / Server: 4x1GB Gskill DDR2 800Mhz
Video Card(s) Main: 2GB 5870 Eyefinity 6 / Server: HD 4850
Storage 8 Internal (SATA) 2 External (USB). Total storage 5.4TB
Display(s) Triple Dell 24" 2408WFP
Case Main: Silverstone TJ07 / Server: Coolermaster Stacker 810
Audio Device(s) Main: Auzentech Xmystique / Server: NI Rig Kontrol
Power Supply Main: Coolermaster Realpower 850w Modular / Server Tagan 600W Modular
Software Main: Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit / Server: Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
Benchmark Scores 3D Mark 06 19.5k 3D Mark Vantage 12.5k Super PI 13.4s
#5
Isn't the idea that your OS is SUPPOSED to use your ram? What's the point in having say, 4GB and then complaining when your OS actually puts it to use? :confused: Superfetch anyone?
 

Nemesis881

New Member
Joined
Jun 22, 2006
Messages
690 (0.16/day)
Likes
32
Location
Dawsonville, GA
System Name Nemy's comp
Processor AMD Athlon x2 4200+ @ 2.61ghz
Motherboard ASUS A8M2N-LA
Cooling 1x250mm (side), 2x120mm (one front and back), 6000+ stock cooler
Memory 3Gb Corsair value select PC2-4200 (2x512mb and 2x1gb))
Video Card(s) XFX HD7770
Storage 320gb Seagate Baracuda / 160gb western digital
Display(s) ASUS 19" widescreen LCD. 1440x900
Case Apevia Jupiter-JR S-Type
Audio Device(s) on-board. Audigy died D;
Power Supply Ultra 600W X-pro
Software Vista Home Premium
#6
I heard Vista eats RAM for dinner.




Has Microsoft put Vista on a diet yet.




I haven't considered buying this operating system yet because of it's "appetite for RAM"
You have 4gb's...I'm running it fine on 2 :toast:
 
Joined
Oct 19, 2006
Messages
360 (0.09/day)
Likes
14
Location
Adelaide, SA, Aussie!
System Name Blaq Mamba
Processor Intel i7 950 @4Ghz Swiftech Water Cooled
Motherboard ASUS ROG Rampage III Formula
Cooling All are 12cm LED fans: 2x front, 1x side, 1x back, 2x inside top under CPU radiator, 2x 14cm Top.
Memory 12GB DDR3 1600 3x4GB DIMMs
Video Card(s) 2x MSI HD 6950 2GB flashed to 6970 2GB... Damn fast :p direct exhaust.
Storage 2x GSkill Phoenix Pro 120GB SSDs' in RAID 0 (500MB/s read/write). 3x 2TB WD Green in RAID 5
Display(s) 52" Sony Bravia LCD 200hz motionflow
Case NZXT Tempest Evo
Audio Device(s) 6950/6970
Power Supply 1200w Thermaltake Toughpower
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores 7.7 in Windows Experience Index.... CPU holding me back...
#7
i have 4 & im running every game on max (well... maybe not crysis!!!)
 

X-TeNDeR

New Member
Joined
Oct 14, 2007
Messages
110 (0.03/day)
Likes
12
Location
Sharpening The Underdog's Teeth
Processor AMD Athlon II X4 630 Propus C2 (2.8GHz) 95w
Motherboard Asus M4A89GTD Pro/USB3 (AMD 890GX/SB850)
Cooling Scythe Yasya+MX-3, 3x140mm+1x120mm case fans
Memory Mushkin 2x2gb DDR3 1600MHz 6-8-6-24 1.65v
Video Card(s) Club3D Radeon HD 4850 512mb (Stock Fan+MX-3)
Storage WD 1TB SATA3 + WD MyBook 1TB ext+Toshiba 160gb ext
Display(s) LG W2486L '24 FHD Led 1920x1080
Case Lancool Dragonlord K62R1 (AMD Edition)
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DX+Microlab X16 2.1+Senn 448 'Phones
Power Supply Seasonic M12II-620 80+ Bronze Modular
Software Micro$oft Windows 7 Ultimate 64 Bit
#8
By the time i'll finish reading this document, we will be ready for SP2.
 

