• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Microsoft Replacing the 20GB Xbox 360 With a 60GB Version ?

malware

New Member
Joined
Nov 7, 2004
Messages
5,422 (1.13/day)
Likes
954
Location
Bulgaria
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 VID: 1.2125
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3P rev.2.0
Cooling Thermalright Ultra-120 eXtreme + Noctua NF-S12 Fan
Memory 4x1 GB PQI DDR2 PC2-6400
Video Card(s) Colorful iGame Radeon HD 4890 1 GB GDDR5
Storage 2x 500 GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 32 MB RAID0
Display(s) BenQ G2400W 24-inch WideScreen LCD
Case Cooler Master COSMOS RC-1000 (sold), Cooler Master HAF-932 (delivered)
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic + Logitech Z-5500 Digital THX
Power Supply Chieftec CFT-1000G-DF 1kW
Software Laptop: Lenovo 3000 N200 C2DT2310/3GB/120GB/GF7300/15.4"/Razer
#1
A new rumor that the 20GB version of Xbox 360 will be replaced by a 60GB HDD model is spreading around the net. TrustedReviews citing "rock solid source" claims that Microsoft will probably launch the new gaming system sometime in Q2 2008, unfortunately there's not a sign of any price or proof that this is true. The link to the full story is placed as news source, but there you won't find anything more than what I just said.

Show full news post
 

WarEagleAU

Bird of Prey
Joined
Jul 9, 2006
Messages
10,809 (2.59/day)
Likes
529
Location
Gurley, AL
System Name Boddha Getta Boddha Getta Bah!
Processor AMD FX 6100 @ 4.432Ghz @1.382
Motherboard ASUS M5A99X EVO AMD 990X AMD SB950
Cooling Custom Water. EK 240MM Kit, Supreme HSF - Runs 35C
Memory 2 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance White LP @ 1.35V
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon HD 6870 980/1100
Storage WD Caviar Black 1.0TB, WD Caviar Green 1.0TB, WD 160GB
Display(s) Asus VH222/S 22: (21.5" Viewable) 1920x1080p HDMI LCD Monitor
Case NZXT White Switch 810
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek 5.1
Power Supply NZXT Hale 90 Gold Cert 750W Modular PSU
Software Windows 8.1 Profession 64 Bit
#2
Wow, that would be nice. the 60gb on the ps3 was a very nice starting point. This would be good. The upgrade proprietary drive the xbox360 uses is outrageously priced.
 
Joined
Aug 16, 2007
Messages
7,181 (1.90/day)
Likes
720
#3
DAMN im fed up with the revisions it isnt fair on customers who already have a xbox 360

well IF a 60gb hard drive comes out ill most likely get one coz the 120gb is a little dear

EDIT : This is XBOX 360 NEWS NOT PS3 NEWS keep the PS3 stuff in its proper place.
 

WarEagleAU

Bird of Prey
Joined
Jul 9, 2006
Messages
10,809 (2.59/day)
Likes
529
Location
Gurley, AL
System Name Boddha Getta Boddha Getta Bah!
Processor AMD FX 6100 @ 4.432Ghz @1.382
Motherboard ASUS M5A99X EVO AMD 990X AMD SB950
Cooling Custom Water. EK 240MM Kit, Supreme HSF - Runs 35C
Memory 2 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance White LP @ 1.35V
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon HD 6870 980/1100
Storage WD Caviar Black 1.0TB, WD Caviar Green 1.0TB, WD 160GB
Display(s) Asus VH222/S 22: (21.5" Viewable) 1920x1080p HDMI LCD Monitor
Case NZXT White Switch 810
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek 5.1
Power Supply NZXT Hale 90 Gold Cert 750W Modular PSU
Software Windows 8.1 Profession 64 Bit
#4
I know thats what Im saying. We should be able to trade ours in for the Elite versions and pay like only 100 bucks more. It wont happen but it would be nice. My next project (after my pc) is to make my 360 able to play "cough" backup copies of games I have.
 

effmaster

New Member
Joined
Aug 22, 2007
Messages
1,327 (0.35/day)
Likes
72
Location
Rocket City, Alabama (Huntsville)
Processor Core Duo T2250 1.73 GHZ
Memory 2 GB DDR2
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GEForce Go 7600 256 MB
Storage 120 GB
Display(s) 17 inch notebook
Case metallic grey
Audio Device(s) Creative xmod (though that doesnt really count as a sound card lol)
Power Supply power plug and battery
Software Lots of it
#6
Did anyone expect Sony to give them a 40 Gb harddrive to replace their 20 gb hardrives for the PS3?

