• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Microsoft sold more than 244 copies of Vista in China

Joined
Jan 15, 2005
Messages
5,458 (1.16/day)
Likes
242
Location
England
System Name Jimmy 2004's PC
Processor S754 AMD Athlon64 3200+ @ 2640MHz
Motherboard ASUS K8N
Cooling AC Freezer 64 Pro + Zalman VF1000 + 5x120mm Antec TriCool Case Fans
Memory 1GB Kingston PC3200 (2x512MB)
Video Card(s) Saphire 256MB X800 GTO @ 450MHz/560MHz (Core/Memory)
Storage 500GB Western Digital SATA II + 80GB Maxtor DiamondMax SATA
Display(s) Digimate 17" TFT (1280x1024)
Case Antec P182
Audio Device(s) Audigy 4 + Creative Inspire T7900 7.1 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair HX520W
Software Windows XP Home
#1
Despite reports of Microsoft only managing a feeble 244 sales of its new Windows Vista OS, the software giant is now denying that there is any truth in the story. "Recent speculation regarding sales data in China is inaccurate," said Microsoft. "We're pleased with the positive consumer response we've seen around the globe to the security and usability enhancements in Windows Vista--and China is no exception."Although Microsoft has not given any exact figures on sales, it has said that Vista sales in China during the first month after its release were double those that XP had in its first month. Microsoft has been facing some criticism for its new OS, with a big blow coming when PC manufacturer Dell decided to reintroduce XP.

Show full news post
 

RickyG512

New Member
Joined
Nov 20, 2005
Messages
477 (0.11/day)
Likes
0
Location
Croydon, England
Processor E6600 @ 3.4ghz 60 degree load stock HSF 1.5v
Motherboard P5B vanilla 0806
Cooling All stock
Memory 2x 1GB geil @ DDR-2 850 4-5-5-12(7100 sis mem bench)
Video Card(s) Powercolour X1900XT 512MB 681/792
Storage c:250gb 16mb 7k2 d:320gb 16mb 7k2 both WD and Sata-II
Display(s) Acer 19" 8ms widescreen 1440x900
Case Thermaltake skull
Audio Device(s) X-Fi eXtreme music
Power Supply Enermax 620 liberty
Software xp pro sp2
#2
if vista had a button that u could click that disabled all the crap u dont need and got rid of all those security questions everytime u want to do something, i would buy vista tomorow

i mean u want to delte a file and u get asked like 3 times are u sure and the screen start going dark then u delete it and sometimes its not even in the rycling bin, wtf
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 21, 2005
Messages
6,885 (1.49/day)
Likes
1,501
System Name MY PC
Processor E8400 @ 3.80Ghz > Q9650 3.60Ghz
Motherboard Maximus Formula
Cooling D5, 7/16" ID Tubing, Maze4 with Fuzion CPU WB
Memory XMS 8500C5D @ 1066MHz
Video Card(s) HD 2900 XT 858/900 to 4870 to 5870 (Keep Vreg area clean)
Storage 2
Display(s) 24"
Case P180
Audio Device(s) X-fi Plantinum
Power Supply Silencer 750
Software XP Pro SP3 to Windows 7
Benchmark Scores This varies from one driver to another.
#4

That's not the point. You don't buy a new OS and start disable it's core functionality right off the bat. It defeats the purpose of why you purchased it to begin with. If you are going to buy Vista and disable the main feature(s) that distinguish it from XP then there is no reason to buy Vista.

Deal with it!
 
Joined
Oct 1, 2005
Messages
796 (0.18/day)
Likes
37
System Name Current
Processor Core i5 2500k
Motherboard Z77MA-G45
Cooling Cooler Master Tx3
Memory 8gb DDR3 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 960 4GB GDDR5
Storage (1) SAMSUNG 850 EVO 500GB
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" WQHD 2560x1440 IPS
Case Fractal Core 1000
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply 430 Watt Corsair
Mouse Logitech g602
Keyboard K70 LUX Mech LB, Red LED, Cherry MX Brown
Software Windows 10 + Hackintosh
#5
That's not the point. You don't buy a new OS and start disable it's core functionality right off the bat. It defeats the purpose of why you purchased it to begin with. If you are going to buy Vista and disable the main feature(s) that distinguish it from XP then there is no reason to buy Vista.