CDdude55

Crazy 4 TPU!!!
Joined
Jul 12, 2007
Messages
8,178 (2.15/day)
Likes
1,269
Location
Virginia
System Name CDdude's Rig!
Processor AMD Athlon II X4 620
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory 8GB Corsair Vengence @1600mhz
Video Card(s) XFX HD 6970 2GB
Storage OCZ Agility 3 60GB SSD/WD Velociraptor 300GB
Display(s) ASUS VH232H 23" 1920x1080
Case Cooler Master CM690 (w/ side window)
Audio Device(s) Onboard (It sounds fine)
Power Supply Corsair 850TX
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit SP1
#9
I now want SP1. But will it install just like the old Vistas?
 
Joined
Oct 19, 2006
Messages
360 (0.09/day)
Likes
14
Location
Adelaide, SA, Aussie!
System Name Blaq Mamba
Processor Intel i7 950 @4Ghz Swiftech Water Cooled
Motherboard ASUS ROG Rampage III Formula
Cooling All are 12cm LED fans: 2x front, 1x side, 1x back, 2x inside top under CPU radiator, 2x 14cm Top.
Memory 12GB DDR3 1600 3x4GB DIMMs
Video Card(s) 2x MSI HD 6950 2GB flashed to 6970 2GB... Damn fast :p direct exhaust.
Storage 2x GSkill Phoenix Pro 120GB SSDs' in RAID 0 (500MB/s read/write). 3x 2TB WD Green in RAID 5
Display(s) 52" Sony Bravia LCD 200hz motionflow
Case NZXT Tempest Evo
Audio Device(s) 6950/6970
Power Supply 1200w Thermaltake Toughpower
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores 7.7 in Windows Experience Index.... CPU holding me back...
#10
i just wanna know whats going on with the OEM hack fix........ & when the hackers will rehack the fix!!!!! till then... not interested...... (i swear im legit!!!)
 

tigger

I'm the only one
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
10,476 (2.44/day)
Likes
1,673
System Name Black to the Core MKIV
Processor Intel I7 6700k
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming socket 1151
Cooling NZXT Kraken X61 280mm radiator
Memory 2x8gb Corsair vengeance LPX 2400 DDR4
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon R9 290 4gb ddr5
Storage Patriot Blast 120gb ssd Boot and WD10EADX-22TDHB0 1TB Data
Display(s) Dell 2408WFP 24" 1920x1200
Case Nzxt IS 340
Audio Device(s) Asus xonar dsx pci-e
Power Supply Corsair CX750
Mouse Logitech G502
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#11
I agree with kylew.

People put ram in their machines for the os to use,then complain when it uses it.I dont care how much of my ram vista uses,as long as it does what i want.

Changes to the kernal? mmm,i'm gonna have a read of the pdf later.
 

asb2106

New Member
Joined
Jan 8, 2008
Messages
1,940 (0.53/day)
Likes
149
Location
kTOwN WI!!
System Name THE RAMPAGE!
Processor Q6600 WC
Motherboard ASUS Rampage Formula (x48)
Cooling ApogeeGT, 2xEK Full Cover 3870, 320rad, 220rad, modded mcp355
Memory G-Skill DDR2 1000 2x2gb
Video Card(s) Crossfire - Sapphire Toxic 3870 WC
Storage Raptor X, 160gb, 250gb, 1tb, 4x500gb - RAID5, 3x750gb - RAID5
Display(s) Samsung 24", LG 19"
Case Gigabyte 3dmars
Audio Device(s) Supreme FX optical out to Z5500!
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750
Benchmark Scores Everest 4.5 CPU Queen - 30,154 3dMark06 - 21551
#12
I agree with kylew.

People put ram in their machines for the os to use,then complain when it uses it.I dont care how much of my ram vista uses,as long as it does what i want.