NOooooo.
Microsoft is no different they are out to make money and furthermoreas costs on a console go down Microsoft has two choices
1.) Increase the value of the console which is this case
or 2.) Decrease the price.
Either way the value of the 360 has gone up now that it has HDMI on every single one of them lol.
 

WarEagleAU

Bird of Prey
Joined
Jul 9, 2006
Messages
10,809 (2.59/day)
Likes
529
Location
Gurley, AL
System Name Boddha Getta Boddha Getta Bah!
Processor AMD FX 6100 @ 4.432Ghz @1.382
Motherboard ASUS M5A99X EVO AMD 990X AMD SB950
Cooling Custom Water. EK 240MM Kit, Supreme HSF - Runs 35C
Memory 2 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance White LP @ 1.35V
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon HD 6870 980/1100
Storage WD Caviar Black 1.0TB, WD Caviar Green 1.0TB, WD 160GB
Display(s) Asus VH222/S 22: (21.5" Viewable) 1920x1080p HDMI LCD Monitor
Case NZXT White Switch 810
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek 5.1
Power Supply NZXT Hale 90 Gold Cert 750W Modular PSU
Software Windows 8.1 Profession 64 Bit
#7
Did you bother to read where I said it wouldnt happen, but would be nice? nooo. :roll:

Point being I wish this was like that from the get go. But oh well, mine works fantabulously.
 

effmaster

New Member
Joined
Aug 22, 2007
Messages
1,327 (0.35/day)
Likes
72
Location
Rocket City, Alabama (Huntsville)
Processor Core Duo T2250 1.73 GHZ
Memory 2 GB DDR2
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GEForce Go 7600 256 MB
Storage 120 GB
Display(s) 17 inch notebook
Case metallic grey
Audio Device(s) Creative xmod (though that doesnt really count as a sound card lol)
Power Supply power plug and battery
Software Lots of it
#8
Did you bother to read where I said it wouldnt happen, but would be nice? nooo. :roll:

Point being I wish this was like that from the get go. But oh well, mine works fantabulously.
Unfortunately very few companies do that to ther customers yes your right it would be nice WarEagleAU. But economically its just not feasible to do. Sure with the HD DVD players Circuit City can do that since the Blu Ray players cost more than the HD DVD players so their still making money off of the customer along with making them repurchase movies so yeah thats economically feasible to do.
 

Dangle

New Member
Joined
Dec 13, 2007
Messages
497 (0.14/day)
Likes
15
Location
Reno
System Name Vista
Processor Q6600
Memory 2GB Corsair 800mhz
Video Card(s) 2900XT
Storage 300GB 7.2kRPM Seagate for OS; 74GB 10kRPM WD for Games
Audio Device(s) XFi
Power Supply 750W
#9
DAMN im fed up with the revisions it isnt fair on customers who already have a xbox 360
Sure it's fair. If you buy a release item, you do so for the sake of playing it at that time. Companies should be allowed to upgrade their products and not be expected to give handouts to a bunch of crybabies (apple iphone ring any bells?).
 