Deal with it!
... your post puzzles me. That double checking feature is in no way a "main feature" of vista. If he wan'ts to disable it he can, thats the wonders of PCs you can do just about anything you want with them if your not lazy.

By disabling one feature you are making the assumption hes going to disable others, thats not right, you really should relax a little.

No he shouldn't deal with it, dealing with it is the worst solution to anything.

By the way I think your sigs a little big, I reccomend you talk to a mod/Admin about its size.
 
Joined
Sep 5, 2005
Messages
224 (0.05/day)
Likes
23
Location
vt
System Name APleasure@(to_use)
Processor X5660
Motherboard msi-x58-plat
Cooling monsoon 3 Dual 120fans
Memory 2x4 gig Gskill 1600 (one slot died)dual only
Video Card(s) R9 290 Powercolor PCS+
Storage 128gig Samsung D830 2x1terabyte seagates Raid0
Display(s) acer 22in 1920x1080 120Hertz
Case Thermaltake V9 Black Edition
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Audigy SE(X-FI Driver-Mod)
Power Supply ocz 700 modular
Software W8.1 64Bit
Benchmark Scores http://www.3dmark.com/fs/11496246
#6
So why is so much crap being reported as news???

I've been reading these forums for a while and in the past couple months ive seen more and more of this...

I think the people that report the news should report news not something posted on some other site thats fake.
 
Joined
Jan 15, 2005
Messages
5,458 (1.16/day)
Likes
242
Location
England
System Name Jimmy 2004's PC
Processor S754 AMD Athlon64 3200+ @ 2640MHz
Motherboard ASUS K8N
Cooling AC Freezer 64 Pro + Zalman VF1000 + 5x120mm Antec TriCool Case Fans
Memory 1GB Kingston PC3200 (2x512MB)
Video Card(s) Saphire 256MB X800 GTO @ 450MHz/560MHz (Core/Memory)
Storage 500GB Western Digital SATA II + 80GB Maxtor DiamondMax SATA
Display(s) Digimate 17" TFT (1280x1024)
Case Antec P182
Audio Device(s) Audigy 4 + Creative Inspire T7900 7.1 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair HX520W
Software Windows XP Home
#7
So why is so much crap being reported as news???

I've been reading these forums for a while and in the past couple months ive seen more and more of this...

I think the people that report the news should report news not something posted on some other site thats fake.
I can understand that people get annoyed about fake news, but unfortunately, once a number of reputable sites post stories such as the Vista sales figures as 'news', us news posters have a hard time filtering out what is true and what is fake.

Admittedly the R600 caused a lot of false news posts, and because of this the news posters have stepped up their attempts to post only real news and you may have noticed that sites like the Inquirer are being used much less as a consequence. The reason that some false stories make it onto the site is because we try our best to release news to you as quickly as possible - and waiting two weeks for a manufacturer to confirm or dismiss rumours isn't really what most people are looking for.

Other than the R600 stories over the last few months, I personally feel that nearly all news that is posted turns out to be true, and on the occasions that a story turns out to be untrue we do our best to correct the problem with follow up stories such as this. :toast:
 

RickyG512

New Member
Joined
Nov 20, 2005
Messages
477 (0.11/day)
Likes
0
Location
Croydon, England
Processor E6600 @ 3.4ghz 60 degree load stock HSF 1.5v
Motherboard P5B vanilla 0806
Cooling All stock
Memory 2x 1GB geil @ DDR-2 850 4-5-5-12(7100 sis mem bench)
Video Card(s) Powercolour X1900XT 512MB 681/792
Storage c:250gb 16mb 7k2 d:320gb 16mb 7k2 both WD and Sata-II
Display(s) Acer 19" 8ms widescreen 1440x900
Case Thermaltake skull
Audio Device(s) X-Fi eXtreme music
Power Supply Enermax 620 liberty
Software xp pro sp2
#8
it gives us something to read, i rarther read a rumour than checking this site everyday and no new news
 

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.94/day)
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
#9
That's not the point. You don't buy a new OS and start disable it's core functionality right off the bat. It defeats the purpose of why you purchased it to begin with. If you are going to buy Vista and disable the main feature(s) that distinguish it from XP then there is no reason to buy Vista.