Changes to the kernal? mmm,i'm gonna have a read of the pdf later.
I agree also! The reason people are putting more ram in now is because your computer can use it! The OS can do a better job of using it so I have no compaints, my 64bit install uses about 1.1 to 1.5 depending on my usage after the restart. Its been up for 4 days without a restart and its at 1.4 right now. Thats nothing when you have 4gigs!
 

tigger

I'm the only one
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
10,476 (2.44/day)
Likes
1,673
System Name Black to the Core MKIV
Processor Intel I7 6700k
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming socket 1151
Cooling NZXT Kraken X61 280mm radiator
Memory 2x8gb Corsair vengeance LPX 2400 DDR4
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon R9 290 4gb ddr5
Storage Patriot Blast 120gb ssd Boot and WD10EADX-22TDHB0 1TB Data
Display(s) Dell 2408WFP 24" 1920x1200
Case Nzxt IS 340
Audio Device(s) Asus xonar dsx pci-e
Power Supply Corsair CX750
Mouse Logitech G502
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#13
I just had a look at the pdf,theres a list about 30 pages long of the hotfixes it includes.
 
Joined
May 24, 2007
Messages
4,715 (1.22/day)
Likes
354
Location
Tennessee
System Name AM3+
Processor AMD FX-8350 @ 4715.73 MHz (23.5*200.63 MHz)
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair V Formula-Z AM3+ AMD 990FX SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard
Cooling AMD 8150 Factory Water Cooler
Memory Corsair XMS3 16 GB 1333 MHz PC3-10666 240-Pin DDR3
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG MATRIX-R9290X-P-4GD5 Radeon R9 290X 4GB 512-Bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0
Storage SanDisk Ultra II 480GB, INTEL SS DSC2BW240A4, Western Digital WDC WD50 00AAKX-003CA0
Display(s) Acer S211HL bd 21.5-Inch Widescreen Ultra-Slim LED Display - Black
Case COOLER MASTER Elite 335 Upgraded RC-335U-KKN1 Black Steel / Plastic ATX Mid Tower Computer Case
Power Supply Corsair RM Series 850 Watt ATX/EPS 80PLUS Gold-Certified Power Supply - CP-9020056-NA RM850
Software Windows 10.0 Pro 64 Bit
#14
I heard Vista eats RAM for dinner.




Has Microsoft put Vista on a diet yet.




I haven't considered buying this operating system yet because of it's "appetite for RAM"
Vista doesn't eat ram, and you shouldn't even be saying that with the amount of ram you have at your finger tips. However, I will say Vista isn't the best with ram. With the average user using 2GB of ram, and if using that ram plus Vista Ultimate 64-bit using 50%+ of that ram AT ALL TIMES, sure there is room for improvement. However, to say that vista uses all of your ram is a flat out lie, and the operating system actually runs pretty good with 2GB and a quad.

I'm sure you're an Apple user though, and you're used to being able to run your OS without it using anything close to 50%, but the fact is Vista isn't as bad with ram as you're making it out to be.
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,315 (4.00/day)
Likes
4,724
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 290X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#15
I agree with kylew.

People put ram in their machines for the os to use,then complain when it uses it.I dont care how much of my ram vista uses,as long as it does what i want.

Changes to the kernal? mmm,i'm gonna have a read of the pdf later.
I put ram in my system more for OTHER than the OS i don't want a OS that uses shed loads of Ram even more so when there's more and more games coming out that will use it too.

my games all ready take 1.52gig now and more in the pagefile yet another gig+ pending on game. Unless Riva Tuner is false lol.
 
Joined
Jun 17, 2007
Messages
7,325 (1.91/day)
Likes
995
Location
C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
System Name Unknown
Processor AMD Bulldozer FX8320 @ 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V
Cooling XSPC Raystorm 750 EX240 for CPU
Memory 8 GB CORSAIR Vengeance Red DDR3 RAM 1922mhz (10-11-9-27)
Video Card(s) XFX R9 290
Storage Samsung SSD 254GB and Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s
Display(s) AOC 23" @ 1920x1080 + Asus 27" 1440p
Case HAF X
Audio Device(s) X Fi Titanium 5.1 Surround Sound
Power Supply 750 Watt PP&C Silencer Black
Software Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
#16
Well its nice to see 25-50 Percent increase on diffrent reading and writing scenarios.

They also did some improvements on SuperFetch and readyboost as well.
 
