1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Microsoft Windows Vista fully available on Newegg

Discussion in 'News' started by zekrahminator, Jan 28, 2007.

  1. zekrahminator

    zekrahminator McLovin

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    9,113 (2.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    Location:
    My house.
    A couple days back, we reported that both European and American online vendors were selling copies of Windows Vista early. The very popular American source, Newegg, was only offering it in three-packs. Now however, they are offering single-packs, and have quite a deal for OEM builders. All the links posted are for the 32 bit version, I found a 64-bit single DVD of Windows Vista Home Basic, Business, and Ultimate.

    Source: Newegg
     
    Last edited: Jan 28, 2007
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. mullered07

    mullered07 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,648 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Location:
    UK
    windows vista ultimate for approx £105 thats not bad at all, hope us in the uk can get hold of it at that price (doubtful) :shadedshu
     
  3. xylomn

    xylomn

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    661 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Newcastle upon Tyne
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,814 (2.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    547
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Damn, that is a good deal, if I were going to buy it that is~! :)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. GrkPontio85 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2007
    Messages:
    13 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Greece
    Is there any site I can go to that could scan my computer to see if my system can support the new operating system?
     
  6. OnBoard

    OnBoard New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,044 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Location:
    Finland
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. Jannu New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Messages:
    42 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Tallinn, Estonia
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (1.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,509
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,135 (4.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,458
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    Yes retail is both 32bit and 64bit
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,211 (2.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,423
    i'm gonna order myself a vista home premium oem this week.i dont think i will be installing it straight away tho'.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. EviLZeD

    EviLZeD New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Messages:
    816 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    47
    deals are great but im going to wait till dx10 gets bit and crysis is released also i would like to get it with the service pack
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,211 (2.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,423
    i'm gonna "sit on it" till i think its worth installing.i'll stick the disc to the wall till then:laugh: .at least i'll have it already when i feel like putting it on.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. xylomn

    xylomn

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    661 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Newcastle upon Tyne
    I got vista business free from my university about 2 days ago... will probably install it once good security software is available for vista (non-beta versions)...

    Preferably I'd use bitdefender with COMODO when they eventually get them out...
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. overcast New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    Messages:
    737 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Why don't you just put a hardware firewall/router in front and be done with it. Software "security" apps are pointless.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  15. zekrahminator

    zekrahminator McLovin

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    9,113 (2.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    Location:
    My house.
    Hackerwise/inbound, you're absolutely right. However, you have to factor in the whole "user error" part of the equation, as a second line of defense. For example. There was this time that I was fooling around with google, and saw an interesting program. Having disabled the turd Mcafee calls virus protection, I clicked the linky. Google gave me a warning saying "this may harm your computer". I thought I was smarter than that, so I without hesitation clicked the link, downloaded, double-clicked the exe....and promptly got two trojans. Took me a good 48 hours to get the first part off, and then there were various remnants that were hidden for MONTHS.

    Anyways. The point is that people make mistakes, people get too close to a virus, and people may not recognize a malicious program when they see one. Antivirus, antispyware, and an outbound firewall are good to make sure a user doesn't do anything stupid. However, if you trust yourself, you should be fine with just low-impact AV and a spyware scanner every once in a while.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)