Deal with it!
This doesn't make any sense, East. Don't most of us here disable a bunch of features in XP? I know I do, and so do most of the people that post benchmarks in the numerous benchmark threads we have floating around. Before I load my drivers, XP boots to about 80mb of ram for me. 150mb after all drivers are installed. What's the difference between disabling features in XP and Vista?
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2005
Messages
6,885 (1.49/day)
Likes
1,501
System Name MY PC
Processor E8400 @ 3.80Ghz > Q9650 3.60Ghz
Motherboard Maximus Formula
Cooling D5, 7/16" ID Tubing, Maze4 with Fuzion CPU WB
Memory XMS 8500C5D @ 1066MHz
Video Card(s) HD 2900 XT 858/900 to 4870 to 5870 (Keep Vreg area clean)
Storage 2
Display(s) 24"
Case P180
Audio Device(s) X-fi Plantinum
Power Supply Silencer 750
Software XP Pro SP3 to Windows 7
Benchmark Scores This varies from one driver to another.
#10
What I posted makes perfect sense. UAC (as well as other features) is what makes Vista different from XP.

You don't buy a new OS and start disable it's core functionality right off the bat. It defeats the purpose of why you purchased it to begin with. If you are going to buy Vista and disable the main feature(s) that distinguish it from XP then there is no reason to buy Vista.
And, it makes perfect sense. There are no XP specific features I need to "disable".
 
Last edited:

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.94/day)
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
#11
What I posted makes perfect sense. UAC (as well as other features) is what makes Vista different from XP. Denying that it is not is a flat out lie and you know it.


And, it makes perfect sense.
There are many more features to Vista that you don't see(and some you do) that make Vista what it is. Better networking stack, more secure(even with UAC disabled), Aero, Superfetch, Readyboost, and the list goes on and on. So no, denying that the UAC is what differentiates XP and Vista is not a flat out lie. Disabling it doesn't take away from the OS at all.

And are you gonna sit there and try to tell me that you don't disable anything in XP? Automatic Update? The way Security Center alerts you? Windows Firewall? So, by what you are saying, we shouldn't disable services in XP, because they are what makes it different from earlier Windows versions like 2000 and ME. People have been tweaking XP since the day of it's release, that's the SAME EXACT principal as disabling services in Vista. We shut off what we don't use. It will be the same with the next Windows version as well. It will bring some features that we like, and some features that we don't, and therefore try to disable. And, fyi, disabling the UAC isn't a hack, you don't use services.msc to disable it, you don't use reg edits, or anything of that nature. It's something you can turn off in your control panel. AKA: A setting Microsoft officially allows you to change.

So, no, your statement doesn't make any sense.
 
Joined
Oct 1, 2005
Messages
796 (0.18/day)
Likes
37
System Name Current
Processor Core i5 2500k
Motherboard Z77MA-G45
Cooling Cooler Master Tx3
Memory 8gb DDR3 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 960 4GB GDDR5
Storage (1) SAMSUNG 850 EVO 500GB
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" WQHD 2560x1440 IPS
Case Fractal Core 1000
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply 430 Watt Corsair
Mouse Logitech g602
Keyboard K70 LUX Mech LB, Red LED, Cherry MX Brown
Software Windows 10 + Hackintosh
#12
There are many more features to Vista that you don't see(and some you do) that make Vista what it is. Better networking stack, more secure(even with UAC disabled), Aero, Superfetch, Readyboost, and the list goes on and on. So no, denying that the UAC is what differentiates XP and Vista is not a flat out lie. Disabling it doesn't take away from the OS at all.

And are you gonna sit there and try to tell me that you don't disable anything in XP? Automatic Update? The way Security Center alerts you? Windows Firewall? So, by what you are saying, we shouldn't disable services in XP, because they are what makes it different from earlier Windows versions like 2000 and ME. People have been tweaking XP since the day of it's release, that's the SAME EXACT principal as disabling services in Vista. We shut off what we don't use. It will be the same with the next Windows version as well. It will bring some features that we like, and some features that we don't, and therefore try to disable. And, fyi, disabling the UAC isn't a hack, you don't use services.msc to disable it, you don't use reg edits, or anything of that nature. It's something you can turn off in your control panel. AKA: A setting Microsoft officially allows you to change.