Joined
Jun 17, 2007
Messages
7,325 (1.91/day)
Likes
995
Location
C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
System Name Unknown
Processor AMD Bulldozer FX8320 @ 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V
Cooling XSPC Raystorm 750 EX240 for CPU
Memory 8 GB CORSAIR Vengeance Red DDR3 RAM 1922mhz (10-11-9-27)
Video Card(s) XFX R9 290
Storage Samsung SSD 254GB and Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s
Display(s) AOC 23" @ 1920x1080 + Asus 27" 1440p
Case HAF X
Audio Device(s) X Fi Titanium 5.1 Surround Sound
Power Supply 750 Watt PP&C Silencer Black
Software Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
#17
I put ram in my system more for OTHER than the OS i don't want a OS that uses shed loads of Ram even more so when there's more and more games coming out that will use it too.
Look all vista does is use the RAM while no other App is useing it so you can do what you want to do smoother and faster.

As soon as another application needs it though, like a Game, it instantly gives it all back up so that the game can use it.

EVERYONE UNDERSTANDS NOW? Its called superfetch. look it up.
 
Joined
May 24, 2007
Messages
4,715 (1.22/day)
Likes
354
Location
Tennessee
System Name AM3+
Processor AMD FX-8350 @ 4715.73 MHz (23.5*200.63 MHz)
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair V Formula-Z AM3+ AMD 990FX SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard
Cooling AMD 8150 Factory Water Cooler
Memory Corsair XMS3 16 GB 1333 MHz PC3-10666 240-Pin DDR3
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG MATRIX-R9290X-P-4GD5 Radeon R9 290X 4GB 512-Bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0
Storage SanDisk Ultra II 480GB, INTEL SS DSC2BW240A4, Western Digital WDC WD50 00AAKX-003CA0
Display(s) Acer S211HL bd 21.5-Inch Widescreen Ultra-Slim LED Display - Black
Case COOLER MASTER Elite 335 Upgraded RC-335U-KKN1 Black Steel / Plastic ATX Mid Tower Computer Case
Power Supply Corsair RM Series 850 Watt ATX/EPS 80PLUS Gold-Certified Power Supply - CP-9020056-NA RM850
Software Windows 10.0 Pro 64 Bit
#18
Look all vista does is use the RAM while no other App is useing it so you can do what you want to do smoother and faster.

As soon as another application needs it though, like a Game, it instantly gives it all back up so that the game can use it.

EVERYONE UNDERSTANDS NOW? Its called superfetch. look it up.
I was under the impression MS abandoned superfetch, but I could be wrong of course.
 
Joined
Jun 17, 2007
Messages
7,325 (1.91/day)
Likes
995
Location
C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
System Name Unknown
Processor AMD Bulldozer FX8320 @ 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V
Cooling XSPC Raystorm 750 EX240 for CPU
Memory 8 GB CORSAIR Vengeance Red DDR3 RAM 1922mhz (10-11-9-27)
Video Card(s) XFX R9 290
Storage Samsung SSD 254GB and Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s
Display(s) AOC 23" @ 1920x1080 + Asus 27" 1440p
Case HAF X
Audio Device(s) X Fi Titanium 5.1 Surround Sound
Power Supply 750 Watt PP&C Silencer Black
Software Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
#19
I was under the impression MS abandoned superfetch.
no, they have not. Currently all Vista OS use it.

If you even read the the improvment list for SP1 it mentions them improving SuperFetch.

Here it goes

"· Includes improvements to Windows Superfetch™ that help to further improve resume times, in many environments."
 
Joined
May 24, 2007
Messages
4,715 (1.22/day)
Likes
354
Location
Tennessee
System Name AM3+
Processor AMD FX-8350 @ 4715.73 MHz (23.5*200.63 MHz)
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair V Formula-Z AM3+ AMD 990FX SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard
Cooling AMD 8150 Factory Water Cooler
Memory Corsair XMS3 16 GB 1333 MHz PC3-10666 240-Pin DDR3
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG MATRIX-R9290X-P-4GD5 Radeon R9 290X 4GB 512-Bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0
Storage SanDisk Ultra II 480GB, INTEL SS DSC2BW240A4, Western Digital WDC WD50 00AAKX-003CA0
Display(s) Acer S211HL bd 21.5-Inch Widescreen Ultra-Slim LED Display - Black
Case COOLER MASTER Elite 335 Upgraded RC-335U-KKN1 Black Steel / Plastic ATX Mid Tower Computer Case
Power Supply Corsair RM Series 850 Watt ATX/EPS 80PLUS Gold-Certified Power Supply - CP-9020056-NA RM850
Software Windows 10.0 Pro 64 Bit
#20
no, they have not. Currently all Vista OS use it.