Nitro-Max

New Member
Joined
Sep 9, 2006
Messages
2,476 (0.60/day)
Likes
232
Location
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom.{East Anglian Coast
System Name Hells Core.
Processor Q6600 Go @ 3.6ghz 24/7 1.360v stable.
Motherboard Asus Rampage Formula.
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro (lapped). 1x120mm Akasa fan 2x80mm akasa fans (variable speeds)
Memory OCZ Reaper HPC 4GB 2x2 gigs pc2-6400 latency 6-6-6-15 @1100mhz. D9,s
Video Card(s) 2 x HIS HD5870's Crossfire
Storage WD Caviar SE 160GB 7200RPM SATAII 8MB Cache / Samsung 7200RPM SATAII 16mb Cache.
Display(s) 22" Benq True LED/HD.
Case Inwin IronClad Gaming case
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster X-Fi™ XtremeMusic EAX 5.0.2
Power Supply Hiper 880W Type-M Quad sli crossfire certified. 85% Efficiency Rated.
Software Windows 7 Home Premium
Benchmark Scores "3dmark06 23995" Q6600@4.3ghz 3870x2 GPU @900mhz MEM @1000mhz-OS XP. "The Current TPU Champ"
#10
well the 120gb is around £120 so i reckon they might keep it around the same price as the 20gb ones
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 7, 2007
Messages
15,006 (4.03/day)
Likes
2,940
Location
In a library somewhere on this earth
System Name Haru
Processor i7 3770k @ 4.5ghz
Motherboard Biostar Tz77xme4
Cooling Koolance C370si loop
Memory 8gb G. Skill Trident X 2400mhz at 10-11-11-28
Video Card(s) XFX Double D 7950 / Zotac 620 for physx
Storage Samsung 830 128gb (os)Muskin Chronos 120gb, Pyro 120gb
Display(s) Viewsonic VX2450WM-LED 24" & Hanns G 28"
Case Cooler Master Cosmos II
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-fi Forte 7.1 Opamp modded
Power Supply Silverstone Strider Plus 1000w pp05 cables
Software Win7 Pro64
Benchmark Scores i5 750 4.62ghz pi runs // Evga FTW p55
#11
Here's what you have to look at. They are trying to get more and more people to buy there stuff. So by wanting that to happen, there is revisions. Some do revisions because of how bad the stuff is, while others do it to make more people buy their product. It would be nice to have a ability to trade in the stuff we bought in order to get the newer stuff.. wait... Gamestop allows you to do that... Yeah, It may not be as much as you want, but if your really wanting the "new stuff" then its the way to go...
But I do wish that it would give you book value on it.
 

cloaker

New Member
Joined
Aug 3, 2007
Messages
25 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#12
This is a very good thing for MS to do.

When i was deciding between the premium and the elite i kept on thinking if only the premium had atleast a 40GB hard drive, then i would get it.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,208 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,800
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#13
just get the Premium and Drop in a 200 gig HD.
 
Joined
Apr 26, 2006
Messages
347 (0.08/day)
Likes
51
Processor i7 4790
Motherboard Asrock Z97 ITX
Cooling Corsair A50 (CPU) and Antec Kuhler 620 (GPU)
Memory G. Skill 8GB 1866
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 290X
Storage OCZ SSD and 1TB Hardrive
Display(s) Dell S2415h
Case Cheap Cougar Case
Power Supply Corsair 650w PSU
Software Windows 10
#14

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (5.01/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
#15
I beleive MS is doing this to phase out the 20GB AND there are console modders out there that figured out how to make their own X360 120GB drive from firmware dumps of an original 120GB Elite drive. So will this not only phase out the old stuff and give the consumer new stuff, it will probably secured tightly to do away with the modding.

I don't know how it's done so don't ask. ;)
 

effmaster

New Member
Joined
Aug 22, 2007
Messages
1,327 (0.35/day)
Likes
72
Location
Rocket City, Alabama (Huntsville)
Processor Core Duo T2250 1.73 GHZ
Memory 2 GB DDR2
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GEForce Go 7600 256 MB
Storage 120 GB
Display(s) 17 inch notebook
Case metallic grey
Audio Device(s) Creative xmod (though that doesnt really count as a sound card lol)
Power Supply power plug and battery
Software Lots of it
#17
So well the 60GB would be better for some of us. But what about the people like me who have the 20GB and don't want to give it up?
Then dont buy the 60 GB harddrive lol. If you already own the 20 GB HDD then what would you be complaining about?
 
Joined
Aug 16, 2007
Messages
7,181 (1.90/day)
Likes
720
#18
All i was saying was i got n xbox 2 Christmas ago and the xbox had been out for 2 years or close to that, if you think that we should wait until Microsoft bring out the last version of their xbox 360 before buying feel free to do that but i want to play games now not in 4 years time when tech has surpassed the 360 totally.

Heck a few model revisions with minor FIXES are fine.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,208 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,800
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#19
well if you want to play older games, dont run them on the 360, the hardware cant emulate the Classic XB well enough, as it seems performance is lower with emulation than actuall hardware, seems the PC is able to run those games fine and then some.