So, no, your statement doesn't make any sense.
I definitly agree!
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,528 (4.58/day)
Likes
3,161
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#13
All these news postings are probably for the money, lol... I've seen 2 news posts dealing with things occurring right here in TPU! I recall a post about Slater going to surgery and one about the photoshop contest, lol..
 

BXtreme

New Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2007
Messages
1,324 (0.33/day)
Likes
1
Location
Kolkata, India
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 @ 3.2 ghz|| Core2 T5250
Motherboard Asus P6N Platinum || 965GM
Cooling Air cooling
Memory Kingston 2x1gb DDR2 677mhz || 2x1gb 667mhz
Video Card(s) XFX 8800 GTS 640mb || Geforce 8600GT M
Storage Seagate 500GB Sata || 160gb
Display(s) Samsung 30" HD LCD || 15" lcd (laptop)
Case A not-so-known brand case w/ two fans and some blue lightings
Audio Device(s) Onboard HD
Power Supply Corsair HX620W
Software Mac OS X Leopard, Linux Mint 4.0, and all windoze...geez...
#14
All these news postings are probably for the money, lol... I've seen 2 news posts dealing with things occurring right here in TPU! I recall a post about Slater going to surgery and one about the photoshop contest, lol..
LOL, i don't remember ex_reven paying zek for posting about the photoshop contest :wtf:
hey, can't a site never have it's own news :p
 

Benpi

New Member
Joined
Dec 14, 2006
Messages
415 (0.10/day)
Likes
3
Processor AMD X2 4400+
Memory 2G
Video Card(s) 7950 GX2
Storage 2x 74g 10000rpm Raid:0
Display(s) Dell 1920x1200 widescreen
Software 3dmark06 score: 7650
#15
What I posted makes perfect sense. UAC (as well as other features) is what makes Vista different from XP.


And, it makes perfect sense. There are no XP specific features I need to "disable".
Nobody is forcing you to buy vista. If not disabling UAC is so important to you, stick with XP - or buy a Mac. I, on the other hand, enjoy Vista, and can't wait for DX10 games to start coming out. It'll make the 3 seconds it took me to disable UAC worth the time wasted.
 

ex_reven

New Member
Joined
Sep 4, 2006
Messages
5,217 (1.27/day)
Likes
159
#16
All these news postings are probably for the money, lol... I've seen 2 news posts dealing with things occurring right here in TPU! I recall a post about Slater going to surgery and one about the photoshop contest, lol..
Zek doesnt get paid for those posts. He specifically instructed w1z not to. W1z only pays his staff the post REAL news. Those news articles were just extra articles on top of the news he had already written for the day.
 
Joined
Jun 26, 2006
Messages
83 (0.02/day)
Likes
1
#17
Hopefully w1z doesnt pay them too much. I often find the news articles contain grammatical/spelling errors. Also, they dont seem to fully comprehend what they are writing on much of the time.
 
Joined
Jan 29, 2006
Messages
9,066 (2.09/day)
Likes
287
Location
My house.
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 4800+ Brisbane @ 2.8GHz (224x12.5, 1.425V)
Motherboard Gigabyte sumthin-or-another, it's got an nForce 430
Cooling Dual 120mm case fans front/rear, Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro, Zalman VF-900 on GPU
Memory 2GB G.Skill DDR2 800
Video Card(s) Sapphire X850XT @ 580/600
Storage WD 160 GB SATA hard drive.
Display(s) Hanns G 19" widescreen, 5ms response time, 1440x900
Case Thermaltake Soprano (black with side window).
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Live! 24 bit (paired with X-530 speakers).
Power Supply ThermalTake 430W TR2
Software XP Home SP2, can't wait for Vista SP1.
#18
Hopefully w1z doesnt pay them too much. I often find the news articles contain grammatical/spelling errors. Also, they dont seem to fully comprehend what they are writing on much of the time.
That little outburst just earned you an all-expenses-paid 10-day revocation of posting ability.