If you even read the the improvment list for SP1 it mentions them improving SuperFetch.
That's cool, no reason to be so grippy.
 
Joined
Jun 17, 2007
Messages
7,325 (1.91/day)
Likes
995
Location
C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
System Name Unknown
Processor AMD Bulldozer FX8320 @ 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V
Cooling XSPC Raystorm 750 EX240 for CPU
Memory 8 GB CORSAIR Vengeance Red DDR3 RAM 1922mhz (10-11-9-27)
Video Card(s) XFX R9 290
Storage Samsung SSD 254GB and Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s
Display(s) AOC 23" @ 1920x1080 + Asus 27" 1440p
Case HAF X
Audio Device(s) X Fi Titanium 5.1 Surround Sound
Power Supply 750 Watt PP&C Silencer Black
Software Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
#21
That's cool, no reason to be so grippy.
I don't mean to sound grippy or anything, I'm just saying thats all. Sorry if I sounded grippy everyone. My bad...
 
Joined
May 24, 2007
Messages
4,715 (1.22/day)
Likes
354
Location
Tennessee
System Name AM3+
Processor AMD FX-8350 @ 4715.73 MHz (23.5*200.63 MHz)
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair V Formula-Z AM3+ AMD 990FX SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard
Cooling AMD 8150 Factory Water Cooler
Memory Corsair XMS3 16 GB 1333 MHz PC3-10666 240-Pin DDR3
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG MATRIX-R9290X-P-4GD5 Radeon R9 290X 4GB 512-Bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0
Storage SanDisk Ultra II 480GB, INTEL SS DSC2BW240A4, Western Digital WDC WD50 00AAKX-003CA0
Display(s) Acer S211HL bd 21.5-Inch Widescreen Ultra-Slim LED Display - Black
Case COOLER MASTER Elite 335 Upgraded RC-335U-KKN1 Black Steel / Plastic ATX Mid Tower Computer Case
Power Supply Corsair RM Series 850 Watt ATX/EPS 80PLUS Gold-Certified Power Supply - CP-9020056-NA RM850
Software Windows 10.0 Pro 64 Bit
#22
I don't mean to sound grippy or anything, I'm just saying thats all. Sorry if I sounded grippy everyone. My bad...
It's all good I just thought I read somewhere that MS dropped it. Clearly I was wrong, and I just noticed it in the SP notes.
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2005
Messages
631 (0.14/day)
Likes
15
Location
Omaha, NE
System Name Media PC
Processor Intel Core-i5 4460
Motherboard Asus H97i plus
Cooling Noctua LH-9i with upgraded NF-A9, x2 Noctua NF-F12
Memory 8GB x2 Corsair Vengeance 1600mhz kit
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Super clocked GTX970 itx
Storage 1TB western digital black 2.5"
Display(s) Samsung 55" Plasma
Case Fractal Design Node 202
Audio Device(s) Onboard DSP, sound forwarded to Onkyo receiver in 2.1 mode
Power Supply Fractal Design 430w itx PSU
Mouse Logitech Wireless gaming mouse
Keyboard Logitech Wireless, Xbox One S controller
Software Windows 10 pro
#23
so what you are saying is superfetch is like casheing memory? I was under the impression that part of the reason why people gripe is because vista allocates so much ram to the operating system and DOSEN'T give it up for other programs (software bloat). I like the idea of cacheing ram because if its not in use, it takes longer to get it up and running to use. Plus not all PC will take advantage of superfetch either.
 
Joined
Jun 17, 2007
Messages
7,325 (1.91/day)
Likes
995
Location
C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
System Name Unknown
Processor AMD Bulldozer FX8320 @ 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V
Cooling XSPC Raystorm 750 EX240 for CPU
Memory 8 GB CORSAIR Vengeance Red DDR3 RAM 1922mhz (10-11-9-27)
Video Card(s) XFX R9 290
Storage Samsung SSD 254GB and Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s
Display(s) AOC 23" @ 1920x1080 + Asus 27" 1440p
Case HAF X
Audio Device(s) X Fi Titanium 5.1 Surround Sound
Power Supply 750 Watt PP&C Silencer Black
Software Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
#24
so what you are saying is superfetch is like casheing memory? I was under the impression that part of the reason why people gripe is because vista allocates so much ram to the operating system and DOSEN'T give it up for other programs (software bloat). I like the idea of cacheing ram because if its not in use, it takes longer to get it up and running to use. Plus not all PC will take advantage of superfetch either.
ugh, SuperFetch works on any PC with Windows Vista.

Here is what it does as explained by Microsoft...

"Windows SuperFetch enables programs and files to load much faster than they would on Windows XP–based PCs.

When you're not actively using your computer, background tasks—including automatic backup programs and antivirus scans—run when they will least disturb you. These background tasks can take up system memory space that your programs had been using. On Windows XP–based PCs, this can slow progress to a crawl when you attempt to resume work.

SuperFetch monitors which applications you use the most and preloads these into your system memory so they'll be ready when you need them. Windows Vista also runs background programs, like disk defragmenting and Windows Defender, at low priority so that they can do their job but your work always comes first."

and by wiki

"SuperFetch is a technology that speeds up the loading of commonly-used files and programs by pre-loading them into memory. It's based on the "prefetcher" function in Windows XP. [7]

The intent is to improve performance in situations where running an anti-virus scan or back-up utility would result in otherwise recently-used information being paged out to disk, or disposed from in-memory caches, resulting in lengthy delays when a user comes back to their computer after a period of non-use.

SuperFetch also keeps track of what times of day that applications are used, which allows it to intelligently pre-load information that is expected to be used in the near future.

While the necessary files by default are loaded into main memory, Windows Vista has the ability to instead use alternate storage methods, such as USB flash drives, which, though not as fast as RAM, often can be significantly faster than a hard disk drive, specifically for non-sequential I/O as there is virtually no random seek delay; thereby freeing up main memory."
 

Kreij

Senior Monkey Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
13,817 (3.48/day)
Likes
5,524
Location
Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad QX9650 Extreme @ 3.0 GHz
Motherboard Asus Rampage Formula
Cooling ZeroTherm Nirvana NV120 Premium
Memory 8GB (4 x 2GB) Corsair Dominator PC2-8500
Video Card(s) 2 x Sapphire Radeon HD6970
Storage 2 x Seagate Barracuda 320GB in RAID 0
Display(s) Dell 3007WFP 30" LCD (2560 x 1600)
Case Thermaltake Armor w/ 250mm Side Fan
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX 8ch Audio
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 750W Modular
Software Win8 Pro x64 / Cat 12.10
#25
Many people fuss about the fact that upon booting Vista, your hard drive will be being accessed heavily for a while. This is SuperFetch. It is loading the programs that you use most into RAM so they will be available much quicker when you need then. Including games that you play often.

You can shut off this feature, but there is no point in doing that.

Many people have bragged about how they got their system stripped down to only using 100MB of RAM (or whatever). This is great? A lean mean OS that has nothing loaded into RAM, so when you want to do something the OS has to go to the HD anyway.

It's not that Vista overuses RAM, it is that it will load up everything it thinks you want to try to facilitate the optimum performance for you.

Let's be honest. 2GB of RAM is not the standard. If you have 1GB, Vista will work fine. If you have 512MB, stay with something else.
If you have less than 512MB, upgrade or use DOS for crying out loud.

Minor Disclaimer : If you shut off SF and sit at the desktop and do nothing, Vista sill uses a fair amount of RAM for the default processes. But so what? What good is a computer that you don't do anything with?

If you want to do that you may as well save yourself a lot of money and just buy cement block to sit on your computer desk. I hear they don't use any RAM at all !!!